NF7/NF7-S Rev2.0 Modded Bios, : Discussions and Results :)

zahri
post Jul 10 2006, 01:01 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

hehe... Old Gem. OLD but still Doing GOOD.

I have been running my tbred at 1.85v with AIR COOLING..

So Far No Problem... biggrin.gif

What kind of Heatsink do u use ?

What is ur current temp at load and idle ?

biggrin.gif Mind To Share with us ?
zahri
post Jul 14 2006, 08:45 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

erm...

i wud say, ur RaMS shud be traded - in or changed to DDR 400 biggrin.gif

and of course ur heatsink. biggrin.gif

i think someone is selling Thermalright SI-97 in the garage sale... not a bad heatsink biggrin.gif

Or u can try SLK - 800A if u are not into heatpipes.. biggrin.gif

very subjective biggrin.gif

If me, i wud go for a DDR400 , and SI-97 or SLK-800A biggrin.gif

GOOD LUCK.. biggrin.gif

zahri
post Jul 14 2006, 09:31 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jul 14 2006, 05:57 PM)
huh??? SI-97 or SI-97A??? who selling...i wan ask the price...
Its Selling for RM180 ( sorry mod if i'm not suppose to post it here )

Try and Look ... biggrin.gif

Maybe once u bought, u can sell ur 92mm fan clip to me biggrin.gif hehehe.....

zahri
post Jul 19 2006, 02:15 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jul 15 2006, 08:33 AM)
anyway...i cant find it...last time remember got ppl offer me rm90 without fan clip...but fan clip hard to find ler...so no buy it...
i did not find it ka ??

wait ah...

Super Garage Sale ..... eheheheh ... <------------------- KLIK HERE --------------------

hmm nice! 1800+ raise till so high with decent voltage! hav u try b4 with 230*11? i heard tat ppl said sometimes with the 0.5 in the multiplier does not run so nice...

someone told me that too... 0.5 multiplier is not so nice, kinda use up some resources , i dunt know... but for sure i am running at multiplier 9. biggrin.gif

now at stock speed, waiting for new tubes to come then can go back to OCING. biggrin.gif
zahri
post Jul 23 2006, 12:34 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

bro uzairi,

saw ur thread... selling ur Tbred-B i see.. biggrin.gif

it must be one good processor to be able to do 2.5ghz:D

what if the original multiplier is already set to 12.5 or 9.5 ( for locked processors )

does it still kill the bandwith ?
zahri
post Jul 25 2006, 12:38 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

owh...

Gkwong,

have u tried and check out the link to the SI-97 ?

Uzairi,

I agree with u, i was running 200 x 9 on my old tbred-a , to me it was much better than having a *.5 at the multi.

now running 200 x 11.5 @ stock heatsink.

maybe when i have the time to change to my WC kit back, wud try and up more... now kinda lazy... BZ DOWNLOADING !! tongue.gif

hehehe....
zahri
post Jul 25 2006, 11:28 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

vdd voltage at 1.7v , i think that is kind of high...

1.5v is the stock voltage rite ?

even at stock voltage, the stock heatsink is kinda hot.

maybe to pump it up to 1.7v needs a good HSF, or change i think. biggrin.gif

Just my 2 cents.
zahri
post Jul 26 2006, 12:30 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jul 26 2006, 02:59 AM)
Mine last time stock at 1.6v, the highest i used was 1.8v last time. And i use DIY alu hs + fans to cool it down.
Sweet...

1.8v , any changes in performance ???

DIY Heatsink ehh ??

I used a P3 copper heatsink for mine, but kinda interfering with the CPU CLIPs

so i took it out and reinstalled the ol HSF...

thinking of getting or making a new one...

U got the pics of ur ol NB HSf uzairi ??

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Jul 26 2006, 07:56 AM)
Kalu x silap, it's TicTac who stated 0.5x multi got lower bandwidth and Merlin who stated 10.5x multi got stability prob. :sigh: Too long oledi .... didn't remember. Pls correct me if i'm wrong.
Thanks to you . . . i am not using x0.5 multipliers anymore thumbup.gif

staying at 9 only biggrin.gif

Sejak tukar opteron nie, asyik lupa aje ye bang ?? biggrin.gif
zahri
post Jul 27 2006, 10:51 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jul 27 2006, 09:31 AM)
sigh...yesterday juz tried it. with d26 mantaray xt (cpc on). result exactly same like d27 from abit. can go up to 220x10.5 with 1.75 vcore and 1.7vdd and 2.9v vdimm. but cant boot into winxp, get BSOD. at 210x10.5 oso same cant boot winxp. try with 2.5-3-3-7, 2.5-3-3-8, 3-4-4-8 ram timing oso same.

btw...what setting is recomended for the 'CPU Thermal Throttling'?
so wut is the recommended vcore for a stock cooling like me tongue.gif ? at 1.7vcore load temp can go up to 65c ady....see liao oso not fun...
what is ur current setup gkwong ??

erm... 1.7v @ 65c full load.

stock cooling i wud say 1.6v or 1.65v

Have u decided what HSF ur gonna change to ?
zahri
post Jul 27 2006, 03:37 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jul 27 2006, 11:52 AM)
now change back to 1.6v vcore....temp is cooler. i actually decided to get a Tt Big Typhoon coz used SI-97A is more expensive than a new Big Typhoon. but still havent buy it coz doubt cant fit into my casing.
yup...nvr try to go more than 1.75v...but i think if i pump more on it with better hsf, shud be can go higher around 230-240fsb.
how about silent tower ?? Can it fit on ur casing ??

maybe with better heatsink, i am sure u can pump more voltage to ur proc without worries biggrin.gif

and get a good fan too biggrin.gif

try checking out the barton speed ranking and all thread, icon_idea.gif

maybe u can get some ideas of what heatsinks u might want to get biggrin.gif

Good Luck biggrin.gif
zahri
post Aug 2 2006, 12:06 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

erm...

but from the looks of the shim, it doesnt seem to have any problems with barton core.

from my observation , the only thing that is different is the length of the core, the barton is abit longer than the t-bred.

zahri
post Aug 2 2006, 11:58 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

Well,

i dunt know which version i have, 1st or 2nd. But i am currently using a ThermalTake Copper Shim on my processor. thumbup.gif

Erm... so far so good biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zahri: Aug 2 2006, 11:59 AM
zahri
post Aug 5 2006, 10:07 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ Aug 5 2006, 12:16 AM)
how do i know if im using mantaray bios?
i flashed the bios into my mobo but theres not much difference other than a line of words during POST
The Line of Word is written while you pc is booting up on the top right corner of the screen ?

How About Ur Bios ???

Any difference in selection of value ???

zahri
post Aug 6 2006, 11:12 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Aug 5 2006, 10:55 PM)
lol...i edited the mantaray xt logo with my own custom made abit engineered logo...  smile.gif
erm...

gk wong, mind sharing with us how u changed the logo ?
zahri
post Aug 15 2006, 12:31 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Aug 12 2006, 11:44 AM)
i've installed the copper shim on my barton 2500+ cpu. And I can confirmed that it cannot fit smoothly on the CPU. Yes, the copper shim can inserted into the cpu but not perfectly matched.

And when I sandwiched the copper shim between CPU and my thermaltake volcano, the thermal was worsening because the copper shim distanced a bit the core from touching the base lap of the heatsink  shakehead.gif

Previously without the copper shim, the load temp was about 52° C (primed for two hours). With the copper shim, the load temp was around 55° C (primed just for 10 minutes)  vmad.gif

I think I need to bring the copper shim to any specialist in metal cutting to modify the hole so that it can fit firmly into the barton CPU.
The Incompatability here is the 4 cushions hole size ?

Is it TRue ?

zahri
post Oct 4 2006, 04:10 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

haizz... missing my old nf7 board.

anyways,

i tried my Team Xtreem on the NF7, but couldnt get the timings 2-2-2-5

so i had to changed board and pumped the voltage to 3.3v and manage to get the timing.

gsan, the DDR booster u used can pump up to how many volts?

Thanks...

zahri
post Nov 28 2006, 11:27 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Nov 28 2006, 07:55 PM)
I also faced slightly similar problem aforementioned. Sometimes I will be "greeted" with the BIOS checksum error message upon POST stage. I wonder if the circuitry beneath the battery compartment was damaged so the battery can't deliver it's current to ensure the information kept in the BIOS chip intact. OR is the BIOS chip was flawed due to high activity of overclocking experiments?

If I change the BIOS chip with my spare BIOS chip, will the problem solved?

I welcome anyone to express the idea to solve problem of both of me and -=J4cKa5s=-.
Bro may i ask where did u get ur spare bios chip from ?

Thanks. biggrin.gif

Buy from a shop or taken it out from a dead board ?

zahri
post Nov 30 2006, 02:03 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

wow, i dindnt think NF7 would have prob with bios corrupting.

Sjn Hassan, try hotflashing the bios chip biggrin.gif

im sure it would do the trick, the hard part is getting hold of a working board or a working bios chip.

zahri
post May 5 2007, 08:28 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

Hello To all FELLOW NF7 Users.

Its been a long long time since i have been here.

Wow, quite a lot of people moved on from NF2.

As for me,

im still with my NFORCE 2. smile.gif

Anyone wanna sell their proc ? i gotta spare infinity board i wanna make as 2nd rig.

OWH YEAH.

DOES ANYONE HERE WANT AN ABIT NF7 Manual ?

Im just asking if anyone wants it, might as well i give it, if not i might just recycle it.

Cheers...

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0337sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:14 AM