NF7/NF7-S Rev2.0 Modded Bios, : Discussions and Results :)
TSxcrue
May 1 2005, 03:49 PM, updated 20y ago
ABIT NF7 / NF7-S Rev2.0 Bios Version : D27 Bios name : 3DFire Change Log : - D23 3D Fire Interface - 3D Fire Ingredients included - D26 Mantarays XT PCR Patching[B] ive dl it from http://s6.invisionfree.com/underclock/inde...p?showtopic=393how to change the 1T n 2T log??anyone ? This post has been edited by xcrue: May 28 2005, 01:18 AM
TSxcrue
May 1 2005, 03:58 PM
like this?
1T or 2T better?
In order to update BIOS you have to have a flash program. Usually it is supplied by the motherboard manufacturer and is available from their website. Along with the latest version of the BIOS for the motherboard in a file, usually xxx.BIN although it may be called something else.
However in almost every case they will advise you to boot into DOS and run their loader program to flash/update the BIOS.
One way to do it:
Copy their loader and BIOS update to a blank floppy.
Make sure that your BIOS is set to boot from A: first.
Put in a bootable DOS diskette in Drive A: and boot.
Swap out the DOS diskette, put in the BIOS update disk and run the update program.
gsan
May 1 2005, 07:31 PM
anyone can get over 240mhz with this bios? i cant ler....
TSxcrue
May 1 2005, 08:18 PM
u update 1T or 2T??
T0|\|`/
May 3 2005, 05:55 PM
There's also another beta bios for the NF7/S from tictac here.Bios Version : D27 Bios name : Taipan 0.1 EB ED
Change Log : - 2T TimingLooks like it's based on the latest Abit bios v2.7: BIOS: nf7d27.exe Bios Issue Date:2004/11/22 Mirror Site: 1 2 BIOS ID:2.7
1. Updated SATA ROM V4.2.5.0. 2. Updated CPU micro code. 3. BIOS compile date: 11/22/2004Interesting - I'm gonna compare this one with the D26 Mantaray XT soon.
TSxcrue
May 19 2005, 11:21 PM
how to create bios bootable disk?
amok
May 20 2005, 11:17 AM
schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
insert blank floppy disk in floppy drive. double click My Computer. right click drive A (or whatever name you called your floppy) select format disk tick "Create an MS-DOS startup disk" click start Voila.. one bootable disk ready. 50 cent please. download the modded bios in a folder extract the content copy the awardbios (1)flash utility,(2)modded bios bin file (3)anything in that extracted folder lah  and paste them in the newly created boot/startup disk. voila again... another 50 cent please. Next flash the bios...
e-jump
May 20 2005, 11:31 AM
even kacang putih method (provided u have bootable cd, ie winME ) boot fom cd then u r in dos mode, juz go to the bios file (provided bios file n flash utility in same directory
amok
May 20 2005, 12:17 PM
schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
QUOTE(T0|\|`/ @ May 3 2005, 05:55 PM) There's also another beta bios for the NF7/S from tictac here.Bios Version : D27 Bios name : Taipan 0.1 EB ED
Change Log : - 2T TimingLooks like it's based on the latest Abit bios v2.7: BIOS: nf7d27.exe Bios Issue Date:2004/11/22 Mirror Site: 1 2 BIOS ID:2.7
1. Updated SATA ROM V4.2.5.0. 2. Updated CPU micro code. 3. BIOS compile date: 11/22/2004Interesting - I'm gonna compare this one with the D26 Mantaray XT soon. I wonder, apart from "how to update/flash bios", can we discuss the bios performance ere? I mean in terms of overclocking. Infact any modded bios, lazy to create more thread and don wanna waste bandwidth and couldn't find the previous thread disscussion about the modded NF7-S bios. Thread starter can or not? So T0|\|`/, hows the performance? compared to the D26 Mantaray XT? U're using the 2T right? This post has been edited by amok: May 20 2005, 12:23 PM
SUSceo684
May 20 2005, 01:56 PM
does the bios from tictac have a 100% ok rate in lowyat.net users' mobo?  and uh..the cpu micro code support thingy is for sempron support? This post has been edited by ceo684: May 20 2005, 01:58 PM
amok
May 22 2005, 01:00 AM
schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 20 2005, 01:56 PM) does the bios from tictac have a 100% ok rate in lowyat.net users' mobo?  and uh..the cpu micro code support thingy is for sempron support? Y.B. Tan Sri CEO, so far most of tictac's bios user is OK with the bios, infact they even gain better performance when using the bios, but not sure bout the beta version. I've tried with the AN7 modded bios by tictac a few months ago and gain a few MHz improvement (with standard bios with a mobile cpu, the memory is a bit reluctant to go above 215MHz but with modded bios >230Mhz is a jiff). regarding the cpu micro code, if the bios is based on the ori abit's latest micro code than the same micro code is used for the moded bios. Need to refer to the ori bios microcode description to confirm wheter it support sempron or not.
TSxcrue
May 22 2005, 02:20 AM
hey guys,1t or 2T better?
Anyway,i just update my official bios from Abit site. Will 1t or 2T bios sabotaj my mobo?
apexi78
May 22 2005, 04:11 AM
QUOTE(xcrue @ May 22 2005, 02:20 AM) hey guys,1t or 2T better? Anyway,i just update my official bios from Abit site. Will 1t or 2T bios sabotaj my mobo? 1t is better, same reason with latency, the lower the better
amok
May 22 2005, 04:53 AM
schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
1T is better, but depends on what ram and mobo u're using... on an NF2 mobo + double sided ram, i'll recomend using 2T for stability and greater clock speed.
gsan
May 22 2005, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(amok @ May 22 2005, 04:53 AM) 1T is better, but depends on what ram and mobo u're using... on an NF2 mobo + double sided ram, i'll recomend using 2T for stability and greater clock speed. how far you manage to get with D27 fire?
TSxcrue
May 22 2005, 04:14 PM
THankx Apexi78 and AMOk
i'm using nf7-s with 2 stick of corsair bh-6,so 2T?instead of lastest bios from Abit site,will 1T n 2T give better results?
PCcrazy
May 22 2005, 05:25 PM
1T of course will give better result without doubt. 2T is a significantly slower than 1T in AMD64 system because of integrated memory controller. Xcrue, normally, for us to understand better the actual behavior of the RAM, there is a program called Sisoft Sandra. No matter what settings that you set, you can keep an eye on whether it improves or degrade performance by looking at the memory bandwidth.
Hope my suggestion helps though...
TSxcrue
May 22 2005, 07:07 PM
YEa..thankx for your suggestion. Will try 1T thn 2T.. Defauly bios now give my ram 94-95%bandwith
tictac
May 22 2005, 07:31 PM
try vdimm mod
TSxcrue
May 22 2005, 10:11 PM
i don't know how to shouder the mobo's pin ..AHA.. uknow?