7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SONY XPERIA PLAY, The Playstation Certified PHONE!?

TS0300078
post Aug 12 2010, 07:54 AM, updated 15y ago

1,447 posts

OK now this phone has officially known as XPERIA PLAY

Comes with Gingerbread + some it is officially gonna support PS1 game..... no emulator..... but most likely gonna be like the PSP and PS3 PSN games loh.

They said play serious game can last up to 5-6hrs which is somehow like my PSP.... and with rumors of PSP gonna co-exist with NGP (PSP2), this might be getting some PSP game launch all together (since some said that the Smarthphone this day are more powerful than PSP).

some videos during the mobile event at spain.

This post has been edited by 300078: Feb 14 2011, 08:35 AM
KTCY
post Aug 12 2010, 08:14 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

No wonder SE keep on staying at Donut. Now this is the real reason behind.
akachester
post Aug 12 2010, 09:09 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wait, is it one phone or two phone? How would a phone be a "PSP Phone" when it is running on Android?

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 12 2010, 08:14 AM)
No wonder SE keep on staying at Donut. Now this is the real reason behind.
It doesn't matter. Probably they are lazy tongue.gif Others are still gonna come out with Gingerbread as well without sacrificing FroYo or Eclair smile.gif

This post has been edited by akachester: Aug 12 2010, 09:10 AM
TS0300078
post Aug 12 2010, 09:17 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 12 2010, 09:09 AM)
Wait, is it one phone or two phone? How would a phone be a "PSP Phone" when it is running on Android?
It doesn't matter. Probably they are lazy tongue.gif Others are still gonna come out with Gingerbread as well without sacrificing FroYo or Eclair smile.gif
maybe a PSP app or something like the Touch sense or other skin onto of a android OS.
the100308
post Aug 12 2010, 09:24 AM

1,849 posts

Seriosuly speaking, that phone doesn't look nice to me....
Andrew Lim
post Aug 12 2010, 09:29 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Aug 12 2010, 09:24 AM)
Seriosuly speaking, that phone doesn't look nice to me....
"ENGADGET MOCKUP". sweat.gif
pluginbaby
post Aug 12 2010, 09:35 AM

2,661 posts

SE is sticking with snapdragon and hopefully this device will get the new snapdragon chip with the latest adreno. That chip is capable to perform up to 80 mil triangle per second. Almost as good as hummingbird+powerVR so it would be great for gaming i guess. And Sony hopefully would release great awesome games!!!

developers would end up making a overlay virtual keyboard since other android phones dosent have that dedicated keyboard.. hehe.. but that would unlikely be since surely those games are purchasable for this specific device only. It would lead to piracy for sure

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Aug 12 2010, 09:35 AM
akachester
post Aug 12 2010, 09:46 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 12 2010, 09:17 AM)
maybe a PSP app or something like the Touch sense or other skin onto of a android OS.
So. it will most likely be an Android Gaming device instead of a PSP i guess. Good news for other Android users perharps tongue.gif
pluginbaby
post Aug 12 2010, 09:48 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 12 2010, 09:46 AM)
So. it will most likely be an Android Gaming device instead of a PSP i guess. Good news for other Android users perharps tongue.gif
i would be guessing the physical gaming control would not be in the final device.. it was a mock up pic after all.. the phone would surely have a great CPU n GPU for sure. Surely not the current 1ghz snapdragon which is currently in the market
TS0300078
post Aug 12 2010, 09:49 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 12 2010, 09:35 AM)
SE is sticking with snapdragon and hopefully this device will get the new snapdragon chip with the latest adreno. That chip is capable to perform up to 80 mil triangle per second. Almost as good as hummingbird+powerVR so it would be great for gaming i guess. And Sony hopefully would release great awesome games!!!

developers would end up making a overlay virtual keyboard since other android phones dosent have that dedicated keyboard.. hehe.. but that would unlikely be since surely those games are purchasable for this specific device only. It would lead to piracy for sure
A snapdragon + a separate GPU would be better (the current PSP GPU)
And if there is to be a PSP game like God of War on it.... i dun Sony will let other phone developers have their technology share over to it.
akachester
post Aug 12 2010, 09:50 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 12 2010, 09:49 AM)
A snapdragon + a separate GPU would be better (the current PSP GPU)
And if there is to be a PSP game like God of War on it.... i dun Sony will let other phone developers have their technology share over to it.
Well, unless they are going to create it on another platform, say an SE specific OS, i doubt they would prevent others from sharing.

More like the Samsung Galaxy S i guess with a seperate GPU smile.gif
pluginbaby
post Aug 12 2010, 10:09 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 12 2010, 09:50 AM)
Well, unless they are going to create it on another platform, say an SE specific OS, i doubt they would prevent others from sharing.

More like the Samsung Galaxy S i guess with a seperate GPU smile.gif
Sony might still be sticking to Qualcomm i guess. The latest upcoming snapdragon might be 1.2-1.5ghz either single or dual core.. it has been benchmarked a few days/week ago (CPU and GPU)... it has around 88% of the graphic performance comparing to SGS based on just calculation from the benchmarking (not an actual test of performance).. perhaps its unlikely it would have a separate GPU.. it would run the latest adreno i guess and it has been speculated.. im not sure about is adreno intergrated into snapdragon or its a separate GPU.. but performance wise, it is good.. even the games which galaxy S demoed is not super graphic intense as the games arent device specific. I would say the SGS could even generates a much higher graphic experience. Perhaps super GPU phones could push some extra GPU quality if the games are maxed out and specific chip compatibility enabled. Some of the games now are sorta universally support so the graphic quality arent maxed out. This is due to the fragmentation of device and hardware

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Aug 12 2010, 10:09 AM
akachester
post Aug 12 2010, 10:21 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, to be honest, SGS is already a big leap when it comes to graphics / gaming on phones. Hopefully the "PSP Phone" from Sony is not gonna dissapoint. More important to me is how long will the battery life, if the phone's main attaction point is gaming. Not many is gonna be satisfied if its just 2 - 3 hours of gaming tongue.gif
pluginbaby
post Aug 12 2010, 10:28 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 12 2010, 10:21 AM)
Well, to be honest, SGS is already a big leap when it comes to graphics / gaming on phones. Hopefully the "PSP Phone" from Sony is not gonna dissapoint. More important to me is how long will the battery life, if the phone's main attaction point is gaming. Not many is gonna be satisfied if its just 2 - 3 hours of gaming tongue.gif
SGS series holds the throne now for sure rclxms.gif A super performance android powerhouse
TS0300078
post Aug 12 2010, 10:42 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 12 2010, 10:21 AM)
Well the current PSP battery performance is quite well, i can go on gaming for at least 5hrs+ with the volume high and screen brightness Max. But when it combines with a 3G and phone things in it... i have no idea how fast are they gonna consume.
LovesReborn
post Aug 12 2010, 11:11 AM

1,739 posts

why they put in the gamepad instead of a qwerty keyboard?
they can bundle it with an attachable gamepad for that like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9D8cedGr30

i don't know, i just prefer qwerty keyboard for a "phone".
TS0300078
post Aug 12 2010, 11:13 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Aug 12 2010, 11:11 AM)
why they put in the gamepad instead of a qwerty keyboard?
they can bundle it with an attachable gamepad for that like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9D8cedGr30

i don't know, i just prefer qwerty keyboard for a "phone".
this phone will focus on Gaming i guess, so to make it stand out frm others phone manufacturer this is the best way.
exentric_nova
post Aug 12 2010, 04:12 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 12 2010, 09:35 AM)

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 12 2010, 09:48 AM)
i would be guessing the physical gaming control would not be in the final device.. it was a mock up pic after all.. the phone would surely have a great CPU n GPU for sure. Surely not the current 1ghz snapdragon which is currently in the market
The controls from what I can read are an important factor for the phone+game. As for the games, it will only be available to the phones that met the control layout requirement.

On the software side, it looks like the device will be running Gingerbread  (Android 3.0) with a phone-specific skin, and there will be a new area of the Android Market specifically for the games. That content will be initially accessible only by the halo device, but from the sounds of things, these titles might be made available to other Android phones if their specs and button layouts meet requirements. Games will be graphically in the range of PSX or PSP games, meaning true 3D gaming is headed to Android. Titles currently being shown off seem to be focused around some older PSX as well as new PSP offerings, with God of War, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, and LittleBigPlanet possibly on tap, and future plans for titles which incorporate augmented reality features.

sanosizo
post Aug 13 2010, 04:58 PM

4,553 posts

how big the battery's gonna be?
kakit
post Aug 14 2010, 04:57 PM

49 posts

Seriously, i have been waiting for a good gaming phone... the best i had was Nokia NgageGD, which is 8 years ago, and now is Iphone.

through out the years, we always think sonyericsson should come out with a psp phone(and we see dozen of concept phone), because they are the big boy of device gaming, but never we see anything close to it.. remember the f305? and the Aino... those are just pure craps...

anyway, i have not see SE came out with any breakthrough to solve their only problem on a psp phone. hardware vs batteries. if we look at just PSP... we can turn it on/off when we need it to save battery... this cannot happen to a phone...

if SE reduce the hardware to suit the battery, there you go F305... thats what a psp phone will look like..

If SE enlarge the batt to suit the hardware, might as well SE come out with tablet... I'll bet for this one..

hopefully android will help them to keep the batt longer... i know non of the phone company can.. even iphone

Saying all bullshits above..

I will bet this round they will come out with a 6inch tablet Android with PSP system, if lucky they may put in a sim holder for us to connect via 3g.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:45 PM