QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 11 2010, 04:40 PM)
lol...no surprise the finder juuuussst happens to be kaspersky anyway the safest antivirus is still your brains. just have to becareful...read the comments, read the permissions etc before trying fancy stuff
Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!
Aug 11 2010, 05:38 PM
852 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 11 2010, 04:40 PM) lol...no surprise the finder juuuussst happens to be kaspersky anyway the safest antivirus is still your brains. just have to becareful...read the comments, read the permissions etc before trying fancy stuff |
Aug 21 2010, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(vlxrui @ Aug 21 2010, 07:11 PM) My third call to maxis kinda make me discover new possibilities. I was told by a third maxis cust service agent that i was being charged on 30 seconds block not 1 min!! don't know how true is this but this is the explanation given by him. i tried calling every few hours to get different agent to find out the reason. so far ive got 3 from 3 different people. that already narrows down your possibilities. if you got barred today, that can only mean certain activities that happen between 10pm last nite and this morning. should be easy for you to recall and fight them. btw, can you view your call/sms/mms/data details on the maxis website like we can on Digi?1) you exceeded your data plan (i signed for 1.5GB.3G watchdog shows usage of 100MB+) 2) you exceeded your call plan, e.g. you think your calling maxis no., but actually the other user switched telco, so exceed call plan (As of yday 10pm, checked through *100#, i only used rm 46+ out of my RM50 plan) 3) maxis charges user based on 30 secs block, not 1 minute. (not sure about this..) anyway it's all crap that maxis is serving to it's customers. they can always throttle/send reminders etc once your usage exceed or nears your limits. but they won't, they will happily let you incur as much as you like (while you are happily watching youtube or something) don't tell me such an advance tech company has trouble implementing such software, but they won't do it coz they can get away with charging more from their customers' "mistakes". well technically you can't win becoz it's all in black and white. you did exceed your limits after all. but what they are doing, while legally right is morally wrong. that's why i won't support companies like this. i only bought the sgs from them becoz i needed a phone badly at that time and sgs was attractive. but i cancel the contract almost immediately and paid off the bloodsucker. in fact, ended up paying less than rrp and got proper warranty, and got out of the big M's chains ....mlm to M......LOL |
Aug 21 2010, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(vlxrui @ Aug 21 2010, 08:31 PM) I'm on my second bill since signing up for SGS. so they count by month for my bill. I agree that Vampire M has a lot of hidden charges and T&C which they did not inform users whether unintentionally / purposely. the moment they say this, you know it's bs. can't check how much you have used, but can know when you exceed your credit limit...this is joke of the century...LOLMaxis cust service says they can't check how much i've used exactly. I rmb reading in v2/v1 that someone faced the same problem. check back your usage, if you feel you have a strong case and they can't provide detail info on when exactly or which number exactly you call that incurred such a huge sudden jump, you should bring this case to dispute (file with consumer court). that's what i advise my friend when she kena rm300 bill...but eventually she paid coz she said dont want trouble. aiyah..if everyone think like that then the M can happily continue with it's practise. |
Aug 23 2010, 12:21 PM
aiyah dont skimp on the termination cost la. 500+1699 still cheaper than you get it outside and with proper documentation and confirmed samsung warranty.
yes they may no be able to do much if you dont pay them (500 could be too troublesome for them to pursue) but they can blacklist you. next time when become rich and famous (or enter politics also if you have overdue amount, there will be problems with MNP. |
Aug 23 2010, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(guppy @ Aug 23 2010, 01:04 PM) From my (limited) understanding, Maxis has no way of knowing if a subscriber has exceeded his quota before the close of the billing cycle. If they had real time usage metering for each subscriber in place, they could then do any number of things including limiting data speeds as you suggested. No way of knowing?? No offence to you, but sorry can't buy that. The biggest telco in Malaysia employing tons of qualified engineers can't know how much data their customers use at any one time? We are not talking about a new technology where we can excuse some teething problems but this kind of complains has been going on for at least a couple of years already. If Digi and Celcom both can do it, what kind of excuse Maxis has?Even with digi prepaid, all you have to do is key in a USSD code and you can even get your daily usage up to that point. |
Aug 23 2010, 02:26 PM
oh yeah, the later one click lag fix has evolved to include rooting. nothing to worry about, rooting may sound scary but it fact it's just allowing you to have more control over your phone. as root, you can for eg, theme certain aspects of your gui, backup system files, run system level commands etc.
think of it as creating an admin account for your windows pc after all this while having to run it as a normal user only. but of course with greater power comes greater responsibility, if you run malicious apps as root, then you could potential bring more harm to your phone. bottomline, you have to be careful of what you do as root. for normal phone usage, however, everything more or less the same la. |
Aug 23 2010, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(guppy @ Aug 23 2010, 02:36 PM) Believe what you will, man. This is what I've been told after speaking with some friends in Maxis. Don't shoot the messenger. not blaming you or anything man. that seem like the official line from maxis anyway. when my friend call up the customer she also got similar runaround..."currently we can't tell yet, but we are upgrading our software soon...blah blah blah".but think about it la, how reasonable is that excuse? Added on August 23, 2010, 2:46 pm QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 23 2010, 02:38 PM) if i flash with JP3 fw (froyo 2.2), am i able to restore my backup using titanium backup if any case i like to revert it back to any (2.1) fw ? i think the latest few version of tb has this support. check their changelog and see...iirc only in the last 5 version or so. but bear in mind, some of your apps may not be fully compatible with froyo.in other words, does Ti backup able to restore across different android version? This post has been edited by lookie: Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM |
Aug 23 2010, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 23 2010, 02:58 PM) iirc=if i recall correctly |
Aug 24 2010, 09:36 AM
for those suffering from firmware withdrawal....
Release: I9000XWJM6 - Multi CSC(s) Europe!!! http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=763369 |
Aug 24 2010, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 24 2010, 10:02 AM) anyone try this ROM, I9000XWJM6 - Multi CSC(s) Europe ? i haven't la. but initial comments at xda seems quite positive and some ppl are claiming it's faster, no lag, better gps fix etc etc.http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=763369 i'm downloading it now but my office connection is kinda slow today.. have u try it mate? but then again, almost any new firmware leaked also you'll read this kind of comments. probably mostly placebo effect, since after a new flash and an empty phone...so it's always faster haha. anway i'll wait for more comments first. already dl the files though |
Aug 24 2010, 11:37 AM
Aug 24 2010, 02:12 PM
another offline map you can use is Mapdroyd (search for it). it source it's maps from the opensource OpenMaps project (something like wikipedia, community driven mapping). you download the map for the country you like and then you can run it offline without needing any data source unlike google maps.
the drawback is that since the maps are all voluntary work, the maps for malaysia are not particularly detailed or complete. there is also the paid version called Navdroyd with include some form of gps/routing. |
Aug 24 2010, 04:38 PM
Aug 25 2010, 08:02 AM
the 1.5gb virtual ext is situated in the 2gb system storage where all system files/installed apps/data etc is located.
the fix creates a huge 1.5gb file and move some the frequently accessed files to it, ie apps/data/cache. in future, anytime you install an app it will just into to the 1.5gb ext so it doesnt reduce the balance 300mb that you see. you don't really get to use any of the 2gb space for anything, so it's not really a matter of losing 1.5gb |
Aug 25 2010, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Aug 25 2010, 01:08 PM) Noob. One advise, stay away from the current 2.2 firmwares for now. Other than ability to run Flash, there is no other clear advantage, and may give you more problems.Just bought my precious, precious SGS less than a week back. I upgrade my Firmware to Froyo 2.2 and already rooted my phone - Last night. Problems 1. Android market lags, and for some reason, the screen go blank just before u can install programs from the Market, so to proceed i have to press the power key everytime .... and i mean everytime. 2. Android market (again) and won't show some of the program i had installed previous to the new Froyo. eg - netscource, masjidnow, etc - from the reading i find out that with froyo i cannot install "protected programs. 3. After the Froyo upgrade, everytime i start the phone, the TTS will say "New Message arrived" but no message whatsoever. 4. My phone cannot get to connect to 3g/HSDPA That's for my problems for now, will be back if i find anymore problems Reccommendations 1. All-I-need programs for my SGS with Froyo - rooted. Wondering 1. Is the sleep/phone lock function in ur SGS is just too fast, and anywy to "slow: it down. As for the sleep function, you can change the timeout period in Settings. |
| Change to: | 0.0398sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:38 PM |