Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!

blurjoey
post Aug 11 2010, 02:53 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Congrats on V3!

The I9000DXJG4 Kies backup firmware from Singtel update without any issue with Odin.

Got back the Chinese DioPen also.
blurjoey
post Aug 11 2010, 04:17 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Anyone use Lookout for Android before? Do we need it?
blurjoey
post Aug 15 2010, 11:50 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Aug 15 2010, 10:45 PM)
Normal Map and Nav won't allow you to nagivate, because google navigate only allows certain countries such as US, Uk to use.

What brut did is, hack it and allow anywhere in the world to use it. Yes Google Nav uses data connection, it needs to download the maps
After updating from Kies to I9000DXJG4, the Navigation and Latitude was installed also. Only Places was not installed.

Original Navigation can be use in Malaysia also. Tried it and it works.

Another way you can update the Google Map is to use Market Access or Market Enabler to update via Market. But this requires root.

Brut allows all downloaded maps to be saved on the phone memory or SD card so that you don't need to re-download again. Can set in the Settings.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 15 2010, 11:52 PM
blurjoey
post Aug 17 2010, 05:55 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(maba_ar @ Aug 17 2010, 05:47 PM)
Guys,
I just bought 16GB external card and put it in my Galaxy S.
Got 2 questions here...
1) Why i couldnt MOVE my files (music & pics) from internal card to external card (using Astro file mgr)? I can only do so by COPY & PASTE which is realy cumbersome
2) When i tried to connect to my pc using Mass Storage option, i couldnt go into the folder of either my internal sd or external sd. Error "Please insert disk into drive..."
Need help ...
Have you formatted the 16GB SDHC? I can move using My Files from external to internal and vice versa with no problems.
blurjoey
post Aug 17 2010, 06:18 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(maba_ar @ Aug 17 2010, 06:08 PM)
Done that. Astro gave me error msg "Move Error : Move failed".

About PC recognising the SD card, do i have to install Kies in order to get it connected?
No need to install Kies. Just use Mass Storage option when plugin to PC.

Change to ask when plug to PC
Settings > About phone >USB Settings > Ask on connection

Then you will see USB icon at the notification bar. Just mount it and your PC will see the SD card and the internal memory.

Just unmount on the SGS first when you want to plug out from the PC when you are done.
blurjoey
post Aug 17 2010, 08:10 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(maba_ar @ Aug 17 2010, 07:56 PM)
Sorry...noob question. How you mount it once connect to PC?  hmm.gif
You open the notification bar and select the USB connected. Then click on Mount lor...
blurjoey
post Aug 17 2010, 10:44 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Shinnx @ Aug 17 2010, 07:34 PM)
I bought the Zagg Samsung I9000 Galaxy S Full Body Maximum Coverage recently and put on my SGS. My advise is stay away from this SP as texture is sticky and dam difficult to apply.

And the size is not 100% fit. When apply you need to stretch the SP until it reach the edge of the screen.

Just my friendly comments. now i need to look for a better screen protector for my SGS.
I applied on 2 SGS with no problems (back and front). Only that it is a small gap around the edge. No stretching required.

But applying this IS need lots of patience.

I can still swype with no problem also.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 17 2010, 10:47 PM
blurjoey
post Aug 18 2010, 08:26 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 18 2010, 12:22 AM)
Just wanna share another option instead of ZAGG
the double shield protector, i purchased it, and pretty good quality.

http://www.gadgetshieldz.com/samsung-galax...le-shields.html

My friend got this for his SGS. At first he was complaining that screen was not sensitive anymore for Swype. After it have cured and dried, then he said it was back to normal laugh.gif
blurjoey
post Aug 18 2010, 11:03 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Aug 18 2010, 10:49 AM)
hello,

can anyone answer my question? i want to know the price for 8gb n  16gb.. gonna go buy today.. but want to survey the price 1st, so not gonna get cheat..
Maxis only selling 16GB version. Check their website. And only Maxis got rights to sell the Galaxy S.

8GB is only water sets. Can find in Garage Sales.
blurjoey
post Aug 18 2010, 11:11 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 18 2010, 11:05 AM)
for the chinese input i use google pingyin,its not bad n wont lag.how bout the consumption of bat?

Added on August 18, 2010, 11:07 am
do u know The Mines?tat day i went in samsung centre,i saw they r selling SGS...i asked for the price,its rm2889 for 16GB version.2599 for 8GB....but then how come they can sell?i heard tat maxis is exclusive...
That's weird cause I ask in LYP and they all said only Maxis selling the SGS. Even the Samsung booth at the ground floor don't have SGS display there. Weird hmm.gif Or maybe the exclusive rights is ending d hmm.gif
blurjoey
post Aug 18 2010, 03:20 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Aug 18 2010, 03:15 PM)
hmm...i jz suspect isit 1st hand mobile or not since he get it for rm1.7k...
i did not ask him whether is 1st hand or 2nd hand la since he not mentioning...
dun wan to make him malu in front of frens ma...
It also could be stolen goods if so cheap for 1st hand sweat.gif
blurjoey
post Aug 19 2010, 11:49 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mahad13 @ Aug 19 2010, 10:11 AM)
Hi I have the same issue as you. Mine is rooted with Ninja dude.

Initially I use this steps which failed to remount. Maybe because of my oneclick lagfix
CODE
adb remount
adb shell rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
adb shell pm uninstall com.noshufou.android.su

Then I use this method which successfully uninstall the Ninja Superuser. Galaxy is using same method as Nexus One to mount.
CODE
$ su
# (remount for your phone, Nexus One is 'mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system', other phones will use the same pattern, but may vary on the '/dev...' bit)
# rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
# pm uninstall com.noshufou.android.su
# (same remount command as above, but with 'remount,ro' instead of 'remount,rw')

Then I reinstall through market and successful. The reason I insist to get the Market one so that it will easy to update in future.

Note: Uninstall the Ninja Superuser will not solve the issue. You need to do the above step to clean install.

Note: The steps above from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=682828
I used the terminal emulator to fixed the SuperUser issue. Now can install from Market.

Added on August 19, 2010, 11:50 am
QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:38 AM)
any idea how to push back the sms backup-ed using KIES back to the phone ?
Don't think can restore SMS backup using Kies. Tried it and cannot restore. The others all can restore.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 19 2010, 11:50 AM
blurjoey
post Aug 19 2010, 02:00 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 19 2010, 01:36 PM)
the Asphalt5 from Samsung store same with Asphalt5 HD in Market?
It's the same but the Samsung version have a Samsung Mobile car and WCG 2010 mode for multiplayer mode or something like that.
blurjoey
post Aug 19 2010, 05:53 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 19 2010, 05:35 PM)
downloaded the terminal emulator from Market, trying to key in the code above, just cant at all.... haiz

Mine is from the ninja then followed the suggestion to upgrade it to 2.3.2.1 via the update.zip, then i tried to download the superuser from market, but cant install at all. How.. wonder how u plp can remove the superuser hence install it from market..
Here's what I did:

Try using the Samsung keyboard without T9 to enter. I had issues using swype and with the the T9 enabled.

At the terminal enter the following.

$ su <enter>
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system <enter>
# rm /system/app/Superuser.apk <enter>
# pm uninstall com.noshufou.android.su
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system <enter>

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 19 2010, 05:53 PM
blurjoey
post Aug 20 2010, 12:17 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mckevin @ Aug 20 2010, 10:24 AM)
rooted.. installed... alright man.. ill try..  thanks

Added on August 20, 2010, 10:29 amafter i fake it.. do i need to revert back to original setting ?
Yes. Do a backup of the 50212 first before emulating.
blurjoey
post Aug 26 2010, 08:45 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Mine
http://www.appbrain.com/user/blurjoey/apps-on-the-gt-i9000
blurjoey
post Sep 6 2010, 03:59 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Vlingo version 1.6 is now free on Market. The version in Samsung Apps is 1.0.1.

0.0436sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:39 AM