Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!

mahad13
post Aug 19 2010, 11:40 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 19 2010, 11:19 AM)
oh!u mean papago offical web is it?haha it tot u r saying tat www.navigasi.net XD
Rite biggrin.gif

Added on August 19, 2010, 11:42 am
QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 19 2010, 11:36 AM)
anyway not to use the adb way? cos i do not know how to do it...
I failed when using adb. So I used the terminal method.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 19 2010, 11:42 AM
mahad13
post Aug 19 2010, 04:33 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 19 2010, 04:25 PM)
anyone tried flashing ur set to froyo (2.2) ?
QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 19 2010, 04:28 PM)
already available? blink.gif
available quite sometime. It is leak test firmware, not official for customer. If you read back the threads, you can find the review on it and where to get it. The latest is JP3.
mahad13
post Aug 19 2010, 05:53 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 19 2010, 05:35 PM)
downloaded the terminal emulator from Market, trying to key in the code above, just cant at all.... haiz
1) Relex biggrin.gif
2) Be more descriptive.

which part you fail on the terminal steps? which command? what the error return?
mahad13
post Aug 20 2010, 05:00 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 20 2010, 02:53 PM)
these setting not going to work for everyone. if i read the setting correctly, the setting that is given is the same as the stock setting.

after you try these and its not working. try this another setting that i found. it is the best for me. even in door i can get lock to 4/9, 6/7
do note, even though your gps catch satellite much more faster, but i do experience in jumping while navigating using papago..
I am on DXJG4. The GPS is good with default setting. The initial setup is already default for DXJG4. So I try the changes as highlighted in red in previous post. It become worst. The radius of accuracy is bigger than the default setting. So I think as you mention, the accuracy is not that good and experience jumping. For me I prefer accuracy especially place with close junctions. So I stick with default setting.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 20 2010, 05:01 PM
mahad13
post Aug 21 2010, 10:55 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(johnleeisme2004 @ Aug 21 2010, 09:43 PM)
My case is exactly the same as yours except that my billing date is on the 14th.  I'm with Maxis on Value 50 and 500MB data plan.  My credit limit is only RM100 as I'm a port-in new customer.  On the 13th this month, just before I went to bed at around 11pm the 3G watchdog showed that my data usage was around 280MB.  BTW I'm always very cautious about my data usage knowing that M is the bloodsucker should I exceed my plan's limit.  However my line was barred when I woke up in the morning on the 14th.  Upon checking with bloodsucker M, I discovered that my unbilled amount was RM395!  Further investigation showed that my data usage exceeded 500MB by 50MB plus.  How on earth could my data usage surge to almost 100% of what I've been using for the past one month in just one freaking night?  So the rest is history.  I have no choice but to pay the bloodsucker as I need to use the phone.  But I have made up my mind that upon expiration of my 1-year contract, I'll definitely swicth to other telco!  Yes!  Beware of the big M company!
My advise just pay the rm500 penalty and get out from M. you already lost rm 300 for that month only. wonder what happen on next month till 1 year contract expired. if you compare, rm500 is nothing to what you been/going to loss.
mahad13
post Aug 22 2010, 02:06 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(nud_karo @ Aug 22 2010, 01:54 PM)
lagfix?
how to apply lag fix?
help me.
im new for this adroid phone
Here you go the most simple lagfix to apply

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=760571
mahad13
post Aug 22 2010, 08:27 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(harfeatz86 @ Aug 22 2010, 05:44 PM)
previously i  ask about how to do a complete check on SGS new.

info: im getting a new sgs ori set malaysia from a forumer in LYN

questions :

1) how to check on the life time of product?

2) how to determine the warranty card is the real one ?(important because im buying this from a person not from shop)

3) does it required the sller information for the warranty to valid?

4) what are the equipment included in the box?

5) how to do a complete check on the hp?

pictures will be very helpful..

thx  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think what you can do to confirm if the phone is SME is by register the warranty or send to Samsung SC to upgrade the firmware. Occasionally I do that when I am totally free. While waiting for them to upgrade the firmware, I just seat back watching all the LCD/LED TV with my family. Something like family outing.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 22 2010, 08:27 PM
mahad13
post Aug 24 2010, 05:57 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 24 2010, 12:05 AM)
Anyone has recommendations for casing?

I'm torn between soft silicone case and hard rubberized case now...
I suggest soft silicone. Easy to press button compare with hard rubber.
mahad13
post Aug 24 2010, 11:13 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 24 2010, 11:03 AM)
what would happen if i flash with following:

PIT : 512
PDA : XWJM5
MODEM : XWJM3  or DXJG4
CSC : DXJG4
Yes you can do that.
mahad13
post Aug 25 2010, 05:24 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(raycsc @ Aug 25 2010, 05:15 PM)
I'm using 3G Watchdog now....after some sifus here recommended me  rclxms.gif
Even that, it still not accurate. So don't let your guard down biggrin.gif
mahad13
post Aug 26 2010, 03:58 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 26 2010, 02:57 AM)
weird... why on malaysia doesnt have Holy Quran.. kinda great if can
iQuran from Market also superb.

Added on August 26, 2010, 4:03 am
QUOTE(engrfeez @ Aug 26 2010, 03:08 AM)
anyone know to use tethering samsung kies? i want to connect internet using SGS via PC internet..
To Theter using Kies you need to:-
Set USB connection to Kies
Once connected to Kies, click Tethering.
If you are first time, I think they will ask what to dial. This you need to give info as your APN setting.

The simpler way:-
Set USB connection to PC Internet
Connect to PC
PC will recognize it as another network and you free to browse.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 26 2010, 04:03 AM
mahad13
post Aug 26 2010, 08:21 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 26 2010, 04:17 AM)
will not hide it, yes SGS do have gps problem, but samsung promise a release this september to fix it as well as froyo, so nothing to worry about, there also temporary fixes flying around everywhere, and they really do work. i can navigate using papago software to my destination, its not perfect there are few jumps, but it get you there, you will get a fix on satellite, so i have no complaint so far.
you know any apps that can tell correct time for maghrib? need one as i always break my fast outside, many shop dont open azan when already the time, i really have to depend on my clock (set to sirim standard time). tried masjidnow but the time not really correct, few minute early on some days, sometime 5 minit early
I am using Adhan Alarm. But it lari 2 minutes. I had tried several apps. So far this the best. But never found apps that can give exact same time as publish. If we can get the formula for Malaysia I think we can write our own apps.

Added on August 26, 2010, 8:32 am
QUOTE(kerm @ Aug 26 2010, 07:49 AM)
Hi all

anyone want to share their list of apps? I just bought my sgs and don't know which apps are good...
My best apps so far:-
Adhan Alarm
AirAttack
Digital World
iQuran
Superuser
Terminal Emulator
AndroZip
AppBrain
Barcode Scanner
Bookmarks to SD
ConvertPad
Dolphin Browser (to support Bookmarks to SD. I like stock browser more)
fring
Facebook
Places Directory
Maps [Brut]
MarketAccess

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 26 2010, 08:32 AM
mahad13
post Aug 26 2010, 04:05 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(linuss @ Aug 26 2010, 03:52 PM)
have to root the phone right?
if yes, warranty void?
just flash back before claim warranty
mahad13
post Aug 27 2010, 12:23 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(cless85 @ Aug 27 2010, 09:29 AM)
my galaxy s now cannot wifi anymore....  cry.gif

initially was can connect to a working wifi but somehow cannot go to internet...

then i change to static ip and  it was ok dy.

but after uncheck static ip,

my phone just cannot detect wifi anymore...

Even the same after restart phone.
Any Tai Gor have any clue about this.  smile.gif
I think your router dhcp got problem cause ip conflict. try to restart your router.
mahad13
post Aug 30 2010, 03:36 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Aug 30 2010, 02:10 PM)
what car dock you all are using? Cant find a suitable dock for SGS.
I am using this one. Simple and smart. The seller in eBay closed shop right after ship my unit. Maybe you can find other seller.

Added on August 30, 2010, 3:38 pm
QUOTE(zharyn @ Aug 30 2010, 02:22 PM)
Hi...could someone teach me how to reverse tethering using the PC Internet USB mode. I've connected my phone with my PC using that mode but the LAN failed to connect
emmm... I never heard it can be done.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 30 2010, 03:38 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mahad13
post Aug 30 2010, 06:24 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Aug 30 2010, 05:38 PM)
Brother, what is the name of the dock?
Does your dock blocking the sgs back camera?
I need something not blocking the camera, as some time i need to record my journey.
It does not have name. Just car holder. Nope it does not block the view. But the picture was shaky. So not recommended if you want a sturdy picture.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-Nq5qWetZA

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 30 2010, 06:32 PM
mahad13
post Aug 31 2010, 05:50 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Aug 30 2010, 11:21 PM)
I'm considering getting either the Steinheil Ultra Crystal or Steinheil Anti Fingerprint screen protector. Anyone has used them? Which is better?

Appreciate your feedback and advice.

I suggest Oleophobic. It clear and less sticky than crystal clear.
mahad13
post Sep 1 2010, 09:34 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 1 2010, 09:23 AM)
how come every1 is facing GPS problem? I myself is still using samset JM5 and gps works fine, it lock down quite quickly(with mobile internet) its quite jumpy but very usable. Well it is for car, not sure about walking on foot.
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 1 2010, 09:27 AM)
my GPS works as good as other roms. the signal can lock right after the maps appear, which is roughly less than 5 secs.. and accurate as well..
we're on the same boat mate..hmm maybe we are just lucky ? i can say the GPS is normal and as good as other android that i've (or had)
+1 for me. I also don't have any problem with my GPS. Previously on JF4 and now on JG4. I think those who have really hard time with their GPS, it is time to visit Samsung SC for hardware check.
mahad13
post Sep 2 2010, 07:01 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 2 2010, 12:16 AM)
haha sorry2 let me comfort your heart then, there are reports like yours in ryanza thread at xda forum, few of it to be exact, so yeah it is cause by ryanza maybe

UPDATE FOR JPC (maybe): today i suddenly got an update at samsung apps, when i open it i see task manager 1.1.4, from other firmware got or not this update?
I am in JG4 and get same update in Samsung Apps
mahad13
post Sep 4 2010, 07:31 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Sep 3 2010, 11:13 PM)
guys...anyone have experienced screen will ripple when scanning for wi-fi?..my phone got it..it is normal interference or defect?...i'n on JG4...thanks for any feedback from all you guys...
screen ripple is more like hardware issue. Just sent out to Samsung CS. I remember there was member in this thread have same issue and it is hardware issue.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0653sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:08 AM