125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!

MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 04:56 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

No, it is a separate app.

It is actually the same google map and google navigation. But with Brut mod.

So once installed there are 2 navigation apps, and 2 map apps and 2 more brut apps available.

You can use either the original google map or brut, but brut will give you more options in some sense.

It's like you have a house and 1 side you install a garage, and another side you install a garage with automatic doors.
So now you have 2 garage, up to you where you wanna park.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Aug 12 2010, 04:56 PM
TShihihehe
post Aug 12 2010, 05:02 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 12 2010, 06:25 PM)
brut map is another variant of google map, with voice navigation. It's just an app, like the original stock map app.

Added on August 12, 2010, 4:31 pm

Gg. I did that yesterday, and I reboot and my phone won't go past the Galaxy S load screen, and the screen just turns black.

I reflashed.
lol..thats what i get it now..

guess need to reflash this b**** again
MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 05:03 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

There is a way outta it, but just reflash. I did that and it gave me less headaches.

I do have some issues with force closes now :s
Although minor issue, such as titanium backup sometimes FC on me.
But otherwise it's much smoother, especially when widgets are loading.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Aug 12 2010, 05:05 PM
TShihihehe
post Aug 12 2010, 05:06 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 12 2010, 07:03 PM)
There is a way outta it, but just reflash. I did that and it gave me less headaches.

I do have some issues with force closes now :s
nvm
flashing back now
sien
MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 05:07 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I feel your pain, i screwed up at 1am, finished reflash and reconfig @ 2am.
jujx
post Aug 12 2010, 05:08 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 12 2010, 05:07 PM)
Haha i feel u! Nvr flash before sleep or anything important!
MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 05:13 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Yes, I hurled expletives at myself, but at least now it's running smoother, else I'd be doing some late night headbanging.
Gr3yL3gion
post Aug 12 2010, 05:15 PM

468 posts

Anyway I've jsut downloaded the necessary files to reflash my phone.

Want to ask, what are the chances that I could accidently brick it, and is it recoverable?

Am just taking the precautionary steps.

Any other programs that I could use to backup the contacts, messages and apps in the phone?

THanks.
TShihihehe
post Aug 12 2010, 05:27 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 12 2010, 07:07 PM)
i flash until no rasa de...lol

mjj2332
post Aug 12 2010, 05:29 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Aug 12 2010, 05:15 PM)
Anyway I've jsut downloaded the necessary files to reflash my phone.

Want to ask, what are the chances that I could accidently brick it, and is it recoverable?

Am just taking the precautionary steps.

Any other programs that I could use to backup the contacts, messages and apps in the phone?

THanks.
I just upgraded the firmware to JG4 using Kies.......
And all my messages are gone, have to re-install applications, home screen gone, setting gone.....Damn It, i didn't know that it'll be reseted to factory default.....$#%$#%#$^#$

Is there any backup application like Titanium, but can run without root?
I don't want to repeat the "format" process again, when my SGS get 2.2 Froyo update...........

This post has been edited by mjj2332: Aug 12 2010, 05:31 PM
maximus7
post Aug 12 2010, 05:33 PM

87 posts

hi, how do u put different ringtones for different contacts? i cant seem to find the answer
MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 05:34 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Before you flash, you root, use titanium to backup.
After flash, root again, then restore your system setting.

Actually no harm to root.

Chance to brick - High if you mess up
Chance to regain control - High, just go to download mode and reflash

Chance of eventual success on upgrade - High, just keep trying and note down mis-steps.

Added on August 12, 2010, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(maximus7 @ Aug 12 2010, 05:33 PM)
hi, how do u put different ringtones for different contacts? i cant seem to find the answer
Click the contact
Edit, then select ringtone.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Aug 12 2010, 05:35 PM
janov
post Aug 12 2010, 05:49 PM

167 posts

Sifu, can i use this method to install Brut Map : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=630887

Please confirm and also confirm can run on unrooted phone? Thanks a lot.

By the way, try to read out loud the bolded sentence below and brut but brut later tongue.gif

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 12 2010, 04:56 PM)
No, it is a separate app.

It is actually the same google map and google navigation. But with Brut mod.

So once installed there are 2 navigation apps, and 2 map apps and 2 more brut apps available.

You can use either the original google map or brut, but brut will give you more options in some sense.

It's like you have a house and 1 side you install a garage, and another side you install a garage with automatic doors.
So now you have 2 garage, up to you where you wanna park.
MYstombox
post Aug 12 2010, 05:53 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Yes use that.
Confirmed working on non-rooted.

Just to re-iterate, you only need to root your phone IF you want to un-install the ORIGINAL 'Maps' app.

I added some text modifiers to ensure emphasis this time around.
frankgan
post Aug 12 2010, 07:58 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 11 2010, 10:05 PM)
hi guys,

am planning to flash my sgs for the first time,

I need chinese input ocassionally,

so only asian firmware contains chinese input or any firmware is equipped with chinese input?

Please help smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2010, 10:41pm

Can I get Asian language support in the European firmwares?

I dont exactly get what it means by i need a new keyboard,

Mean I will have to download a new keyboard? or is it available in the setting already?

rclxub.gif
Can anyone help? icon_question.gif
kmrdeva
post Aug 12 2010, 08:10 PM

4,779 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 12 2010, 07:58 PM)
Can anyone help? icon_question.gif
The non-asian firmwares do not have any option for chinese input, meaning you can't enter/type chinese text. I read somewhere that you can work around this by downloading and installing other keyboard or input applications that support chinese input.

TShihihehe
post Aug 12 2010, 08:13 PM

13,789 posts

scored 2080 for quadrant after using lagfix..
tbh,i just feel a bit faster only
mckevin
post Aug 12 2010, 08:24 PM

Rated 4
1,096 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 12 2010, 08:13 PM)
scored 2080 for quadrant after using lagfix..
tbh,i just feel a bit faster only
Yup..i think the whole lag fix is optimized for quardant only..lol..
mahad13
post Aug 12 2010, 08:28 PM

175 posts

yeay flex.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

apply the one click root
apply the one click lagfix

an now quadrant score 2168!
try Asphalt 5, the loading is faster now.
really satisfy

Added on August 12, 2010, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(mckevin @ Aug 12 2010, 08:24 PM)
Yup..i think the whole lag fix is optimized for quardant only..lol..
the application opening and closing is faster after the fix. I feel good already.

This post has been edited by mahad13: Aug 12 2010, 08:30 PM
mckevin
post Aug 12 2010, 08:33 PM

Rated 4
1,096 posts

big diff in quadrant numbers.. but little improvement on performance.. i expect better yo.. smile.gif

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:46 AM