MSI-HWBot OC Marathon, When Intel and AMD tortured together

TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:49 PM, updated 16y ago

Noob
1,436 posts

MSI-HWBot OC Marathon

It has been very long since i meet fellow local OverClockers to OverClock together. So last week i managed to loan some hardware from MSI Malaysia for our mini event. The idea is to do a HWBot OC Marathon. Unfortunately, it didn't turn out as we would like it to be. We had quite a handful of hardware to bench and submit to HWBot but we only have 1 day to do that. So minus some hardware/software problems, we only managed a few scores to be submitted. Too bad the recent concluded Gigabyte Mini Competition champion, xixo_12 couldn't join us as he had to attend a oral test. And our beloved dblooi has some personal issue that day. But it couldn't be blamed as it was kinda a very rush event. They were notified few days earlier only.

user posted image user posted image

Event: MSI-HWBot OC Marathon
Date: 1st August 2010
Participants: verdict, Lacus, SkyNoEye, Jonesy, Sanko
Objective: Submit as many scores as possible to HWBot

Left to Right: Lacus, verdict. The rest were camera shy.

Overview
For this MSI-HWBot OC Marathon, we managed to bench the AMD Phenom II and Intel Core i5-655K on Dry Ice. As Lacus and verdict has only 1 day time to spare, we only managed to bench Super Pi 1M and Super Pi 32M for the both processors. While other Futuremark benchmarks was done on air cooling on the Intel Core i5-655K. As it was a very rush effort, we didn't spend to much time on taking pictures. Everyone of us is helping each other in setup, benching, tweaking, etc.

Getting started.

Another setup rig.

Lowering down the temperature before getting started.

Side view of the setup.

Dry Ice on the run.

verdict concentrating on his mission.

Temperature Bug.

TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:50 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

AMD Phenom II Session

We had 30KG of Dry Ice in hand for our mini-event. So i was incharged of the Intel Rig while verdict with is usual, AMD! As both of us are Super Pi lovers, so we kick start with Super Pi run on the AMD Rig. Initially we had some boot-up issue with the setup and waste a some time there. But verdict was a fighter and wouldn't want to give up. After 3 trial of resetting the Pot and Processors, we managed to run the setup without any problem.

Processor: AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE
Mainboard: MSI 870A Fuzion
Memory: G.Skill PIS F3-17600CL7D-4GBPIS 2200 7-10-10-28
PSU: Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w

Intel Core i5-665K Session

As for the Intel session, i miss our dearly dblooi benching together. As i always has this phobia to tune up the voltage but dblooi is not. Eventually i regretted my run as the max vcore i used was 1.68v only. If i had to up to 1.8v maybe i'll get a better result. During the OverClocking of Intel session, we do not encounter any weird problem whatsoever. It has been a smooth run. So here goes.

Processor: Intel Core i5-665K
Mainboard: Big Bang Fuzion
Memory: Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1600C7
PSU: Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Operating System: Windows XP SP3 and Windows 7 32bit Ultimate

Super Pi on AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE

Super Pi 1M - 5.0GHz/DDR3-1840 8-9-8-20
HWBot: Overall Rank 35th, DICE Rank 8th (As of 9th August, 2010)

Super Pi 32M - 4.8GHz/DDR3-1800 8-8-8-29
HWBot: Overall Rank 16th, DICE Rank 2nd (As of 9th August, 2010)

Super Pi on Intel Core i5-665K

Super Pi 1M - 5.597GHz/DDR3-1804 7-8-7-19
HWBot: Overall Rank 14th, DICE Rank 2nd (As of 9th August, 2010)

Super Pi 32M - 5.597GHz/DDR3-1804 7-8-7-19
HWBot: Overall Rank 6th, DICE Rank 2nd (As of 9th August, 2010)

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 22 2010, 02:46 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:50 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Palit GT 240 DDR3 512MB

Futuremark 3DMark06 - 4.501GHz/DDR3-1876 7-8-7-19 | 645MHz/1185MHz/1570MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 9th, Stock Cooling Ranked 6th (As of 9th August, 2010)

Futuremark Vantage - 4.501GHz/DDR3-1876 7-8-7-19 | 645MHz/1185Mhz/1570MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 6th, Stock Cooling Ranked 4th (As of 9th August, 2010)

TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:52 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

MSI N240GT-MD1G/D5

Futuremark 3DMark06 - 4.720GHz/DDR3-1816 7-8-7-19 | 680MHz/977MHz/1657MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 18th, Stock Cooling Ranked 10th (As of 9th August, 2010)

Futuremark Vantage - 4.720GHz/DDR3-1816 7-8-7-19 | 685MHz/980MHz/1669MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 17th, Stock Cooling Ranked 10th (As of 9th August, 2010)

TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:52 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

MSI N250GTS Twin Frozr 1G

Futuremark 3DMark06 - 4.746GHz/DDR3-1824 7-8-7-19 | 825MHz/1272MHz/1990MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 69th, Single Card Stock Cooling Ranked 54th (As of 9th August, 2010)

Futuremark Vantage - 4.720GHz/DDR3-1816 7-8-7-19 | 825MHz/1275MHz/2000MHz
HWBot: Overall Ranked 40th, Single Card Stock Cooling Ranked 36th (As of 9th August, 2010)

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 10 2010, 08:02 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 10 2010, 07:53 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Conclusion

Initially we would like to bench more with all above. And also with a Intel i7 940 ES pairing with a MSI X58A GD-65 but turn out we do not have enough time. Therefore we only what we managed to do. As for the Futuremark results, it fare moderately due to the fact Intel i5 655K is only a dual-core processor and it's Clarkdale. But we are still happy with the outcome. Honestly we hope it still can be considered as a HWBot OC Marathon but i guess we have to be realistic as the results submitted were not that much to be considered as a Marathon. However we had our good time together getting know each other 'once again' and sharing some tweaks as well.

Special mention to MSI Malaysia for loaning us all the hardware for the event. Greatly appreciated.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Aug 10 2010, 07:59 PM
xixo_12
post Aug 10 2010, 08:22 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

nice notworthy.gif
Sorry again, couldn't attend that day sad.gif
Nice effort... thumbup.gif
verdict
post Aug 10 2010, 10:11 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

sanko have new stuff to play!
selferino
post Aug 11 2010, 02:31 AM

joe cole = english samba!
1,219 posts

wow how the OC capabilities of 870a fuzion? dh ade kt malaysia ke bro mobo nie? cm besh jer smile.gif
TSSanko
post Aug 11 2010, 01:35 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

xixo_12: no worries dude. there's always next time.
verdict: hehe... but still no time to play with it.
selferino: from what i heard, MSI Malaysia still contemplating whether to bring it in to the local market or not. if i remember correctly.
hilmiangah
post Aug 11 2010, 01:43 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

verdict asked me to join the other day but cant.

next time can i join or not?? blush.gif
xixo_12
post Aug 11 2010, 03:08 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 11 2010, 01:43 PM)

next time can i join or not??  blush.gif
u ha...

BAN! whistling.gif
coolice
post Aug 11 2010, 04:00 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 11 2010, 01:43 PM)

next time can i join or not??  blush.gif
no stylo hair no join tongue.gif
SkyNoEye
post Aug 11 2010, 10:21 PM

18 posts

- edited -

This post has been edited by SkyNoEye: Aug 11 2010, 10:21 PM
TSSanko
post Aug 11 2010, 10:21 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

hilmiangah: sure thing, anytime. after xixo told me he can't make it, it leave the decision to verdict to pick his teammate. as lacus is our regular, lol. any gathering he sure with us.
verdict
post Aug 13 2010, 04:15 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

890 + 1055T FTW!!! Woot!!! drool.gif
xixo_12
post Aug 13 2010, 08:30 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Aug 13 2010, 04:15 PM)
890 + 1055T FTW!!! Woot!!! drool.gif
mana? drool.gif
kuntawakaw
post Aug 14 2010, 01:03 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

if there is any other gathering like this.. with AMD platform..
may i join? even i know none of u here..
(Asking with muka xtau malu )

and to sis verdict..regarding ur last PM..is this the thing? i was away.. cry.gif
coolice
post Aug 14 2010, 01:16 AM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Aug 14 2010, 01:03 AM)

and to sis verdict..regarding ur last PM..is this the thing? i was away.. cry.gif
no worries, they will pleasant, and they r not gay, except err...lacus? laugh.gif laugh.gif
sanko actually did posted in amd thread if anyone interested to join but not much ppl care about it
kuntawakaw
post Aug 14 2010, 01:22 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Aug 14 2010, 01:16 AM)
no worries, they will pleasant, and they r not gay, except err...lacus? laugh.gif  laugh.gif
sanko actually did posted in amd thread if anyone interested to join but not much ppl care about it
i was away that time for around 3days.. if not.. i can say 95% i will come if u guys permit me to..
verdict
post Aug 14 2010, 02:31 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Aug 14 2010, 02:03 AM)

Yup...this is it...

awesome right? brows.gif

TSSanko
post Aug 14 2010, 03:33 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

kuntawakaw: i'll try to make another round. by that time you can come. and actually every one from AMD clan is welcomed. wkkkwkkwkkk....

0.0218sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:38 PM