post Aug 18 2010, 04:51 PM

oh man...when i saw this thread, i couldn't help but clicking

but joe, why suddenly?
firefawkes
post Aug 18 2010, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Aug 18 2010, 04:51 PM)
hello, wat is dharma? and some of u said buddism have god? is this true? i thought buddha only believe on greater power, not god and demon
dharma = teachings of the Buddha

God? the ideology of god was mixed into the teachings of the Buddha when they tried to spread Buddhism into China, keyword, Taoism

firefawkes
post Aug 18 2010, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Aug 18 2010, 05:23 PM)
You sound like wanted to convert buddhist to christian but you failed. Don't burden yourself just do what you're doing in life. Everyone has his/her own path or road to walk. Busy body lol haha biggrin.gif
for someone that talks so much bout meditation, you dont sound like one that has much composure
firefawkes
post Aug 18 2010, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Aug 18 2010, 05:45 PM)
I think that post was before this thread changed into a thread for Buddhism discussion. 

All that is in the past now.  Please move along.
so...apa lu mau diskus?
firefawkes
post Aug 18 2010, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 18 2010, 05:56 PM)
have any of you guys thought about being a monk ? maybe short period ones...like in thai ...
you mean short term monastic life? (1 week or more)

or long term? (studies)
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:33 AM

As long as you guys and girls can be more matured or serious bout the questions, i will answer.

will list the most asked questions on the 1st post, i will not answer repetitive or similar question.

this section is strictly Q&A, its debatable, but if you wanna talk kok bout it, please go Joe's thread and bincang. im not gonna be here 24/7 to bincang bincang.

so mods, if there is any weird post here that doesnt belong here, ill report it

wokay, ask away

Question List: (updates every day)
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 19 2010, 09:35 AM)
hey TS, serious question here.

mind describing Buddhism in your own words? simpler better smile.gif
way of life
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(KyLe91 @ Aug 19 2010, 09:36 AM)
hello TS, once i heard from a friend of mine. He said in Buddhism, they beleive in rebirth. How is that so.?
yes, we do believe in rebirth, why? because we believe in the existence of Karma. It is due to Karma that we exist in the plains (human, animal, celestials, demons etc etc)
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(deanmalenko @ Aug 19 2010, 09:34 AM)
how many time u pray a day?

Added on August 19, 2010, 9:35 amand how?
which type of prayer are you talking, we have so many types of prayer, if you are talking bout main daily prayers for the mass, we have mainly 2

morning prayers
night prayers

not inclusive of minor prayers
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(KyLe91 @ Aug 19 2010, 09:40 AM)
How do Buddhists feel about racism?

I mean diff religion have diff definitions rightt?
i do not in any way represent Buddhism in answering this question

but imho, this is more of a personal question, as Buddhism is a way of life, the Truth, its not a living being that "judge"

but to clear abit of your doubts, back in India, and even now, there exist a caste system

Brahma's in those days, would never accept the lower caste into their teachings

but the Buddha does not judge the others by caste, he accepted them into his teachings, and treated them equally

im just answering this in a short way, if you want to know more, you can start by reading the biography of the Buddha for a clearer picture

the Buddha's 10 main disciples were from all different types of background
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 19 2010, 09:41 AM)
so in any mean, you people don't know what is your previous life and what is your after life like right?

in other word - it just holding on faith of believing on the religion, right bro?
it wasnt a religion to begin with bro, it's more like do you believe in "your" Karma?

your Karma determines what your next life is gonna be, hence the "cultivation" on your current life and your future to strive for the Truth

your Karma obstructs your cultivation

as for the knowledge of your past life, with enough cultivation, you can tap into the memories of your past life (related to "supernatural powers")
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(lalalee @ Aug 19 2010, 09:42 AM)
why your god is bald?
he wasnt

he has a really cool hair

it was actually very curly, naturally(not kidding)
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:57 AM

oh damn...so many ppl answering for me now?
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 19 2010, 09:55 AM)
Advise to give you:

1) For buddhism thread, put in GROUP tag, as in christian and islam. Once u do this, no trolls go in

2) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1520928 shows how stupid joe_mamak is. He didnt heed my advise of putting in a GROUP tag, but put in serious talk instead...and in the end, all he got was butthurt trolls

3) Dont be as stupid as joe_mamak.
not related to thread but no

i would not turn this into a group thread, its a serious talk thread

group tags dont save your arse from getting trolled, dunno where you learn that from
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 19 2010, 09:58 AM)
woaa seriously? u got any picture? sorry and ignore if its offensive. i dont mean that... sweat.gif
no worries, just google it

here you go, i just grabbed a random image

firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Aug 19 2010, 10:02 AM)
This thread is fail if one can't even answer how to achieve enlightenment by using Zen way and Pure Land way
i have a job and a life thank you, and a bloody flood control, have patience my dear

enlightenment is attained through life times of cultivation, there is no shortcut, each way has its methodology in attaining the same goal

same basics, just different ways(path)

keyword: cultivation, no shortcuts
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 19 2010, 10:04 AM)
PLU group threads, chrisitan group threads, islam group threads, PD group threads, hakka group threads...etc.

very little trolls.

You need to lurk more la, little man. I learn it all from experience by observation.

Added on August 19, 2010, 10:04 amAnd if this isn't a group thread, so its a religious thread...hence its against the forum rules

I'm reporting this soon.
no promotion, just Q & A

reported for bot staying on topic

thank you, have a nice day
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM)
Typical indian man hair...all curly

but this one is more like braided, but why the chingky eyes and facial features?

buddha is an INDIAN! not a chinese!
yes, he is indian, he was born in India, the Buddha was an indian prince
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Aug 19 2010, 10:10 AM)
the samis should not wearing slipper when they walk rite? but why i saw many of them wearing NIKE shoes at KLCC?
those arent monks....

firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM)
I believe the answer is not that simple  rolleyes.gif
the answer is simple, but can you do it?

0.0187sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:48 AM