Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 10:48 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 10:46 AM)
Om is just a sanskrit syllable but it can also be used to represent other things like in this case, the Buddha's body. makes sense since words are used to represent things, why cant they represent a Buddha's body?
A mantra that is longer than 10 lines is known as Dharani. Mantras are supposed to be short and to be recited in 1 breath.
Oh, then:

Then Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva told the Brahmas: "Recite this Mantra 5 times, use threads of 5 colors to tie knots, then recite the Dharani 21 times, tie 21 knots, wear it on neck. This Mantra has been spoken by previous 9.9 billions Ganges-river-sands Buddhas.

Means...?
soul2soul
post Aug 20 2010, 10:48 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 10:46 AM)
Om is just a sanskrit syllable but it can also be used to represent other things like in this case, the Buddha's body. makes sense since words are used to represent things, why cant they represent a Buddha's body?
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 10:51 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:48 AM)
Oh, then:

Then Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva told the Brahmas: "Recite this Mantra 5 times, use threads of 5 colors to tie knots, then recite the Dharani 21 times, tie 21 knots, wear it on neck. This Mantra has been spoken by previous 9.9 billions Ganges-river-sands Buddhas.

Means...?
Instructions on how to reap the maximum benefit from the mantra recitation. however in reality altruistic intentions as well as sincerity would be more than enough.

I recite a few mantras: basically my Guru His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche's mantra, Manjushri's mantra and the food offering mantra.

Related: http://blog.tsemtulku.com/tsem-tulku-rinpo...-good-read.html

what are Pujas about: long and detailed explanation.

This post has been edited by Joey-kun: Aug 20 2010, 10:53 AM
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 10:53 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 10:51 AM)
Instructions on how to reap the maximum benefit from the mantra recitation. however in reality altruistic intentions as well as sincerity would be more than enough.

I recite a few mantras: basically my Guru His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche's mantra, Manjushri's mantra and the food offering mantra.
I should be more specific:

Since the article is in regards to explaining the Great Compassion Mantra, how does it differ when it comes to reciting mantra 5 times and dharani 21 times? That is the part that I don't get it.

Oh Manjushri. Hard to memorise for me, or rather haven't really remembered it.
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 10:55 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:53 AM)
I should be more specific:

Since the article is in regards to explaining the Great Compassion Mantra, how does it differ when it comes to reciting mantra 5 times and dharani 21 times? That is the part that I don't get it.

Oh Manjushri. Hard to memorise for me, or rather haven't really remembered it.
the Dharani should be the 84 line one while the mantra should be the shorter version.

Manjushri is just Om Ah Ra Pa Sa Na Dhi. Not hard at all. In Tibet kids who recite it become really sharp and good in their studies. I've heard some malaysian kids who recited around 100,000 of it as a retreat got straight As for every exam.

I just like saying the mantra tongue.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 10:57 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 10:55 AM)
the Dharani should be the 84 line one while the mantra should be the shorter version.

Manjushri is just Om Ah Ra Pa Sa Na Dhi. Not hard at all. In Tibet kids who recite it become really sharp and good in their studies. I've heard some malaysian kids who recited around 100,000 of it as a retreat got straight As for every exam.

I just like saying the mantra tongue.gif
Which shorter version? I want to the the quoted one actually tongue.gif

Interesting. Should restore some faith in me by doing so.

Maybe I should start the manjushri mantra again. (I knew about it a bit too late during my finals T_T if not day and night I recite XD)
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 10:59 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:57 AM)
Which shorter version? I want to the the quoted one actually tongue.gif

Interesting. Should restore some faith in me by doing so.

Maybe I should start the manjushri mantra again. (I knew about it a bit too late during my finals T_T if not day and night I recite XD)
for your exams i recommend this one for a clear and sharp mind:

zstan
post Aug 20 2010, 11:02 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:46 AM)
Lol okayyy

Anyone of you actually recite any mantras?

I used to recite Heart Sutra when I'm having exams tongue.gif, Great Compassion Mantra in NS.
i only do heart sutra and metta sutra. blush.gif metta sutra is reaaally soothing.
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 11:14 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 10:59 AM)
for your exams i recommend this one for a clear and sharp mind:

Graduated and working already lor. laugh.gif But will need to use this soon I guess laugh.gif

Thanks bro.

*edit: BTW, do you need to recite the English texts as well?

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 20 2010, 11:02 AM)
i only do heart sutra and metta sutra.  blush.gif  metta sutra is reaaally soothing.
Metta sutra? Hmm gotta look around

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Aug 20 2010, 11:16 AM
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 11:17 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:14 AM)
Graduated and working already lor. laugh.gif But will need to use this soon I guess laugh.gif

Thanks bro.

yes we recite most of the texts in english. mantras only in tibetan.

we also do meditations as well as guided by prayers called Sadhanas.
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 11:18 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 11:17 AM)
yes we recite most of the texts in english. mantras only in tibetan.

we also do meditations as well as guided by prayers called Sadhanas.
Oh, English also work? Never knew.

I thought it's normally in sanskrit D:
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 11:20 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:18 AM)
Oh, English also work? Never knew.

I thought it's normally in sanskrit D:
for certain prayers we can only reap the full benefit only if we know what it means as some of them are meant to be practiced according to the prayers/
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 11:21 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 11:20 AM)
for certain prayers we can only reap the full benefit only if we know what it means as some of them are meant to be practiced according to the prayers/
Hmmm sad.gif I no sifu. So learn basics only.
zstan
post Aug 20 2010, 11:24 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:14 AM)

Thanks bro.

if u wan the sutra i can send u through msn tongue.gif
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 11:28 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:21 AM)
its fine everyone has to start somewhere smile.gif

i dun mind helping out to share more tho. i cant teach.
dragynraken
post Aug 20 2010, 11:41 AM

28 posts

Haiz this topic kena corrupt ady. Can't even read nice stuff here. cry.gif

This post has been edited by dragynraken: Aug 20 2010, 11:45 AM
Joey-kun
post Aug 20 2010, 12:04 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Aug 20 2010, 11:41 AM)
Haiz this topic kena corrupt ady. Can't even read nice stuff here. cry.gif
lol what were you expecting
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 20 2010, 12:17 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 11:28 AM)
its fine everyone has to start somewhere smile.gif

i dun mind helping out to share  more tho. i cant teach.
Ya lo. Should read more. mellow.gif
soul2soul
post Aug 20 2010, 12:26 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:21 AM)
I would approach like this.

1. Read up on the various traditions on Buddhism. Important to take note of the history.

2. Not everything you read about buddhism is true. There is something called too much faith (saddha) that makes a person believe just everything and anything about what other people tell you. Always remember buddha's advice to investigate all teachings first before you accept it as true.

3. Address your doubt by asking question, preferably a teacher whom you may have confidence and affinity in.

You can start by reading this good good written by the late ven Dhammananda "what buddhists believe" - can google it FOC on the net.

4. Try to apply the teaching into your daily life, for example to reduce anger/hatred which is the most common problem we have in the world today.

5. Try to maintain the 5 precepts as good as possible - you won't go very wrong in this life if you follow the precepts.

6. If you can , learn some basic meditation like Metta (loving-kindness) and some form of vipassana, or anything that suits you that could calm your mind.

hmm... i think that's what I can think of for now.

may you be happy!

dragynraken
post Aug 20 2010, 12:30 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 12:04 PM)
lol what were you expecting
Ban chezzball 1st. Top corrupter. Why?

1. No respect.
2. Fanatic christian fight in buddhist thread as just like racist to japanese a topic she create.
3. Make own question self answering but wrongly and will miss guide buddhist.
4. Impatient, simply show off anger.
5. Never had self experience before but answer thing from TV she watch.
6. High IQ but no EQ, four sure completely nobody like such people if no EQ.
7. Forcing people to answer.
8. Who she think she is?
9. Want to learn, also want to disbelieve and put her christianity hammer in, how to learn?
10. Cannot cooperate.

If I'm the paster I will kick you out of the church as opposite if you wanna bring you buddhist hammer in. If people already talk about you then you should talk nicely. As for your 1st post you already slam your hammer in and we still reply you. Nevermind la low EQ will not understand others feeling.

PS: You're mad

This post has been edited by dragynraken: Aug 20 2010, 12:33 PM

119 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:35 AM