Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

zstan
post Aug 19 2010, 12:19 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(firefawkes @ Aug 19 2010, 12:17 PM)
oh, i ate this really good vege bacon before, tasted almost the same like the real thing, but in cold storage, forgot where, didnt buy it myself
it sorts of defeats the purpose of being vegeterian.

you still have the 'thought' of eating meat.

if u notice in strict temples, they don't serve all these food. more to vege, and taufu, the 'real' veges.
Joey-kun

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(firefawkes @ Aug 19 2010, 12:11 PM)
dahlah tu...dah lah generalize buddhist

admit it la

so i no need sapu krim
pedas tak cili?

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 19 2010, 12:11 PM)
Do you believe orthodoxity has its place in religion ?

I have looked at some of the tibetan buddhism, they are not that different from Theravada. Vipassana and Samatha meditation are found there, with minor adaptation.
All concepts break down in Jhanas and attainment of Nanas. So, whatever differences we have are all just in way of practice and in conceptual basis. But all these concepts break down later... so there isn't a difference at that point.
yep but we havent reached that stage yet so to us at the moment concepts are important to us at the moment. Lets not look too far..whats in front is more important.

If i were to break your concepts you'd probably get all defensive and angry. That alone proves that we still need those to exist as humans here.

chezzball

Cheese
1,542 posts

ok.. serious Question.. this will be SERIOUS !!!!

please answer the following Qs in sequence.

1.) What are the duties of the monks?

2.) Why do we need monks?

3.) If we as a buddhist disciples follow the concept of Buddhism, then what does the monk do.

4.) How different is Buddhism with other religion or philosophy like Confucious?

5.) Siddharta realize the 4 points of life: Life, Old, Sickness, Death. so what he has to say abt them and how we deal with it?

6.) What is Kuan Yin? What does kuan yin has to do with buddhism? I see a lot ppl CANNOT eat beef coz they pray kuan yin. So should their religion be KUANYINISM ?

7.) is premarital sex allowed? in christian is not allowed, so buddhism can or not?

8.) is gambling allowed in buddhism? coz i see the disciples all gamble like crazy. if it's allowed, why can't the monk gamble?

9.) Why must a buddhist monk wear the robe? any reasoning behind it?

10.) Why a monk must accept donation but not go out work? For example I'm an IT Consultant, can i be a monk as well? day time wear suit go work, at nite or weekend oni wear the robe go temple pray like a monk.

11.) What is NamoAmitabha? Since u said buddhism no god, why need those chanting/prayers?

12.) Why do we need to donate to temple? everytime i see temple got a lot donation box. i dont see any such thing in church (alto some is local msian sendiri nak do charity donation to some gaza kids, but tat's another story)

13.) is there anything call holy water in buddhism? coz i see u cainis love to go temple mintak the ... what u call that ah.. a piece of yellow paper with writings on it. i remember watching a cainis show, the ppl burn the yellow paper and soak in water and ask the disciple to drink it. is this the holy water?

14.) what does buddhism has to say about creation of life?

15.) so regardless how sincere we pray, we will still be in the situation and nobody will help us? for us, if we pray hard, lord will come to our rescue, and send us savior in times of difficulty.

hope u buddhist can answer ALL my questions PROPERLY.

oLCow
post Aug 19 2010, 12:20 PM

15 posts

now i have question.

when doing meditation there's a lot of thing will be shown.
from what i know they will not tell you what they seen!
is this true?

If it's true then, I wan to ask, how many of you have reach that level not what you seen?
If it's false then, what have you seen?

firefawkes

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 19 2010, 12:15 PM)
its quite subjective actually.

because there are some similiarities between these 2, especially the believe in gods.
no need talk much

no

Taoism is not Buddhism

Buddhism merged some of the ideas of Taoism into the teachings while it was trying to spread into China to ease the acceptance

this is FACT

go look it up
yeezai

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

btw taoism are all vegetarian...im with taoism for few yrs coz curious about their teaching...practicing strict conduct and diet...but in the end i felt that taoism have limits ..
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 19 2010, 12:19 PM)
it sorts of defeats the purpose of being vegeterian.

you still have the 'thought' of eating meat.

if u notice in  strict temples, they don't serve all these food. more to vege, and taufu, the 'real' veges.
Qft

but, are you gonna force vege down normal people throats?

look at a different perspective

soul2soul
post Aug 19 2010, 12:22 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 19 2010, 12:19 PM)
pedas tak cili?
yep but we havent reached that stage yet so to us at the moment concepts are important to us at the moment. Lets not look too far..whats in front is more important.

If i were to break your concepts you'd probably get all defensive and angry. That alone proves that we still need those to exist as humans here.
Try me.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 19 2010, 12:22 PM
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 19 2010, 12:19 PM)
pedas tak cili?

yes chili is hot

if it aint hot i aint chili

need cream for that burnt butt of yours?
beatlesalbum
post Aug 19 2010, 12:23 PM

1,711 posts

this is not a QnA thread.
soul2soul
post Aug 19 2010, 12:25 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(oLCow @ Aug 19 2010, 12:20 PM)
now i have question.

when doing meditation there's a lot of thing will be shown.
from what i know they will not tell you what they seen!
is this true?

If it's true then, I wan to ask, how many of you have reach that level not what you seen?
If it's false then, what have you seen?

A blind man cannot ask another blind man what colour is.

So anything a person finds, he has to verify with his teacher. That if the teacher is competent and well versed in the Dhamma. It's useless for him to tell you what he has seen. It will only give rise to more speculation, which defeats the purpose of meditation anyway.
firefawkes
post Aug 19 2010, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Aug 19 2010, 12:23 PM)
this is not a QnA thread.
actually the Q&A thread kena merge lol

whatever la, as long as it aint repetitive
oLCow
post Aug 19 2010, 12:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 19 2010, 12:25 PM)
A blind man cannot ask another blind man what colour is.

So anything a person finds, he has to verify with his teacher.  That if the teacher is competent and well versed in the Dhamma. It's useless for him to tell you what he has seen.  It will only give rise to more speculation, which defeats the purpose of meditation anyway.
what i understand from your answer is that in practicing buddhism one must have a guru/teacher?
guru/teaching also means that one must join some type of organisation rite?
chezzball
post Aug 19 2010, 12:31 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

wow... nobody answer my Question. no answers from any buddhist here>?
soul2soul
post Aug 19 2010, 12:34 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(oLCow @ Aug 19 2010, 12:30 PM)
what i understand from your answer is that in practicing buddhism one must have a guru/teacher?
guru/teaching also means that one must join some type of organisation rite?
It's a lot easier with a teacher. Plus, you don't get so confused reading so many opinions from the books and internet.
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 19 2010, 12:40 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

6.) What is Kuan Yin? What does kuan yin has to do with buddhism? I see a lot ppl CANNOT eat beef coz they pray kuan yin. So should their religion be KUANYINISM ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avalokite%C5%9Bvara
soul2soul
post Aug 19 2010, 12:43 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 19 2010, 12:40 PM)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avalokite%C5%9Bvara
from the link also:

Modern scholarship

Western scholars have not reached a consensus on the origin of the reverence for Avalokiteśvara. Some have suggested that Avalokiteśvara, along with many other supernatural beings in Buddhism, was a borrowing or absorption by Mahayana Buddhism of one or more Hindu deities, in particular Shiva or Vishnu (though the reason for this suggestion is because the current name of the bodhisattva not the original one.)

chezzball
post Aug 19 2010, 12:58 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

i demand answers for all my 15 Qs !!!!! vmad.gif
SUSgogo2
post Aug 19 2010, 01:07 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Aug 19 2010, 12:58 PM)
no one is going to answer your stupid troll question... good job guys for ignoring troll...
SUSphantomkid
post Aug 19 2010, 01:09 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Aug 19 2010, 12:58 PM)
lol, give people some time lah. smile.gif these answers are in my opinion and might be wrong and/or empty because i'm not a strong buddhist myself, only pray and .. believe but did not learn all the dharmasutras stuffs (and don't even know how to chant.)

1.) What are the duties of the monks?
- to help the believers communicate with God.
2.) Why do we need monks?
- as above.
3.) If we as a buddhist disciples follow the concept of Buddhism, then what does the monk do.

4.) How different is Buddhism with other religion or philosophy like Confucious?

5.) Siddharta realize the 4 points of life: Life, Old, Sickness, Death. so what he has to say abt them and how we deal with it?

7.) is premarital sex allowed? in christian is not allowed, so buddhism can or not?
- Probably not.
8.) is gambling allowed in buddhism? coz i see the disciples all gamble like crazy. if it's allowed, why can't the monk gamble?
Yes, I guess. monks dont gamble maybe because they want to stay away from these bad habits.
9.) Why must a buddhist monk wear the robe? any reasoning behind it?

10.) Why a monk must accept donation but not go out work? For example I'm an IT Consultant, can i be a monk as well? day time wear suit go work, at nite or weekend oni wear the robe go temple pray like a monk.
they don't take donation openly.. afaik, you give them angpau instead, not a cheque written Ten-thousand ONLY.
11.) What is NamoAmitabha? Since u said buddhism no god, why need those chanting/prayers?

12.) Why do we need to donate to temple? everytime i see temple got a lot donation box. i dont see any such thing in church (alto some is local msian sendiri nak do charity donation to some gaza kids, but tat's another story)

13.) is there anything call holy water in buddhism? coz i see u cainis love to go temple mintak the ... what u call that ah.. a piece of yellow paper with writings on it. i remember watching a cainis show, the ppl burn the yellow paper and soak in water and ask the disciple to drink it. is this the holy water?
I think they call it "An Quan Zi" (sorry, I'm banana, don't know the exact pin yin) which means Safety Paper or something lah, burn and drink or something (lol).
14.) what does buddhism has to say about creation of life?

15.) so regardless how sincere we pray, we will still be in the situation and nobody will help us? for us, if we pray hard, lord will come to our rescue, and send us savior in times of difficulty.
if you meant this as christian stuff, i've seen something that a pastor do which obviously failed. no offense to christians. well, no one knows if god really exist or will be there at all times. i do pray hard at times, needing help to go through a hard time.

119 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:36 PM