Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

soul2soul
post Aug 13 2010, 04:34 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 04:31 PM)
lulz...
this 1 Parallel universe liao... Quantum Theory tear my mind.. Buddha so keng, know Quantum Theory long time ago..
Tell you more keng one.

he said our mind is subdivided into quantum units of 17 moments......

The matter is in a state of flux, and at no moment they are the same. and by the time 1 unit of matter expired, 17 units of mind expires.

hu hu.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 13 2010, 04:36 PM
billytong
post Aug 13 2010, 04:38 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I am curious, how many of you guys here actually practice to be "true" Buddhism and be vegetarian.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 04:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 04:31 PM)
lulz...
this 1 Parallel universe liao... Quantum Theory tear my mind.. Buddha so keng, know Quantum Theory long time ago..
Not parallel universe lar. Only multiple realms of existence. Other religions also have wat...but only less...etc Heaven, Hell and Earth.
soul2soul
post Aug 13 2010, 04:40 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 13 2010, 04:38 PM)
I am curious, how many of you guys here actually practice to be "true" Buddhism and be vegetarian.
siapa beritahu you true buddhism itew kena vegetable?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 04:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 13 2010, 04:38 PM)
You are wrong. Being a Buddhist doesn't means u have to be vegetarian!!! doh.gif

Only Mahayana encourages vegetarian, Theravadian monks can eat anything. Regardless, Buddhism taught u must not kill. Not must eat vege!!! doh.gif

Added on August 13, 2010, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 13 2010, 04:34 PM)
Tell you more keng one.

The matter is in a state of flux, and at no moment they are the same. and by the time 1 unit of matter expired, 17 units of mind expires.

hu hu.
This i dunno....can tell me which book talks on this?? Share-share...smile.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2010, 04:42 PM
soul2soul
post Aug 13 2010, 04:43 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 04:40 PM)
You are wrong. Being a Buddhist doesn't means u have to be vegetarian!!! doh.gif

Only Mahayana encourages vegetarian, Theravadian monks can eat anything. Regardless, Buddhism taught u must not kill. Not must eat vege!!! doh.gif

yo brother, you sound like a hahayana. Cool laugh.gif

Added on August 13, 2010, 4:44 pm
It's in the abhidhamma. Come across any of them?

Not compulsory to know but most of the monks in Burma have to learn it.

Tipitaka contains
1. Sutta
2. Vinaya
3. Abdihdamma

Sutta - compilation of discourses the buddha made to kings, queens, lay person, monks, robbers, bandits, murderers, soldiers, etc. Using conventional language of "I", "YOU" , "HIM", etc

2. Vinaya - rules for the monks

3. Abdhidhamma - ultimate teachings of the Buddha, taught only to the highly advanced superhumans (aka Devas ), but was conveyed to Ven Sariputta in summary. No "I" or "he" used. Breaks the mind into full analysis of moments, its arising, its passing away, how the mind and body are related, their ways of arising, cessation, etc. It's solely about the mind-body relation

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 13 2010, 04:49 PM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 04:48 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 13 2010, 04:43 PM)
yo brother, you sound like a hahayana. Cool laugh.gif
Forgive my ignorance...but what is a hahayana?? Or do u mean Mahayana?? tongue.gif

Actually, i consider myself Teravadian...smile.gif
soul2soul
post Aug 13 2010, 04:51 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 04:48 PM)
Forgive my ignorance...but what is a hahayana?? Or do u mean Mahayana?? tongue.gif

Actually, i  consider myself Teravadian...smile.gif
Hahayana was the joke used by Ven Ajahn Brahm to describe Buddha's teaching as only ONE type , no theravada or mahayana . Anyway, he was from theravada forest tradition.

THere isn't much difference from the Burmese monks. Basically they are from the same root .. theravada.
billytong
post Aug 13 2010, 05:04 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

This is why I put on the quotation note "true" doh.gif It mean how many of you guys actually follow that path. Cant believe u guys didnt get the meaning doh.gif
SUSrandyhow
post Aug 13 2010, 05:16 PM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 13 2010, 05:04 PM)
This is why I put on the quotation note "true"  doh.gif It mean how many of you guys actually follow that path. Cant believe u guys didnt get the meaning doh.gif
for me vegetarian is only good for detox ur body for few days, being a habit would malnourish urself eg. vitamin k, certain asid amino... never for religion purpose...
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 05:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 05:16 PM)
for me vegetarian is only good for detox ur body for few days, being a habit would malnourish urself eg. vitamin k, certain asid amino... never for religion purpose...
Smart move. But it's a good idea to eat more vege than meat. In the end, the Buddha teaching comes into play...everything must balance...pull the string too soft, no sound. Pull too hard it'll break. smile.gif

So eat a Balanced Diet!!! thumbup.gif
zstan
post Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 13 2010, 04:34 PM)
Tell you more keng one.

hu hu.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif mind to explain in a simpler english? or any link where i can read about it? notworthy.gif

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 13 2010, 05:04 PM)
This is why I put on the quotation note "true"  doh.gif It mean how many of you guys actually follow that path. Cant believe u guys didnt get the meaning doh.gif
no, i practice buddhism and i am not a vegetarian. is this the answer that you want?
SUSrandyhow
post Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

Talk about vegetarian..
could any vegetarian tell me which is below consider vege:
milk
egg
sea cucumber
yeast
soya sos
Preserved Bean Curd

This post has been edited by randyhow: Aug 13 2010, 05:30 PM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 05:25 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM)
Talk about vegetarian..
milk
egg
sea cucumber
yeast
soya sos
I'm no vegetarian, but from my understanding, sea cucumber is not vege..it's some kinda sea slug. Egg is debatable...not sure. But soya sauce?? i thought it's bean only??
billytong
post Aug 13 2010, 05:26 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM)
no, i practice buddhism and i am not a vegetarian.  is this the answer that you want?

yes it is just that simple, how hard is that? biggrin.gif

I am a vegetarian btw. laugh.gif Not from religious purpose tho. but I do know there are high number of Buddhism locally practice this. Thats why I asked here.

This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 13 2010, 05:27 PM
SUSrandyhow
post Aug 13 2010, 05:32 PM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 05:25 PM)
I'm no vegetarian, but from my understanding, sea cucumber is not vege..it's some kinda sea slug. Egg is debatable...not sure. But soya sauce?? i thought it's bean only??
soya sos u need to fermented it for a period of time, so it is using bacteria to do the job , rite?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 05:34 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 05:32 PM)
soya sos u need to fermented it for a period of time, so it is using bacteria to do the job , rite?
Like that susah to kira man...bacteria is everywhere...open your mouth also eat some bacteria liao...rclxub.gif

That's why, i follow Theravadian...eat anything you want...LOL.
SUSrandyhow
post Aug 13 2010, 05:35 PM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM)
Talk about vegetarian..
milk
egg
sea cucumber (it's a slug species)
yeast
soya sos
Preserved Bean Curd
QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 13 2010, 05:26 PM)
yes it is just that simple, how hard is that?  biggrin.gif

I am a vegetarian btw.  laugh.gif Not from religious purpose tho. but I do know there are high number of Buddhism locally practice this. Thats why I asked here.
care to give some idea?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2010, 05:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I am a vegetarian btw.  laugh.gif Not from religious purpose tho. but I do know there are high number of Buddhism locally practice this. Thats why I asked here.
You must understand what is your "local" Buddhism is. A lot of Chinese temples praticising Buddhism are Mahayana. You can visit some Theravadian temples, where the monks eat anything that is offered to them, including meat. No worries. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2010, 05:40 PM
soul2soul
post Aug 13 2010, 06:08 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 05:38 PM)
You must understand what is your "local" Buddhism is. A lot of Chinese temples praticising Buddhism are Mahayana. You can visit some Theravadian temples, where the monks eat anything that is offered to them, including meat. No worries. smile.gif
Buddha was not a vegetarian. He consumed meat that was offered to him. His last meal was pork prepared by his devoted supporter Cunda. His cousin, Devadatta tried to persuade the Buddha to impose the vegetarianism rule on the Sangha, which the buddha refused. We all know the fate of devadatta......who tried to murder the buddha and usurp the sangha.

Added on August 13, 2010, 6:09 pm

If you read the Tipitaka, the Rules of the monastery (Vinaya) does not forbid meat to be consumed, although there are certain conditions for meat to be consumed and certain meat that is forbidden.

It's a point of contention between mahayana and theravada pertaining to vegetarianism.

Added on August 13, 2010, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 13 2010, 05:23 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  mind to explain in a simpler english? or any link where i can read about it? notworthy.gif
no, i practice buddhism and i am not a vegetarian.  is this the answer that you want?
zstan, you haven't answered my question on 8 fold path. biggrin.gif what is the 8 fold path?

If you want to read about the relation of Mind-Body, you need to study Ahbidhamma. Not so difficult to understand la. Can read up about abhidhamma lessons on the net.

Anyway, the abidhamma says in ultimate reality, this universe only consists of:

1. citta (consciousness)
2. cetasikas (mental factors that arise together with citta)
3. rupa (form)
4. Nibbana (unconditioned state)

1+2 = the MIND
3: BODY

"YOU" and "me" don't exist ultimately, but only Mind-Matter combo. 1-3 are conditioned, means they need other things for them to exist and cannot exist independently. And they are not permanent. For every second, a new mind-matter combo is born, with destruction of the previous mind-matter. That is to say, at every moment, a new 'YOU" is born and destroyed.

From science we know Matter is in a state of flux too (string theory?) and they are not permanent. The buddha said our mind is even faster than the change in matter. For every 1 quantum (smallest unit) of matter that change, 17 units of the mind changes.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 13 2010, 06:18 PM

119 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:32 PM