Hardware Error 5 on my Canon MP198 using CISS, How to reset the printer.

TSpiumiu
post Aug 9 2010, 12:03 AM, updated 14y ago

I see you.
3,174 posts

Hi. Im using Canon MP198 with Superjet CISS system.
Suddenly my printer LCD stated E5, error 5 and in Windows stated 'Ink cartridge cannot be recognized'.

Did try this method and does not work:

Ready to reset your printer, follow the following steps:
All these steps must be done to reset your canon MP198, MP258, MP276, MP496, MP558, MP568, and MP648 printer.
A. Entering into service mode
• Turn off the printer off is the printer power on. And remove the printer USB cable from your computer..
• While the printer is OFF, press and hold the Start/Stop button on the some other canon printers model press Resume/Cancel button.
• While still holding Start/Stop button or Resume/Cancel button, press and hold thePOWER button.
• When the POWER LED (green light) lit, release the Start/Stop or resume/cancel button (still holding the POWER button).
• Still holding the power button, Press the Start/Stop button or resume/cancel button TWICE then Release the POWER button. Wait until LCD printer to display 0 (zero) number
• After the display is 0, attach the printer UDB cable to your computer, its will detected new device installed (its normal), now go to resetting steps
B. Resetting Ink counter on the Printer
• Run “service_tool 1050.exe”. you can download the service tool software from this link: ServiceTool_1050.zip
*I assume the Start Button are the both Black & Color Start button.*

Can anyone help me on this. A very frustrating issue.
cmgan72
post Aug 9 2010, 12:13 AM

Daisyoix PC
1,340 posts

since all the methods tat suppose to be work on E5 error n still cant solve the E5 error for ur printer, then mayb u should consult the shop tat install CISS for ur printer. in my point of view, might b ur print head malfunctioning. it's not worth if u wanna replace the print head. it is better tat u juz get rid of this printer n get a new printer. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cmgan72: Aug 9 2010, 12:13 AM
TSpiumiu
post Aug 9 2010, 12:17 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

I just came back from the shop few days ago.
Previous issue all the colors didn't come out properly.
That was fix for few days now this. Its just to big and heavy to lug it to Lowyat plaza.

Hoping that I can find some CISS expert here.
kakarocht
post Aug 9 2010, 09:11 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

if you're not sure about it better send back to the shop again. gd luck.
jpoption
post Aug 9 2010, 08:13 PM

71 posts

suspect print head burn, replace ciss try original cartridge (PG-830, CL-831, PG-40, CL-41) to check b4 send back to the shop. Good Luck!
TSpiumiu
post Aug 14 2010, 12:34 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

Now i cant even scan or take out the printer cartridge.

This post has been edited by piumiu: Aug 14 2010, 12:35 PM
lun1986
post Aug 24 2010, 03:41 PM

939 posts

i got the same problem "Ink cartridge cannot be recognized" (dunno izzit error 5) on my mp500.

my seller ask me click ok on pc screen or "stop" button on the printer then can d. after click several time,it still the same sweat.gif

then the seller come to my house n fix the problem, thanks god biggrin.gif
unique_aisy
post May 26 2011, 10:07 AM

me too..i got the same problem..until now i can't solve the problem..
happy.gif.........##!@$!%#$@#^%&*^(
kakarocht
post May 26 2011, 11:13 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

send back to the shop u purchased it. next time dun buy CISS if you're not printing daily. just cos of ink is cheap but dun wan to buy original which can last long even u hardly print. doh.gif

This post has been edited by kakarocht: May 26 2011, 11:14 AM
island
post May 27 2011, 06:34 PM

1,731 posts

got a reason for it, it cheap. so the factory make it easy ko

0.0161sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:43 PM