The Weight Loss thread v2, Ask all your weight loss questions here.

~Curious~
post Nov 30 2010, 01:32 PM

1,744 posts

what do you all suggest i do when i get hungry during or immediately after workout??if i don't get rid of the hunger,i can't focus and muscles start shaking alot =( but i'm scared to eat coz i'm trying to keep my weight down =\
~Curious~
post Dec 4 2010, 02:22 PM

1,744 posts

Eat. The worse thing you can do when you're starving after a workout is not eat. Just know what and how much you're eating.

what about if i get hungry during workout???
a character on a tv show sed if we ate within 30 minutes of working out,we'd gain fat soo i was worried tongue.gif ooz i usually get hungry immediately.
~Curious~
post Dec 6 2010, 12:01 AM

1,744 posts

thanks loll yeah tv characters r for entertainment,but there could be some truth to the things they say sometimes.as it goes,art imitates liife smile.gif

when i got hungry during my workout i tried to forget the hunger but my performance was bad so i had piece of biscuit lol.i was wondering iif it did alot of harm,,but on hindsight isn't that why those muesli//energy bars were created?
~Curious~
post Dec 7 2010, 10:21 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 7 2010, 01:33 PM)
i suggest bringing a banana to gym, in case u get hungry wink.gif good as a source of energy, and healthy too tongue.gif
got try before,but it turn black very fast-still can eat?i usually spend 3 hours in gym...

~Curious~
post Dec 8 2010, 12:17 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 8 2010, 02:54 AM)
Can la, no problem. Or what u can do is to put the banana outside. Bananas release a chemicals that can speed up ripening of itself. If u keep it inside bag then the effect is faster. But 3 hours inside bag, shudnt be a problem la.
ok will try that,thanks

QUOTE(vinesh22 @ Dec 8 2010, 02:55 AM)
What do u do for 3 hours in the gym mate?  blink.gif
Anyway, to your previous question, basically, after an intense workout, your body basically acts like a sponge, absorbing anything you throw at it really really FAST. There's a reason why athletes and people who are serious in keeping lean take post workout supplements and/or fruits such as bananas.

Added on December 8, 2010, 2:59 amWhao, and one more thing, just realised how much weight one can loose because of stress.
FML, 3.7KG in 7 phuckin days!!! That's sick, I mean, literally, sigh..
Thank God the worst part of flying school is over, now back to the gym for me!!
i oso donno what i do that's 3 hours sweat.gif 10 minutes on stationary cycle,10 minutes stepper,10 minutes on the shoulder press (d machine which u pull back handle bars attached to weights 1),10 mins on treadmill,10 mins on knee press,10 minutes on calf press,10 on elipptical,then 30 minutes pre-workout stuff like heat pack.Then i donno where the rest of d time is gone hmm.gif

3.7 kg in 7 days is alot......
~Curious~
post Jan 14 2011, 07:01 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 14 2011, 10:21 AM)
My favourite is

Oat, cooked with milk. Then let it cool.. pour summore milk.

Then shave some palm sugar inside. Heavens.
sounds like a yummy mix but won't that be super fattening?brown sugar less calories than palm sugar?
~Curious~
post May 4 2011, 12:32 AM

1,744 posts

What to do if I get hungry at irregular times e.g.3-4 pm,and not hungry when it comes to lunch/dinner time?Do I eat when I'm hungry or eat at regular intervals?

~Curious~
post May 4 2011, 09:23 PM

1,744 posts

but if i eat even if im not hungry thenn it won't make me put on weight??
~Curious~
post May 7 2011, 01:33 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 5 2011, 01:33 AM)
The best is to set a biological rhythm.
You can program healthy habits by eating at the right time
Whether or not you are hungry, I don't think it would affect your weight.
In fact if you eat earlier (if not hungry), you are less likely to put on weight.
Eating early is always better (if your lifestyle permits)  smile.gif
thanks will try to regulate eating hours
~Curious~
post May 11 2011, 02:13 AM

1,744 posts

lol too much cycling for men might reduce sexual potency.
in selecting foods for weight-loss,should i go for low GI or low calories?
~Curious~
post May 12 2011, 12:22 AM

1,744 posts

angela:anaerobic means the muscles got insufficient oxygen,then muscle build up lactic acid<-so no muscle ache after exercise means no body fat burned?

~Curious~
post May 12 2011, 04:24 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 12 2011, 11:35 AM)
Hello Curious, the basic definition of anaerobic exercise is that your muscles do not need oxygen to accomplish the physical activity you're undertaking. Instead of using oxygen, your muscles use glycogen for their power. It is a substitution of use of energy source to achieve the functioning. That's why you feel out of breath when your exercise is very intense, because oxygen is no longer enough to produce the adequate energy that is needed to continue at that high level of activity, and the body then needs to "burn the fat".
our biological systems don't use oxygen for energy per se,it's just to facilitate the oxidation of glucose for ATP.I think shortness of breath during exercise is more on behalf of our brain signalling.

I don't agree that anaerobic exercise (anaerobic metabolism) is key to burning fat.Take pilates,yoga or taichi,where movements are slow and you rarely end up panting-burns fats too.
To lose fat fast I really don't know how tho.As has been mentioned countless times all over LYN,I'm in the opinion that it is diet and exercise hand in hand.One is to not let so much excess glucose be in our bloodstream to be stored as fat,and lastly to make our body convert fat to glucose after glycogen stores are depleted.
~Curious~
post Jul 1 2011, 05:55 PM

1,744 posts

if i don't feel hungry after exercise,must i still eat a healthy snack to feed d muscles?
~Curious~
post Jul 2 2011, 10:53 PM

1,744 posts

if i don't feel hungry after exercise,must i still eat a healthy snack to feed d muscles?
~Curious~
post Jul 5 2011, 02:35 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jul 2 2011, 11:01 PM)
yes you need to eat to prevent muscle breakdown
but i tot we shudn't eat if we're not hungry?
its weird but nowadays i don't feel hungry until lunchtime when i only had a small cup of goat's milk with egg.then i heaad to the gym 1 hour+ after my breakfast and am not hungry till <45 minutes after i'm done with my workouts.I eat when i'm hungry (which incidentally is lunnch/dinner time),so am i on d losing weight track?
~Curious~
post Jul 6 2011, 12:44 AM

1,744 posts

LOL I try 5 meals......buut usually I take 3 meals but regular sized lor-1 plate less rice more veggie
~Curious~
post Jul 7 2011, 11:39 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 6 2011, 05:53 PM)
Urm???? 1 plate less rice more veggie??
Well, then I'll suggest you to read through the whole V1 and V2 please. A lot of forumers shared the ideal meal here before and from there , you learn how to prepare 5 meals a day.

Why do you need rice? If you're aiming to lose weight then why not just cut it down or completely throw it off? I'm been like taking less than a bowl of rice for one month or in fact, in few months time. So, is rice really needed in your daily life? Replace it with something else like protein, fibre and etc, rice is just plain too sweet and carbs for me thus I just throw it away.

At least after I have 5 - 8 meals a day, I'm getting healthier and paying lesser money to the doctors smile.gif
erm if u cut out carbs totally is unhealthy lar-long term.coz d brain only utilizes glucose for energy and glucose comes from carbs.

http://www.carveoutcarbs.com/low-carb-diet.htmlhttp://www.carveoutcarbs.com/low-carb-diet.html
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-...ose-memory.html
http://www.ehow.com/facts_7357509_happens-...ohydrates_.html
~Curious~
post Jul 8 2011, 12:01 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 7 2011, 02:51 PM)
Glucose didn't just  comes from carbs, there are many other sources for glucose

http://www.livestrong.com/article/100663-sources-glucose/

Thus, tell me if only rice providing glucose?  rolleyes.gif
no i didn't indicate or say rice is the ONLY glucose provider.

~Curious~
post Oct 16 2011, 02:27 AM

1,744 posts

i eat 2 half-boiled eggs for breakfast usually-those smaller sized ones called "chor sang dan" or first egg laid by the hen.that habit won't make me gain weight right?
and how do you calculate the calories burnt from doing weight machines and floor exercises?
~Curious~
post Oct 26 2011, 01:30 AM

1,744 posts

i've been doing exercises almost daily..not very strenuous but it works my muscles alot..but i notice my waistline and arms sometimes,most times,seem to be bigger rather than shrinking.BTW i eat normally,no diet restrictions but just that i try to eat less rice

Added on October 26, 2011, 1:31 amP.S. I do focus more on the core exercises.As per above,does this mean my exercising is futile?

This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Oct 26 2011, 01:31 AM

0.0507sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:10 AM