Is it ok to help friends to install in so many pc?

TSalexision
post Aug 4 2010, 11:25 PM, updated 16y ago

89 posts

Not sure if anyone asked (sorry if this is a repost), since the only threads Ive seen are all about wanting the guest pass.

Since guest pass is limited, and lot people wanted to try out,

is it ok to install for all of my friends and I just help them do a 1 time log in for them so they can play as guest and try campaign or vs AI etc etc?

Most of my classmates are really looking forward to the game but dont want to fork out RM200+ just for a game, and they dont have stable internet connection either.

And they are really more than happy if they can only play offline only (Seriously!!! THey are LIKE OMG U R THE BEST! *worships me*).

I saw somewhere before where after certain amount of time it will expire or something.

But I can just log in again for them, so no problem since I see them most of the time.

My battlenet ID wont kena blacklist right.....? sweat.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 4 2010, 11:28 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

basically, you are borrowing your battle.net account to your friends right?
kEazYc
post Aug 4 2010, 11:32 PM

1,314 posts

IMO i won't be sharing with them, its like they are making advantages out of you.
ericpires
post Aug 4 2010, 11:34 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Ask them to chip in 30 bux each so u can make back your money since u bought the game
TSalexision
post Aug 4 2010, 11:35 PM

89 posts

No, I just install for them, then log in once for them only

Because if I log in once for them, then only they can play as guest

not going to give them my account since I need it for my WoW too ^^
frags
post Aug 4 2010, 11:38 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Aug 4 2010, 11:35 PM)

You asking is Blizzard okay with this or is this acceptable by people here in the forums? Because it is not okay to Blizzard. You aren't supposed to share your copy. Thats why they gave you guest passes. Whether is there any danger to your account, no one knows(probably not) but Blizzard certainly wont tell you.
TSalexision
post Aug 4 2010, 11:39 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 4 2010, 11:34 PM)
Ask them to chip in 30 bux each so u can make back your money since u bought the game
LOL! nvm lah... hahaha!

Added on August 4, 2010, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(frags @ Aug 4 2010, 11:38 PM)
You asking is Blizzard okay with this or is this acceptable by people here in the forums? Because it is not okay to Blizzard. You aren't supposed to share your copy. Thats why they gave you guest passes. Whether is there any danger to your account, no one knows(probably not) but Blizzard certainly wont tell you.
But I thought usually if we bought the game, its ours to install as many as I want, unless I make a market out of it (like selling to friends)
My friends got no good internet connection, so no point paying 200++ for the game, Unless blizz wanna sell a cheaper offline version of it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alexision: Aug 4 2010, 11:42 PM
frags
post Aug 4 2010, 11:45 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Aug 4 2010, 11:39 PM)
LOL! nvm lah... hahaha!

Added on August 4, 2010, 11:42 pm

But I thought usually if we bought the game, its ours to install as many as I want, unless I make a market out of it (like selling to friends)
My friends got no good internet connection, so no point paying 200++ for the game, Unless blizz wanna sell a cheaper offline version of it tongue.gif
Only for yourself, not to be shared with your friends. Thats Blizzards stance.
Instant_noodle
post Aug 5 2010, 12:29 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

1st of all, you bought it doesn't really means you own it; you can solve most of your questions by reading those small mumble jumble of tl;dr text call 'End Users' License Agreement' aka EULA that mostly goes something like 'all yer base are belong to us... it's our choice to decide whether you live or die...' kinda stuff.

you as a wow player should had gotten the basic idea that you don't really 'own' your toon but just paying them for the entertainment they provided and space they used to store your toons.

although sharing is caring, but peeps with bad intentions would always see it as an exploit and creep his way into you bnet account... and you never know when it hits ye...
evofantasy
post Aug 5 2010, 12:32 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Aug 4 2010, 11:35 PM)

well my wow account got temporary locked from changing tunneling service lol...
so i think they would have some mechanism to check drastic IP changes...
TSalexision
post Aug 5 2010, 12:45 AM

89 posts

noooooo I'm not giving out my password or ID... I'm not!

I'm just logging in ONCE, the log off... just to activate the 'guest mode' for them...

They wont know my user/pw... means they wont go online at the first place.

My only worry is that I log in from different pc, as in like will they ban because of multiple PCs installed... if I want to activate for my friends, I have to be there right? and of course I will be within KL range only... so doesn't matter on IP. Will even be using uni's wifi to log on for them... same internet again...
evofantasy
post Aug 5 2010, 12:49 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Aug 5 2010, 12:45 AM)
noooooo I'm not giving out my password or ID... I'm not!

I'm just logging in ONCE, the log off... just to activate the 'guest mode' for them...

They wont know my user/pw... means they wont go online at the first place.

My only worry is that I log in from different pc, as in like will they ban because of multiple PCs installed... if I want to activate for my friends, I have to be there right? and of course I will be within KL range only... so doesn't matter on IP. Will even be using uni's wifi to log on for them... same internet again...
nt sure hw their mechanism work...
maybe look at the FAQ for guests?
TSalexision
post Aug 5 2010, 12:53 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 5 2010, 12:49 AM)
nt sure hw their mechanism work...
maybe look at the FAQ for guests?
I posted in the official forums hoping to get a blue reply...
If this works, everyone can try out the game pretty soon^^

Hopefully can get them all addicted and they will automatically go buy a copy of their own.. hohoho brows.gif
Laguna
post Aug 5 2010, 12:56 AM

313 posts

As long they dont wise up and install a key logger its okay ........... ><
TSalexision
post Aug 5 2010, 01:02 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Aug 5 2010, 12:56 AM)
As long they dont wise up and install a key logger its okay ........... ><
Dam.. yahor!

So I have to change my pw after doing the activation for them... sweat.gif
wilsonphua
post Aug 5 2010, 06:01 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

Just ask them to save some money to buy the original SC2, or invite them to your house to play the SC2......if they dont want, ask them to play starcraft 1 broodwar

Don't lend la. Later if you're unlucky the discs will scratch and you will feel regret. Haha.
fizyboy
post Aug 5 2010, 08:04 PM

280 posts

if you do that and let them play endlessly, they wont buy the game and join in the fun. there's a reason blizzard allow guest to play for a limited time only smile.gif
kyLL
post Aug 6 2010, 08:47 AM

-=-
1,638 posts

id like to think of the account system to be more like WoW. i can use my account anywhere i like. S: just no multiple logins. then ure screwed.

in terms of actually being able to do so, just logging in to get them the 30 days offline thing, i think it should be no problem. just as long as they dont try to go online while you're playing.

legally though... blizzard definitely wont officially allow it cause its almost like stealing.

installing the game is no big deal. anyone can dl the installer and just install. cdkey isnt tied to the copy installed. its tied to the account.

/end
aLertz
post Aug 6 2010, 08:55 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

should be no problem la but u have to make sure your frens can be trusted...
u won't know what they might do...js be on the safe side smile.gif

and regarding IP thingy...i think it can't be use here since we are using dynamic IP...restart modem = new IP...if they ban us on this...kantoi...all kena biggrin.gif
wangpr
post Aug 6 2010, 09:18 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Aug 4 2010, 11:25 PM)
Not sure if anyone asked (sorry if this is a repost), since the only threads Ive seen are all about wanting the guest pass.

Since guest pass is limited, and lot people wanted to try out,

is it ok to install for all of my friends and I just help them do a 1 time log in for them so they can play as guest and try campaign or vs AI etc etc?

Most of my classmates are really looking forward to the game but dont want to fork out RM200+ just for a game, and they dont have stable internet connection either.

And they are really more than happy if they can only play offline only (Seriously!!! THey are LIKE OMG U R THE BEST! *worships me*).

I saw somewhere before where after certain amount of time it will expire or something.

But I can just log in again for them, so no problem since I see them most of the time.

My battlenet ID wont kena blacklist right.....?  sweat.gif
Hahaha... they allowed u to install the CD in any PC.......

If u kind , then u help them log in lor..... kakakaka

0.0215sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:09 PM