The Solid State Storage Thread

zsnipes
post Sep 15 2010, 12:34 AM

878 posts

Hi All,

Can someone recommend me the FASTEST READ of SSD in the market ?
I need,
- Single Drive (not planning to do RAID)
- Capacity can be small, just install Windows 7 with no games.
- Price not an issue.
- Using SATA 6.0Gbps port (fit to the latest mobo with SATA3 port)
- Write Speed not too critical, but preferred.

Any thing in market / online can buy these ?
thanks smile.gif
zsnipes
post Sep 15 2010, 12:40 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Aug 26 2010, 10:41 PM)
so SSD is still an immature technology.
How come say that ? I thought & someone here also saying that the SSD is still more reliable than the BEST HDD now.
Agree ?

QUOTE(zhuan97 @ Aug 29 2010, 08:48 AM)
anyone using Intel X25-V 40GB? i plan to buy it as Win7 boot drive, price is RM360 now.

btw, the 1st SATA3 6Gb/s SSD, Crucial C300 64GB @ RM600.
Where can buy now the Crucial C300 64GB ? LYP ?
RM600 come with Data Transfer Kit ? Got the model with the Data Transfer Kit one ? How much ?
zsnipes
post Sep 15 2010, 12:48 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 15 2010, 12:39 AM)
The so-called "SATA 3" is SATA 6.0 Gbps.

Do you have any specific reason to need the fastest read SSD? Because any decent SSD should be good enough.
Oh, I just using for Windows & Software only, mostly need READING speed.
If I want find a FASTEST READ & WRITE, then it will be headache for me, hard to choose & not much model came with both good read & write speed.
That's why I better look for the BEST READING speed is enough, save my headache. rclxub.gif

I'm still doubt about the realibility of a SDD over HDD.
Anyway, the drive will sit in my casing, & won't move, so, no worry about dropping & spoil for HDD.
I give myself to use a single HDD/SDD maximum to 4 years, then I will replace it to newer drive. For OS & Data drive too.

Someone here say SSD is more reliable & some say opposite.
So, is there any reliable facts to read about ?

thanks.
zsnipes
post Sep 15 2010, 11:55 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ Sep 15 2010, 10:41 AM)
like previous post, it depends. ssd is more prone to write limitation. but it can be considered a myth.

head over to http://www.storagesearch.com/ssdmyths-endurance.html

regarding your faster read > write. Your decision should be based on controllers. There are lots of controllers floating around. intel / indilinx / sandfore / i dont even care. lol . mayb iops matters but i dont have the time to dig for such info.

read and write currently are more or less few MB difference. What you should look at other than controller is maximum achieved by sata 2 or sata 3. the later obviously owns.
agree. Controller also another things to search.... sad.gif anyway, i rather save my time then...

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 15 2010, 11:13 AM)
I can't answer your question about which SSD to pick. But regarding reliability, other than the words of the manufacturers, I don't think SSDs have been around long enough for us to objectively say yea or nay regarding reliability. Personally, I think they're reliable.
Considering the data density of the old drives, as long as the materials are good, I'm not surprised that they would outlive more modern hardware. As modern hardware tends to push the limits to the maximum.
If going by price per GB, definitely the Kingston SSDNow V Series G2 128 GB. You can refer to my earlier price analysis. Just be sure to double check and maybe check the Garage Sales, as I might have missed good bargains or it simply outdated.
in my view, i think reliability of SSD is very depending on our power supply which juice the power of SSD,
if the Power is dirty or clog, i think it will spoil the SSD easily. This I based on my experience on our normal Flash Drive usage.
what do u think ?
zsnipes
post Sep 17 2010, 11:28 PM

878 posts

I planning buy 60GB Corsair SSD (SandForce),
is this good enough in term of speed ?
zsnipes
post Sep 18 2010, 12:36 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 17 2010, 11:56 PM)
corsair F series currently may  have issues with certain pc conf...

pls check in corsiar forums first prior purchasing..
I'm checking right now, there are many things talking in the forum.
Can you highlight some matters for me to look out for ?
zsnipes
post Sep 18 2010, 01:54 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 17 2010, 11:56 PM)
corsair F series currently may  have issues with certain pc conf...

pls check in corsiar forums first prior purchasing..
How about
OCZ VERTEX 2 SATA II 2.5" SSD ?
My 2nd choice, is this okay ?
zsnipes
post Sep 18 2010, 08:47 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Sep 18 2010, 08:19 PM)
i remember low capacity sandforce drives is really slow? they might have fixed it but when it first came out its bout 1/2 of the 120g models...
So, the Sandforce in Corsair F60 is slow ?
How about OCZ Vortex 2 ? Who's the distributor & Seller (in Low Yat Plaza) for OCZ Vortex 2 ?

also, Low Yat Plaza I cannot find Crucial SSD ? Got sell in here or not

This post has been edited by zsnipes: Sep 18 2010, 08:48 PM
zsnipes
post Sep 24 2010, 11:48 PM

878 posts

The TRIM run onto the SSD drive because of SSD is using Flash Based.
May I know is our 64GB Thumb Drive (Flash Based) can run the TRIM to refresh its flash memory inside to improve its performance ?
zsnipes
post Sep 25 2010, 01:38 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(hosealwh @ Sep 25 2010, 12:53 AM)
AFAIK, TRIM is flash controller based and it needs to be support by OS as well. Basically I don't see a need for thumb drive to have this function as they are not being wrote often as much like SSD.

There are reasons why SSDs are more expensive then thumb drives.
i thought our thumb drive also has Flash Controller inside.
Initially using my 8GB Corsair Flash Voyager GT is very flash.
I using it very frequent, write, delete, overwrite & write again.
Now feel the thumb drive write slower & slower.

How to really refresh a full thumb drive capacity ?
No format just won't do freshen up.
Any advise ?
zsnipes
post Sep 27 2010, 11:51 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Sep 27 2010, 11:19 PM)
Any bad remarks about the Corsair F60 SSD?
I am planning to get it for my future rig or should I wait for the next generation SSD?
I also want to get this F60 last 2 weeks. Then I googling a bit just before buy, so many bad news about this model,
mainly because its Firmware problem sad.gif
Reading from so many sources also like that.
I don't know whether it's alrd settle alrd or not.

Hopefully fix it fast lah. I also want buy a good SSD. I find this F60 most fits me in terms of performance & budget.
How come now those SSD so many issue (eg. Firmware/Controller) one, last time but a simple HDD only need to choose Brands, but now buy a SSD also need to know so many stuff. Tired alrd.... sweat.gif
zsnipes
post Oct 3 2010, 09:34 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Oct 3 2010, 03:20 PM)
does anyone know which ssd is SandForce-driven?

by looking at OCZ website they stated that only OCZ Onyx 2 is SandForce-driven. any other drive?
Corsair F60
zsnipes
post Oct 4 2010, 12:49 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Oct 3 2010, 10:59 PM)
Need a bit of advice here...
I plugged it into my pc but I can't see the drive in Windows7 even though in my BIOS the drive is there.
I m still running my old 250GB HDD's windows7 btw and haven't got the time to install a fresh copy of Windows7 on my new SSD.

I noticed my MOBO having 2 types of SATA sockets.
One type is labelled SATAII01, 02...etc.
Another is labelled GSATAII01, 02...etc.
Where should I plug in my SSD?
Anyway, my MOBO is a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3.

Will installing a fresh copy of windows solve my problem? =.="
Gigabyte using another controller on another GSATAII port other port are using Intel controller.
Try go to Gigabyte websites download its drivers for the SATA drivers.
all the while u didn't use that GSATAII port rite.
Also possible u didn't format the drive initially so cannot see in windows.

Fresh Windows install Win7 in SSD where connected to the GSATA port also need that Gigabyte driver, make sure copy the driver files into a Flash Drive 1st before install Win7, otherwise Win7 cannot see it initially.
If plug into Intel Controller ports, Win7 should detect it.
zsnipes
post Oct 5 2010, 12:50 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Oct 4 2010, 09:29 AM)
Ok, so tat means i'll hav to boot de Windows7 dvd n format from there rite? Can't format it from my current Windows7?

Not aiming to dual boot but can de system like provide de same dual OS selection when I hav 2 Windows7 on 2 different hdd?
U can boot Win7 DVD & format there also can, once in Win7 detect ur HDD, if 1st it can see, then no need GSATAII Drivers,
if cannot see, then select load drivers & point to the Flash Drive with GSATAII drivers in there, once loaded, Win7 Setup sure can see.
Usually I will load the latest drivers Gigabyte provide no matter Win7 setup see it or not, cause I want newer drivers.

For about U can't format in current Win7. Actually you can format it too, u just need load the same drivers within windows 7.
Once the Drivers is loaded, Win7 can see the Unallocated Space from the Disk Management. U know how access Disk Management right ?
In case not, right click My Computer, select MANAGE, then left side select "Disk Management".

If I not wrong, the Gigabyte SATAII Drivers is using JMICRON J36x Chipset, usually I go straight to JMICRON websites download it latest drivers one.
Sometimes gigabyte also didn't update it.

Let us know results okay ?

0.0428sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:47 AM