The Solid State Storage Thread

parsona
post Sep 28 2011, 06:22 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Sep 28 2011, 06:19 PM)
duh.. seriously?? cant we just get it from singapore then?
You'd be surprised. Even singaporean people can't get it from singapore.
parsona
post Oct 22 2011, 02:13 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Oct 22 2011, 12:56 AM)
dun hv one yet, hesitating in getting oem or retail unit

so the bad block in ssd won't spread like a plague as if bad sector in hdd?
No. Bad blocks are due to physical defects which can spread like a sand inside a hdd damaging the platter. SSD got no such thing.
parsona
post Nov 8 2011, 02:48 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Nov 8 2011, 02:33 PM)
Hi situ here, I planning to get a sad from us.
But I m new to it, now I shortlisted choice is
Ocz vertex3 120gb
Crucial m4 120gb

Others recommadation are welcomed .

Can user here share their experience of these ssds with me ? Are they best bang for buck in term of performance ?
If you are getting it from US, crucial m4 is cheaper and performs almost as fast as vertex3. Not to mention reliability but with the latest firmware maybe the vertex3 is good to go now. Still, I'd go with the crucial m4, especially if you are getting it from US.

0.3461sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:25 PM