The Solid State Storage Thread

kaiserreich
post Nov 13 2010, 02:41 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Price cut on the x25-V makes its more attractive, but is 40GB going to cut it?
kaiserreich
post Nov 13 2010, 06:40 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I meant, is 40GB enough for apps + OS ?
kaiserreich
post Nov 26 2010, 06:22 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Joining the party soon.

Got F60 at CEX for Rm439
kaiserreich
post Nov 28 2010, 01:33 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Laptop Users SSD Tweak
Laptop users with Intel Chipsets should read this tweak. The tweak works like a charm
kaiserreich
post Nov 29 2010, 08:52 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 29 2010, 10:34 AM)
Actually, is the SandForce problem solved? I'm thinking to get myself a 60GB Vertex II for OS and applications only, since i have 5 HDD in my rig, i think games and others are enough biggrin.gif

Is it a good buy now?

Actually what's the real issue of the SandForce controller?
Corsair Sandforce is way cheaper if you look around in Garage sales, local distro. Plus I don't think there is much difference even though OCZ has a deal with SF for the firmware stuff. Corsair Force firmware 1.1 used to have BSOD problem when waking up from sleep. Firmware 2.0 supposed to solve it, no problems on mine thus far.

@Hyde`fK
DuraDrive thing is enable by the firmware the preserve the write or something. Perfectly normal to have lower write speeds during benching. It is enabled when too much writing or something rather.
Try running CDM in 0-fill mode and you should get the full speed.
kaiserreich
post Nov 30 2010, 03:20 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

AntiVirus? which one you used.

I find that those AV products with firewall really kills off whatever advantage you have for boot time on a SSD. I can get 25 seconds without any Firewall, but install anything like that, and the boot time easily doubles. Wonders what kind of AntiVirus gives the best trade-off between boot and security
kaiserreich
post Dec 1 2010, 12:31 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Dec 1 2010, 12:25 AM)
below is my mushkin callisto dlx 120gb benchmark on my amd rig.. see my siggy for da spec  biggrin.gif

Mine is about the same, using Corsair F60.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Dec 1 2010, 12:32 AM
kaiserreich
post Dec 1 2010, 09:32 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 1 2010, 08:06 AM)
theres a new Firmware 2.0 out for F60 already.. but i cant seem to update mine coz it didnt detect my ssd..  cry.gif
Time to RMA. Says so in Corsair Forums

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 1 2010, 09:09 AM)
maybe cex sell it in bulk?
I got mine in retail packaging laugh.gif

Honestly I also find it odd, the pricing, but lingloong is selling his F60 at Rm490. Different supplier maybe?
kaiserreich
post Dec 1 2010, 11:34 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 1 2010, 09:16 PM)
Based on their 1 Dec pricelist, czone is now selling OCZ Vertex 2 60GB @ RM529. Previously it was RM589.
Do you think this is a good deal?
For SandForce SSD, cheapest is the F60 at Rm425 as pointed out. There is performance difference, but with price difference of Rm100, the performance difference is offset by the price. Otherwise, get the Intel, more space. Plus very close performance in terms of 4k Random Reads/Writes with the SandForce SSDs.

Or wait for price drop come 2011. Intel's G3 is due in February or March.
The SandForce-2000 series is due after Xmas based on the rumours circulating around. Price of SSDs tend to fall really fast. So wait until you beh tahan, or buy it now, choice is yours.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Dec 1 2010, 11:35 PM
kaiserreich
post Dec 7 2010, 11:25 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(AMDunFreak @ Dec 7 2010, 07:21 AM)
yeah, before i go to search for a cheaper deal, first i need to ask is it the best model money can buy around that price?
Corsair F60. Same controller with the Vertex 2.
Chenhui87 has it, Cex too.
kaiserreich
post Dec 22 2010, 09:44 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 16 2010, 10:59 AM)
Hi guys, i'm here to ask one thing.
Is ICH7-M bottlenecking a lot to SSD?

My customer is using one Kingston 30GB SSD-Now and it has the spec of 190/50 read write, but when i run hdtach and crystal disk, it showing only 100/40, anyway to overcome the problem? I wanna switch to AHCI for him but I couldn't find the driver for ICH7-M rclxub.gif

And is AHCI can boost the performance very much in this case?
http://forum.notebookreview.com/hardware-c...-jjb-tweak.html

works for ICH too
kaiserreich
post Dec 23 2010, 09:20 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Dec 22 2010, 11:03 PM)
any harm if torrent using ssd? tongue.gif
Seeding is okay.

Downloading however, you're going to wear out your drive with all those small writes.
kaiserreich
post Jan 17 2011, 04:38 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 17 2011, 11:23 AM)
hi guys...im still very new in using SSD...
is this normal for SSD??

btw im using corsair F60 oni...no money to buy bigger 1....sweat.gif
thanks for ur help guys notworthy.gif
Pretty fast random write it appears.

Otherwise, everything seems normal.
kaiserreich
post Jan 17 2011, 10:47 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 17 2011, 05:56 PM)
yeah..it says on their website F60  sequential read/write is 285/275MBs
but it no where near that when i test it... hmm.gif

need to update firmware or what?? hmm.gif
Try it with ATTO

As to other benchmarks, i guess you probably need a clean drive. The write is limited by the DuraWrite feature in the controller. For a brand new SF SSD, you can get more than 200MBps + reads, but I don't see the point since:
i) this is not for storage, so theres not much sequential read/write going on
ii) you need another drive that reads as fast as the write speed of your ssd to take advantage of the fast write speed
iii)Only random read/write matters for an OS drive, mostly

as far as i am concerned, getting 200MBps write on your benchmark only serves to enlarge your e-peen.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Jan 17 2011, 10:48 PM
kaiserreich
post Jan 18 2011, 11:23 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jan 18 2011, 09:32 AM)
i thought it will make my windows and games load faster smile.gif  hehehehe
Thats the random read doing its job, not the sequential read.
kaiserreich
post Jan 27 2011, 01:56 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Looks pretty good to me. Except random read.

Since you have an OS installed, the benching results gets a tad funny. Plus the DuraWrite might have kicked in depending on how many times you have stressed tested the SSD.
Random Write is super, but Random read is indeed a bit low. Try playing some music on the background, it helps in the random read speed. Seriously

PS: 5x1GB is pretty darn hardcore to test an ssd. Try running it at 3x100MB, gives about the same result, minus the write stress on it.

How does it feel running on an old rig? Snappy?

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Jan 27 2011, 01:56 AM
kaiserreich
post Feb 13 2011, 11:00 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 13 2011, 02:58 AM)
OCZ Vertex 2.. seems to be that the 25nm is slower in writing compared to the 34nm nand size of the same version. And they do it secretly changing from 34nm to 25nm. With the reviews already out on the 34nm version, everybody bought it thinking it will be the same thing with the same result. But they reported slower writing speeds, and apparently it's because of the 25nm nand size being slower, and have less life in it too compared to 34nm.

They're now offering to those that bought the drive with the 25nm nand flash to return the drive back to them and get credit and they have to topup a bit more if they want to get the 34nm version. Funny eh..

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/sh...-OCZ-SSD-drives
Smaller transistors, more leakage, thus die off faster
Smaller transistors, more storage per chip, less memory channels, thus slower speed. They probably need to maintain the chip number to get the same performance.e
kaiserreich
post Mar 21 2011, 07:32 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Same price, double density ICs, i.e. same problem with the 25nm issue that hits the Vertex 25nm versions.

The speeds on them will be half of what they are for the G2 case.
kaiserreich
post Mar 21 2011, 08:44 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

@cannavaro

you couldn't swap it with the person you bought from and save the rm185?
kaiserreich
post Mar 22 2011, 02:30 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 22 2011, 09:33 AM)
I don't think the write speed for G2 is a problem,
unless you got another drive can do 200MB/s write speed
then your 2xxMB/s write speed SSD will be utilised else
Intel G2 and other brand SSD having 2xxMB/s read speed is more than enough.  laugh.gif
I was saying that comparing the 310 with the G2 series, the speeds might degrade due to less memory channels used.
Sequential throughput is not very important once it reaches a certain limit, say 100MB/s, but the random reads and writes will certainly be affected no?

0.0500sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:46 PM