G-17
post Nov 8 2010, 09:55 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Oct 31 2010, 03:59 AM)
haha, imagine using this item to boot windows. brows.gif

F*ck Windows!!
My OCZ Agility goes from power button to completely usable Debian desktop in 9sec (my BIOS is slow and takes 3 - 4 seconds, if not it would be even faster)

This post has been edited by G-17: Nov 8 2010, 09:56 PM
G-17
post Nov 9 2010, 01:17 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Nov 9 2010, 12:20 PM)
My power button to my vista x64 desktop only take 1 second using 7200rpm hard disk, how to do that? use resume from sleep feature. if you just want to boot windows faster, not really need SSD.
Cold Boot =/= Sleep

Sleep still drains battery, and if you're on the road with your netbook (even if it has a 6cell battery) without your charger for days, Sleep will eventually become completely, utterly, battery-drainingly useless.

But I completely understand your point ... Even after the desktop appears you're can't really do anything on Vista cos your disk is busy thrashing itself like a doped up simian crack-hoe, rendering it unusable for the next minute or so .... hence your need for Sleep/Resume.

Lastly, your 1sec wake-up-from-sleep time is bollocks. No version of windows I've tried (not even win 7 on a Core i7) can wake up to a usable desktop in 1 sec. Actually, no version of any OS can wake up from Sleep/Suspend in 1 sec. Granted, Linux is pretty bad with wake up times, but even OSX Leopard and Snow Leopard (reportedly the best at resuming from sleep/suspend) still takes more than 1 sec.

Added on November 9, 2010, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 9 2010, 11:27 AM)
You can get 160GB x 2 (haven seen any 320GB model yet) and RAID0, even faster.
Provided your Mac Pro support RAID.

Actually, in my experience, a single high-speed SSD (like those from Intel or OCZ) on a SATA-II interface still has better random access times compared to a RAID 0 setup (even if the HDDs are 10,000 RPM). The RAID 0 setup has an advantage for Read/Write, though (but not by much). So it all depends on what he's using his MacPro for. If his job involves a lot of compiling, then the reduced bottleneck of a SSD will definitely be a better complement to his high-spec processor. If, on the other hand, he does a lot of photo editing or image manipulation (Photoshop, Corel Painter...etc) then the RAID 0 is probably the better (and more economical) setup.

Added on November 9, 2010, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(ASAP @ Nov 9 2010, 12:24 PM)
If 320gb is not available, how about 256GB SSD? May I know which brand is recommended and where is the best place to get?

I can't help you with prices since I currently reside in Singapore.
With regards to brands, Intel and OCZ are the only two brands I've ever considered for my main desktop/workstation. If you can afford it (and want the mega-performance), then something like the new OCZ Vertex 2 with its SandForce SF-1200 controller will probably be the most suitable. I think the biggest size I've seen in stores for that particular model is 240GB (though their website claims to have up to 400GB models), but it's bloody expensive (most people will say it's not worth the money)

My main desktop/workstation currently houses a 60GB version of Solid 2 SSD (slower than Vertex 2), plus a standard 320GB HDD. I usually set up my partitions (I run Linux/BSD) to have the /Root partitions (I have 2 OS'es installed) take up the SSD and /Home, /tmp, /var partitions take up the HDD. Perhaps you could do something similar with your MacPro (I have no experience with multipartitioning OSX, nor do I remember what journaling system it uses, so I can't help you there).

Cheers.

This post has been edited by G-17: Nov 9 2010, 01:57 PM
G-17
post Nov 9 2010, 02:07 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Nov 9 2010, 01:58 PM)
I will be going to Singapore this week and where will be the best place to source for SSD? Thanks
http://www.videopro.com.sg/
That site should give you a rough idea of prices. It's based in Sim Lim Square, where you can find a lot of other dealers. Use those prices as reference and walk around Sim Lim Square a bit to visit the other stores (most probably you can get em a bit cheaper than listed price)

There's also another shopping center called Funan IT Mall ... stuff is usually slightly pricier over there, though.

Cheers.

Edit:
Disclaimer: I have no idea how S'pore prices compare to those in K.L or Penang (J.B is shit, don't bother looking there). For all you know, it might be cheaper in Malaysia. The reason I buy my computing stuff from S'pore is obviously because I live/work here (aftersale service and all that)

This post has been edited by G-17: Nov 9 2010, 02:15 PM
G-17
post Nov 9 2010, 08:37 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Nov 9 2010, 03:15 PM)
Wake up from sleep mostly applicable to desktop only, for laptop, unless it is just off for few hours, then it is fine, otherwise, sleep is not an option.

Once my PC is wakeup from sleep, it is pretty responsive and immediately usable, in my case, the hard disk doesn't incurs high I/O operations, I think my 4G RAM does help.

Okay, 1 sec is estimated, to be precise, it is around 1.5 second, at most 2 seconds, no bluffing. BTW, there is one OS can be wake up in 1 second, it is iPad IOS 4 smile.gif

My PC is always turn to sleep instead of shut down, I don't shut down my PC unless I need to open the casing.
Which brings matters back to my original point. Ability to Suspend/Resume is not a barometer of actual performance, and neither is boot time, but boot speed does at least reflect throughput. My netbook being readily usable while everyone else is busy staring at a loading screen at the local Starbucks makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I look forward to the day PCI-E SSDs and UEFIs become the norm and give me instant on.

BTW, iPad OS is not an OS!!
iPads are like padded women ... tak boleh pakai!! tongue.gif

Added on November 9, 2010, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Nov 9 2010, 05:33 PM)
Uh so many issues with sandforce controller.
I think I would go back intel again..
although the same drive. doh.gif

Erm, what issues are you experiencing, exactly? O_o?
All my SSDs work fine. Only problem I had was with the OCZ Agility on my netbook, but that was manufacturer defect (refused to boot) and I got it exchanged the next day. Other than that, I've had no issues with bad writes or TRIM support.

This post has been edited by G-17: Nov 9 2010, 08:42 PM

0.0188sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:04 PM