The Solid State Storage Thread

post Sep 25 2010, 12:00 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 25 2010, 05:57 AM)
That's the whole problem smile.gif You're reading on a 2008 article which is totally outdated and technology have been improving so much ever since. Even the CPU's are a few generations ahead so please, try to google something more recent for better accuracy. SSD's these days use better controllers and hence does not have high failure rate.
Typical Malaysian mentality which I don't know why smile.gif 70% of the people don't own SSD's and based on their readings and word of mouth, they start spreading the wrong information. This is a mentality which people should change.
+1
People who don't own any SSD will never know what's the SSD for.
the convenience of SSD in the laptops is just awesome. When you're in mobility, time is always concerned.
I believe people who don't like to wait minutes to boot up their long-used windows with tons of files instead of just 30-40 seconds tongue.gif

On the other hand, the typical hdd random access speed will never on par with ssd anytime. which is why ssd are so expensive
due to the flash memory biggrin.gif

Added on September 25, 2010, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(munak991 @ Sep 25 2010, 06:53 AM)
2 words Its expensive
i always wanted to raid a HDD but if i raid 2 HDD i would go for a SSD and the capacity of a SSD is very small, so end up i buy 1 HDD
lol
Raid HDD will only increase the seq. read/write speed.
Still slow mang when comes to random file accessing.
Buy an SSD, and buy a HDD for storage. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Sep 25 2010, 12:03 PM
post Apr 10 2011, 09:41 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

welcome screen ah... for me the thing turn about 2 times it will go to desktop already.
with disk space left 10.8gb doh.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Apr 10 2011, 09:42 AM
post Jul 16 2011, 11:21 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 16 2011, 07:47 PM)
For a guy who owns some expensive hardware, it's a little surprising to see you not doing your basic homework first.

Then again, it seems like you're yet another victim of popular hardware recommendations. Are you ever going to buy a second GPU to justify that 850W PSU? And buying gaming RAM is like spending 100% extra cash for 1% extra performance. Wait, Samsung has 10,000RPM 1TB HDDs? Do you even have a good display to go with all your expensive hardware? It'll be such a shame to spend so much only to game or watch videos on a cheap LCD.

Good call on the CM Hyper 212+ though. It's bit of a work to assemble, but a lot better than the stock cooler and good bang for the buck. I hope you'll get it soon.
you are soooooooooo ironic brah laugh.gif

SSD and HDD difference is so big,
first of all SSD does not have moving part, SSD is lighter, smaller faster, random access pawn kao kao. Boot time also pawn big time compared to HHD.

SSD is more expensive because of the points above. SSD belum lagi masuk mainstream line. Still quite a "luxury" in hard disk industrial.

Added on July 16, 2011, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(kanine @ Jul 16 2011, 09:55 PM)
Hi Guyz,

I am planning to get a new laptop and interested in switching the HDD for a SSD. My questions are

1) With new line of Sandy bridge processor, there should not be any compatibility issue rite?

2) Should I  create a recovery disk and then reinstall on SSD ?

Thanks for any advice and pointers!
no problem lah.

sure why not ? unless factory gave u their own recovery disc smile.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Jul 16 2011, 11:23 PM

0.0410sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:33 PM