The Solid State Storage Thread

iaknesnah
post Nov 2 2011, 12:01 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2011, 11:58 AM)
i wanna ask, if i am torrenting, should i direct save those files in my normal hdd instead of ssd? Or is torrenting bad for ssd?
u dont want to torrent on your ssd.. just direct those files to your hdd
dtdw
post Nov 2 2011, 12:10 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Nov 2 2011, 11:39 AM)
what ssd are u using?
intel320 160gb smile.gif

mayb its just ff problem .. since ff doesnt have seperate process like chrome. while waiting for filestube to redirect to other sites it hangs the whole ff.

i shall test it with chrome when i head back. tongue.gif

--
btw @ben .. sidetrack sikit. your rig is running on 500watt ?

This post has been edited by dtdw: Nov 2 2011, 12:16 PM
iaknesnah
post Nov 2 2011, 12:21 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ Nov 2 2011, 12:10 PM)
intel320 160gb  smile.gif

mayb its just ff problem .. since ff doesnt have seperate process like chrome. while waiting for filestube to redirect to other sites it hangs the whole ff.

i shall test it with chrome when i head back.  tongue.gif

--
have u run ssd toolbox system tuner?
ben3003
post Nov 2 2011, 12:30 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ Nov 2 2011, 12:10 PM)
intel320 160gb  smile.gif

i shall test it with chrome when i head back.  tongue.gif

--
yup running at 500watt, so still ok.. i try calculator around 400w..

Added on November 2, 2011, 1:14 pmBtw, for ssd? Normally wat kind of things should i store in ssd? And what is not good to store in ssd? Is it that all kinds of applications is preferably to store in ssd? How about media files like songs? Sorry very noob here ><

This post has been edited by ben3003: Nov 2 2011, 01:14 PM
sai86
post Nov 2 2011, 01:59 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2011, 12:30 PM)

Added on November 2, 2011, 1:14 pmBtw, for ssd? Normally wat kind of things should i store in ssd? And what is not good to store in ssd? Is it that all kinds of applications is preferably to store in ssd? How about media files like songs? Sorry very noob here ><
Window, program, some games mayb.
I only store ARMA II and BF 3 in my SSD so far, still got 80gb+ free space yawn.gif

iaknesnah
post Nov 2 2011, 02:09 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2011, 12:30 PM)

actually u can install and store anything on ssd but its pricey laaaa.. better use ssd for something much better than storing or torrenting. anyway u have hdd for storage. heck if u are too rich then i am not stopping you.. tongue.gif
ben3003
post Nov 2 2011, 02:49 PM

10,859 posts

Oh kk.. i just thinking what might be suitable that it wont hurt my ssd much smile.gif Btw, just got my ocz agility 3 woo hoo smile.gif
iaknesnah
post Nov 2 2011, 03:11 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2011, 02:49 PM)
Oh kk.. i just thinking what might be suitable that it wont hurt my ssd much smile.gif Btw, just got my ocz agility 3 woo hoo smile.gif
post some benchies..
rudolfjie
post Nov 2 2011, 05:23 PM

350 posts

Hi everyone, new to this threat, nice discussion around here

Just get an OCZ Agility 3 64GB, so far quite happy with the performance....until now when i bench with AS SSD, what my results are 190m/s read & 98m/s write.. all sifu sifu here know why? is'it normal?

or should i use others benchmarking software?

Thanks in advance
ben3003
post Nov 2 2011, 05:27 PM

10,859 posts

wat bechmark software should i use? maybe ur mobo no sata3 support..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Nov 2 2011, 05:28 PM
owikh84
post Nov 2 2011, 05:30 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(rudolfjie @ Nov 2 2011, 05:23 PM)
Hi everyone, new to this threat, nice discussion  around here

Just get an OCZ Agility 3 64GB, so far quite happy with the performance....until now when i bench with AS SSD, what my results are 190m/s read & 98m/s write.. all sifu sifu here know why? is'it normal?

Thanks in advance
I think u put the SSD on SATA2 port, supposed to install it on SATA3 to get the max speeds.
iaknesnah
post Nov 2 2011, 05:49 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(rudolfjie @ Nov 2 2011, 05:23 PM)
Hi everyone, new to this threat, nice discussion  around here

Thanks in advance
u using wrong benchmark program. u suppose to use ATTO for agility 3 to get the correct speed
dtdw
post Nov 3 2011, 10:57 AM

425 posts

@iaknesnah tested, problem is on firefox. talk about bad memory management even when they said its the best (LOL really?). but as long as they dont use chrome-like separate process, it wont be fixed even til ff 11.

used chrome and the problem didnt happen at all.
iaknesnah
post Nov 3 2011, 03:09 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ Nov 3 2011, 10:57 AM)
@iaknesnah tested, problem is on firefox. talk about bad memory management even when they said its the best (LOL really?). but as long as they dont use chrome-like separate process, it wont be fixed even til ff 11.

used chrome and the problem didnt happen at all.
lol better use chrome then. btw i tried using firefox its ok on my side.. rclxub.gif
owikh84
post Nov 3 2011, 03:22 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Nov 3 2011, 03:09 PM)
lol better use chrome then. btw i tried using firefox its ok on my side.. rclxub.gif
i got this laggy FF problem after trying that optimization tips/tweaks. rclxub.gif
btw, i'm on raid0 Crucial M4's
iaknesnah
post Nov 3 2011, 03:24 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 3 2011, 03:22 PM)
i got this laggy FF problem after trying that optimization tips/tweaks.  rclxub.gif
btw, i'm on raid0 Crucial M4's
LOL thats wierd.. i am on raid 0 320 series but no laggy.. also after the tweaks biggrin.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 3:25 pmbut i've been using chrome all this while. just tried downloading FF last few days and playing with it but seems ok here

This post has been edited by iaknesnah: Nov 3 2011, 03:25 PM
sai86
post Nov 3 2011, 03:27 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

oh, u guys has the same problem on FF too....no wonder y my FF is so weird. i thought bcoz of some software i installed...
n din experience with chrome...
owikh84
post Nov 3 2011, 03:29 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Nov 3 2011, 03:24 PM)
LOL thats wierd.. i am on raid 0 320 series but no laggy.. also after the tweaks biggrin.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 3:25 pmbut i've been using chrome all this while. just tried downloading FF last few days and playing with it but seems ok here
Don't know why bro maybe it's becoz i direct the download to my HDD.
I will try point it to my SSD and see how by tonight.
iaknesnah
post Nov 3 2011, 03:33 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 3 2011, 03:29 PM)
Don't know why bro maybe it's becoz i direct the download to my HDD.
I will try point it to my SSD and see how by tonight.
oh ya when i tried downloading it was set to ssd by default. i didnt change the setting. later tonight will try with my hdd laaa..
ywkwy
post Nov 3 2011, 04:22 PM

868 posts

I got laggy scroll on chrome and firefox on my laptop and struggle me for some times.. and finally solved by setting the power option from balanced to high performance..

119 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:16 AM