Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

Christopher7
post Nov 10 2010, 10:03 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

May i know why some people selling macbook stated "LATE 2008" EARLY 2010 or so...

does it makes different?
Christopher7
post Nov 10 2010, 11:06 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 10 2010, 11:46 PM)
The YEAR indicates when the Macbooks were released and hence, the specifications of the Macbook models... because Macbooks carry the same name throughout regardless if they're the latest specs or old specs.

So if you're buying 2nd hand, do ask for the specs because they're different.
It's like cars. You have Honda City from way back until now. All different design and specs, but all called "Honda City".
I see. Nice explanation rclxms.gif
Thanks!
I plan to get a second hand Mac at 2.5k ;X

Christopher7
post Nov 10 2010, 11:43 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM)
which year is that ?
i've bought a 2nd hand macbook white 2.2ghz mid 2007 for RM2k..
I'm still searching sad.gif
I plan to get MBP.
Possible?
Christopher7
post Nov 10 2010, 11:53 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 11 2010, 12:52 AM)
maybe u can get the older original MBPs. MAYBE lah ;p
hmm.. actually does it makes big diff?
because i quite nub in the specs -.-"

Christopher7
post Nov 11 2010, 12:34 AM

1,044 posts

hmmm..

Do you think i should go for Macbook? instead of Macbook pro

Intel GMA? which year Mac using this?

2GB DDR3 memory - is 2GB good enuff?

NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics / NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256 MB - Is the graphics nice? what is the 256MB?

64GB flash storage1 - What is this?

Sorry for being such noob sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Nov 11 2010, 12:36 AM
Christopher7
post Nov 11 2010, 02:11 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(smudger14 @ Nov 11 2010, 03:02 AM)
1) Depends what u plan to do with it. If u are a heavy user, go mbp. if u travel alot, consider mba.

2) it's found in macbook 2006, 2007. Some also found in higher spec MBP with dual GPU.

3) nvidia 320m is on mbp 13 and gt 330m in mbp 15. - the 320m is an intergrated card while the gt 330m is a dedicated gpu. although same 256mb ram, due to its native performance, gt 330m performed better.

4) 64 gb storage is the flash storage as found in mobile phones. it does not use any rotating parts ala normal hdd.

hope that makes u clear.  smile.gif
thank you for answering my question smile.gif

I wonder if MBP 13 can play starcraft II smoothly hmm.gif
Christopher7
post Nov 14 2010, 10:11 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 14 2010, 06:16 AM)
guys guys guys
when u got MBA 11.6" why brother to boot to WINDOWS
if you need windows apps, then go for other LAPTOPs

why wanna go thru all hassles to make sometimes than you can easily deal with?
What WINDOWS apps that are not exist in Mac?
Christopher7
post Nov 23 2010, 10:41 PM

1,044 posts

I was thinking to buy MBP too
Should wait for next year update?
Christopher7
post Nov 24 2010, 02:19 AM

1,044 posts

Hmm... I think i will wait for the next MBP tongue.gif
Christopher7
post Nov 26 2010, 11:34 PM

1,044 posts

I wonder why people have negative views toward Mac
Say what many s/w is not supported
blah blah.

I really so wanted to get a MBP.
Christopher7
post Nov 29 2010, 12:29 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 29 2010, 10:43 AM)
Get started with MAC : http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/

Switching from Windows to MAC : http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/
these 2 sites will answer most your questions
Thanks @benny888 smile.gif

May i know is there any Sub $$ to pay when buying MBP?
Some people say need 100+ for the iwork
900+ for protection plan and blah blah @@ it's scary
Christopher7
post Nov 29 2010, 03:30 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Nov 29 2010, 04:04 PM)
nice one
But thing like iWork, MobileME can only be get with that price?
Online purchase can only pay by Credit Card?
Can be pay by Paypal or debit card?

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Nov 29 2010, 03:40 PM
Christopher7
post Dec 18 2010, 02:11 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 17 2010, 12:31 AM)
here's a simple answer

macbook (the white colour one): plastic body easy to get dirty n scratches. no firewire (u probably dont need this anyway), no SD card reader, no battery charge indicator

macbook pro 13: about the same spec as macbook white but aluminium body looks nice, easier to keep clean. got SD card reader, firewire, keyboard backlight

macbook pro 15/17: apart from the obviously bigger screen, u get more powerful CPU and GPU

unibody is just a term referring to the construction of the laptop's body. all macbooks including macbook pros are 'unibody' now.

so which one should u buy? if on a budget i'd highly recommend the MBP 13. but the macbook isnt bad either smile.gif i just think the price difference is pretty much worth it
I would get MBP 13 too
not to say the 2GB
the body and keyboard backlight dy worth to pay for another few hundred bucks =D

Added on December 18, 2010, 2:15 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 17 2010, 11:15 AM)
I have been a MAC user for the last 5 years. LAG issue seriously only occur in Windows O/S - that's why you can see there are at least up to 20 types of software ( free, shareware and paid ) just for you to clean up/defragmentise your hard drive to improve hard drive performance. There are too such software for Mac but is not so commonly used. Infact I never used such software, I leave it to the O/S itself to do it. Some users prefer to use such software - it is one's choice. But on Windows you definately need. Also Windows OS " attracts" viruz attacks/infections which will affect the O/S stabilioty-performance. Virus infections are rare on Macs and "touch wood" never faced such in my last 5 years since using the Mac

Apple upgrades their Macs at least once a year ( minor ) and major ( about 2 years) unlike Windows Notebooks you see the makers changing their models every 2 to 3 months !!!

Having used the Windows platform for the past 20 years ( since 1985 ) , I must say using the MAC was a completely new refreshing experience. I am so impressed by the Mac I always promote users to change and always say " Once you use a Mac , you will never want to use a Windows OS machine anymore"
Glad to hear this!
I definitely getting one soon!
but still i would like to see if there are any updates next year =P

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Dec 18 2010, 02:15 AM
Christopher7
post Dec 19 2010, 12:55 PM

1,044 posts

Have you guys did any protection on your Mac?
Like case, skin and blah
I was thinking putting case or skin on it would makes it getting hot or not.
Christopher7
post Dec 19 2010, 03:11 PM

1,044 posts

Added on December 19, 2010, 2:10 pm
It'll definitely make it hotter. A case or a skin acts as an insulator.
So it is better not to get it?

0.0544sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:56 AM