Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 13 2010, 11:56 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 13 2010, 11:02 PM)
Up to you lor but even Apple states in black & white that all you need is:

-DDR3 SODIMM
-30mm
-1, 2 or 4GB
-204-pin
-PC3-8500 DDR3 1066Mhz

Almost exact wording.

That means normal KVR ram will do?
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 17 2010, 12:42 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Dec 17 2010, 12:27 AM)
whoa.MBP13 inch isn't the same as MB.has additional 2GB and better graphics.With battery indicator.

p/s: my Macbook 2008 is the same performance as the new MBP 13 inch'
Aren't the graphics same for both MBP13 and MB?
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 18 2010, 11:52 AM

670 posts

Hey guys...
I've installed my momentus XT for about 1 week now..
I din't install a fresh copy and I have bootcamp in it...
The boot time is 1 minute from boot to dock.... Is this normal?
Or should I install a fresh copy?
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 12:27 AM

670 posts

Guys... I need help...
My MBP just hanged and I have no choice but to force it to shut down...
Now when I switch it on... It'll only show a blank white screen...
HELP!!
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 07:13 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 27 2010, 04:16 AM)
Looks like the MBP isn't detecting the HD. Might be a bad HD.

Do you get a flashing folder with question mark if you wait long enough?
Do you get the Apple logo?
Can you boot in Verbose mode to see what's wrong?
As benny888 suggested, try booting from the DVD and running disk utility.

But if you have important data, better take out the HD and recover it on another computer before doing anything else.
No flashing folder no apple logo... Just white screen
I've tried press the power button and the C key to boot from the CD but no luck....

How am I gona reformat my Mac?
Any idea how this happen? I was away from my laptop for about 15 minutes and this crap happened... Was just surfing the net...
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 08:07 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 27 2010, 07:16 AM)
Can you boot from the DVD if you remove the HD? If not, could be motherboard problem.

Don't think it'll help but can also try to reset the PRAM.
I'll give it a try later when I get back from class...
Just to double confirm... I bought my MBP from Aus, I can still claim warranty from apple resellers here right?
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 11:27 AM

670 posts

Must it be premium reseller or any reseller will do?
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 06:06 PM

670 posts

Yish.... Just came back from Machines... It's the hard disk problem... It is able to boot from the disk without the hard disk... Now got to find a way to fix this hard disk's problem
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 07:04 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 27 2010, 06:57 PM)
If is under warranty , why don't you just replace the hard disk. They will backup all your dta ( as much as they can salvage it). It will take about a week maximum if the service center has no HD on hand. If they have within 2-3 days maximum
Hmm.... I bought it from Hikari... I guess I'll have to shipped it back to her...
Not sure if I still have the receipt...

This post has been edited by zXJaMeSXz: Dec 27 2010, 07:06 PM
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 07:34 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 27 2010, 07:11 PM)
What did you bought from her? The HD or the notebook? If it is still under warranty, might as well just go ahead asking them to fix it.. if it is HD problem, it is faster if you brought you own HD, ask them to swap it.. just like what I did.. bad thing about Apple support centres here .. they don't stock up anything .. so everything will take a week to get resolved.  vmad.gif
I bought the Hard Disk from her.... Might have to go to a Seagate center to get it fixed...
I just swap one of my old HDD from my old macbook... Aikz, stupid momentus XT spoiled for no reason....
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 08:27 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 27 2010, 08:12 PM)

I was using Momentus XT also but sold it off and got SSD. Perfect time for you to upgrade. :-)

lol... SSD is too costly for me at the moment.... I'll wait till the time when every laptop uses SSD XD....
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 27 2010, 09:28 PM

670 posts

I got it for about 2 weeks now... And yesterday out of the blue it stop working.... Yish... Thank god I've backed up my itunes not long ago... =.=
I've register for the Seagate RMA, will post my HDD to them tmr....
Now stuck with a crappy WD 320gb HDD...
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 29 2010, 11:28 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 27 2010, 11:17 PM)
Yep, very easy. Some larger apps such as Office or Adobe stuff still require installation but most you just drag and drop it into your Applications folder. Frequently used apps, you can put into the dock. For others you can use Spotlight (the magnifying glass icon in the menu bar) to launch them.

The uninstalling part is a bit more involved.
I thought uninstall just drag to the rubish bin?
zXJaMeSXz
post Jan 8 2011, 04:25 PM

670 posts

Just received my Momentus XT back form Seagate...
Installed a fresh copy of OS... Dam, it's way faster then before and running really smooth... Even my first boot is really fast...
If anyone is getting this HDD, please do a fresh install to experience the true performance...
zXJaMeSXz
post Jan 9 2011, 06:20 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Jan 9 2011, 01:35 PM)
i thought momentus XT has some problem with macbook? because of the NAND flash thingy? no?

btw, im joining the macbook pro club, proud owner of 13' 2010 mbp.

any accesories that i should get?
Serious? Don't know anything about that..
My new one is working perfectly so far...
Will update you guys if any problem occurs....
zXJaMeSXz
post Jan 12 2011, 08:43 AM

670 posts

Guys... If I installed bootcamp and windows 7 on my hard disk... Will it lower the performance of my momentus XT?

0.0220sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:33 PM