Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

TSmememe12
post Oct 10 2010, 01:31 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 10 2010, 01:38 AM)
after 3months ++ of daily usage around 6-7hours every single day...
finally my mbp13 2010 hangs for the 1st time, i was on wifi surfing LYN and also downloading an ipa file.
i have to use the power button to power it off n turn it back on... any ideas what happen arr bros? just curious tongue.gif

u mean something like this?

i also wonder how to cure this.. got 2 times in about 6 months use.. once see this screen.. means KO... sad.gif

TSmememe12
post Oct 16 2010, 11:01 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(sigg @ Oct 13 2010, 11:54 AM)

Is this okay??? the temperature is frightening
I AM TALKING ABOUT THE MAIN LOGIC BOARD, PLS DUN LOOK LOOK ELSEWHERE.
hey bro.. i wanna ask u.. if for first time power on your mac.. how long does it take to load all those widgets?
TSmememe12
post Oct 21 2010, 01:12 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(erictioh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:09 PM)
my MBP sd card slot not working, meaning slot in a card and it doesn't appear in finder, anyone has this problem is their MBP ?

The card is confirm ok because i have another usb card reader which is working very well.
your MBP still under warranty?
TSmememe12
post Nov 9 2010, 10:50 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(fuiyo @ Nov 8 2010, 11:13 PM)
I realize that there are some dirty white lines on the left hand side of my MacBook Pro's trackpad. Clearly remember that these lines weren't there in the afternoon and I'm pretty sure that I didn't scratch it but I just can't wipe them off. Anyone experienced this before? Anything which I can get to polish it? Sigh, damn sad...
i think it is due to your watch? buy Moshi Palmguard biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Edoras @ Nov 9 2010, 07:46 AM)
Do you mean both MBA and Dell unable to connect or only MBA have problem?
Weird, because I found out that Macs are much easier to connect the WiFi AP compared to PCs... Its like plug and play...

Also, try using Google Chrome browser... It seems to be faster than Safari... tongue.gif
using chrome now.. dont like safari.. dunno why.. alternatively.. use firefox bcoz wanna use the download'em all..
TSmememe12
post Nov 9 2010, 07:38 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Nov 9 2010, 06:17 PM)

ADDED:
Nope, the last time I helped my friend to buy his macbook pro, they do not need any proof, but you are only allow to buy once with that price in a year
some forumers said they will do a random check.. means if u are unlucky.. then u need to provide your student's proof
TSmememe12
post Nov 10 2010, 08:38 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Nov 10 2010, 06:25 AM)
I'm not sure about that. But my friend was very unlucky when he got his mbp, when he unboxed it, he realised the "D" key had fall off the keyboard, then he called Apple Care for a exchange, Apple came to his house to pick up the mbp and after few days later he got another new one, then after 1 day, the "G" key fall off. *Really unlucky*
lol.. that is really sad.. rare case.. but is not bcoz he is not student but he purchase a student package right? tongue.gif
TSmememe12
post Nov 11 2010, 12:59 AM

2,849 posts

I vote for MBP too! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wengthekit @ Nov 10 2010, 08:40 PM)
i just purchased a MBP 15inch.
I registered my product last week through online but until now I'm still haven't receive the confirmation email from Apple. Anyone knows why?
it made me to worry for my warranty stuff.
i cant recall any registration online d.. is it required?
TSmememe12
post Jan 4 2011, 12:55 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 3 2011, 11:56 PM)
You either reformat the Mac and reinstall OSX with the OSX DVDs that came with it or
just create a new user for you sis and remove your previous user. Just remember to specify that you want the files to be deleted when you remove the user.
but if u store stuffs outside your <USERNAME> folder.. then it will be considered as shared files right?
TSmememe12
post Jan 6 2011, 02:22 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Jan 4 2011, 08:43 PM)
Yeah thanks alot...I'll get the My Book Studio or Seagate GoFlex..
I am using MyBook Studio too! my 1TB full after about 8 months of usage smile.gif

maybe u can PM wei <here>

This post has been edited by mememe12: Jan 6 2011, 02:22 AM
TSmememe12
post Jan 9 2011, 01:44 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Jan 8 2011, 02:01 PM)
Nah, I don't think so..After I cleared all my history, it still the same..
oh! so now u using safari and all those lags gone? previously i was using Chrome.. then usually i open about 20-30 tabs.. the whole mac super lag.. then i swap to firefox, i think is a bit better.. but still very lag.. especially some page got flash stuff embedded.. how about safari?

mind to share more experience? thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Jan 9 2011, 01:35 PM)
i thought momentus XT has some problem with macbook? because of the NAND flash thingy? no?

btw, im joining the macbook pro club, proud owner of 13' 2010 mbp.

any accesories that i should get?
for me... MOSHI palm guard is a must.. i dont stick any screen protector or case protector tongue.gif
TSmememe12
post Jan 31 2011, 10:35 AM

2,849 posts

i am wondering.. is there a way to use Iphone as a remote to control volume or other stuff in our mac?

i know there are a lot of WiFi remote.. but is there a bluetooth remote? because my iphone is hardly get wifi coverage and my mbp is using LAN..
TSmememe12
post Feb 1 2011, 09:22 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 31 2011, 12:19 PM)
^ you can just share ur LAN connection to airport
err.. that means i have to buy a wireless AP and plug my LAN cable in it.. then use WiFi also right? means no Bluetooth remote control solution right?
TSmememe12
post Feb 9 2011, 04:37 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 9 2011, 03:54 PM)
hi,

new here and would need advice from all seniors here.
am keen on buying a custom mbp 2.8Ghz 8GB rams for serious PS.
but worried bout rumours of new mbp 2011 coming out in Mar-Apr '11.
will be disappointed that the mbp bought will be outdated in like 2-3 months time.
any opinions guys??
it is very subjective actually.. if u still can do PS without the new mac at the moment.. i think better wait.. i waited mine since Dec 09 until Apr 10.. then straight place order once it is launched.. getting a newly refreshed mac feels so good biggrin.gif no need to worry about anything..
TSmememe12
post Feb 10 2011, 10:47 AM

2,849 posts

my mbp kind of always facing "unable to wake up" problem, means that after the screen went black, it will not come back no matter i press touch pad, esc, mouse click, close lid and open lid, power button..

the only solution is to hard reset it..

anyone know what is the issue?
TSmememe12
post Feb 11 2011, 06:44 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 11 2011, 08:26 AM)
well if u want to check how much RAM do u need, launch activity monitor, go to the Memory tab n look at page outs. if it's in the KB range then u dont need more RAM. not sure how to check in windows tongue.gif
what do u mean by in the KB range eh? i planning to upgrade ram too.. bcoz recently do quite a lot of video rendering..

but i wonder if i upgrade to 2x 4GB.. the 2 x 2GB in my current MBP can sell or not? or keep until it rots d? sad.gif
TSmememe12
post Feb 12 2011, 10:08 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Feb 10 2011, 10:47 AM)
my mbp kind of always facing "unable to wake up" problem, means that after the screen went black, it will not come back no matter i press touch pad, esc, mouse click, close lid and open lid, power button..

the only solution is to hard reset it..

anyone know what is the issue?
anybody know the "unable to wake up" issue like i mentioned above? last nite my MBP got this problem again, when i close the lid, it will not go into standby mode (but i didn't realise) in the morning, when i open the lid, the screen cannot wake up d.. sad.gif

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Feb 12 2011, 08:48 AM)
bro
are  u using macbook pro i5 or i7?
i m using i7 but when i do video rendering, i think 8GB helps in shorten the rendering time right? pls enlighten smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Feb 12 2011, 11:39 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 12 2011, 10:26 AM)
KB range as in it's just a few kilobytes, not reaching even 1MB. if like that i think u dun need more RAM

2x2gb can sell but i imagine it's quite hard to find a buyer. a lot of laptops come with stock 2x2gb today. just try lah
will monitor that when do large rendering... hmm.gif but what is the max page out value the 4GB RAM can handle?

QUOTE(pcboy @ Feb 12 2011, 11:19 AM)
Have you tried this before? Hope you have luck
thanks.. i guess this is not my problem.. i m having MBP 2010 model.. i try to do disk repair.. wonder if it helps sad.gif
TSmememe12
post Feb 14 2011, 10:18 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 14 2011, 02:00 AM)
macbook and iPhone is two different thing. I have MobileMe which sync all the emails, contacts, appointments/meetings over the air between my macbook unibody, MBA and iP5. Sometimes with iPhone you could just email or send documents on the go.
iPhone 5? hmm.gif

btw.. my Page outs is now 1.4GB and Swap used 2.17GB... i didn't restart my computer for 3-4 days d.. is it normal? hmm.gif

0.0536sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:21 PM