Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

cRazYee
post Oct 21 2010, 12:52 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 18 2010, 05:45 AM)
I'd rather have higher resolution than lower ones with regards to a set screen size. The Retina Display alone have proven that even small text on smaller screen, when paired with high resolution , making the text readable.

The old adage of "high resolution on small screen = tiny words horrible for reading" only applies to standard TFT/LCD panels, not Retina Displays.

Whether Apple would deem it worthy of putting a Retina Display into a Macbook is another matter altogether.
you're so wrong
it's the software part who make it good to read

unlikely windows, mac can't set the display font size (default)

go to read on SONY VAIO P
you'll cry

Added on October 21, 2010, 12:53 am
QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 18 2010, 10:02 AM)
i woud really love to see a retina display on the macbook series smile.gif
for the time being, not worth doing it
cuz you wont read your mac as near as what you do on iphone
Mac OS X is not optimize for it (yet)

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 21 2010, 12:53 AM
cRazYee
post Oct 21 2010, 07:06 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 21 2010, 03:50 AM)
What are you talking about? There are tools to do that.

Have you ever read on a Retina Display before? Legibility versus pixel density increases as the ratio goes, there is a reason why Apple opts for Retina Display on a smaller screen device like the iPhone, so that "fonts reads like a fine printed book" as Steve says it. Otherwise, your analogy of using the Sony Vaio P as an example ensues. I had the Vaio P at one point in my life, and because the resolution increases but the pixel density remains the same over a smaller screen size, the legibility suffers. Apple addresses that with the increase in pixel density on the Retina Display and the result speaks for itself.

Better example next time. I gave mine, and I have the Retina Display to prove it. The only question is whether Apple wants to incorporate it into the Macbook lineup or not.
i bet i read on retina display before you did, or maybe couple hours after you
i understand what you mean by density stuff
by your mean, having retina display which should be in higher resolution, is good. But it doesn't work well with software cuz (i bet) current Mac OS X doesnt use up that.
my point is, even hardware works great, you still need software than can support it
Maybe in 10.7, it may happen. Apple started to centralize their developers

2ndly, for computer, does it needed?
iphone 3G with 163 PPI looks awful, but any 24" full HD (be it 16:9/16:10) with 94 PPI is al-right.
you wont use mac as near as your iphone.

try this, SONY VAIO F with 16" 1920X1080 with 137 PPI & macbook pro 15" 1440 X900 with 110PPI
which one is better for reading, in same reading distance

you own more Gadgets than most of us here, you tell me your experience.

btw, you way of changing font size in mac is very analogy way, literally have to tweak thru alot of times.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 21 2010, 07:06 AM
cRazYee
post Oct 21 2010, 09:02 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 21 2010, 04:04 PM)
The contention was with him referring to legibility issue being fixed SOLELY by software means, and not pairing it with hardware (eg. Retina Display). Other than that, his statement is in complete agreement with me.

Bottom line, better phrased statements, ie better English perhaps?
sorry cuz i din stated clearly
but for me, it's software take the major part for good reading on high ppi screen
cRazYee
post Oct 24 2010, 10:22 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(nabielz @ Oct 23 2010, 06:59 AM)
wait till next year.
maybe i3/i5 will come out.
P8600 quite slow la.
sometime lag a bit even i use 7200rpm hd.
my one still no sign of lag
but i'm using Hybrid HDD

p8600 is still faster than i3

Added on October 24, 2010, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(accs_centre @ Oct 23 2010, 03:42 PM)
Still can Bootcamp for this MBA?
what's the point?
just go for thinkpad x100 or other similar class computer

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 24 2010, 10:23 PM
cRazYee
post Oct 26 2010, 11:14 AM

2,642 posts

just tried new macbook air on Apple Store covent garden!
my heart is more into 11.6"
really lovely unit!
just read about performance benchmark scores, it seem 11.6" would be probably is wise choice!

DADDY! MY BIRTHDAY IS NEAR!

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 26 2010, 11:19 AM
cRazYee
post Oct 31 2010, 02:56 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Oct 30 2010, 06:54 PM)
Nope, they have solder the chip into the mobo
not solder on board actually
can take out
but no way you could find a drive like this on market so far
mini esata

Added on October 31, 2010, 2:57 am
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 30 2010, 08:44 PM)
ohh...icic....so we canot CTO in retailer /reseller when pre-order ? btw how bout educational pricing part? need any proof? because Switch here if we buy system they will giv us point card nod.gif
switch can do CTO for you
but full payment upon place order
take around 2 weeks to be arrived
(depends on cases)

Added on October 31, 2010, 2:59 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 30 2010, 12:04 PM)
frankly, im still using MSN 6
tested the 8 during beta, problematic

dunno is it microsoft issue or what? purposely make it an issue for us MAC users
full version of msn messenger 8 is out

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 31 2010, 02:59 AM
cRazYee
post Nov 13 2010, 05:36 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(hbong @ Nov 12 2010, 05:24 PM)
Guys.. I thinking to get the 64gb 11inch MBA.
Possible to add another 2gb ram by myself? Also can I purchase a 32gb USB thumbdrive or sd card just to install widows and run it on MBA?
BIG no for all your solutions
thumbdrive is not fast enough to load OS
cRazYee
post Nov 14 2010, 05:16 AM

2,642 posts

guys guys guys
when u got MBA 11.6" why brother to boot to WINDOWS
if you need windows apps, then go for other LAPTOPs

why wanna go thru all hassles to make sometimes than you can easily deal with?
cRazYee
post Nov 15 2010, 11:42 AM

2,642 posts

get seagete momentum XT
cRazYee
post Nov 24 2010, 08:45 AM

2,642 posts

black friday is just free delivery
not really much discount
cRazYee
post Nov 24 2010, 09:13 AM

2,642 posts

well only apply to US
really wanna get one mac from state?
you save USD100 in hard way

cRazYee
post Nov 28 2010, 06:57 AM

2,642 posts

Forget alienware, the screen is awful
Not good for multimedia
cRazYee
post Nov 29 2010, 08:16 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Nov 28 2010, 07:11 PM)
I lost my macbook guide today sad.gif Anyone wanna sell their user guide?Any spares or extras let me know then smile.gif

Added on November 28, 2010, 7:22 pm
macholic already immune to windows poison mah.Hehe.I still prefer a laptop for gaming. :S
it has good performance, no doubt
but the quality of screen is awful
as my fren M15x

cRazYee
post Dec 12 2010, 02:54 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Dec 12 2010, 01:36 AM)
and u do?
assumed i do!
normal, if you order CTO thru reseller, it takes longer time
cuz it's not ship directly to your address, it ship to singapore then, KL, then to reseller warehouse, then to store waiting you to pickup.

cRazYee
post Dec 19 2010, 11:00 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 18 2010, 11:52 AM)
Hey guys...
I've installed my momentus XT for about 1 week now..
I din't install a fresh copy and I have bootcamp in it...
The boot time is 1 minute from boot to dock.... Is this normal?
Or should I install a fresh copy?
try to do some clean up like repair permission
should be improve from there
cRazYee
post Jan 5 2011, 11:24 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 4 2011, 08:37 PM)
no need to make 2 partition. just format the hdd to mac os journales and that's it. it wont remove smartware. actually more people are asking how to remove smartware haha

also, u dun need to set a specific size for time machine. just plug in the time machine, and do ur 1st backup 1st. all ur backup files will be kept in a single folder. u can store ur other stuff on the drive as well, without formatting it. just dun disturb the backup folder

up until the point where ur hdd is full (backups + ur other stuff), then time machine will delete ur backups starting from the oldest one. so the bigger ur hdd, or less other files u store in it, the more backups ur time machine can hold

clear? tongue.gif also i'd recommend getting a drive with firewire800 for time machine. much faster speed
it's probably a kernel panic. did u get something like this? http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/8337/lolappxc8.png

it can be a lot of reasons but normally it's because of a faulty RAM. what u can do is, take out one 2gb n use ur computer normally, see if u still get the same problem. if no, then probably the RAM u took out is faulty. if yes, proceed:

put back the first 2gb u took out, and take out the other 2gb, then use ur computer again to check for kernel panics. if no, then the second RAM is probably faulty. if yes, either both RAMs are faulty or something else is giving u these problems

u can search for instructions to change ur RAM at ifixit.com
you sure?
time machine require at least exact capacity of your mac HDD or more
it's better to always keep Time Machine Drive at another partition

for my case, i got 1TB My Book Studio, 500Gb for my time machine backup
and another 500GB partition for other stuffs
cRazYee
post Jan 6 2011, 02:22 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 5 2011, 09:29 PM)
oh ya i forgot about the bolded part

regarding the folder, yes, im sure no need to partition. that's how im using mine right now. im using the 1TB mybook studio too. only 1 partition, n i just put my stuff there. i dun see why keeping it at another partition would be beneficial in any way tongue.gif mind explaining?
well main thing is to isolate your time machine drive from other stuff

by your way, do you have another problem let's say
a new mac, can you transfer your file and folder from time machine partition?
cRazYee
post Jan 6 2011, 11:01 PM

2,642 posts

i bet same to everyone

cRazYee
post Jan 7 2011, 12:29 PM

2,642 posts

easy way to do it on cloud, you can try
Dropbox, 2GB free
mobile me (perfect for you), paid

cuz you're not running server, those file are just store at local.
you're not pull file from central location

what i can recommend to you, use dropbox to sync files you're working on, then archive those you're are not longer needed, save it just for record.

Use MBA as remote, MBP as local

cRazYee
post Jan 21 2011, 08:00 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(gome @ Jan 21 2011, 07:36 PM)
i can hear people chanting "keep the mac, keep the mac, keep the mac"...and i'm starting to feel silly for posting my question in a mac thread biggrin.gif

ok, no harm asking 1 more time if it's been asked a million times already - can i use the mbp 13 to fry eggs while i watch youtube? i understand that it's an OS issue, so do you people use bootcamp to switch to windows before you go for a youtube marathon?
in bootcamp or not
they are the same, flash player utilise your GPU power
that's why it's "warmer"

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0233sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:40 PM