124 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 12:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Nov 1 2010, 11:55 AM)
Haha.. thx. Now that I have the iPhone 4, iPad, iMac, and now MBA, my next purchase should be an iPod Nano. LOL.. I need a new WATCH!!
ipod nano? wrong la.... next purchase should be mac pro biggrin.gif
welwitchia
post Nov 1 2010, 12:35 PM

1,219 posts

No la. MBP is too heavy for me. I don't need a powerhouse for my mobile computing needs. Only using it for surfing the net.
nimrod323
post Nov 1 2010, 12:53 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Nov 1 2010, 12:35 PM)
No la. MBP is too heavy for me. I don't need a powerhouse for my mobile computing needs. Only using it for surfing the net.
no i dont think you get what he meant a mac pro is not a macbook pro but its this beast here ->

bzbody
post Nov 1 2010, 01:44 PM

64 posts

hey guys i gotten myself MBA 13", 128gb, 2gb ram
my 1st time using mac OSx, quite pain in the ass,
just one question, can MBA runs win7 using boot camp with only 2gb ram?
or i should just stick with win xp
xaw5126
post Nov 1 2010, 01:49 PM

3,488 posts

@bzbody : that's a new one. what specifically do you find a PITA?

according to the official system requirements Windows 7 should run fine on MacBook Air 2010.

Don't forget to read thru the Boot Camp guide before doing anything.

Edoras
post Nov 1 2010, 01:49 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 01:44 PM)
hey guys i gotten myself MBA 13", 128gb, 2gb ram
my 1st time using mac OSx, quite pain in the ass,
just one question, can MBA runs win7 using boot camp with only 2gb ram?
or i should just stick with win xp
Your "pain" will go away after a week.... tongue.gif
Such an expensive MBA...why turn back to the dark side...? doh.gif

bzbody
post Nov 1 2010, 01:53 PM

64 posts

@xaw5126: basically everything, im totally new to mac os, aside from lauching apps, i cant find where is my storage drive, i plug in superdrive there are no icon coming out, etc.... it take alot time to adapt, i dont even know WTF is command, option keys rclxub.gif

i cant coz some of my office application required me to use IE and windows based os

This post has been edited by bzbody: Nov 1 2010, 01:58 PM
SoulReaver
post Nov 1 2010, 02:13 PM

TerribleLover
513 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Nov 1 2010, 11:33 AM)
@SoulReaver : KL. Jalan Raja Chulan.
Gave dem a call again, this lady said I will most probably get it by tomorrow.... Basically different staff telling different things... LOL... The initial one told me its stuck at customs... and he is not sure when will it be cleared.

Running around in circles already.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 01:53 PM)
@xaw5126: basically everything, im totally new to mac os, aside from lauching apps, i cant find where is my storage drive, i plug in superdrive there are no icon coming out, etc.... it take alot time to adapt, i dont even know WTF is command, option keys rclxub.gif

i cant coz some of my office application required me to use IE and windows based os
find some time to watch the videos n read some guides here: http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/

i recommend this to all new mac users. it's a very good start smile.gif

'command' and 'option' keys...uh, look at your keyboard, on both sides of the spacebar
bzbody
post Nov 1 2010, 02:20 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM)
find some time to watch the videos n read some guides here: http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/

i recommend this to all new mac users. it's a very good start smile.gif

'command' and 'option' keys...uh, look at your keyboard, on both sides of the spacebar
thanks for the videos

what i meant for the command and option where i dunno wat is the function of it
dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 02:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 02:20 PM)
thanks for the videos

what i meant for the command and option where i dunno wat is the function of it
oh i see. they are modifier keys, like ctrl. u know how in windows it's ctrl+c n ctrl+v for copy n paste? in osx it's command+c and command+v. ctrl, option, shift n command are all modifier keys, and what it does depends on what app are you running. u can configure the shortcuts in System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard shortcuts

to discover what does what in an app, open any app n look through the menu bar at the top. look at the symbols beside the menu item. u might wanna have a look at this http://www.osxkeyboardshortcuts.com/key-de...ifier-keys.html
Edoras
post Nov 1 2010, 03:28 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 01:53 PM)

No icon? Maybe you did not enable the icon display... smile.gif

xaw5126
post Nov 1 2010, 03:34 PM

3,488 posts

@bzbody : www.apple.com/findouthow ... your keyboard is labeled, you know. command n option keys are on your bottom row.

HDD, CDROM n other external media will appear on the desktop when correctly connected. you can also click the Finder (first icon on the Dock) to view your drives (network drives as well)
bzbody
post Nov 1 2010, 04:19 PM

64 posts

Hi, what option do i choose when i install win7 in my MBA?
upgrade or Custom?
doesnt want to screw up the whole thing

Sorry!! found the solution already smile.gif

This post has been edited by bzbody: Nov 1 2010, 04:23 PM
xaw5126
post Nov 1 2010, 05:18 PM

3,488 posts

@bzbody : how to upgrade? you don't have any existing installation, right? smile.gif
Custom lor...
Alwin Tan
post Nov 1 2010, 05:27 PM

28 posts

Hello,
I would like to know the performance difference between the core i7 2.66 and the core i7 2.8. I would like to know whether the upgrade is worth it or not. Btw, I mainly use final cut pro, after effects. Thanks in advance.
Alwin
bzbody
post Nov 1 2010, 05:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Nov 1 2010, 05:18 PM)
@bzbody : how to upgrade? you don't have any existing installation, right? smile.gif
Custom lor...
i was searching high and low for online tutorial, all didnt mention on it
lucky found one that have step by step guide
i have to be careful ler, common sense should be custom, but i just want to make sure i didnt screw up nia laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bzbody: Nov 1 2010, 05:35 PM
welwitchia
post Nov 1 2010, 05:39 PM

1,219 posts

DHL sucks! Now they don't even know where my order is and they can't give me an exact delivery date.
rheza02
post Nov 1 2010, 09:12 PM

279 posts

why do you call it ultimate ?, it isn't laptop based pc.
Ex: HP HDX 16t Premium laptop
frozzbyte
post Nov 1 2010, 09:14 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

They called it "Ultimate" because it's been maxed out on the upgrade option as in you can't get any higher than that. Not the ultimate of all laptop.

124 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:13 AM