10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

dvlzplayground
post Oct 24 2010, 02:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Oct 24 2010, 01:13 PM)
I was suprised to see the price difference of rm2300 compared to previous
Price at rm5599... For rm3299 u get 13.3 inch + 120 gb hdd, new MBA 11.1inch amd 64gb flash
that's really the best 'new feature' biggrin.gif rm5599 is really hard to justify. rm3299 is great, macbook vs MBA seems more reasonable compared to MBP vs MBA tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 24 2010, 06:04 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kirii @ Oct 24 2010, 05:57 PM)
anybody using macbook pro 13 inch here?
2.4 for 3899 and 2.66 for 4899...0.22 ghz difference but for the price there is 1k difference..what would u suggest?
and for fellow MBP users,what have u bought?
dont forget rm4899 also comes with extra 70gb hdd space. i'll suggest getting the rm3899 one and buy ACPP
dvlzplayground
post Oct 25 2010, 10:56 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Oct 24 2010, 10:49 PM)
Gosh, more than RM100? Is there any reliable and affordable one?
im using logitech premium usb hub (i think that's the name lah, powered one). i think it was rm80-90.

QUOTE(honoreric @ Oct 25 2010, 01:34 AM)
Guys, is Moshi product better or Capdase product better? particularly i'm concerning about Keyboard protector and palmguard palm rest protector?

I've just ordered an 13" MBA, any suggestions? Or any other brands that offer better products?
for those two stuff u mention, moshi is much2 better smile.gif i've used capdase keyboard protector last time. too thick, n the surface is too smooth to type (no grip). bought moshi n couldn't be happier biggrin.gif i also used moshi palmguard for both my MBP dy.

but palmguard have to be really careful when u install, dont bend it too much cuz it will leave white coloured creases on it. not really visible under fluorescent light but under sunlight very obvious n ugly +_+

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Oct 25 2010, 09:46 AM)
Huh, just noticed that the Core i7 CTOs can now go up to 2.8GHz. Probably happened the same time as last week's announcement?
yeap, new option since the day MBA was announced

QUOTE(nike90 @ Oct 25 2010, 10:14 AM)
i juz got my MBP 13 for 4 days. its battery health drop to 99% ?!!!! how come?
OH MY GOD! faster leave ur laptop n run away from ur house, it's gonna explode anytime soon!!! tongue.gif

chill la, that's normal. what kind of battery stays at 100% health, im pretty sure we're still in 2010
dvlzplayground
post Oct 25 2010, 02:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(honoreric @ Oct 25 2010, 12:59 PM)
Thanks bro for all your great review on Moshi product...i'll have my order on that. By the way, is it necessary to stick the anti-glare for screen protector on Macbook Air? Is Moshi still the recommended brand?

My current Macbook pro, i don't know what brand of keyboard protector and screen protector they gave me, but there's a stain or residue on the screen due to the heat when the screen close up on the laptop, maybe partial of the plastic from keyboard protector melts.....

Is it recommend to use screen protector?
be aware that antiglare screen protectors always have the rainbow effect. cheap ones are more severe, expensive ones not so but it's still there. just use w/o SP 1st (u dun need to worry about scratches), if really cannot stand the glare, then go for antiglare SP. again, u can go for capdase ixkata or moshi ivisor. both is the 'sticky' type, they stick using adhesive instead of static (like crystal SPs do). capdase one is good enough for me, but i havent saw the moshi one yet

if ur keyboard protector can melt like that, then i'd advise you to stop using it tongue.gif i nvr had that problem with my moshi clearguard
dvlzplayground
post Oct 25 2010, 09:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 25 2010, 07:55 PM)
The price for iPod Touch 4G 64GB + top up less than RM200 = gets you a basic entry level iPad Wifi 16GB(US Price with tax)
The price for iPad WiFi 64GB(US Price with tax) + top up less than RM300 = gets you a basic entry level MacBook Air 11" 64GB

Clever tiered pricing, if I can say so myself. The moment the end user decides to get the highest end specced of a lower-tiered product, he would start considering upgrading to another tiered product at its basic entry level specs. Genius!
i think apple products always like this haha. but now even more 'condensed' biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 25 2010, 09:19 PM)
Excellent news, I was worried about the 2GB RAM originally, can't imagine why since I've been on 2GB RAM on my Mac Mini for 3+ years biggrin.gif
LOL. if 2gb is enough for u for 2 years, shud b enough for another 2 years tongue.gif. our hardware spec is increasing at a faster rate than our software requirements. any 'low end' spec computer (sans netbooks) today are pretty much capable of doing what most ppl would do with a computer already biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 26 2010, 03:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(warlockimran @ Oct 26 2010, 03:49 PM)
In my opinion, 11.6 inch with 128GB is the best option. 64GB, even with moderate usage can be used up really easily, unless its really used for just surfing, emails etc.

If choosing the 11.6, my recommendation would be to go for the higher spec.

What I am wondering is, when the time comes, would it be possible to switch out the storage to say a 256GB assuming it becomes available, or are we permanently stuck with what the MBA comes with?
permanently stuck, exactly like how u're stuck with the the memory of n ipod/ipad/iphone
dvlzplayground
post Oct 27 2010, 06:47 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Oct 27 2010, 05:53 PM)
For those of you that bought Mac Office 2008 with an upgrade option to 2011, the download is now available. It's about 870mb in size, for the Home & Student version. Very sad that it does not come with Outlook.

Anybody here know how much the business version would cost here?
any idea when the trial will come out?

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 27 2010, 06:44 PM)
erm..just now went to the apple premium reseller there..the guy told me if i buy MBA...next time when Lion come out...i wont be getting any upgrade if it comes from cd
im gonna guess Lion will be sold in usb drives
dvlzplayground
post Oct 27 2010, 11:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Oct 27 2010, 08:28 PM)
Since Snow Leopard's Mail now supports Exchange, I'm no longer sure why I need Outlook anymore...

As for trial, I think that'll be Office Web Apps
but that's just the web app sad.gif student price from my uni is AUD 99 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 27 2010, 09:05 PM)
I got question to ask...how small is 11'6 MBA compared to 13" widescreen normal laptop?
the dimensions is right there at apple's website... look for MBA tech spec. measure urself smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 28 2010, 01:13 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(SoulReaver @ Oct 28 2010, 12:47 AM)
I dont mind tongue.gif
share buying office 2011? PM me too~
dvlzplayground
post Oct 29 2010, 03:51 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Oct 28 2010, 09:56 PM)
Oh well. You learn something new every day. However, reiterating again, no, MBA cannot do autocad properly.
dun worry, autocad for mac was just released end of august tongue.gif but yeah, autocad on MBA i dont think so. maybe if using older versions on bootcamp can la
dvlzplayground
post Oct 29 2010, 11:36 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Oct 29 2010, 11:32 PM)
Hey hey peeps! Just got myself a new macbook pro 15' i5. How long should i charge my battery for the 1st time? Is it okay to charge it with my macbook running?
www.apple.com/batteries

must read smile.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 29 2010, 11:37 PM
dvlzplayground
post Oct 31 2010, 10:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(afizudin @ Oct 31 2010, 10:13 PM)
Mine 1.6GHz 128SSD 2GB RAM.. Why mba 11 cannot upgrade to 2.13GHz..?  hmm.gif
either thermal issues, or maybe they juz want to reserve it for the 13"
dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 12:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Nov 1 2010, 11:55 AM)
Haha.. thx. Now that I have the iPhone 4, iPad, iMac, and now MBA, my next purchase should be an iPod Nano. LOL.. I need a new WATCH!!
ipod nano? wrong la.... next purchase should be mac pro biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 01:53 PM)
@xaw5126: basically everything, im totally new to mac os, aside from lauching apps, i cant find where is my storage drive, i plug in superdrive there are no icon coming out, etc.... it take alot time to adapt, i dont even know WTF is command, option keys rclxub.gif

i cant coz some of my office application required me to use IE and windows based os
find some time to watch the videos n read some guides here: http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/

i recommend this to all new mac users. it's a very good start smile.gif

'command' and 'option' keys...uh, look at your keyboard, on both sides of the spacebar
dvlzplayground
post Nov 1 2010, 02:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Nov 1 2010, 02:20 PM)
thanks for the videos

what i meant for the command and option where i dunno wat is the function of it
oh i see. they are modifier keys, like ctrl. u know how in windows it's ctrl+c n ctrl+v for copy n paste? in osx it's command+c and command+v. ctrl, option, shift n command are all modifier keys, and what it does depends on what app are you running. u can configure the shortcuts in System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard shortcuts

to discover what does what in an app, open any app n look through the menu bar at the top. look at the symbols beside the menu item. u might wanna have a look at this http://www.osxkeyboardshortcuts.com/key-de...ifier-keys.html
dvlzplayground
post Nov 4 2010, 09:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

thx bro string for the heads up on fluorescent bulbs. i had no idea +_+

QUOTE(warlockimran @ Nov 4 2010, 05:03 PM)
Just to add to the trackpad issue, just in case it could save you a trip to the store.

The trackpad is designed by Apple to be easier to press closer to the bottom, and increasingly difficult near the top of the trackpad, near the keyboard. If this is the case with yours, then there's nothing wrong, it is designed that way.
actually some forumers n myself having this problem too. it's not abt it gets harder to click near the top. even at the bottom, can easily click but have to press very hard for it to register. i dun really care since i only tap or use a mouse anyway, but im gonna send it for repair when i hv the time later. might as well make use of my ACPP tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2010, 11:51 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(nike90 @ Nov 5 2010, 11:42 AM)
omg,how to format my hd?
open Disk Utility (use spotlight), select ur external hd on the left, to go Erase tab, pick format: FAT32 then click on Erase

the limitation of fat32 drives is u cannot store a single file that is larger than 4gb. no problems for folders, but not files

or u can just install ntfs-3g (free) to enable ntfs support. the transfer speed is really slow though. for faster speed u might wanna get tuxera ntfs or paragon ntfs, both are paid software. im using paragon NTFS n it works well smile.gif

edit: can we have a sticky for this? it's an understandable problem for new mac users

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 5 2010, 11:52 AM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2010, 10:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Nov 5 2010, 01:16 PM)
Hi, just enquiring a few things about the macbook pro.

What things am I going to lose from switching to MAC? Can I still download songs and movies? Is flash non-existent in any browser I use? Can I, say, drag and drop random files from MAC to pendrive or phone and vice versa?
i dont know where u got those ideas. why do u think macs cannot download songs, movies, cannot play flash n cannot drag drop?

all those can do lah. i guess the only limitation is no bluray. and no '3D screen' or gimmicky face-recognition login if that's ur thing

QUOTE(Edoras @ Nov 5 2010, 03:30 PM)
Somehow I don't like the design of the Magsafe for the new MBA...
I prefer the way they design for the MBP etc.
Not sure why Apple design it that way.
This photo below is taken with an older MBA but it looks almost the same..
how come? if u have the new design, can trade with mine tongue.gif i prefer the new one. i always have the cord run to the back anyway
dvlzplayground
post Nov 6 2010, 11:38 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(PearlyLPU @ Nov 6 2010, 09:44 PM)
Hello people. I'm in the market for a laptop to complement my desktop pc at home. I'm still undecided between the MBA 11" or MBP.

To owners of the new MBA, can it handle the playback of 720p videos? icon_question.gif I've read people complaining(???) the 720p youtube video playback as jerky and unsatisfactory on macrumors.

Plus, is the screen on the MBP 13 better than MBA for viewing HD contents? hmm.gif
those complaints about 720p videos are more likely to be about the previous gen MBA. maybe u can try looking for reviews specifically on the current gen, or just ask those using it here smile.gif

MBA 13" will be better for HD viewing compared to MBP 13" due to more pixels. but 11" maybe a bit small for you. if i have a powerful desktop at home, i'll get an MBA w/o question icon_rolleyes.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 7 2010, 03:25 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(myDelirium @ Nov 7 2010, 01:15 AM)
which macbook is student friendly . meaning that it would be affordable but not cheap(low spec) .
some people, rm7k is cheap. some people, rm4k is expensive.

that being said, even the cheapest macbook white should be up to most tasks u can throw at it. im using a 2008 MBP, which has slightly lower specs as the current macbook white (ignoring my dedicated GPU since i hardly use it), n upgraded to 4gb ram (i suggest u do that as well, should cost around rm350 only). it's running damn fine until now, so im sure the current macbook white will do too

it would be great if u could top up a bit for the basic MBP 13". the aluminium body feels much better. macbook white will look dirty after a while

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:38 PM