Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

tcheepin
post May 13 2011, 12:50 PM

34 posts

I am struggling in TVP, because of mass Collossus and Stalker + zealot + Immortal. Any effective tipe to win this build easily?

I am currently using Tank + Viking + Marauder and Marine + Banshee + Raven+ ghost.

Viking to snipe Collossus, Tank to keep stalker in distance and defned, marauder and marine in case they blink in. Banshee for harrassement and raven for detecht heir detector. 2-3 Ghost for emp.

My main army is Marauder and Marine. At least 3 rax, 2 fact and 2 port.

But this is too tiring for microing the unit and then also good in defending not offensive.

This post has been edited by tcheepin: May 13 2011, 12:51 PM
tcheepin
post May 13 2011, 01:41 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 13 2011, 01:30 PM)
stop getting everything?
u are spread too thin...
then if then main army is collossus, and stalker.
I shud focus on?

tcheepin
post May 13 2011, 03:26 PM

34 posts

2-3 base
tcheepin
post May 13 2011, 04:21 PM

34 posts

Thanks for our great tips will try it.

Will try your strategy see which one is best for me, but depends on what they have also.

I think the reason I am struggling is because I din drop much.

tcheepin
post May 16 2011, 01:38 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ May 13 2011, 04:37 PM)
For colossus build, I summaries it into basically,3 stage in PvT for Terran to win (for me at least).

1) Stim timing push with rax only opening.
Make enough units, MM attack when stim is just completed. Usually wont work if Sentries able to FF the ram. But there r 2 advantages here, if P are goin aggressive with u, usually stim timing opening will win.  2ndly u can delay their expansion timing and u expand urself safely. *Just have to becareful, dun let the FF cut ur army into half.

2) 100 food mark.
If you didnt really receive too many harassment and ur macro is goin well, try attack P when u reach 100 food with 1 1 upgrade on bio weapon. Usually P the most will have 1 colossus. Utilize marauder stim to take it out easily. Beware of FF too

3)Max army with Viking and Ghost.
Make sure there are no observers!!! Cloak ghost is very useful imo, Separate ghost from main army to EMP early if possible (when there r no observer). Scan continuously to prevent sudden Protoss death ball engage without ur ghost clock n ready to EMP. Try target sentries and HT if possible. Around 3~4 vikings per Colossus is good. Upgrade Air attack, x2 for Vikings bcos they shot twice per round.
Other than this 3 scenario, MMM is basically dead against P.

Ps: Well, if u did a good harassment, u will win anyway. And try to look for observer always. snipe that spy. might decide the match outcome.

Added on May 13, 2011, 4:42 pmOther matter, i have been losing TvT now...  cry.gif  All Terran are going for early siege tank pressure against me. Delayed banshee build eat shit against this build. While I spend the resources into clock tech, they get the siege tech. Need to think other builds after this. I feel very risky build the delayed banshee build d.
Thanks your guide have shown me what I need to pressure toss,
always having a tough fight with toss untill very late game, would prefer tense battle for the whole time.

tcheepin
post May 26 2011, 11:48 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ May 26 2011, 08:37 AM)
well, see leenock rape ganzi wif perfect infestor play?

umm........reaper opening is quite ok in tvp and tvt. just as an opening to scout. eespecially when you want to fast expand without dying to any shinenigans.

tvz reaper is awful unless you manage to sneak a bunker at his expo, then its an auto win because 1 reaper kill hatchery faster then 4 marines i think..

tvt reaper opening to scout, build a CC, then build factory swap wif rax, you can go for blue flame hellion drop on wards or siege expand.

tvp if you scout openent build zealot 1st and feels like a sentry zealot expand, reaper can get alot of free kilss. until your opponent finally gets a stalker out. reapers kill sentry quite fast too. almost as fast as probe kill.
I saw the Final of HD World Tournament (Shrelok and Dimaga) (TvZ)

reaper did very well harass in that match and I think terran shud always start with reaper harass for scouting and early pressure

tcheepin
post Jun 2 2011, 11:09 AM

34 posts

For other noob terran like me, not the pro who can micro and macro easily.

The unit i fear the most in Protoss is Colossi, 8/10 game I vs Protoss for sure they will come with Protoss death ball and it is

extremely difficult to deal with if you dun hav good micro. and one single missed click marine turns to BBQ.

Things changed after I found this strategy - The FE 4 Starport Banshee Build! the strategy popular by TLO.
http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=172190

But mine slightly different, I will go 4 rax then pressure when i have 25 marine and start building start port when I have 4 Geyser.

If the push failed then start building 3-4 bunker at natural to block the choke and slow down Protoss push. And place turret to cover

your base for DT and observer.

Then attack mineral line when I have 6-8 cloaked banshee. Good if can attack undefended mineral line and dun commit to mass stalker. But

if stalker count same as Banshee then Banshee can survive easily.

This strategy is very useful if Protoss think that U are doing MMM and mass Collossus. So prevent scouting from opponent and keep on

pushing with Marine.

This guide only useful for Gold/Silver and Bronze, not meant for Upper league.

At least enjoy your play as Terran vs Protoss w/o worrying bout crazy micro against Collossus.

GLHFGG

tcheepin
post Jun 2 2011, 11:58 AM

34 posts

and I found that Banshee is cheaper than Siege tank and deal more damage than siege tank.
Banshee 150/100 (25 gas cheaper than siege)
Siege 150/125

tcheepin
post Jun 2 2011, 01:31 PM

34 posts

Yeah I hated banshee as well, just that's why we build banshee. Like i hate Collossus, if play PvT i will build collossus also.

so depends on how your opponent react on the build, if they scouted and mass phoenix/void ray then just mass steam marine to cover banshee. Even from 2 based terran still wealthy enuf to pump massive amount of marine.

Protoss w/o Collossus and HT (Storm) is not tat scary.

tcheepin
post Jun 16 2011, 02:36 PM

34 posts

talking about zerg, how to deal with zerg effectively if zerg going for early baneling and zerling rush with 2 base. Attack timing around 8-9 min.
tcheepin
post Jun 16 2011, 03:50 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Jun 16 2011, 03:22 PM)
1) get a nice wall-off. make it a habit to wall with production buildings I.e. rax, fact etc and not depot.

2) put bunkers behind those walls. High econ blings bust will still kill your front wall, but the linga runby can be dealt with if there are enough bunkers.

3) get siege mode out asap.

Of course, the most important thing is to scout and see it coming. Scout his natural to check the drone saturation. And if you see a lot of lings wandering outside your perimeter, it normally indicates blings bust aggression is coming.

Normally if you can survive til you have siege mode you will be in good position. After that just marines drop his naked base and claim your victory.
Becasue the problem is at the natural coz those open wided natural a bit difficult to wall in to protect our natural.

my bad habit is like to build wall with depot then bunker in front of those wall (at natural). it seems like I've been playing a different way round.

so is 3 rax (2 reactoer + 1 lab) + 1 fact (lab) + 1 port (reactor) is it efficient enuf If scouted baneling rush?

tcheepin
post Jun 28 2011, 03:14 PM

34 posts

ya i always aim sentrie then marine shoot zealot and marauder shoot stalker. guess need to change the way i play.
tcheepin
post Jun 30 2011, 09:51 AM

34 posts

sorry noob question what is MRB tank, google but not found.
Is it mass producing tank and marauder?

i rarely build tank against protoss coz stalker and collossus own tank easily. 4-5 for defend only.

tcheepin
post Jun 30 2011, 10:57 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Jun 30 2011, 10:30 AM)
MRB tank = Marine Raven Banshee Tank so basically is MRBT but MRB tank sounds cooler
OIC thanks thanks. Ya MRB Tank is very easy to use but not everyone can master it.

I like banshee also. But just use tank for defend and raven for detector. Then banshee for harrasssement. 2 PDD and 10 basnshee at mineral line can at least snipe one natural base down.

tcheepin
post Jul 15 2011, 02:39 PM

34 posts

Hi May I know what's the best way to deal with Archon
in terms of Cost efficiency?
Less APM?

tcheepin
post Jul 15 2011, 02:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Jul 15 2011, 02:40 PM)
If you are playing the mission 'the dig' , use the laser drill to kill them, best
Wish I can have the laser, it was a normal TvP play. Just wanna what is best to kill them? or maybe kite them easily.
tcheepin
post Jul 15 2011, 03:31 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Seeker_of_Truths @ Jul 15 2011, 03:28 PM)
by not choosing Terran in the first place

coz Terran is the weakest race.
that why i choose terran , so that more satisfaction....

terran need gun only can fight with bare hand zergling and stalker.

tcheepin
post Nov 10 2011, 11:57 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 7 2011, 12:50 PM)
I can conclude that might be the truth. Currently, I m going full Mech against zerg. My winning rates against zerg is much much lower compare to the old time when I go Marine Tank. Going mech is so hard to play, Zerg got so much counter to it. Sometimes SEA Platinum zerg are really good enough to counter the Mech play already. Marine Tanks is much more all-rounder. I will switch back to Marine Tank to win some game against zerg back if I lose too much in TvZ for gaining back some confidence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6StBGtzdKkk

watch this hour long TvZ BO explaination. It helps alot if you wanna go for marine tank.
Totally agreed that Marine Tank and medivac is the best way against Zerg.

I build marine all the time because marine is cheap and good against Mutalisk as in my league most of the Zerg will go for Mutalisk.

I will always walk my marine to their expansion together with medivac and lift up to enter their base avoiding baneling and zergling.

This is to avoid being snipe by Mutalisk while the medivac is fully loaded.

as in my base will be guarded with 4-5 tanks and bunker.

and i just keep spamming marine and medivac and keep sending to harrasse them.

tcheepin
post Nov 10 2011, 02:50 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Nov 10 2011, 12:55 PM)
....my experience is different, massing marines will get myself being overrun by zerglings or banelings...u know lings > rines. Pro zerg always def their base with a small number of lings ... marines arent that effective against muta either. Muta has bouncing attack and they become more effective if the opponent comes in large numbers. To counter muta really need thors, thats assuming they didnt fly away to avoid ur thor...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hellions, however, can counter both lings and banes, thats why i usually incline to go mech against zerg.
agreed that hellions is the best counter for lings and banes, but if roach and muta, will make hellion useless.
marine is more like all rounder. i prefer to use marine as base unit, then couple with otehr unit depends on enemy composition.

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Nov 10 2011, 01:12 PM)
thors does not really counter mutas......if ur opponent.....r....smart....n know how to do the magic box......
Thor need more micro to counter muta as in thor is slow and muta is fast.

0.3648sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:47 PM