Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

max_cavalera
post Sep 24 2011, 04:55 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Guys im a playing Terran, JessieBoy nick here. im currrently keep getting pummeled/giving easy win to protoss players wif their 4 gates proxy pylon warp in timing push... i keep getting rushed at 6.45-7.00 mins mark....with like 7-9 stalker and 3-4 zealots.... at that time i can only churn out 5-6 marines wif 3-4 marauders, wht more wif increasing barrack built time rite now....its almost impossible to early harrass a protoss..... can any of you guys suggest a good buillt order, unit composition, replays? i have been training more than 1 week experimenting with differnt built but mostly not effective against this. Help neded
max_cavalera
post Sep 24 2011, 05:52 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

so far i've not figure out any specific win proof built vs protoss, so i usually 3 racks marine n marauder... i got 70-85% win rate TvT, 55%-70% wins against zerg... but i thnik less than 20% chances vs protoss players... protoss unit r quite high hp n shields.... they can warp instantly n by the time colossus went out wif their deathball arrmy they just roll over my units easily.. i try to early thor, repairing scvs with mass marine it seems barely just able to withold those rush....
max_cavalera
post Sep 27 2011, 02:51 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Sep 27 2011, 03:03 AM)
quest and jeff , u two veteran can work on writing a guide on how to play starcraft 2? Like all the little details where newbie takes many matches to learn such as what to look out while scouting, how to predict opponent rush, defensive positioning...?
may i know ur built order n main unit fighting against zerg? i also feel like u before against zerg... but now i don't have any prob fighting them... icon_rolleyes.gif . i play a 4 blue flame hellion timing push against them wif careful micro, n tech to 2 starport n hit them wif cloak 2-4 banshee... while marine mostly juz stay in base as defense. if it doesn't work them usually i tech up to seeker missle raven as a 2nd spellcaster support group against my main army mostly consist of marine, BFH and medivac. seeker missle can destroy a group of mutas with good micro. But controllinga group of raven is quite difficult n needs lotsa practice. if ur good with raven, mutas, corruptor n broodlord ain't got nothing on u. But if they tch to ultralisk will be a bit of probs for me.

Added on September 27, 2011, 3:02 am
QUOTE(jeffvip @ Sep 24 2011, 11:39 AM)
Unless in Tal Darim, put ur bunker on the high ground. I found 1 little trick to repair faster. Set 5 of your scv(s) near your bunker as No.1. Set auto-repair. Once Protoss rush come in, press 1 and move scv to the bunker asap. High ground with scv repair should make this push defendable.
thank u for your guide, i been practicing it this past few days n its a very good stance against 4 gate proxy warp in protoss... rclxms.gif . actually im nvr a fan of bunker before this as it gives a feeling of turtling and ultra defensive for me. jeffvip may i know ur counter against this 4gate once the enemy attack has subsided? do u tech up or hit them instantaneously? before stim research and mdivac is out, marin is gonna be hugely underpowered against protoss army, but once the have got all their update, the dps of stimmed mass marine can be frightening. laugh.gif .

Flampard, against zerg team game u need to wall in as soon as possible, repair damage building with a few hotkeyed auto repaired scv n try to tech up to BFH as soon as possible. if i team gam 4v4 wif my zerg frens, a combine army of ling and BFH early rush at 7.30 mins mark is very deadly n my favorite combo biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Sep 27 2011, 03:02 AM
max_cavalera
post Sep 27 2011, 07:46 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Sep 27 2011, 11:24 AM)
who are we trying to do detail analysis. but what I can say is scout tricks mainly concentrate on gas. The best thing is of course u scout ur opponent's building, but usually it wont happen so easily. If you scout opponent is taking 1 or 2 gas, u can start to predict something.
eg,
Protoss taking early 2 gas. but u didnt see a bunch of sentries in his unit composition. Prepare for DT  or early colossus. u have to understand where did those gas gone.
Zerg taking gas early, if u see saturated drone in both bases, prepare for muta or even infestor. but u see suprising small amount of drone with 2 gas, baneling is coming.
Terran, usually early cloak banshee

But remember, dont apply this in team game strategy. Only in 1v1. team game, protoss will do mass void ray, zerg mass muta/ling and terran mass marine. they might taking the gas just for fun. Simply to say, u want to play real starcraft then don't play team game too often.
ur build against zerg require u to do heavy damage to the zerg mineral line in the early game with very micro intensive in the late game. How much is your APM to make such an build work always? I still think decent baneling muta play can crush this build with 1 mistake from Terran player.

A failed 4 gate means Protoss have to GG bcos I will always do a 1 Rax fast expand. If they dont gg, nvm. A failed rush will cause Protoss economically behind by a huge distance. Don't have to rush to kill him back, just play your normal game. scout and see whether that protoss double expand after failed 4 gate or not. Beware of DT if protoss didnt do a double expand. Do some drops and roll him over in the later stage.
what are you trying to say ah? Master Zerg (aka QQ Toss)  biggrin.gif
agree. this built requires good decent micro n nvr let ur 1st 4 BFH dies. usually zerg will b forced to tech to roach when they see BFH coming. kite around but don't commit all in/suicide ur unit. linger around n near his natural expansion. by doing this their roach will sit in their base defending their mineral line.Normal zerg players will see this n try to counter by overproducing roach dat cost gas, which means they will tech up to muta much slower since muta cost gas too... then hit them with minimum 2 banshee ready with cloak mode and follow up by another 2 producing banshee. straight to main. kill off the queens n drones, then move in ur 4 BFH on 2nd group control n fry the leftover drones in main n natural expansion. usually will caught many zerg players by suprise since its a unexpected rush. don't overproduce BFH, MAX 4-6. 2-4 cloak banshee wil be the ultimate gg for them. usually is insta gg for my zerg opponent less than 13 mins mark. but i lose once before to zerg when he tech straight to roach without producing a single unit of lings and rush my base with 8-12 roach at 6mins mark++. i guess the only way to defend this push is by double bunkering ur ramp wif repairing scv. to wait until my 2 banshee produce to counter those mass roach.

Added on September 27, 2011, 7:50 pmMy APM for this built? usually a bit lousy avg 40-70 apm, but during enemy army encounter apm ranges between 120 - 330 apm(based on some my replay). usually those r spamming/queueing units army/scv when trying to micro a bit of ur army.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Sep 27 2011, 07:50 PM
max_cavalera
post Oct 1 2011, 02:27 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

111 wat so fearsome for dat built agains toss?
max_cavalera
post Oct 9 2011, 12:34 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

lol my 1-1-1 start typical marine tank banshee got owned by mass chargelot n immortals...gott improvized... sad.gif

Added on October 9, 2011, 12:51 ambtw was wondering any of u guys manage to pull off a mass marine+mass banshee +repairing scvs built against toss players? banshee is gas cheaper than siege tank by 25 gas, stalker does normal damage against them(10 to normal, 14 to armored unit), can't be hit by an immortal, zealots, colossus, quite easy to target fire colossus, immortal as they are air units and can move easier in range compared to marines that stuck behind their comrade and unable to shoot...and they have very high DPS(damage per second) at 19. so far i only make 1-1-1 built with fully upgraded bunker and siege tank containment on toss front natural expansion to pul off a win, if any other built seems impossible to own them...

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Oct 9 2011, 12:51 AM
max_cavalera
post Oct 31 2011, 07:19 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Oct 31 2011, 10:47 AM)
protoss warp in zealot~ produce marauder
stalker incoming~ call for more marauder
IMMORTAL!? MAKE MORE MARAUDER~!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i think if all u ever make is marauder ur giving protoss dude quite an easy win...
sweat.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 12:50 amchill jeff, apparently nerfing ghost emp radius wasn't enough. they want blizzard to remove marine and marauder as well. we'll just have to built only helion, tanks and banshee after this.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 1 2011, 12:50 AM
max_cavalera
post Nov 6 2011, 03:16 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

itts been sometime since i win a macro game wif a zerg opponent, it seems mech+marines is the best way to deal in a late game wif zerg rite now. anyone got a good youtube video to share this kind of built order?
max_cavalera
post Nov 7 2011, 03:09 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 7 2011, 01:50 PM)
I can conclude that might be the truth. Currently, I m going full Mech against zerg. My winning rates against zerg is much much lower compare to the old time when I go Marine Tank. Going mech is so hard to play, Zerg got so much counter to it. Sometimes SEA Platinum zerg are really good enough to counter the Mech play already. Marine Tanks is much more all-rounder. I will switch back to Marine Tank to win some game against zerg back if I lose too much in TvZ for gaining back some confidence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6StBGtzdKkk

watch this hour long TvZ BO explaination. It helps alot if you wanna go for marine tank.
THANKS jEFF FOR YOUR REPLY. For your info i just discovered a new tactics to punish a fast expanding zeerg, evento a fast expanding toss thats more effective. I play standard blcokinh at my ramp 2 supply depot n 1 barrack. as soon as i discovered enemy position , my scout scv will go to an area that opponent will unlikely scout and unvisible to the xelnaga towers, and i send additional 1 or 2 more scv to built proxy 5 barracks thr. save al OC energy for mule only and do not scan, this will boost of your income and you be able to add supply and marine count massively so fast early game. no need gas as well. just a mass, unupgraded marine..at 7-7.30 push out with reinforcering marine enroute to ur army. so far i have played 4 games 2 zerg and 2 toss all won. thrs only 1 time whr base trade scenario occur when toss opponent 4 gate proxy pylon rush me. but then again i still have advantage bcos all his structures at main will be wiped out and eventhou my main base is wiped out i still got 2,3 scv in my assault army and i still have 5 barracks sturcture that i can choose to fly them away to all different location and finish those toss offthe only weakness to this is aoe units such as colossus or even baneling. thats why i rush at 7-7.30 mins mark.

Added on November 7, 2011, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 7 2011, 01:50 PM)
I can conclude that might be the truth. Currently, I m going full Mech against zerg. My winning rates against zerg is much much lower compare to the old time when I go Marine Tank. Going mech is so hard to play, Zerg got so much counter to it. Sometimes SEA Platinum zerg are really good enough to counter the Mech play already. Marine Tanks is much more all-rounder. I will switch back to Marine Tank to win some game against zerg back if I lose too much in TvZ for gaining back some confidence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6StBGtzdKkk

watch this hour long TvZ BO explaination. It helps alot if you wanna go for marine tank.
THANKS jEFF FOR YOUR REPLY. For your info i just discovered a new tactics to punish a fast expanding zeerg, evento a fast expanding toss thats more effective. I play standard blcokinh at my ramp 2 supply depot n 1 barrack. as soon as i discovered enemy position , my scout scv will go to an area that opponent will unlikely scout and unvisible to the xelnaga towers, and i send additional 1 or 2 more scv to built proxy 5 barracks thr. save al OC energy for mule only and do not scan, this will boost of your income and you be able to add supply and marine count massively so fast early game. no need gas as well. just a mass, unupgraded marine..at 7-7.30 push out with reinforcering marine enroute to ur army. so far i have played 4 games 2 zerg and 2 toss all won. thrs only 1 time whr base trade scenario occur when toss opponent 4 gate proxy pylon rush me. but then again i still have advantage bcos all his structures at main will be wiped out and eventhou my main base is wiped out i still got 2,3 scv in my assault army and i still have 5 barracks sturcture that i can choose to fly them away to all different location and finish those toss offthe only weakness to this is aoe units such as colossus or even baneling. thats why i rush at 7-7.30 mins mark.

Added on November 7, 2011, 3:30 pmoh yeah btw against zerg u need to quickly snipe off any overlord dat u come across in those close distance proxy rushing, main aim is to let zerg get supply block or limit5 their production capability when they 1st spot ur army.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 7 2011, 03:30 PM
max_cavalera
post Nov 8 2011, 01:52 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

hahaha, dat is call cheesing bro. a commited all in early game go for the kill. if it doesnt bring victory. of course gg on the spot.

this kinda tactics all my game is decided less than 10-11 mins time. its tiring to play macro game and spent 20-30-40-50 mins every single game. the longest game time record i have is against zerg opponent and we played 1 hour and 50 minutes rite until all based are full mined out and he cant remake any more army dat time he already gg.

Added on November 8, 2011, 2:08 am
QUOTE(drakeria @ Nov 1 2011, 11:41 PM)
i think ayam trying to say that marauders can counter 3 type of toss units which toss has no a single unit that can counter more than 2 terran units.
counter all 3 protoss units? not really mara only deal 20 damage per shot on armored units(stalkers). against zealot and sentries they do only 10 damage per shot. and its only 1.5second per shot. main damager is still thos marine to me aka the glass cannon.

much of the time when mara kite zealot and stalker were given free shots to the marauder its not an efficient thing for a terran. thats y i dont really like mara i only built them like 2,3 or 4 in my mass marine army just as a tanker as their hp is quite hi at 125.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 8 2011, 02:08 AM
max_cavalera
post Nov 13 2011, 03:01 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

-

7 roach rush can be defended with a good bunker placement behind barrack and 2 supply depot wall off. along with 5-6 repairing scvs, it could be better if u manage to throw down 2 bunkers. a good number of marines still counter roach.

max_cavalera
post Nov 23 2011, 12:20 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

MLG: Providence just ended and its a final between Zerg and Protoss players.... so much with all those terran QQ stuff... lol
max_cavalera
post Nov 26 2011, 01:09 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Nov 26 2011, 01:09 AM)
weakness is raven got no attack, just 3 active skills.
used to have raven seeker missle spam tactics with 8-10 missle at clumps of my enemy before my main force stimming in and clear off the remaining forces....but rarely now as its only viable vs bronze level players. Ravens IMHO, all their 3 active skills cost is quite expensive. 50 energy for turret, 100 for PDD and 125 for seeker missle. and they move quite slow as well. They are nvr going to be as good as infestor.. to fully utilized raven do you know u need to upgrade Corvid reactor, increase duration of PDD/turret and research seeker missle. not to mention u need to get upgrade at Engineering Bay for hi sect auto turret for +1 range for turret and +2 armor for building to make mass turret harrass more viable....
max_cavalera
post Nov 27 2011, 12:43 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

wow. thorzain getting thumped by Liquidret zerg.... ;o ... outside korea it seem terran pro are pretty shitty nowadays.... sad.gif
max_cavalera
post Nov 28 2011, 12:54 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Nov 27 2011, 04:52 PM)
losing 7 streaks in 4v4 game..
dunno wat happen..
what built ur doing? i play only 2 category and thats 1v1 and 4v4. If ur playing terran, thrs a few strat that can pull you off strongly and with 1 or 2 understanding teammate you can go from bronze to gold league less than a month. My strat is mostly 5 rax mass unupgraded marine with all your OC energy spam on mule early game , push at 6.00 mins mark or less and rush with your teammate. Once the battle occured micro ur marine as best as you could. Once 1 or 2 opponent of ur army is setback, quickly tech up at ur base by immediately taking 2 gas, built the 2nd CC, EBay, factory and transistion from there....

usually won me 7-8 out of 10 games when on a roll. thanks to de biru man as well for being my teammate..

based on my experience with 4v4 its all about rush rush rush fest , whoever rushes 1st have a very big advantage and very high percentage win. Unless the opponent have plan clearly early game that they wanna turtle and being ultra defensive with lots of bunker repairing scv, siege tank, cannonc, spore crawler and tech up.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 28 2011, 01:00 PM
max_cavalera
post Nov 29 2011, 12:02 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(debiru-man13 @ Nov 28 2011, 07:53 PM)
Haha, I tank dmg only, with roach. marines is the true hero. tongue.gif

But I miss your BFH la. miss ling + blue flame combo. confirm every drone roasted.  biggrin.gif

Added on November 28, 2011, 7:01 pm

Yea, but it's true. Today I lost 3 games 4v4 random, because teammate screw up. didnt wall off, no back up when opponent cheese. So I think ranking up in 4v4 random really depends on luck.
Of course la, team mates oso retard, then how?  doh.gif

Getting tired playing 4v4 random, need to find permanent teammates. max cavalera, raven harass go!  biggrin.gif
u stress play random 4v4 , i stress play solo 1v1. even bronze dude, terran, zerg or protoss can be scary....they r so damn good. probably gonna try until reach at least silver 1v1 then im gonna semi retired dat category already. n4v4 random thou is always a fun game to me no matter win or lose, i get adrenaline rush from it hahah. tonite juzt got rank 1st in gold 4v4 dude biggrin.gif.
max_cavalera
post Dec 3 2011, 02:42 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Nov 30 2011, 02:37 PM)
12 rax finish at 2.45 sec true but you need to add time build 1 marines. 1 marines cant stop 8 ling unless you pull all the SCV for all out attack which could result slowing your resources and break your timed build.
I did play ladder, not much difference from custom game except the ladder require you to wait until they find an opponent for you which i really cant wait 3 mins or more. At least custom, you can see people waiting for you .. Weeeeeeeeeeeee.. Looks like a lot of people using terrens now days.

ZvZ.. Who ever mass speedling the most is the winner. Usually fast.
not to break ur strat...but im only bronze lvl terran 1v1 player(top 8?), i will fully block the ramp even thou u 6 pool me either its 2 supply depot-1 rax or 1 depot 2 rax. early game i willusually select all 6 of my scv and regroup them to hotkeyed no 3 and set them to auto repair. when zerg rush come even i dont have any marine i just simply press 3 and click at the supply depot ur attacking, i even separate them to 2 group to repair either side of the depot ur attacking. while the rest of ungrouped scv mine as usual and by doing this u can even succesfully defend early pool without ur single marine out. if u wana learn early rush strat as zerg i recommend the next upgrade is early baneling bust.this one not many bronze or i think silver lvl terran player learn how to deal with it yet.but i experiment it and the best for me is to wall off ur ramp 1st and immediately throw down a bunker just below ur ramp to create choike point and all ur training marine route to the bunker area at the front.
max_cavalera
post Dec 4 2011, 03:34 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

btw since thiis is a terran strategy discussion thread, i wana ask my issue on ZvT. lately i try to harrass a little with FE zeg, by building a bunker near his expo and route 3 marines. after that i concerntrate on macroing at my base. what puzzles me greatly is when i only get 2 base mining and trying to push out at 16-20 mins mark, i encountered a zerg player on bronze league already having 5 bases and an Ultralisk!! ;o....the abilit of their macro really baffles me.... i have done some thinking and for a terran like me if i decide to get fast 2nd cc, and get it running, my best bet for a push will be at least by 15 mins mark...i played 2 or 3 games against zerg opponent few days back(their bronze and silver lvl if im not mistaken) i dont even bother to play a macro game anymore, usually i just harrass as usual with bunker and after that 1 base all in with stimmed marines, 1 or 2 marauder and 4 medivac drop by his main at 10-11 mins mark. i won this2 games, but it hink if a zerg player have banes then i simply be gg....i dont think a lower league player would have an insane micro to beat those banes..when a zerg player get banes early on, a terran usually need more time push out sas they need to get a few tanks and slowly siegeing themto the zerg base. i thought by this minute mark a good zerg player already have like, 4 or 5 base? and a terran player barely 2 or 3 base....marines and incredibly fragile when they on their foot and race to the zrg base.... but their threat increase significantly by dropping straight at a zerg main if it goes unscouted early on...onmce my marine landed and they get themselves in a tight choke spot(between minerals, hatchery or spawning pool whr a zerglings is impossible to get a surround and roach most of them struggle to hit me, then its an auto win situation, unless they have banes....i personally think a zerg that is good with bane composition, micro can easily get to very high league.....what u guys think? hellions to me just isnt that viable anymore as it is very easy to defned against them. u creat choke point between main and natural with evo chamber, guarded with 1 or 2 spine crawler and a queen, and all youtr rescources, time committed to those blue flame hellion get immediately neutralized....
max_cavalera
post Dec 9 2011, 12:04 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Latest TvP stats in November shows that P win rate has increase to 55% and terran only 45%. any of u guys experience facing a toss become much tougher recently or u guys juz refuse to qq and adapt to survive wif new built?
max_cavalera
post Dec 11 2011, 03:00 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Dec 8 2011, 04:40 PM)
baneling bust is actually sick good to perform but hard to hold its so retarded. later tonight i go back home i upload a brain fart game.

antiga shipyard, i 1 rax FE, he 15 hatch no stop gas for bane. he drone to 23 drone, then spam lings and banes only. can have like 40 lings on the map rally to my base ALL THE TIMEEEEE force me lift off, all kind of shit, can make 20 banes at a time, can drone up to 30 after 1st wave then keep on send wave after wave.... i  barely survived with a BO win...after 1st rax, i take 2 gas, then 2 factory research blue flame. only i manage to fend off....its retardedly stupid how zergs can drone up to a certain amount of drone den just spam army.

i barely survived, and he can just get roach warren and take a 3rd. den he got like 15 roach suddenly. then he drone up to 50 for 3 base. den mass units again -.- when im recovering into 3 base. then he just plant down spire, later suddenly tech change to 16 muta -.-

i won anyway. from the point he couldnt bane bust kill me, i adi win cuz supply advantage and all...but then its still damn retarded how zergs with good larvae management can take advantage  of it. some zergs make like 10 roach den get 3 base and drone up behind it wif fake pressure in front. if required just instantly make some lings to compliment the 10 roach to defend any rush. or some like to sudden tech switch....or currently famous in ladder for mass upgraded ling infestor rush into BL..

TVZ bullshit. got like 3 win 7 lose ytd for tvz -.-
currently i have given up to even get natural expansion against zerg.i just 1 base all in with MMM and timing before 9.30 mins mark must load up n drop to his main edi. got very good win rate against Z wif this....marine few marauder n medivac is really sick wif 4 medivac can keep on stimming non stop n micro like hell. only weakness is bane but by 9 mins mark u wont face speed upgrade bane if ur hand fast enuf u can lift off wif medivac and abuse their base ledges. just drop only 2,3 marine at their main n wait bane kill it off until hes no more bane pickup again n drop to his main.... constant pressure spells the death for zerg opponent... huhu

Added on December 11, 2011, 3:02 am
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Dec 7 2011, 08:03 PM)
since that lost, i know how to deal with cloak shee build adi, my starport just get viking

Added on December 7, 2011, 7:05 pmmy problem with mech is now zergs are good with BL...on some map, its super hard to punish early BL. early BL is not 1 base BL -.- i mena like 3 base 60 drones hive tech upgraded lings. like stephano not sure timing but like 15-20, im building my 3rd base~anyway i hate zergsssssssss nowaday, they really get btr adi, know how to have army all the while. play like leenock. unlike idra and ret old style which always have empty base will kena timing easily.
good good. i was thinking the same thing. if u fast get at least 2 viking edi u only need like 2 turret 1 at mineral line another 1 around ur building area just to get detection... that already nullify cloak banshee threat.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Dec 11 2011, 03:02 AM

0.0491sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:25 AM