Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

Mavik
post Aug 17 2010, 04:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Aug 17 2010, 03:53 PM)
aight. what is best against 4 battlecruisers? the Hellion what is good for?

after reading much here. i realized that Mass producing MM is the way of playing this race.
Against battlecruisers go for vikings, hellions are good for harrassment and attacking ground units such as zealots and zerglings, probes and drones. Of course you need to use them ala guerilla style, hit and run!
Mavik
post Aug 17 2010, 04:27 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

LOL no medics as well, only medivacs!
Mavik
post Aug 23 2010, 04:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Usually if the Terran fella is bad a micro, you can destroy the SD at the choke point (like me, always kena wipe out haha). Good Terran players will have a healthy MMM n vikings to harrass a zerg player and to counter muta.

Get early vikings if possible smile.gif Then hunt for all the overlords

This post has been edited by Mavik: Aug 23 2010, 04:49 PM
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 11:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

how fast do you terran players expand to your natural expansion? Or do you turtle up first usually?

Sorry noob here, looking to improve my gameplay biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 01:33 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 25 2010, 01:00 PM)
reaper rush eh, i defend those with marines only.
----

basicly u wanna say is,
24 marine
12 rauder
3 mediv
couple tanks.
=PURRFECT BALL
Wow so precise, is this the magic number that we should all be trying to achieve? Or have several groups of MMM ball?
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 01:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 25 2010, 01:47 PM)
my b.o ussually

getting barrack reactor - spam marine if see cheese is coming doh.gif. reaper rush.
send it to mineral.
he sure spend lots of gas, delaying his tech.
get factory - starport switch reactor with barrack - couple medivec.
carpet marrine his mining field.

sound cool and easy right? why dont u try it and see how.

@Quaza
normally i already got lots of marine after his 1-2 reaper comes to harass, yes i lost few SCV, but he lost more, dead reaper, if he's not fall back.
not to mention gas, time he waste, making his teching phase much slower than opponent.
Wow, thanks for the tip!

What if he/she doesn't go for reapers and you have massed up your marines, would it be effective against a MMM ball?
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 02:15 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Aug 25 2010, 02:02 PM)
Depending on situation loh .... sometime you wall up and build reaver to harassed the enemy first than only you expand to your natural . If you see your opponent also fast expand you also can do the same thing .
Thanks! Usually I don't really know when to expand early or not especially if it is against another terran player. As much as I want to scout the map, but the siege tanks take out the units when I try to look at their natural (especially Lost temple). Not easy at all playing in the league, always kena wack tongue.gif
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 04:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(pakabluegun @ Aug 25 2010, 02:35 PM)
Better play against strong player cause u learn more and lose also the match is sure interesting.

I was 50% winning rate in unrank novice.  Played one game with my friend who are good. Strait away i know what is my weakness. Then 10 win in a row after overcome that weakness.

#i wish i have 2 brain so one can do the micro and one to remind me to make keep churning out scv  doh.gif
How can I find those better players? I usually play custom 1v1 game with my friends so I learn a lot from them as well. One of them is a very good protoss player. At the same time another friend of mine would be the oberver and help comment on mistakes biggrin.gif

Any high ranking league players here?
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 05:10 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Aug 25 2010, 04:35 PM)
perhaps getting the Strategy Guide may improve your skill smile.gif
Cool, that sounds awesome. When I was in the UK previously, I saw a Broodwar and a WC3 strategy guide in print copy. Do you know if there are any print copies of the SC2 guide here in Msia?
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 05:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 25 2010, 05:12 PM)
Man.... I feel like I reached a bump in my sc2 gameplay, feel like I playing worse day by day after I reach gold league.......

Anyway to get back to silver? laugh.gif
Should always strive to improve, no use going a league lower and playing noobs like me. No use wan, won't learn anything ehehehe tongue.gif
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 05:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Aug 25 2010, 05:15 PM)
same here..once I reach 1st in plat...i experienced 17 losing streak in which suddenly i dunno what to do and dropped till 60++..and now slowly climbing back...

everyone will have this period..i believe it is a turning period for u..biggrin.gif
Wah so keng! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Rank 1 in Plat league, amazing!
Mavik
post Aug 25 2010, 05:27 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I faced a zerg player who proxied his spire (hidden away frm base). Darn smart of him man, ended up getting swarmed by mutalisks when I went for mass marauders n tanks sad.gif
Mavik
post Sep 15 2010, 10:43 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 7 2010, 12:21 PM)
1st scan always into enemy's base for me, because you wont wanna getting hellion tank rush while getting muta-ed

Engineering bay is a must for MM ball, marine as a good dps +1 is a lot..
I don't like to use the 1st scan to scan, rather get the minerals as my SCV will be running around the enemy's base revealing to me what he is going for instead.
Mavik
post Feb 29 2012, 03:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 29 2012, 12:17 AM)
jeff... u go back and check match history of that game. i only destroyed one unit less than you and i had razed more structures than you. but you out-resource me by a large margin.

in another words, i destroyed more than you with a smaller amount of forces. but you win becoz of economics.

this is the part i dont quite like about SC2, its a resources game, not a strategy game. its not about superior tactics but superior money.
Isn't managing your economy all about strategy as well?

0.0458sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:25 PM