Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

Moonflown
post Aug 23 2010, 09:20 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Aug 23 2010, 09:05 PM)
many zergs are complaining the terran ball now as in it's current state is imba =.= "
Terran balls are never imba, just that they complain a good mix of mech centric army imba. But its just based on how good the zerg is in controlling the map while terran turtling
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 09:54 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 23 2010, 09:15 PM)
i hate the burrow ability
last time i play 2v2
marrive mmm ill use toss
luckly i play void ray only
zerg got banelings hide underground tapau all the mm
my void ray tapau all the zerg back haha
Ravens are your best friend here. laugh.gif
roronoa_zorro
post Aug 23 2010, 11:26 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Aug 23 2010, 09:54 PM)
Ravens are your best friend here.  laugh.gif
raven need to add tech at the star port...
wut i do just use the radar to scoute...
Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 11:33 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 23 2010, 11:26 PM)
raven need to add tech at the star port...
wut i do just use the radar to scoute...
Hey, I use that energy for mules/supply depots. Besides, scans are fickle and energy dependent (and also reserve for emergency). Scan wrong? GG BANELINGS RUSH!
Wolf516
post Aug 23 2010, 11:38 PM

589 posts

Other than the terran ball, what other unit composition would you guys chose to counter protoss

1) Zealots, Stalkers, Immortals, Templars (kills terran mech easily)

2 )Phoenix, Mass Void Rays (phoenix drags big units up and void rays burning everything up)

Grif
post Aug 23 2010, 11:44 PM

378 posts

For 1, MMM Ball works pretty well against them. (Esp Immortals). Or you can just mass BC them. lulz. If your micro is good, you still can mech them, with ghost support. (EMP > Immortals)

For 2, not letting it happen in the first place. Alternatively, don't engage Void Rays anyway near your base. Charged Void rays = gg. Spam Vikings with Marine support. Kite the Void Rays around.

This post has been edited by Grif: Aug 23 2010, 11:46 PM
N1ck
post Aug 24 2010, 12:07 AM

572 posts

I played a TvT match where the opponent went seige tanks + mass vikings + few marines
I couldn't do anything, stuck in my base. My tanks couldn't reach him cause I cant see him while he can see me with his vikings. I couldn't attack his tanks cause a ramp was funneling my marine + marauders and my medivacs got shot down.
Even worse when he got a few thors out.
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2010, 12:11 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 23 2010, 09:20 PM)
Terran balls are never imba, just that they complain a good mix of mech centric army imba. But its just based on how good the zerg is in controlling the map while terran turtling
i dun find terran's bioball imba to zerg...
after all infestors > bioball...

the thing imba about terran would be their openings...
they are just too flexible and the reaper opening jz contain the zerg player down...
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 12:14 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Aug 24 2010, 12:07 AM)
I played a TvT match where the opponent went seige tanks + mass vikings + few marines
I couldn't do anything, stuck in my base. My tanks couldn't reach him cause I cant see him while he can see me with his vikings. I couldn't attack his tanks cause a ramp was funneling my marine + marauders and my medivacs got shot down.
Even worse when he got a few thors out.
Did you try sneaking a boatful of Marines and Marauders to his base/expansions? tongue.gif I won my last TvT cuz he wasn't paying attention to his base. Then he went for a panic all-in rush and got slaughtered by own siege tanks.

Also, cloaked banshee(s) works pretty well for siege tanks entrenched outside your base. Send them out in 1 or 2s until he runs out of energy to scan, then send the whole shebang in and profit. (Note: obviously this doesn't work with a Raven nearby).
roronoa_zorro
post Aug 24 2010, 12:33 AM

41 posts

just had 2 game T V T
1 lose opponent mass banshee + i dun have reaven
1 win opponent mass banshee + i have raven pawnage

seems that raven is a must for all the game...
speend a few gas to tech

This post has been edited by roronoa_zorro: Aug 24 2010, 01:04 AM
thejols
post Aug 24 2010, 06:03 PM

198 posts

ok noob question
silver league teach me lots of good thing after promoted.
1- im soo f***ing weak. (damn emo after streak -7 lost)
2-MACRO IS VERY IMPORTANT
3-my opening is good, my MID game is sampah.

question is
- in 1 mineral, how many gatherer u put?
- 2xGAS, 2 on 1 GAS on start, 3/2 on both GAS on heavy mech mid game?
- do u group Barrack, Factory, Starport in 1 hotkey?
----- im using 4 for barrack, 5 for factory, 6 for starport, 7 for command center. 1,2,3 for unit. need a better idea.
- do u group MMM (marine, marauders, medic) in ONE hotkey?

all smal things like this makes a difrent, so i want an oppinion. ty.

Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2010, 06:19 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 24 2010, 06:03 PM)
ok noob question

question is
----- im using 4 for barrack, 5 for factory, 6 for starport, 7 for command center. 1,2,3 for unit. need a better idea.

gas is needed later on and you'll be gas starved. dont worry too much of getting too much gas early as you'll need them if ur game drag. what you may want to worry is getting refinery (or double, thats 150min) too early which may hinder ur early rush/push/defence

3 per gas is standard. 4 if ur despo and the distance is further than normal gas location.

mineral is 2 per patch (8 standard) which totals 16 however you may allocate 2-4+ more since the workers will move around on occupied minerals. no more than 2.5 per mineral (totals ~20+)

and screw the guide's 3 per patch of 24 lol... takes up food and waste of minerals to get the worker.

that said, for FIRST base you may go 3 per min, or more, considering you may expand, and you can saturate the 2nd expansion much quicker by transferring the workers from ur first base
Laguna
post Aug 24 2010, 07:19 PM

313 posts

ok noob question

question is

haha chill bro !
nexous
post Aug 24 2010, 08:33 PM

101 posts

ok noob question

question is

1) 2 minerals per gatherer (which gives you 16 SCVs per line), BUT keep making SCVs till you have 20-24. Saturation is at 24 SCVs (3 per patch) so you'll benefit from extra SCVs but at a reduced rate. Anyway, you transfer anything extra of 16 to your expansion once it's done. One of the most important things to learn as a newbie is to make SCVs constantly. Don't queue more than 2 per CC.

2) Study a build order and build your refineries according to it. Fit 3 SCVs per refinery.

3) Hotkeys are really self-preference. There are different ways you can key your bioball; Hotkeying marines and marus into separate groups lets you focus fire effectively for eg maru on stalkers while marines on immortals. Hotkeying a mix of marines and marus into 2/3 groups of about same mix and size lets you make a good concave on the move which will be good when fighting hydra/roach armies for eg.

Anyway this game is intense and you are definitely not alone when it comes to raging after a match. I usually have to take a break after 2/3 games due to the crazy stress level.
thejols
post Aug 24 2010, 09:08 PM

198 posts

yea. im in state from improving my mid game state.
im overconfident from winning streak on bronze league.
how shame of me -.-"

got a freinds in Plat. training with him. i can deal with him on early game,
as soon as game enter mid game, im overwhelmed.

i do not break(mostly) when playing sc2. from 11pm-3am.
if not working 11pm-6-7am. play till yelling (frustated haha).

i talk many, the most important info i want to find is answered
so 24 on mineral, 3 on gas1 and 1/2 on gas2.
build an expansion and takeout 8 from 24. continue spam another 8 scv till 16-24 per expansion. and keep going making an expansion.
practically. i need around 30 scv before entering mid game to ensure my building "working" as income steadily stabile.
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2010, 09:36 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Aug 24 2010, 08:33 PM)
1) 2 minerals per gatherer (which gives you 16 SCVs per line), BUT keep making SCVs till you have 20-24. Saturation is at 24 SCVs (3 per patch) so you'll benefit from extra SCVs but at a reduced rate. Anyway, you transfer anything extra of 16 to your expansion once it's done. One of the most important things to learn as a newbie is to make SCVs constantly. Don't queue more than 2 per CC.

2) Study a build order and build your refineries according to it. Fit 3 SCVs per refinery.

3) Hotkeys are really self-preference. There are different ways you can key your bioball; Hotkeying marines and marus into separate groups lets you focus fire effectively for eg maru on stalkers while marines on immortals. Hotkeying a mix of marines and marus into 2/3 groups of about same mix and size lets you make a good concave on the move which will be good when fighting hydra/roach armies for eg.

Anyway this game is intense and you are definitely not alone when it comes to raging after a match. I usually have to take a break after 2/3 games due to the crazy stress level.
and i thought you game to relief said stress levels rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 09:43 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(thejols @ Aug 24 2010, 09:08 PM)
yea. im in state from improving my mid game state.
im overconfident from winning streak on bronze league.
how shame of me -.-"

got a freinds in Plat. training with him. i can deal with him on early game,
as soon as game enter mid game, im overwhelmed.

i do not break(mostly) when playing sc2. from 11pm-3am.
if not working 11pm-6-7am. play till yelling (frustated haha).

i talk many, the most important info i want to find is answered
so 24 on mineral, 3 on gas1 and 1/2 on gas2.
build an expansion and takeout 8 from 24. continue spam another 8 scv till 16-24 per expansion. and keep going making an expansion.
practically. i need around 30 scv before entering mid game to ensure my building "working" as income steadily stabile.
My midgame is horrible as well. tongue.gif

Do you guises do the Tank/Viking combo? I hear it is pretty easy to pick up.
roronoa_zorro
post Aug 24 2010, 11:08 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Aug 24 2010, 09:43 PM)
My midgame is horrible as well.  tongue.gif

Do you guises do the Tank/Viking combo? I hear it is pretty easy to pick up.
tank + viking only?
better if u add 2 dozen of marrine 1 dozen of maruder+2/3 medvac
use medvac to carry tank
Grif
post Aug 24 2010, 11:23 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Aug 24 2010, 11:08 PM)
tank + viking only?
better if u add 2 dozen of marrine 1 dozen of maruder+2/3 medvac
use medvac to carry tank
Well, that's the basic idea. Tanks for land, Vikings for Anti-air. Mix other units as needed. I had a couple of T players using em against me. I was actually bottled up in my base for quite abit while I had to use Medivacs to land elsewhere.
ROTiJOHN
post Aug 25 2010, 10:15 AM

www.malaysiamilitarytag.com
937 posts

hi, i like to use reaper rush, with NOS, damn happy when get to see enemy got frustuated. but bear in mind, have to remember to macro

124 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:43 AM