The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!

Grif
post Aug 29 2010, 11:47 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 29 2010, 11:17 PM)
I wonder why my pc takes forever for loading and alt tab in and out...

BTW, i recently started to play as random, terran is really easier to manage than zerg, less thing to do and worry about.. when you wall off you get less concern on harassment earlier in game. Then when you push you just spam your hot key for unit production.. you have plenty of time to micro your unit instead worrying for larva injection.

And MMM ball is so powerful.. it rapes most of the time..

Toss is currently my worst race since I play mainly on zerg and hated terran so much, contributing to my effort to study all their builds and units..
Question: When I play on lower league, I have problem facing player especially protoss which walls off their base and start teching.. cannon is everywhere in their base, I dont know how to harass them at all.. Although guarding their natural expansion would make their economy suffer, somehow I always miss our their voidray sneak and there goes my main base..

What can we do when people cannon up their base?

Tried Ultra + zergling, he just use zealots to tank my ultra while tons of cannon shooting behind..
Not a really a zerg player, but wouldn't muta decimate cannons? Get a big enough ball and you can probably blast through cannons.
Grif
post Sep 19 2010, 02:35 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Sep 18 2010, 11:48 PM)
will try it out, it seriously save alot of time if it work

Added on September 18, 2010, 11:58 pm

btw u said hotkey my queens, u mean 1 key for each queen or 1 key for all queens ?
All queens. The game will automatically use the nearest one. Seriously, this can be the single best advice one could get as a newb Zerg player.
Grif
post Sep 25 2010, 02:19 AM

378 posts

Oh noes. I have joined the dark side. I played Zherk the whole day today.

And yeah, baneling bust is damn fun.
Grif
post Sep 29 2010, 10:36 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 28 2010, 05:28 PM)
i think infestors are basic enuff since u need em to get to t3 rite?
wut's the point of not using such a wonderful unit...
when i am new to zerg i loved infestors...

i list out the name of the pros so that the newer players have some idea of its potential rather than jz throwing it out as a useless/ not-effective unit (just like most caster units)
I suppose I have to learn to use one of those damnable things one of these days. Planning to hardcore zherk soon. whistling.gif
Grif
post Sep 30 2010, 03:49 AM

378 posts

Is snipe really worth the energy? I'm really curious.
Grif
post Sep 30 2010, 01:18 PM

378 posts

Roaches counter zealot heavy protoss balls yes? I got rolled by one such all-in. Damn.
Grif
post Sep 30 2010, 01:21 PM

378 posts

Ouch. But gonna try this later. Mass zerglings just isn't the answer to mass zealots. (lol i know, but i was desperate at the time).
Grif
post Sep 30 2010, 10:16 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Sep 30 2010, 08:51 PM)
You need to know when to build roaches and when not to.

Protoss 2 gate : roach
Terran mass marine : roach
Terran hellion harass : roach

Roaches has won me most of my my games thanks to the 5 Roach Rush build.

Added on September 30, 2010, 8:55 pm

The price is pretty cheap since you only need to have one during most games. (not like you have any choice against cloaked units)
5 roach rush build? hmm.gif Off to the Internets!
Grif
post Oct 2 2010, 01:25 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 2 2010, 12:25 PM)
Any tips how to use Zerg in team game? I always go for zerglings + muta to help with the map control.. seldom being the one doing significant damage in it, tried infestor it just wont work out due to high gas cost and really difficult for zerg to F.E in teamgame
Speedlings to hit expos. Really fun. tongue.gif

For lategames, nothing beats mass hydra with a huge no of larvae stockpiled waiting to be turned into another army.
Grif
post Oct 2 2010, 02:51 PM

378 posts

True. But that's where "Ye Olde Happy Ultralisks" come in.

Assuming they made a cockup and didn't straight push my team's base for a GG. XD
Grif
post Oct 6 2010, 10:37 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 6 2010, 10:24 PM)
ahhh i did just that the other day.

i got no defenses yet but saw many incoming. so i spam zerglings and speedling upgrade halfway done.

defended with just speeds and queens.
you can build additional hatcheries, not necessarily at mineral patch. use queen also to boost larvae.
ling rush probably one of the easiest game winning thing to learn. it's after the ling rush fail that's the problem. biggrin.gif
sorry. i like those who "wall in", not "wall up" is there such a term "wall in"? as in stay in the wall. just build build build but no expand and anything else. just preparing to die like that.
Terran wall up presents a challenge actually. He could be building any number of units or teching to some crazy rush like thor spams and all that.
Grif
post Oct 8 2010, 01:22 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Oct 8 2010, 11:51 AM)
usually i'd go for infested terrans for canon walls. it just scares the shit out of protoss players.

and as for terran wall. i'd use broodlords. stick broodlings up their ass.
I'm surprised the Terran players didn't faceroll you with MMM or even MM+Thor combo before you get your broodlords.
Grif
post Oct 8 2010, 01:26 PM

378 posts

MMM is faster than spamming vikings though. But yeah. lol viking derp. tongue.gif
Grif
post Oct 11 2010, 04:33 PM

378 posts

This is now why I never ever tech during ZvZ. 2 Banes > all your speedling if you dont micro.
Grif
post Oct 12 2010, 02:17 AM

378 posts

Will infestors help against Toss? I was thinking on how to use em in TvP.
Grif
post Oct 15 2010, 02:23 PM

378 posts

Yay. No more rauders sniping my spire at 90%.
Grif
post Oct 15 2010, 11:18 PM

378 posts

Hey guises, take a look at mai zherk play. I feel like I reached a plateau, but I don't know what mistakes I might be making.

http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/90893-2...ilight-fortress

Any tips/criticism is greatly appreciated.
Grif
post Oct 20 2010, 02:02 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Tctf @ Oct 20 2010, 01:46 PM)
guys do u all counter ZvT, Terran mass thor in mid games?
which i got 30++ hydra also lose.
but no investor yet la.
any idea?
From what I read, you basically have to whittle down the Thor ball bit by bit. Use some or all of the following:

a) Baneling bombs
b) Burrowed roaches to close the range
c) Mass surrounds with speedlings
d) Mixed hydra roach army to soften em up
e) Ultralisks
f) Neural parasite
g) Mass mutas (assuming you can do the magic box trick)

Mind you, I never actually managed to stop a huge Thor ball even though I have the economic and 200/200 supply. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Grif: Oct 20 2010, 02:03 PM
Grif
post Oct 22 2010, 12:27 AM

378 posts

Don't Marauders own Roaches for cost? (not to mention stim, which is auto-win in many cases).
Grif
post Oct 25 2010, 06:04 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(imacapc @ Oct 25 2010, 05:50 PM)
Muta surely is one of the best ways to kill off annoying roaches who can easily melt your cute banelings... Well, that build is totally not suggested when it comes to vT though. Mass marines can have a muta-bbq if they bump into a muta group. Be careful about that. Roaches ftw when it comes to terran! Careful for roadblock+tank combo though...
My thor ball will have something to say about that. whistling.gif

0.0495sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:26 PM