125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!

MintDarker
post Oct 6 2010, 02:19 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 6 2010, 08:25 AM)
very tired now = =...
yesterday lost a game keep thinking of it cant sleep whole night... zzz
Win the next game, so you can sleep well tongue.gif
Sky.Live
post Oct 6 2010, 03:30 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(MintDarker @ Oct 6 2010, 02:19 PM)
Win the next game, so you can sleep well  tongue.gif
Seldom got chance to pair up with a decent player..
ericpires
post Oct 6 2010, 03:38 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Oct 6 2010, 12:13 PM)
are zerg really that hard to play compare to terran or protoss ?

lose almost all games yesterday almsot give up zerg want to try other race.

sigh.,.
i like zerg coz they are a complex race to play. Why would u wanna to use the retarded terran and boring protoss? all they do is sit and camp whole day and build up their stuff attack u... Its so boring wink.gif
evofantasy
post Oct 6 2010, 05:14 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Oct 6 2010, 12:13 PM)
are zerg really that hard to play compare to terran or protoss ?

lose almost all games yesterday almsot give up zerg want to try other race.

sigh.,.
its not hard, its just different due to the larvae mechanic...
all race have their own mechanics but rts veterans are more used to terran's production queue system...
IisTHEmoron
post Oct 6 2010, 07:55 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 6 2010, 05:14 PM)
its not hard, its just different due to the larvae mechanic...
all race have their own mechanics but rts veterans are more used to terran's production queue system...
yeah haven't got that "feel" towards zerg build mechanics and such. the larvae production is slow + you have to distribute it for harvesters and overlords. i think this should take lots of experience to capture that feel for plaaying zerg
evofantasy
post Oct 6 2010, 08:20 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Oct 6 2010, 07:55 PM)
yeah haven't got that "feel" towards zerg build mechanics and such. the larvae production is slow + you have to distribute it for harvesters and overlords. i think this should take lots of experience to capture that feel for plaaying zerg
if u got good map control (overlords/ creep) and game sense, u can go heavy drone...
when u see him moving, just pump speedlings or any other defensive units while u macro up...
that's hw i usually play my zerg...
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2010, 09:12 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 6 2010, 01:50 PM)
It's not hard to play zerg but it's hard to play it good.. actually same thing la for any race smile.gif
You statements are so contradicting lol. Zerg is harder to start with because of it's larvae management and passive playstyle.

Starting off with T or P is easier IMO.
goldfries
post Oct 6 2010, 10:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 6 2010, 08:20 PM)
if u got good map control (overlords/ creep) and game sense, u can go heavy drone...
when u see him moving, just pump speedlings or any other defensive units while u macro up...
that's hw i usually play my zerg...
ahhh i did just that the other day.

i got no defenses yet but saw many incoming. so i spam zerglings and speedling upgrade halfway done.

defended with just speeds and queens.

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Oct 6 2010, 07:55 PM)
you can build additional hatcheries, not necessarily at mineral patch. use queen also to boost larvae.

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Oct 6 2010, 12:26 PM)
Zerg is considered the hardest race for new SC players. I suggest you try Protoss/Terran.
ling rush probably one of the easiest game winning thing to learn. it's after the ling rush fail that's the problem. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(narf03 @ Oct 6 2010, 11:41 AM)
Terran always wall up, it doesnt mean they wont attack you early on, their SD makes a perfect door, so they can in and out easy without destroying em, preventing early rush(zealot/ling), prevent easy scouting and they dont cost any extra to wall up. So I would say wall up have no disadvantages for Terran. After they wall up, they can spam units like crazy without you knowing it, and if you expand without defense since you feel safe cause they wall up, that might be a GG once they comes out.
sorry. i like those who "wall in", not "wall up" is there such a term "wall in"? as in stay in the wall. just build build build but no expand and anything else. just preparing to die like that.

Grif
post Oct 6 2010, 10:37 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 6 2010, 10:24 PM)

i got no defenses yet but saw many incoming. so i spam zerglings and speedling upgrade halfway done.

you can build additional hatcheries, not necessarily at mineral patch. use queen also to boost larvae.
ling rush probably one of the easiest game winning thing to learn. it's after the ling rush fail that's the problem. biggrin.gif
sorry. i like those who "wall in", not "wall up" is there such a term "wall in"? as in stay in the wall. just build build build but no expand and anything else. just preparing to die like that.
Terran wall up presents a challenge actually. He could be building any number of units or teching to some crazy rush like thor spams and all that.
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2010, 11:01 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 6 2010, 10:24 PM)

you do know terran can just command center in his base, then fly it out on some island and expand without you know? or just float to natural, and while doing all that, have bunkers/siege tanks to cover the natural
goldfries
post Oct 6 2010, 11:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Oct 6 2010, 10:37 PM)
Terran wall up presents a challenge actually. He could be building any number of units or teching to some crazy rush like thor spams and all that.
i like people who cocoon themselves in the wall. let them tech up or mass, they're still limited to the naturals.

i come by quite a number like that, cocoon in the wall safety. when they're doing that I'll go for somewhat early expansion. with the additional resources you can tech + spam better than the cocooned guy.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 6 2010, 11:01 PM)
you do know terran can just command center in his base, then fly it out on some island and expand without you know? or just float to natural, and while doing all that, have bunkers/siege tanks to cover the natural

biggrin.gif yes of course, and it'll be damn sad if his super slow moving CC flew around without me knowing!

for me I put overlords / zerglings scattered across the map.when the unit kena whack means the fella doing something already.

in the end also depends on what kind of Z player vs what kind of T player.

against players who wall in, I think it's critical to harass them. make them waste time and mineral on substitute units, repairs and everything else while expanding when possible. after that it's a matter of breaching the wall and swarm.
Sky.Live
post Oct 7 2010, 10:21 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

How to handle when your opponent get

Pheonix / viking for OL hunting.. u have to move all ur scouting ol to somewhere safe? meaning losing all sort of scouting?

Quazacolt
post Oct 7 2010, 10:26 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 7 2010, 10:21 AM)
How to handle when your opponent get

Pheonix / viking for OL hunting.. u have to move all ur scouting ol to somewhere safe? meaning losing all sort of scouting?
research overlord speed and get mutalisks to defend. though that said, mutas does have difficulty against good phoenix microers, at that point you might want to get corruptors if the situation worsens
aLertz
post Oct 7 2010, 10:47 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 7 2010, 10:26 AM)
research overlord speed and get mutalisks to defend. though that said, mutas does have difficulty against good phoenix microers, at that point you might want to get corruptors if the situation worsens
yeah...u can group the ovies together with a bunch of hydra js for protection...
when they got speed...they can easily outrun from any threat...

i felt tat recently toss likes to play aggressive pushing...
they will go like 4-6 gates wif 1 base...get a proxy pylon near ur base...
and keep spamming zeal+stalkers...
when they got a decent group like 8-10 units they will keep attacking non stop until u drop...
i don't even have time for muta as i was spamming lings + spines js to def... sweat.gif
but when muta out...it's time for them to def laugh.gif

but the chances are low as their success rate is quite high rclxub.gif
goldfries
post Oct 7 2010, 12:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

kena before from my fren, suddenly come cloaked banshee + vikings. he learn that from AI.

i got caught by surprise 1st time but after that i know he gonna try it. tongue.gif manage to overseer + hydralisks.
Sky.Live
post Oct 7 2010, 12:27 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

How about pheonix/viking came before your lair is up? it's quite difficult to def.

Corrupter is not really the answer for pheonix, because due to the fact corrupter cannot run faster than pheonix although the thick hp would make it quite sometime to be down
goldfries
post Oct 7 2010, 12:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

corruptor takes damn long to reach. no? probably queen is your best temporary AA but works only in base area. heh. costly and long time to build also.

best is still to have occasional scout. if starport is out then just prepare some AA in case.

problem with zerg is lack of effective AA in early game. terrans can spam marines and protoss just needs a CC for stalkers.

lair upgrade + additional structure takes damn long. sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 7 2010, 12:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 7 2010, 12:27 PM)
How about pheonix/viking came before your lair is up? it's quite difficult to def.

Corrupter is not really the answer for pheonix, because due to the fact corrupter cannot run faster than pheonix although the thick hp would make it quite sometime to be down
corruptor IS the answer for phoenix due to superior range, and it prevents your overlord/mutas from getting wtfraped. it may not be able to chase running phoenixes/score guaranteed kills (neither can hydras anyways!) but it sure keeps them away from you

Added on October 7, 2010, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 7 2010, 12:33 PM)
corruptor takes damn long to reach. no? probably queen is your best temporary AA but works only in base area. heh. costly and long time to build also.

best is still to have occasional scout. if starport is out then just prepare some AA in case.

problem with zerg is lack of effective AA in early game. terrans can spam marines and protoss just needs a CC for stalkers.

lair upgrade + additional structure takes damn long. sad.gif
you only need hive only AFAIK (only BL need GS), which you can use infestors' fungal on phoenix to make things easier

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 7 2010, 12:38 PM
Sichiri
post Oct 7 2010, 12:58 PM

1,191 posts

early phoenix? Go rush his base with whatever you have. Your ground army should > his since he went air tech and zerg T1 > gateway units.
bobohead1988
post Oct 7 2010, 01:27 PM

852 posts

So whats a good unit to start a siege on those pesky cannonwall/terranwalls?

Other than teching up to t3

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:33 PM