4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.

TSincx
post Sep 7 2010, 04:29 PM

135 posts

Which one? I watched yours with Azz at the moment only.

Edit. I'll sort it out later.

This post has been edited by incx: Sep 7 2010, 04:30 PM
TSincx
post Sep 7 2010, 06:25 PM

135 posts

Should work. Don't think of Starcraft while you're woeking. Focus! ph34r.gif Well, can't say I don't too. xD
TSincx
post Sep 10 2010, 07:58 AM

135 posts

The only advice for Voidrays is timing. Scout and know what your opponent is up to. If you think Voidrays are coming up, build a few photons around your mineral lines and go for stalkers. Don't go head on when they are fully charged. Engage them when they least expect it and back off a while to make sure their rays are not charged.
TSincx
post Sep 10 2010, 03:31 PM

135 posts

If you've scouted early 2 gateway rush, it's best to build your next gateway at the choke point of the bridge, so it can buy you some time to make sure your warp gates are done. 2 zealots blocking the choke point can hold up better if faced 1 to 1 rather than having 6 zealots surrounding the 2 of yours.
TSincx
post Sep 12 2010, 07:16 PM

135 posts

Hm. Seems like I have to sign up to watch the replays.. sweat.gif

Updated the front page with vids. If anyone has any nice build orders to contribute, please do post here. Thanks.
TSincx
post Sep 14 2010, 11:57 AM

135 posts

Another way is that if he fails to rush you, which means he has lost an entire (or almost an entire) army, which you still have a handful of yours, you should counter immediately without waiting.
TSincx
post Sep 16 2010, 09:09 PM

135 posts

Nice vid. Added to the front.
TSincx
post Sep 16 2010, 09:52 PM

135 posts

Btw guys, any tips for Desert Oasis map against Terran? Seems like that map favours Banshees and Vikings a lot.

I tried pushing out Phoenixes fast, yet gets killed off by Vikings, then harrassed by cloaked Banshees. I do fast stalkers with observer, and yet get harassed by Banshees, killing out my obs with just a scan.

The other alternative I could think off is to build cannons but that gets me into defensive play and I like having a mobile army instead of static defenses.

Any comments on this? Would appreciate it.
TSincx
post Sep 20 2010, 01:12 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 20 2010, 10:11 AM)
2-3 photon cannons to keep them at bay until ur stalkers can arrive with obs (in case cannons got wiped)
and blink is almost a must to either get to ur base in time, or taking out the banshees to even the score depending on how much dmg is done to ur base

robotics is still the more steady method against terran. colo takes out MM ball and tanks too. though ideally you'd want a couple of templars too if the MM ball is too heavy and they can STILL snipe ur colo ignoring ur army of zealots/stalkers.
The only problem with Templar is that it's right over the other production chain. And worse off, they'll be a gap of emptiness within when you're trying to tech up to Templars and yet getting harassed, if you get what I mean.
TSincx
post Sep 20 2010, 02:47 PM

135 posts

Not like a big gap but it does take up a lot of gas and I usually run on 1 geyser, which is good enough till mid game. It's good against early pushes but somehow you fall back later on.

And sometimes it's really frusfrating to see the Terran is capable of pumping units so much faster compared to Warpgates. Going against 6 rax builds is like going against a never ending waves of pure MMM. And each Collosus that goes down, it's just like blowing a nexus off the map.
TSincx
post Sep 20 2010, 10:51 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 20 2010, 03:21 PM)
watched tester's RO64 in GSL and u can see how important are FFs in breaking the MM balls
Where to watch the vids? I know I won't be able to find them on youtube.
TSincx
post Sep 21 2010, 12:15 AM

135 posts

Really nice vid. Thanks. I'm really impressed that tester can actually block off a 2 gate rush with 1 gate.
TSincx
post Sep 21 2010, 06:36 PM

135 posts

How come? I thought the ladder points system are the same.
TSincx
post Sep 28 2010, 09:18 PM

135 posts

The Warpgate recharge time is sooooo slow. Beh ta han.

And HongUnPrime looks like a primary school go-er.. ph34r.gif
TSincx
post Sep 29 2010, 08:16 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(TENAXIS @ Sep 29 2010, 12:40 AM)
what is this epic replay that i miss?
MUST SEE MUST SEE LINK LINK!!!!!

meh, been on a losing streak soo far... ciiibai, soo depressing... sad.gif, need to make my HuK built better and better....

just a random q, do u guys to 8-pylon or 9-pylon?
i been reading or hearing its better to go 8-pylon because you decrease downtime
on 9-pylon that 11th probe is delayed a bit.

opinions anyone?
Actually it's the other way. If you build a 9-pylon and chrono boost the the 10th probe, you'll be able to continue your boost for the the 11th probe as your pylon finishes immediately after the 10th probe.
TSincx
post Oct 13 2010, 08:29 AM

135 posts

Watched your replay. Here's a few things that I feel you can improve on.

1. Your minerals are piling up already very early on in the game. Try not to let your resource go beyond the 300 mark. Your end game minerals were 2000 and over. Just imagine how many more units you could have with 2000?

2. Build constant probes. You stopped probe production a while when you reached 18 probes.

3. Start building gateway units once you get the gateway. It wasn't used until the middle of the game.

4. Micro-ing is good, but macro-ing should be improved on too. If it's against a harder computer, I don't think you could have been able to block off the first wave of attack early on.

Hope this helps. wink.gif
TSincx
post Oct 16 2010, 08:36 PM

135 posts

In the last 4 matches I played was against Zergs and all of them were massively producing roaches. sleep.gif Zealots are now so in a pitiful condition.
TSincx
post Oct 16 2010, 09:32 PM

135 posts

What he meant was to continously make probes and not to stop half way through battle or anywhere in between.
TSincx
post Oct 17 2010, 08:44 AM

135 posts

I personally think that Toss is really at a disadvantage right now... seriously.
TSincx
post Oct 17 2010, 09:37 AM

135 posts

I think roaches are way too powerful early game now. Despite knowing the opponent is gonna roach rush also is somewhat difficult to fend off, especially with their range upgrade. Even holding them off at the ramp seemed more difficult than usual.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1072sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:02 AM