Installing Froyo on Maxis' Desire, For the sake of TL;DR

TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 2 2010, 01:57 PM, updated 16y ago

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

WARNING: Only do this if you do not wish to root ur phone anytime soon. There is no way to root a phone on FroYo with Hboot v0.92 yet at this post point of time. And your apps and data in root will be gone as well. Do not proceed if u do not know what is what.

There is a way to downgrade your hboot to 0.80 now.
http://www.tolxdorff.net/projects/android/...ails.php?file=2

For those who confuse with the official Desire thread I decide to come up with what I did to install FroYo on my Maxis Desire. And for those who think AP > Maxis, you are not exactly right. The hardware are basically more or less the same, only the ROM is different which can be changed. brows.gif

Before installing the following, you will need a gold card.
Refer here:
http://theunlockr.com/2010/03/10/how-to-create-a-goldcard/

For those who have build 1.21.XXX or older, download and install this:
http://shipped-roms.com/shipped/Bravo/RUU_...6984_signed.exe
(RUU_Bravo_HTC_WWE_1.21.405.2_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_126984_signed.exe)
This link is a standard World Wide English ROM which do not have Asian or US English locales. Most likely to be used on retail sets. icon_idea.gif

At this point, I not sure whether According KTCY, you will need a gold card for this ROM installation. After making the gold card, just double click this installer and follow the instructions. U might need to get the bootloader driver if you don't have it. And yes this should be a fool-proof installation as no Shell commands will be needed in the process. Just click a few stuff only.

After installing this ROM, your <insert provider> HTC Desire/Bravo will have the same ROM as any retail set. After that, just connect your phone to WiFi or 3G whichever u prefer and then:

1) press the "menu" button
2) press "settings"
3) drag the menu to the bottom and press "About Phone"
4) press "System software updates".
5) press "Check now" at the bottom of the screen
6) download and install the update.

In the event that your phone shows "No new updates available", try this:

Notes:
*This should get rid of the status 7 error but to bear in mind that you will have a UNROOTED FroYo DESIRE with Hboot 0.92.
*RUU_Bravo_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.19.707.6_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_rel_124362.exe is an Asian Locale ROM and cannot be upgraded to FroYo ATM.

Due to the fact that the above RUU ROM is international, no default APN settings are configured on them. Only official ROMs from your respective service provider will have the APN settings.
Any1 need to re set the APN settings for 3G refer spoiler:

Maxis and Celcom 3G APN settings:

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Aug 7 2010, 10:05 AM
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 2 2010, 02:04 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 2 2010, 01:59 PM)
Many thx bro... smile.gif

u can show me appreciation by finding me a way to root a Froyo with Hboot 0.92... laugh.gif

juz kidding...
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 2 2010, 05:15 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Aug 2 2010, 03:25 PM)
is this an official upgrade to froyo for maxis desire? or just for fun?

This is an official FroYo upgrade for NON Asian World Wide English version of Desire. This is sort of fun but that's not the point tongue.gif . This is for those who can't wait for Asia version of FroYo... laugh.gif
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 3 2010, 08:33 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 2 2010, 10:48 PM)
Can i get back the official version for SEA when FroYo released for Desire?
Cant wait to try this method but scared cant upgrade to official FroYo later~

yes as long as it's a newer or same build version... laugh.gif
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 3 2010, 05:23 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 3 2010, 09:01 AM)
/swts..
Regretted liao.
no root possible >"<

u didn't read all the warnings i posted? =.="
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 5 2010, 04:57 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Aug 3 2010, 05:39 PM)
actually there's no need for this thread
anything just post at the desire thread better

and den sesat... biggrin.gif

Desire thread move 2 fast la... not many people can catch up... this thread if got anything i put into 1st post... need any info just refer 1st post... easier to see this way... icon_rolleyes.gif

TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 5 2010, 08:52 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(idesmond @ Aug 5 2010, 07:20 PM)
Thanks, i prefer it this way, as in a separate thread.

By the way, will the APN automatically be set in the phone? Or must manual do it? If so, how do i set in the APN in the most simple way?

Refer 1st post... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 6 2010, 10:17 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(tbsalan @ Aug 6 2010, 09:59 AM)
i Having problem to update froyo...i did the step and i was successfully install WWE rom at my desire.. but when i trying to update..it said that " there was no update" . APN i have configured and the connection is working as well.. anyone can help?

build version plz...

N connect to internet via 3G or WiFi?
Need good internet connection to download it...
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 6 2010, 02:24 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(tbsalan @ Aug 6 2010, 12:55 PM)
my build version now is 1.21.405.2....i tried to use both 3G and Wifi.. is still show that there is no update available..sad.gif

weird...

try this:
download:
http://hotfile.com/dl/58947725/9565587/OTA...4wrv30.zip.html

*Rename the file to update.zip and copy it to your microSD card.
[Note: make sure the file is named update.zip and not update.zip.zip.]

*Power down your Desire.

*Hold down the “Volume Down” button while you power the phone back on.

*A screen should appear showing your phone’s system searching for various files. Scroll down(by using the volume down button) to “recovery” and press the “Power” button.

*When you see the triangle with an exclamation point symbol, press the “Power” and “Volume Up” buttons at the same time.

*From the menu that appears, select “Apply sdcard:update.zip.”

*When the screen displays “Install from sdcard complete” select “reboot system now” and wait for the phone to power back up.

Check your build version again to confirm. It should be 2.09.XXX
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 6 2010, 04:48 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(idesmond @ Aug 6 2010, 03:46 PM)
is 2.09.XXX Froyo?

that's juz the build version... ur Android version should be 2.2 now...
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 7 2010, 01:42 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(tbsalan @ Aug 7 2010, 11:15 AM)
tried the step you guide...and its work like charms...thanks bro

alright... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

1st post updated...
TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 7 2010, 03:45 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Aug 7 2010, 02:54 PM)
is there any one step to root the desire like ms ?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1516567

i failed to do for desire. but ms success. sad.gif

use unrevoked... juz plug ur phone and run the application... tat's all...
http://unrevoked.com/recovery/

instructions/discussions:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=725738

TSt3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 7 2010, 08:10 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Aug 7 2010, 04:21 PM)
is there more easier way ? like jz dl desireroot.apk?

i dunno and didn't try... hmm.gif

0.0185sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:43 AM