blu ray movie titles, how to tell if pirated or genuine?

TSdaryl.k
post Aug 2 2010, 12:33 PM, updated 16y ago

467 posts

hi guys,

i'm just wondering if its possible to tell a fake i.e. pirated blu ray title from a genuine title?

the reason is...i've been purchasing from a seller, here in LYN...and his price is always cheaper than other sellers...some titles almost the same price as pirated BD sellers...so it kinda makes me wonder if i'm actually getting conned..or am i getting a real deal?

and i've also tried a pirated title borrowed to me by a friend...and its the exact same as a genuine title...even the packaging's the same...

is there any way of identifying from the look of it?

and since i'm on this pirated vs genuine title issue....i've been meaning to ask for opinions:

Which is less noble?

1) purchasing pirated movies
2) downloading movie titles off the net

This post has been edited by daryl.k: Aug 2 2010, 12:35 PM
TSdaryl.k
post Aug 2 2010, 03:35 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 2 2010, 02:40 PM)
I believe the disc size contain is different. Original BD should be 50GB and pirated is only 25GB. Not sure if this is correct.
the pirated movie i tested was Hurt Locker, with DTS-HD MA...i'm not entirely sure but if its a 25GB BD, shouldn't be able to hold DTS-MA..and...btw, there are many types of pirated BD in the market...some cost RM15, some cost RM35 and some RM45..RM15 are crap i was told...can even play with DVD players so its not BD...by the RM35 & 45 ones, i believe the diff is 25GB & 50GB...so, both 25GB & 50GB is also available pirated..

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Aug 2 2010, 03:23 PM)
Wah wth, got pirated blu-ray movie! I thought only the dvd9 hd movies oni got... i also curious lar how to differentiate genuine and pirated! dun wan be paying RM70-80+ to get pirated rubbish
well...in China, you can get pirated BD for as low as RM10 each...good quality ones i was told...welcome to the real world! its been around for quite some time now...cant believe not many ppl knew about the existence...probably showing many here buying original copies!! kudos!

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ Aug 2 2010, 03:27 PM)
who is the seller??
cant say la....its still a suspicion for the time being...innocent till proven guilty wink.gif

oh, btw, the pirated Hurt Locker title, the back surface is almost purple in color..not black.
TSdaryl.k
post Aug 11 2010, 02:57 PM

467 posts

honestly didn't expect this topic to attract so much attention and opinions...good thing...

well...i re-borrowed the pirated Hurt Locker BD from my friend..and this time compared it with those i suspected were pirated...in fact, i believe they are originals..

the pirated one has really dark surface, almost black in color...but other features is exact same as the original, even the printing was flawless...

i guess that's the only way to distinguish if the BD is a pirated or not..black surface compared to bright, silverly surface on the originals.

so it seems at times, u can get really good deals on original BDs...what's the point of getting the pirated ones then...as low as RM50 for an original copy...mere RM15 more and u get that personal satisfaction its original copies and in a way, supporting actor & actress towards their rich & famous lifestyle...

at least the next time u see a hollywood actor driving a brand new million dollar ferrari around, at least u can say, "I helped paid for that" smile.gif
TSdaryl.k
post Aug 12 2010, 06:59 PM

467 posts

anyone seen The Dark Knight? I think its a perfect example of underworld vs legitimate business. Batman tries to squeeze the underworld ppl so bad, they resorted to rebel...in a bad way...

imho, there is a need for balance between both the underworld & legitimate business. strive one side too much till they reach the breaking point, then there's no telling how bad the ripple effect is gonna be.

whether piracy actually contributes to drugs, prostitution etc etc...i feel, at least with piracy as a 'side income' the warlords wont have to resort to increase their production in terms of drugs & prostitution. If all pirated DVD sellers were to loose their current job, they might be thinking of pushing drugs, or become human traffickers or even join robbery gangs just to continue paying for his Nissan GTR or Civic Type R..which is even worse...

but it doesn't mean i'm going all out supporting piracy. we can say a whole lot here, genuine title vs pirated titles...at the end, there's no stopping public from buying pirated movies. simple...not everyone is into the holiness of buying ori DVD or BD...not everyone wants to enjoy the HD effect of a movie...some just wanna watch the movie...

so, as per the movie, there needs to be a White Knight, as well as a Dark Knight...to balance things out...just my 2 cents...

our currency is not the issue with expensive BD movies...surely Speedy is aware amazon is selling BD movies some less than RM60 each..but they still selling RM150 per title. well...along the way...tax, customs, royalty bla bla bla...buy amazon...or from LYN sellers (legitimate ones) and we won't have to sponsor for some Dato's exotic super cars & multi-storey bungalows and multiple wives....
TSdaryl.k
post Aug 13 2010, 11:55 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 13 2010, 11:39 AM)
daryl, i still think currency plays a big part in dollar to dollar sense

anyway, like u say, tax issues also contributes to the high price as well as shipping cost as well
when i was in UK...i worked part time in potato factory, can earn daily about GBP35-40...each music CD cost about GBP6 sometimes GBP10 for 2 CD...back in M'sia...work part time each day earn RM40...each CD is RM40 rclxub.gif

but cant do nothing about it ma...can only live with it..

DVD used to cost alot...but now can get ori DVD (new movies) for less than RM25...why ar? could it be possible in near future for BD?

0.0123sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:54 AM