HTC Desire Official Thread V4, FAQs on First Page [Froyo 2.2 is Here!]

i_bony
post Aug 2 2010, 12:36 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(volcane @ Aug 2 2010, 12:33 PM)
Just to share my experience on formating USB / SD Card using your PC. Please use the Panasonic SD Formatter to format your USB Drive or SD Card. If you use your PC to format your SD Card will not run at its optimum speed.

http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/
hey bro.
did u noticed any difference in speed? what class are u using?
i_bony
post Aug 2 2010, 04:55 PM

1,298 posts

mine 500mb oso hard to finish.. tongue.gif
i_bony
post Aug 3 2010, 10:05 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(kairesh @ Aug 2 2010, 05:53 PM)
Hi all, earlier I was using Nokia N82 phone (Symbian OS). I used to get a notification on my screen (CALL WAITING) if the person I am calling is currently engage/on call. However, after I switched to HTC Desire, this notification doesn't appear. Is there a special way to enable this? Or can this be triggered by any applications?

Sorry, I am kinda backdated and don't really following up this thread. Apologize, if this had been discussed earlier. Wonder if anyone here faces the similar issue?

NOTE:
- The other person has already enabled the call-waiting feature.
- It’s sensibly not an operator issue, as it has been functioning on the other phone (Nokia) * Same SIM.
- SETTINGS--->CALL----->ADDITIONAL SETTINGS-----> Check the Call Waiting box. (already done it) as the matter of fact, It's been working fine for me (when I am on call).

I had posted this question at android's forum. Unfortunately no one could answer me on this. Hopefully lowyat's sifus could enlighten the way.  Thanks  icon_question.gif
anyone can help answer this question too?
i_bony
post Aug 3 2010, 11:46 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(kairesh @ Aug 2 2010, 05:53 PM)
Hi all, earlier I was using Nokia N82 phone (Symbian OS). I used to get a notification on my screen (CALL WAITING) if the person I am calling is currently engage/on call. However, after I switched to HTC Desire, this notification doesn't appear. Is there a special way to enable this? Or can this be triggered by any applications?

Sorry, I am kinda backdated and don't really following up this thread. Apologize, if this had been discussed earlier. Wonder if anyone here faces the similar issue?

NOTE:
- The other person has already enabled the call-waiting feature.
- It’s sensibly not an operator issue, as it has been functioning on the other phone (Nokia) * Same SIM.
- SETTINGS--->CALL----->ADDITIONAL SETTINGS-----> Check the Call Waiting box. (already done it) as the matter of fact, It's been working fine for me (when I am on call).

I had posted this question at android's forum. Unfortunately no one could answer me on this. Hopefully lowyat's sifus could enlighten the way.  Thanks  icon_question.gif
still no help on this? sad.gif dont anyone experienced this?
i_bony
post Aug 4 2010, 10:52 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(kairesh @ Aug 3 2010, 03:10 PM)
Hi i_bony, I guess only myself encounters this problem  blush.gif
i think i encountered that problem too T-T
i_bony
post Aug 4 2010, 11:18 AM

1,298 posts

what do u mean busted the H icon?
i_bony
post Aug 5 2010, 11:58 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(triplexpresso @ Aug 5 2010, 11:46 AM)
Rooting is basically getting admin/superuser rights to your phone. You want to do this so that you can make changes like:
-Installing custom ROMs
-Update to Froyo
-etc.

Just a summary of what I did for those who are still unsure:

① Root your phone
Super simple steps as compiled by one of our forumer biggrin.gif :
http://bit.ly/aMsllx

②Back your data up
Titanium works only on rooted devices so pls root 1st
Tedious but I've used Titanium Backup.
If anyone has a better alternative, pls suggest
Download ⇒ http://matrixrewriter.com/android/files/TitaniumBackup.apk

③Partition your SD Card for A2SD+ (if required)
XDA Source: http://bit.ly/aDcIIu
Scroll down to "Partitioning your SD Card ready for A2SD+"

④Flash ROM
XDA Source: http://bit.ly/atQLUp
Scroll down to "How to flash ROM"

⑤Flash Radio (if required)
Source: http://bit.ly/9NUK8P

I think you should safely set 2hrs aside to finish all these steps, but it depends on your download speeds for all the ROM/Radio/apps/programs required for the steps above.
nice steps bro! biggrin.gif

i_bony
post Aug 5 2010, 12:23 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(triplexpresso @ Aug 5 2010, 12:10 PM)
Thanks~ Just centralising info for everyone's easy reference smile.gif
Yep, maxis set.
any problem encountered when rooting? u r not using the unrevoked method rite? so u used gold card?
i_bony
post Aug 5 2010, 04:02 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(draco82 @ Aug 5 2010, 03:48 PM)
I'm not sure how true is this..... rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
just to share, dont blame me if anything happen or you cant claim your warranty
I been to the htc training offer by htc for SIS set buyer...
I'd ask the instructor about the void of warranty when rooting the phone....
He said that htc desire is design for open source code usage and develop,
so there is no way to trace whether the phone is root or not like N1.....
As long as you flash back to original rom before you send to claim warranty ....
Or your phone totally die where there is no way to trace your rom version...then you will be safe...

PS: You all judge yourself, i'm not responsible for whatever happen to your phone.....
I just describe what i have heard........ whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
how was the training? anything beneficial gained?

btw what is the apps to capture our desire screen shot again?
i_bony
post Aug 5 2010, 05:50 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 5 2010, 05:06 PM)
SwitchPro lately give me a problem whereby the toggle for data whenever i activate it then when I deactivate it, it just won't goes offline. sweat.gif
what version is ur SwitchPro? is the problem occur oftenly or sometimes? u also uninstall LauncherPro rite? any major or minor prob?

0.0453sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:44 AM