Aug 7 2010, 09:17 PM
11,594 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Area 51 |
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 7 2010, 07:10 PM) thanks for the info, i will try it once i flashed to neo's nextsense rom.. im stiill on neophyte 1.4a which is based on frf91, havent tried rom based on official OTA since ive just finished my final exam yesterday.. yippe! guys, nextsense 4.0 and leedroid mod 1.8 .. which one u guys prefer? do drop some thoughts.. i really wanna see ur personal opinions since quite a number of people rooted and already flashed custom roms now QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 7 2010, 07:51 PM) i was just surveying out since both seems pretty equal. Its great to hear thoughts of others IMHO. A personal review from others would perhaps make me decide. To me both are equal. Leedroid seems more to stock. Neophyte is always sorta slightly ahead of leedroid in terms of mods implementations and fixes but leedroid is more stable. Leedroid is on the other hand usually updates b4 he goes to bed which is around 6am local time here. Haha.. ive been watching his pattern. He is a dedicated husband and a father now btw. Good analysis LOLp/s : the above is a lil bit over the edge.. haha.. but thats what i can see clearly from them Neophyte seems to be impatient sometimes when handling XDA forumers (and at times hard to understand his english), but nevertheless I think his ROM is really polished and not much trouble - he's fast in fixing issues too. Not sure if the underclocked thing really works but I just assume it would for now (since it doesn't feel that slow anyway) I tried LeeDroid 1.7 once and had market problem causing handset reboot (means I couldn't do anything else) then gave up. It's prolly fixed already in 1.8 though |
Aug 8 2010, 12:00 AM
Aug 8 2010, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(deathbringer @ Aug 8 2010, 03:28 AM) hi guys, new to this HTC Desire and this Android stuff. I have a SIS unit here. on original Android 2.1 (unrooted) and experiencing some problems: On 1, I am not facing that issue when I was on 2.11) i'm on Digi Ambassador plan with unlimited 3G broadband plan. I get this annoying problem that the 3G connection on the phone will disconnect by itself after some time, even when i'm still surfing. and to reconnect, i would have to go to the Settings menu to reactivate my connection. i migrated from a WM6.5 platform and the 3G connection was always on. does this normally happen on an android phone? how do i keep the connection alive, or better yet, connect on demand whenever i want to surf instead of going to the settings menu? 2) I know v2.1 has Flash support, although limited. i can access most of the flash games on facebook, but after a few minutes of play, it would show me this triangle warning symbol with an exclamation mark in it. is this also normal? if not, how do i solve this? thank you guys in advance. any help would be greatly appreciated. Connection was on all the time unless I use JuiceDefender to control it, no service disruption... perhaps it's Digi's problem? |
Aug 8 2010, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(chding @ Aug 8 2010, 11:21 AM) It runs okay on my phone, but Neo gave following suggestion:"Who hava the problem of the APN, or sim changed that change/delete on /system/etc/apns-conf.xml, to fix the problem, after delete, you can put your APN manually" QUOTE(deathbringer @ Aug 8 2010, 12:01 PM) hmmm...but on mine, after a while, the "H" icon on top would disappear. then i would have to go to Settings menu again to reconnect. Maybe problem with the APN? Try removing it and use the one at #1 post, not sure if that would help |
Aug 9 2010, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Aug 9 2010, 01:19 AM) I find the battery life slightly improved (not more than 20%), without visible impact on performance (unless you want to run Quadrant test - which I get 1060 max for battery save ROM and 1360 max for normal version). I think battery somehow sustains better when you are in standby mode (drop only around 1-2% per hours if you leave it standby without using)LuffyPSP (and other XDA forumers) seemed to claim that 4.0 drains much faster than 3.4, but I can't tell the difference since I only used 3.4 for half a day QUOTE(Sampah @ Aug 9 2010, 02:57 AM) To every sifu,brother and friends here; If you want an everyday phone, you can stay on with the stock version and it is still a desirable phone to use! It's probably not as cool as an iPhone, but going forward you get more free apps, and it's more customizable. And sometimes it's good to be low profile Ima very attracted wif this HTC Desire in comparison wif Iphone or any other in current market. but the thing is..... I catch no ball regardin Desire or any android phone. I hv no idea about the apps and stuff, or the foryo,firmware ,root,kernel...whatever it is... but deep in my heart and head... there are this voice keep buggin me to get one!! Everyone..please enlighten me..regardin this Desire... what so GOODING about it.Why should I get em. Thx and advise please. Read the first post if you want to know more information, and welcome to the Android world! QUOTE(kingtang @ Aug 9 2010, 03:20 AM) Can anyone teach me how to flash the LeeDriod using Rom Manager. I tried but after selecting the zip file the process aborted. Pls help.... If ROM Manager doesn't work, do the manual way (rebooting to Clockwork Mod and flash the zip) then. I find ROM Manager rather buggy and avoid using it for the time beingAdded on August 9, 2010, 7:41 am QUOTE(pandazhun @ Aug 9 2010, 01:49 AM) HI thr pals, - I think the RM50+RM58 package from Maxis is quite fair (if you do indeed make some calls every month and use not more than 500MB)I'm planning to get a HTC desire. just wondering which wil be the best way to get 1, get an AP set or Ori, considering Maxis promo but their data plan is quite expensive, 1 more question is do u tink if I get the Iphone rm90 package from Digi and then sell the sell the Iphone then I get a new AP desire for Rm1800 will the digi sim card still can be used in my desire? and also If i use the sim card with my broadband modem will I be able to online with my laptop using the phone sim card? disadvantages of an AP set will be? if I wait until december only get desire will it be readilly installed with Gingerbread? - With the tethering options available on Desire (cable and portable WiFi), you don't need to use the broadband modem on your simcard - Seriously, we are not sure whether Gingerbread is available for Desire or not. I have a feeling probably it won't come (knowing HTC..hmmm). But of course Custom ROMs are abundant and if you don't mind rooting and flashing you won't really have to worry about that. HTC Desire hardware will be good enough for Gingerbread This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 9 2010, 07:44 AM |
Aug 9 2010, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(chding @ Aug 9 2010, 08:48 AM) Seems like Neo recommended a wipe for the lock screen thingyI would do it just to be safe (and wondering if I should flash back to 32.42.00.32U_5.09.00.08 radio since Neo claimed it would save more battery) This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 9 2010, 09:02 AM |
Aug 9 2010, 09:04 AM
Aug 9 2010, 09:07 AM
Aug 9 2010, 09:13 AM
Aug 9 2010, 10:09 AM
Having problem with Maxis in my area now... can't download Titanium backup from Market -.-
Aug 9 2010, 11:02 AM
Flashed and running great
Quadrant score is 1388... Using the older radio for better battery life (5.09.00.08) |
Aug 9 2010, 11:57 AM
Aug 9 2010, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 9 2010, 12:05 PM) Guys how do i create the ext3 partition? i want to use AP2SD+..just received my 16GB mSD card but damn its class 2... You can create it in the recovery menu (Clockwork mod for your case I assume?) - do a full SD card backup first because it will format your card, for your case maybe no need since it's new cardIf I'm not mistaken the max you can partition is 512MB (or 768) only This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 9 2010, 12:07 PM |
Aug 9 2010, 12:41 PM
Aug 9 2010, 12:49 PM
Now Neophyte NextSense 5.0 ROM has save batt version as well!
Aug 9 2010, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(menghua84 @ Aug 9 2010, 11:02 AM) got the default android lockscreen after flash with no wipe... flashed the transparent lockscreen still getting the same default one.. Default Android lockscreen no good? I like it cos can adjust volume and see battery % while charging, but it's difficult to slide to unlock thoughQUOTE(akachester @ Aug 9 2010, 11:05 AM) Apparently the bump charge didnt exactly work for me I'm going all out - by downloading underclocked ROM, flashing to 5.09.00.08 radio and bump charging. Hopefully I can get better battery lifeQUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 9 2010, 12:52 PM) Yeah, downloading it |
Aug 9 2010, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Aug 9 2010, 01:38 PM) @samurai, do report on ver5.0 with older radio Will do... running the nextsense 5.0 batt save version now (the lockscreen is back to the one in 4.0) the Quadrant score is 1060 (as opposed to 1360 for normal version) - hopefully it gives me some battery juice enough for two daysjust downloaded ver4.0 this morning and now got 5.0 QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 9 2010, 01:45 PM) @bold : Almost none ? Come to think about it. I can use "Mod Install Location" to move to my 16gb card without anypartition but of course a little bytes will be in phone. Imagine 16gb, how many apps I can store already A2SD+ still uses a bit of phone memory I think, but not muchAnd trust me, you wouldn't need >100 applications at a time Added on August 9, 2010, 2:45 pm QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 9 2010, 01:58 PM) Nah, it's easier than you thoughtI also flashed AmonRA recovery using Unrevoked... just an extra step This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 9 2010, 02:45 PM |
Aug 9 2010, 03:21 PM
Ah...I thought I flashed the NextSense 5.0 SB (save battery) version just now but in fact it was 4.0 (chose a wrong zip file to flash
Good review tripplexpresso - according to Neo the reason for slow bootup of SB version is because: "Because i should to put an sleep of 60 segs to change frequency, because it don't works if i didn't put sleep tan at less 40-50 segs, because the module spends time to insert, and i think it's for this don't works directly" This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 9 2010, 03:22 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0219sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:00 AM |