Tech Support Latency Issue for CoolUniPack (Problem Solving), CoolUniPack users are affected (SOLVED!)

TSoec88
post Jul 30 2010, 09:14 AM, updated 16y ago

385 posts

Until today I only realize that the stupid CoolUniPack have something wrong in their server. Let me tell out my experience in the past and now.

Previously was using RM88 1MB package under my father name, together with his RM26 monthly charge TM Homeline. Everything was running smooth, no packet loss, no disconnection, an IP address can at least hold for 2 weeks and above, no latency issue and others. As long as it was never disappointed me at all.

Until the day I terminate my father's account and I apply a new TM Homeline under my name, and also apply for CoolUniPack 1MB package for only RM65 per month, TM Homeline monthly charge not required if I am not mistaken. Last week I already realize when I play local Counter-Strike server, until yesterday night I observe the whole night and I realize that 9PM onwards, the latency of my connection to the local servers and DNS server jump up from "<50ms" to ">300ms" which is very unacceptable.

I've made many calls to 100 technical assistance, they keep asking me to do the bandwidth test. Bandwidth test is just fine, I can get 1.1Mbps download speed and above anytime but local server ping ">300ms" and how I going to play local server games and surf net? Until the 3rd person I talked to only can understand what is so called "latency" and "bandwidth speed", and what is the difference between them.

One thing is they use different server for CoolUniPack student. My father's Streamyx can get 115, 118, 60.49 and 60.51 IP address. For my new Streamyx account, I only able to get 60.48, 60.49, 60.50, 60.51, 60.52 and 60.53 IP address. All these IP address are fine for me because 60.48 and 60.49 are the best among all. The problem that I or we encounter is the latency issue.

To all CoolUniPack student, kindly check out your connection at night and post your result here. Every night 9PM onwards, try to observe your connection by pinging those IP address below:

ping 202.188.0.132
ping 202.188.0.133
ping forum.lowyat.net
ping www.tm.net.my
ping www.streamyx.com

All the addresses listed above, I always get ">300ms" latency 9PM onwards, then after 1AM it will back to normal which is below "<30ms". This is really annoying and unacceptable, I can't play games or surf web properly during night time. It is so regret that I go for CoolUniPack because of the attractive and cheap package offered. Now I learn one thing, quality service doesn't comes with cheap offer. I warn to everybody that please don't fall into TM Net or Streamyx trap, this is how they maintain their sales service and quality.

Added on July 30, 2010, 9:19 amBefore I post this statement, I did research with my friend yesterday night during the latency problem session. He is using 4MB CoolUniPack package, and we do the same test yesterday night through phone, he also got the same result as mine. But his ping to DNS server was just below 120ms, the rest of the address that listed above also getting ">300ms".

Another friend of mine who stay quite far away from us, using 1MB CoolUniPack package, also having this kind of problem. According to him, 8:30PM onwards can feel the lag or slow down connection, every night. Before that, no such problem happening.

This post has been edited by oec88: Sep 29 2010, 11:25 PM
TSoec88
post Jul 30 2010, 09:57 AM

385 posts

What they telling from then phone is because of "heavy traffic" during night session. That is so impossible, I won't get cheated by them so easily. Last time also heavy traffic but I don't see I get high latency in between local servers and DNS server. If international website slow is still okay because they are far away from us, the problem is even local also ping ">300ms".
TSoec88
post Jul 31 2010, 01:59 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jul 30 2010, 09:31 PM)
Pinjam account from friend who's on normal package and see if there's a difference.
If there's no difference then it's a port issue.
My cousin just stay about 4 houses away from me, same street. When I facing the problem, I ask them immediately ping those websites and addresses. Their result is "<30ms" while mine is ">300ms".

So, it's port and their server problem.
TSoec88
post Jul 31 2010, 10:03 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jul 31 2010, 02:10 AM)
there is another thing, same area, even same house, 2 phone line or more, doesnt mean all of it would go to the same dslam, if yr area is under remote dslam, then it should be the same, if yr area is linked to local exchanges dslam, since alot of dslam is there, yr line would go to any port/dslam they plug u into.
For my area, I did research a lot about the DSLAM. My area got no DSLAM, it's Ayer Itam in Penang, near Bukit Bendera area. All residential phone and internet connection are connected to Kampung Pisang's TM center, we have our own "big" DSLAM at there, but 4Mbps not supported in my area due to long distance and low SNR margin.

My previous package got no problem at all. After switch to this stupid CoolUniPack, IP range also difference and more problems.
TSoec88
post Jul 31 2010, 02:32 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(KAHAK @ Jul 31 2010, 10:44 AM)
use international DNS like the BEST is google:-

or use SG DNS cause faster(SG full fibre Optic)
or go use Thailand DNS cause more stable since Copper +copper(streamyx) thailand copper Broadband 25MB so u be fast as 100% as u can like me i use 8.8.8.8 for online gaming!
How to change the DNS server? I'm not sure is it whether DNS problem or what because I'm not only having problem with DNS after 9PM, it's affecting all the local servers and international servers.

Added on September 29, 2010, 11:25 pmUPDATE:

I would say, complain CFM is super perfect. I complain on Sunday, immediately on Monday TM Net staff call me from KL, asked for more details of my problem. Today morning, TM Net staff from Penang call me and ask for observing connection at 10:00PM.

At 10:53PM he call me up and change the port immediately, everything back to normal! High speed at low cost RM68 per month!

Now I am back to a happy Streamyx user, credit to CFM!

This post has been edited by oec88: Sep 29 2010, 11:25 PM

0.0181sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:10 PM