Starcraft 2 : Achievement Thread

goldfries
post Aug 10 2010, 03:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

my achievement score was below 700 i think, but i got into achievement crazy mode and now 1.1k+ biggrin.gif

i found out that if you beat Insane AI in custom match requirements, you automatically get levelled for V.Hard, Hard and Medium as well.

say if you do Blitz for Insane AI, you get the rest. finish 10 custom games with Insane AI, the other 3 will be auto achieved.
goldfries
post Aug 11 2010, 03:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh, i do find that one tough too. thanks for the pointers, will try it out some day.

the one on the upper right is tough. even on normal mode it's more heavily defended.

btw yay! 1.3k++ now. just doing it for fun. it's the hard mode challenges that i'm not likely to do unless I'm bored. finished the game hard mode, so would prefer to have a breather before going back in. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Aug 11 2010, 03:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

logically, you should just be holding ground. probably send some hellions or banshee to destroy probes each time they attempt.
goldfries
post Aug 11 2010, 07:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Aug 11 2010, 08:38 AM)
I went to the hatcheries south-west personally, not so defended.

There are 3 there, I killed them (do not kill all the drones), moved back a bit, waited 30 seconds and move back in, they are rebuilding one hatchery, destroyed it when it was still under construction and got achievement.

It took me 3-4 tries to get my timing and economy start setup but it's not impossible smile.gif
If you doing it for achievement, screw the initial base and bring all your troops with you.
this was the most helpful tip.

i could finish the 3 on the left but the 4th on on the right is damn tough.

biggrin.gif with this, i just finished off it easily.

Added on August 11, 2010, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 11 2010, 07:44 PM)
@fries hehe the helions worked! those far-far away ones i just sent 4 helions to suicide on the probe. the most annoying part is that when the 'toss have a mass of units around, it's hard to right click on the small probe ...
going to play that mission again now. biggrin.gif btw i just realize banshees not available that time.

Added on August 11, 2010, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(narf03 @ Aug 11 2010, 01:59 AM)
no that is not, i able to destroy all, try again, when the game start, add more scv with harvesting, withdraw and sell of your outer bunkers, just defend on higher ground, , create another bunker there.

Got benefits at higher ground, only 1 entrance and they cant attack until they see you. so defending wise will be alot easier, mass produce marines and supply depots, you should know that by pressing the shift key u can order scv to queue building, set hot keys(ie ctrl-9) on all barracks, always remember to watch your unit count and keep supply depots up. use hot keys to train marines. also upgrades for marines are very important, even its only level 1.

after rescue 2nd batch of soldiers, you should have enough fire power to start attack them, start with top left base, keep making marines with hot key, dont spend too much time on your base, micro management is very important. when only front few marines capable to shooting at target and blocked others, move them all in front b4 start shooting, might lose some marines but save you alot of time.

Do not think you have 20 mins, the last few mins cant count cause there are plenty of zerg ejecting out, if you just want to achieve 4 hatcheries, just do top left and the left 1, top right 1 is much harder, 2 hatcheries each side.
what i did was i didn't bother rescuing the other 2 stranded marines.

i just build up. 4 bunkers on each entrance. spam 4 barracks. if possible, get them to do simultaneous production.

spam kau kau.

at around 5 - 7 minutes timer left, you should have sufficient marines and a few medics to bring along.

the key point is the attack. charge into the base, then run out immediately. this will draw the forces out, keeping you away from those pesky tentacles. then go back in, finish tentacles one at a time.

keep in mind to use HOLD button when possible, to avoid straying units.
goldfries
post Aug 14 2010, 01:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

finally breached 1.5k points. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Aug 16 2010, 01:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

done quite a number of the HARD MODE achievements.

i find it's easier to do them when you have most of your upgrades done, eg like you're reaching towards the end of your campaign or when it's already over.

nevertheless i accomplished a number of the hard mode achievements during my 1st time playing campaign (played hard mode) or in my 2nd round of playing where i didn't upgrade anything cos saving credits to do other achievements. tongue.gif

it was do-able because already played the mission and more familiar with the units, plus the warm up time already over. so even without the upgrades, things are still going better.
goldfries
post Aug 16 2010, 02:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh, going by the build order - looks like Cannon Rush again. tongue.gif no need download video. can see.
goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 12:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

been trying vs 2 Insane AI. beat 1 AI but not the other. i think i spam cannon too slow. smile.gif
goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 01:39 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'm on Discord IV leh. i lowered them to Very Hard and got through 1st try. smile.gif
goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 09:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Aug 17 2010, 04:08 AM)
did few more games on insane, its quite easy using the trick on terran especially you know their pattern. got ~200+ achievement points from there =P

i noticed after u drop a cannon, the marine will attack that cannon, but then drop a pylon closer to them, they will attack the pylon, then u drop another cannon nearer again where they will attack this nearer cannon, then the 1st cannon completed, they move away after die trying to kill it, then i continue to drop pylon and cannon. within few drops, im attacking their scv mining operation d, fastest 1v1 insane like 4 mins, fastest 2v2 insane 5min17sec =P
ehh, i can wipe off 1st Insane AI but the 2nd one usually have units that overwhelm my cannons. i have no chance to view flix replay yet.

my fastest 1 v 1 insane was a little less than 3min 15 seconds or something. biggrin.gif i think my problem on 1 vs 2 is the expansion. still figuring out.
goldfries
post Aug 17 2010, 01:51 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh i say i have no chance. biggrin.gif certainly will view it when i can.
goldfries
post Aug 19 2010, 02:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, maw the void wan damn tedious.
goldfries
post Aug 20 2010, 12:06 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

confirm building not included. you can't move your refinery and merc structure.

Added on August 20, 2010, 12:06 am(oh btw, i don't see how anyone's unit can die in the fire la. tongue.gif even in hard mode)
goldfries
post Aug 20 2010, 12:39 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i didn't use mule. i just send some fast unit over. or if not, you can clear out those areas around first, then use viking or something. go land.
goldfries
post Aug 21 2010, 11:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

aihh sien. Maw the Void mission ahhh, really tedious to play and some how end up losing 2 units in the void. ALWAYS! i also donno why. aihhh. quite lazy to replay.
goldfries
post Aug 22 2010, 11:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh yeah obviously i know have to micro la. that's why i say tedious. i'm just curious how it says i lost 2 units when i've been very meticulous. tongue.gif

got a few more hard mode achievement to try out.
goldfries
post Aug 23 2010, 05:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

speed too? is that the one hitting 4 cores wan ah? in shatter the sky mission? i did mine in 28. still 3 minutes short. biggrin.gif

1 shot fifty kills is quite easy, i got it in a few tries. that mission has 3 parts. just pass the 1st part, then reach 2nd part is where you can get it done. just need to mass up the zombies.

infested marine will shoot you from far. so you go right up in front of them. then shoot! but try not to shoot straight. i think shoot slightly downwards (angled) would cover more units, that's how i got the kills.
goldfries
post Aug 24 2010, 12:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, that's the plan. unfortunately there's no timer in game, so i termissed by so much. i also got 3 starport but mistake would be (i think) i waiting too many banshees.

my earlier attempt was 29 mins. biggrin.gif 2nd time i aim for some expansion.

gonna try again.
goldfries
post Aug 24 2010, 02:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i tried out both, my not-so-expert skill also can mange to reach 98.9% on ALL IN in Hard Mode vs Nydus.

I tried the one against air units, till now i haven't the chance to reach even 80%. Either that or I'm not trying hard enough. tongue.gif

ahh well. will try again some other time.
goldfries
post Aug 25 2010, 04:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i choose colo over carrier cos i like the fella to just stand there and burn everything. biggrin.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.62    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:14 AM