Body building for women, Ladies lifts too =D

LadyVanity
post Jul 31 2010, 12:39 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(tehhijau @ Jul 30 2010, 12:59 AM)
Need tips from all them massive big guys/girls here DX

Im 21, 162cm, and weight about 57 kg, and I am dying to burn some extra fats at my bum that is making my bottom look huge.
My upper body is tiny but its my lower that makes me look utterly huge is some sort of way XD

I am planning to build up muslces too, but I need to ask what are your basic routine? My diet is going well that I lost 3kg in a week because of burst cardio and is trying to build mass on the upper body.

This is my meal everyday.

Breakfast : Fitness cereal + 2egg half boiled + Protein shake
Lunch : Rice +chicken + fish + fruits
Tea : Green Tea + Whole grain bread
Night : Normal family dinner (mostly, meat dinner) + protein shake
(body building wimmen ftw  flex.gif )
babes, REAL WOMEN LIFT!! rclxms.gif welcome to the club!
no worries. its normal... we women are biologically designed and inclined to put fat on the lower belly and hips to protect the uterus and prepare for childbearing. we have wider hips and bums than men for this reason as well.

personally... i train one bodypart a day, once a week. not much cardio on manteinance phase - no more than 2 or 3 times a week... but on a cut i do cardio everyday.
LadyVanity
post Aug 1 2010, 09:39 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jul 31 2010, 01:06 PM)
since you are building upper part, do upper body exercises more like ...
chest: bench press, flys, wider dips
Back: dumbell rows, pull down, seated rows
Shoulder: raises, presses
Bicep: curl
Tricep: tricep push down, barbell barbell extension

and do some lower body exercises for strength (4-6 reps) like squat, leg curl and extension. and you can build your calf if you want. do calf raise (15-20 reps).
personal insight biggrin.gif -

when we lose weight n lift weights... like it or not we as women will lose breast tissue cos thats all fat. if you dont mind then its fine... but if it is as issue stay away from flat/decline bench work. always start with the incline bench. i never benchpress in my regular routine cos it made my chest deflate faster than a popped balloon. so it's all dumbell work for chest. i only bench occasionally for strength purposes.

arms - you will benefit more from doing big, compound exercises opposed to isolation work. try to incorporate chin ups, pull ups, close-grip benchpress and tricep dips into your arm routine.

LadyVanity
post Aug 3 2010, 12:40 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Aug 2 2010, 04:27 PM)
no wonder my boobs are shrinking sleep.gif"

my workplace "gym" only has a flat bench and dumbells available only in 3kgs (seems light) and 6kgs (too heavy) .. are flys the only thing i can do ?
im trying to get shrink the extra flesh (?) around the chest near the armpit ... should i be aiming to workout my chest, shoulders or just cardio ?
4rings is right re spot reduction... the only way to lose "extra flesh" or fats from wherever you want it is to d cardio and watch ur diet. chest/arm workouts will only tone the muscles, but if theres a thick layer of fat covering you're not gonna see any "tone" at all no matter how many curls/presses you do!

but i have very adamant views regarding chest training for myself... ive tried practially every suggestion out there in desperate attempts to keep my boobies - not training at all... no more than 2 exercises... pressing exercises only.... no cardio on chest day... etc etc etc... been there done that. so i guess ive found a routine i can finally stick to and be content with. i do lots of incline work to "boost" up the chest area and to give the impression of a higher bustline. im not gonna say 4rings suggestion of flat benching is wrong... but personally it didnt work for me and i kept more "meat" on my chest area doing just incline work and several cable and machine movements. i do heavy pullovers.. but ive been told that cos it expands the ribcage (??) and widens the chest... the fat of the breasts becomes stretched even more over a wider area... becoming more flat.

but end of the day if you want something you gotta sacrifice something else, kan =/ sadness....

Added on August 3, 2010, 12:54 am
QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 3 2010, 12:32 AM)
ok i am a guy, and my man boobs havent shrink sad.gif

i want them to go away with my belly fats !!
imo men and women hv different bodies, different composition, tendencies to put on fat in different areas and different hormone levels.... hence training needs to be different too here and there cos the bodies respond differently.

i dono bout guys... but the NUMBER ONE boob shrinker = decline benchpress.
evil evil evil!! will never do another decline bench all my life!

not fair right... decline benching gives guys nice, sag-free and well shaped pecs... but not so for girls.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by LadyVanity: Aug 3 2010, 12:54 AM
LadyVanity
post Aug 3 2010, 05:14 PM

249 posts

tehhijau - eh? how u know i cosplay pulak? XD

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Aug 3 2010, 11:48 AM)
i used to run between 5-8k daily until i was forced to stop due to a knee injury .. so i've dropped my morning runs and the weight has come back on.. haihh ...i keep up with my weight training 2-3 times a week .. full body WO with dumbells and free weights (no machines over here) but im wondering if im wasting my time with weights since ive had to drop most of my running .. right now looking to drop body fat .. replaced running with that eliptical machine but its no replacement for my sprints sad.gif

would skipping be any better ?

tried IF-ing which my friend used successfully but it doensnt agree with me .. so i guess im back to low carb

on another note .. does it ever offend you when you step into one of those public gyms and a guy hands you a 1 kg dumbell and tells you "girls shouldnt be lifting?"
IF?? Intermittent fasting?? if thats what it is... my god i can never fast... im hungry 24-7 and NEED to eat every 1-2 hours. i think fasting slows ur metabolism too and increases the tendency to store fat... a definite no-no.

i used to get alot of funny stares and stuff going into a gym. ive always trained at a hardcore gym even frm the beginning so it was strange being the only gal. i got alot of negativity frm my family members actually whn i first started out, more so than ppl in the gym. i also mostly hang out with bodybuilders anyways... my friends all compete so i feel perfectly at home with the guys. guess right now the most annoying thing im faced with is that kaypoh aunties or even random unknown women who hv just met me the first time... like to comment abt how big my arms are n ask me "you not scared ugly ah?" or "you will regret u know after u get married"........ etc etc etc.... ZZZzzzzz.

on the other hand... when the salesppl at big commercial gyms try to chat me up and ask me what my "weight loss goals" are... the reactions i get when i say "can you help me put on 10kg ah?" never fail to amuse me. tongue.gif

Added on August 3, 2010, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 3 2010, 12:16 PM)
I started including decline to my chest workout and still big though lol~ just that I skipped cardio cause not enough time for workout, gotta rush for class.
Most girls I know thinks that bodybuilding is very UGLY and for girls is EWWWWWW! Watch the video

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=...82980444&ref=mf
bodybuilding? ugly? lol i think there r a shortage of bodybuilding men here!! picking are very slim for me, hey!
hehehehehe

This post has been edited by LadyVanity: Aug 3 2010, 05:16 PM
LadyVanity
post Aug 4 2010, 12:45 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Aug 3 2010, 11:20 PM)
yeah .. intermittent fasting .. might have worked for her but was completely horrible for me...i usually take a short run in the morning, either on empty stomach or just some milk and then have a light bfast after ... and the more i run the hungrier i get so i usually nibble during the day... IF-ing meant skipping bfast and eating between 12PM to 6PM ... IMPOSSIBLE...i might be able to to a light run on a mostly empty stomach but its not possible to lift without eating .. and i spend most of the morning tired, lethargic and lightheaded ... not productive at all .. plus i ended up with all sorts of wild cravings

the most effective way for me to drop body fat was to add on sprints after my workout ... used to do it when i was gym-ming regularly, but its kinda hard to sprint when you're running tepi jalan .. too many obstacles, dang

im now in a small town .. kind of ulu and no proper gym so have to make do la .. but its kinda annoying when im loading up my bar to have guys come up to me and tell me "its too heavy, better you dont do" or " come i teach you" - then give me 1kg DB and show me how to do bicep curls .. ive had people tell me running makes your legs bigger, not feminine la bla bla ..

i used to swim competitively so i got broad shoulders .. im trying to get that triangle bit between the shoulders and chest (dont know what muscle it is), what kind of exercises should i be looking at  to build it ?
everyone's body is different.... smile.gif glad that u have found something thats more realistic for you to stick to!
(skipping breakfast.... oh my. breakfast is the most important meal of the day cos it kickstarts your metabolism.)

great that you can do sprints! i used to do lotsa HIIT training and moderate-high intensity cardio. saves time cos i dont have to stick my ass on the treadmill for so long.... but for me i get crazy cravings doing HIIT. so it's long, slow cardio these days.... ZZZzzzzz. sad.gif i hate cardio.

and yes, like chicaman suggests, shrugs are great trap builders

p/s: OOT... but im eyeing one of your pretty dresses on your sales thread........... eheheheheh...... tongue.gif old habits die hard...... wub.gif

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:52 am
QUOTE(tehhijau @ Aug 3 2010, 10:46 PM)
Listen carefully. The bar sounds like plastic. YOU HAS BEEN TROLLED. -runs-
aiyah no need shy lah, we sportswoman oso wanna see progress. =D
I AM STALKERRRRR. No lah I saw you last year at hotlink doing watchman and yeah many in my cosplay community knows you.

Actually, my gym, is paling jakun one. Cus I, MAYYYBE. the only girl body building there, so when they saw a women, means, me... did a 20 lbs bench press, you can see every jaw of theirs dropped. but I got along and influenced a few tomboys to join my league.

As I got along, I befriended with a goddamn afrotastic former Iranian military guy who is a student there and we share experiences. Thus he thought me alot. Now I am confident to build myself moarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...

4 weeks progress.

[attachmentid=1708096]
Fasting month coming~ -reschedule diet and gym time-
ahahaha really!
well im taking a break frm cosplaying and modelling already... might even retire completely. im so sick of photogs telling me im too big... too muscular.. need to stop lifting weights if i wanna be successful.... BLEARGH. sorry boys. bodybuilding is number one priority... so, byyeeee im not gonna ruin your sexy shoots anymore~

good luck for fasting month!! gotta be tough... i cant imagine going thru it... really salute all my malay friends who go thru it every year

This post has been edited by LadyVanity: Aug 4 2010, 12:52 AM
LadyVanity
post Aug 29 2010, 02:27 PM

249 posts

is this thread dead? sad.gif
LadyVanity
post Sep 24 2010, 05:27 PM

249 posts

HAHAHAH great add, Bata!!

we should create a fanclub for squat booties... like the Squat Booty Sorority on the bb.com forums tongue.gif keehehehe. say no to skinny asses!
LadyVanity
post Sep 24 2010, 07:52 PM

249 posts

holy shizz that looks insane!!
but likely that i wont be attempting that anytime in near future.... i come from a gym where im the only female in a testosterone-jacked environment. any "hip thrusting" is going to get me even more stares and snickering comments than i already do...
for now will stick to my SLDLs, sumo squats and lunges, thanks smile.gif (and reverse hamstring curls when nobody's looking!)

This post has been edited by LadyVanity: Sep 24 2010, 07:53 PM
LadyVanity
post Sep 28 2010, 05:10 PM

249 posts

you go Kegels during squats/DLs/presses???? huh? wow thats a first ive heard. i dont do that.... i just suck in my abs as far as "core stability" goes.... i dont think Kegels would do much for core stability to be honest smile.gif

what i do know is that Kegels help with incontinence and improving vaginal tone... especially after pregnancy since the muscles down there have gotten stretched and "loose".... besides u dont hv to contract ur abs to do Kegels. as a matter of fact ive read that its "wrong" cos it takes the focus off the pelvic floor... sometimes miss working them all together cos ur so focused on "contracting the abs".

then again i could be mistaken tongue.gif just my two cents worth
LadyVanity
post Sep 28 2010, 08:22 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 28 2010, 06:49 PM)
I did it cause it helped me not to pee in my pants if I go too heavy sweat.gif Prolly cause last time my workouts were mostly low reps (3-5reps), heavy weight since I was training mainly for strength and explosiveness. Altho I do think one of the reason I did it was ignorance - nobody actually talks about this out loud since we dont hv many female lifters around here. I just did what felt 'right'.

I havent been lifting for months now - currently 4kg off my pre-preggers weight. Should be able to shed off the extra jiggly bits in no time biggrin.gif Cant wait!
good luck!!! i have all the respect in the world for fit mommies. so sad when women give birth and say goodbye to working out and eating right too under the excuse of "no time".
LadyVanity
post Sep 29 2010, 10:32 AM

249 posts

good morning ladies! biggrin.gif

hows this for a spot of motivation?

hit that squat rack today!! flex.gif

0.0249sec    2.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:06 PM