> Reader's Digest Contest, eligible to win cash of rm25ok

TSfiqz4ce
post Jul 29 2010, 06:48 PM, updated 16y ago

618 posts

hey2.. anyone received letter from reader's digest??

they said im eligible to win some cash.. grrrr.. 250k.. woot2,,

but i need to subscribe to reader's digest.. rm148 for 12 monthly issues.. by subscribing, i can get free watch.. percarlo d alessio..

they said the contest by invitation only.. and only top 2% received the chance.. anyone else?

im just too curious, is it a scam or whaat???

tq..
stupiak07
post Jul 29 2010, 06:49 PM

397 posts

every ambank customer received it
shinnosuke
post Jul 29 2010, 06:49 PM

who are you?
1,997 posts

it's a legal scam
a13solut3
post Jul 29 2010, 06:51 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,758 posts

their reader digest magazine is good, but their way of advertising is horrible, spamming ur mailbox with all this rubbish without the choice to opt out.
xavi5567
post Jul 29 2010, 06:52 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jul 29 2010, 06:48 PM)
hey2.. anyone received letter from reader's digest??

they said im eligible to win some cash.. grrrr.. 250k.. woot2,,

but i need to subscribe to reader's digest.. rm148 for 12 monthly issues.. by subscribing, i can get free watch.. percarlo d alessio..

they said the contest by invitation only.. and only top 2% received the chance.. anyone else?

im just too curious, is it a scam or whaat???

tq..
saya pun dpt.. u only 250k ? so little?
symmetrical_bear
post Jul 29 2010, 06:54 PM

60 posts

my dad subscribed. and he really gets that watch and bla bla bla for free lor. dunno about the contest thing though..
PyOsE
post Jul 29 2010, 06:57 PM

1,661 posts

dont subscribe...every month they keep telling u some cash...but in the end nothing...i kena before...

and regarding the subscribe to reader's digest for 12 month, after the 12 month ends, they silently continue potong your credit card for another 12 month..
Balaclava
post Jul 29 2010, 07:13 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

A legal scam it is.
TSfiqz4ce
post Jul 29 2010, 07:16 PM

618 posts

ooo yeahh..
thx for telling..
i've seen this kind of advertising before.. but not sure under what company..

to xavi. LOL. im typing this post in hurry, so just put any number that in my mind.. 250k.. hoho,, actually a lot more leh..

pgsiemkia
post Jul 29 2010, 07:28 PM

473 posts

U kena scammed, later will say you are top 20, buy their books to have better chance, then top ten, buy some more books, top five, top 3 then....quiet. In the end you already paid more than RM500 to buy their worthless stuff. Oh yes, they send out this type of mail to thousands of people, as long as 10-20% people actually answer and buy their books, enough to cover their expenses.

Imagine if more than 20% actually send them money...ha!ha!

ahSiang
post Sep 2 2010, 06:01 PM

191 posts

i received it in Jan 2010 when i'm Ambank Credit Card user,

and received again and said i'm Maybank CC user..both r 250k.LOL..
JinXXX
post Sep 2 2010, 06:25 PM

2,516 posts

so the banks are actually selling them our details ???

thats invasion of privacy weiiiii
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 2 2010, 06:28 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

rm25 ok? tak ok la
Sampah
post Sep 2 2010, 06:40 PM

156 posts

woOOooOOaahh so many lucky peepz !!
I had one too biggrin.gif
singdreams
post Sep 7 2010, 04:45 PM

Dead
1,364 posts

LOL i got 1 and a unknown key, should i go to headquater there and get the full details ? For sure i won't pay anything
adren1
post Sep 7 2010, 04:46 PM

137 posts

I received it also, they send me a fake car key
LOL
erry-
post Oct 7 2010, 04:37 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:51 PM)
their reader digest magazine is good, but their way of advertising is horrible, spamming ur mailbox with all this rubbish without the choice to opt out.

agree! thumbup.gif

GaYoon
post Nov 14 2010, 10:07 PM

71 posts

I received a letter from reader's digest too saying that I stand a chance to win rm250k++ bla..bla..bla......and I also have a chance to win a civic car. rclxms.gif
I was surprise that reader's digest would send me this kind of thing so the first thing that comes into my mind is: SCAM!!!
I thought these contests were fake and looked up the official website and found out they are really having these contest.
http://www.rdasia.com.my/AboutOfficialSuperContest
I decide to join these contest as I see no harm in it although I know the chances of winning is super low. I don't have to pay a single cent.
owikh84
post Nov 14 2010, 10:52 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

turn left, buang the letter.
I got this and subscribed 1 year mag last time
mphatd
post Dec 14 2011, 09:20 AM

22 posts

Reader’s Digest Fails to Award Prize to M’sian Contest Winner

JOHOR BARU, 5 JULY, 2011: A technician's hopes of going on a free trip to Europe after winning a Reader's Digest competition were dashed when the magazine failed to award him the prize.

Zul Iskandar Kasan, 30, claimed he bought RM7,500 worth of books and CDs from the company as a requirement to enter the competition.

“I received a letter from the magazine along with a catalogue asking me to order some of the items to win attractive prizes, including an all-expenses paid trip to Europe.

“I was lured by the attractive prizes and I bought the books and CDs to win them,” he told the Consumer Claims Tribunal here.

Zul Iskandar said he received several letters informing him that he had won a travel package to Europe, more than RM100,000 cash and other prizes.

“When I did not see my name printed in the magazine's winners' list, I tried calling them a few times demanding an explanation,” he said.

Tribunal president Siti Naaishah Hambali ordered Reader's Digest to refund RM6,600 to Zul Iskandar within 14 days of the award being served on Reader's Digest in Kuala Lumpur.

3 Pages  1 2 3 >

0.0184sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:43 AM