GOING TO BUY HOME THEATER SYSTEM, NEED OPINION

TSshankar_dass93
post Jul 29 2010, 02:20 PM, updated 16y ago

2,955 posts

Gretings guys,
I am currently planning to get a blu ray home theater system.
i currently found this model and am having an eye on it

http://www.sony.com.my/product/bdv-e970w

is it worth to buy this or are there any better one"s by other brands like panasonic, pioneer etc...........
Skylinestar
post Jul 29 2010, 02:23 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

are you going to hook up many players/equipments to your system in the future? or even plan to upgrade to a better speaker, adding your own subwoofer?
if yor answer is yes, get an AVR instead of HTiB.
azbro
post Jul 29 2010, 03:27 PM

4,403 posts

At RM3,500...you better get a real AVR + a bluray player.
TSshankar_dass93
post Jul 29 2010, 03:30 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 29 2010, 03:27 PM)
At RM3,500...you better get a real AVR + a bluray player.
how much is a decent avr ?
how much will a decent speaker cost ?
i bet it will be close to 10k right ?
whats a good brand
RayKazansky
post Jul 29 2010, 04:22 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:30 PM)
how much is a decent avr ?
how much will a decent speaker cost ?
i bet it will be close to 10k right ?
whats a good brand
You can start with let's say...

- Onkyo 308 / Denon 1610 / Yamaha 465... around RM1.6k
- BD Player with BDlive around RM8xx.00
- Entry level Speaker System around RM1.2k (with active sub)

At least... this peasant setup still sound much better than HTIB.

AZBRO is right, i tried many HTiB... the sound berterabor... LOL. End of the day, just humble opinion.

To other pro users,... sorry for my peasant-type of suggestion. LOL
Skylinestar
post Jul 29 2010, 04:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

if you want it to be cheaper, get yamaha rx-v367 (about RM12XX). let the bd player decode hd audio and send it to the avr through hdmi for amplification.
RayKazansky
post Jul 29 2010, 04:55 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 29 2010, 04:38 PM)
if you want it to be cheaper, get yamaha rx-v367 (about RM12XX). let the bd player decode hd audio and send it to the avr through hdmi for amplification.
I think that one can get 1K... if those smaller shops can clear "365" fast.
azbro
post Jul 29 2010, 04:57 PM

4,403 posts

Actually, the garage sale in LYN got lots stuff ...just recently, someone sold a few new generation Sony AVR + 5.1 speaker at less than RM2K..of course the stocks finish like hot cakes.

And if you look hard enough, PM those guys, you can get a good deal..but dun trust anyone...go and see for yourself first before buying it.
Skylinestar
post Jul 29 2010, 05:07 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jul 29 2010, 04:55 PM)
I think that one can get 1K... if those smaller shops can clear "365" fast.
367 can get less than 1k?
365 HDMI switching only. not repeater.
RayKazansky
post Jul 29 2010, 05:27 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 29 2010, 04:57 PM)
Actually, the garage sale in LYN got lots stuff ...just recently, someone sold a few new generation Sony AVR + 5.1 speaker at less than RM2K..of course the stocks finish like hot cakes.

And if you look hard enough, PM those guys, you can get a good deal..but dun trust anyone...go and see for yourself first before buying it.
Yes... the RM1799.00 classy setup with glossy black finish...

Added on July 29, 2010, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 29 2010, 05:07 PM)
367 can get less than 1k?
365 HDMI switching only. not repeater.
Yes, because once they clear the 365... 367 will take over the pricing of 365. Try checking on smaller AV shops.

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Jul 29 2010, 05:28 PM
azbro
post Jul 29 2010, 05:32 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jul 29 2010, 05:27 PM)
Yes... the RM1799.00 classy setup with glossy black finish...

hehe...there are even better deals around..but higher models...but not much higher price...haha...

koinibler
post Jul 29 2010, 08:21 PM

2,050 posts

LYN selling Onkyo 308 Amp;
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1464330

QUOTE(RayKazansky)

May I know a good replacement for BD Player as I don't think I will buy blu ray disk (at least for now)?
or its a mistake not having one doh.gif
Skylinestar
post Jul 29 2010, 08:37 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

good replacement for BD Player?
what are your current source of movies?
if it's avi/mkv/m2ts...get yourself a HD media player.
if DVD....just stick to your current dvd player if you have one.

but you say you're planning to get a blu ray home theater system. you just wanna future proof yourself?
TSshankar_dass93
post Jul 29 2010, 09:15 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 29 2010, 08:37 PM)

but you say you're planning to get a blu ray home theater system. you just wanna future proof yourself?
a decent av receiver is about rm 3k, right ? wheres the best price to get this av receivers and speakers around kl ?

Added on July 29, 2010, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jul 29 2010, 04:22 PM)
You can start with let's say...

At least... this peasant setup still sound much better than HTIB.

AZBRO is right, i tried many HTiB... the sound berterabor... LOL. End of the day, just humble opinion.

To other pro users,... sorry for my peasant-type of suggestion. LOL
can u pls pm me your contact number if possible, i will like to ask u a few things regarding setting up my ht system

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Jul 29 2010, 09:33 PM
RayKazansky
post Jul 29 2010, 10:59 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jul 29 2010, 08:21 PM)
LYN selling Onkyo 308 Amp;
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1464330

QUOTE(RayKazansky)

May I know a good replacement for BD Player as I don't think I will buy blu ray disk (at least for now)?
or its a mistake not having one doh.gif
If I were you, I would choose Full HD Media Streamers with BD tray. Example:-
1) HDi Dune Prime 3.0
2) Popcorn Hour C-200

For me, BD players can be quite rigid even with BD Live. Just my personal feelings. smile.gif
koinibler
post Jul 29 2010, 11:18 PM

2,050 posts

i guess most of mine is avi/mkv category!
i already got cheapo DVD player! don't think it can decode HD sound.
wonder if onkyo 308 or denon 1610 can decode beside amplify rclxub.gif

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jul 29 2010, 10:59 PM)
If I were you, I would choose Full HD Media Streamers with BD tray. Example:-
1) HDi Dune Prime 3.0
2) Popcorn Hour C-200

For me, BD players can be quite rigid even with BD Live. Just my personal feelings. smile.gif
shocking.gif dune for the expert!
I think i'm more on Xtreamer category unsure.gif

This post has been edited by koinibler: Jul 29 2010, 11:19 PM
Skylinestar
post Jul 29 2010, 11:26 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jul 29 2010, 11:18 PM)
i guess most of mine is avi/mkv category!
i already got cheapo DVD player! don't think it can decode HD sound.
wonder if onkyo 308 or denon 1610 can decode beside amplify  rclxub.gif
shocking.gif dune for the expert!
I think i'm more on Xtreamer category  unsure.gif
onkyo 308 or denon 1610 are AVRs. switching, decode, process and amplify.
HD audio is not a problem. can decode Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio.
but since you're only playing mkv/avi, most of them only AAC/mp3/DD/DTS audio.
azbro
post Jul 29 2010, 11:27 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jul 29 2010, 09:15 PM)
a decent av receiver is about rm 3k, right ? wheres the best price to get this av receivers and speakers around kl ?

Added on July 29, 2010, 9:33 pm
can u pls pm me your contact number if possible, i will like to ask u a few things regarding setting up my ht system
RM3K?...hehe..more like for a decent one is abt RM2K...if you are lucky, can get a Elite one at Rm2K..hehe (AVR only)

I tell you what...hang around first...check out whats available. The reason is once you get to know the latest technology, the right person to contact, and a little luck..you can get an AVR set for worthy than the Rm3.5K Sony HTiB..hehe...learn bro..have confidence

This post has been edited by azbro: Jul 29 2010, 11:28 PM
TSshankar_dass93
post Jul 30 2010, 02:05 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 29 2010, 11:27 PM)
RM3K?...hehe..more like for a decent one is abt RM2K...if you are lucky, can get a Elite one at Rm2K..hehe (AVR only)

I tell you what...hang around first...check out whats available. The reason is once you get to know the latest technology, the right person to contact, and a little luck..you can get an AVR set for worthy than the Rm3.5K Sony HTiB..hehe...learn bro..have confidence
i am not a pro in this ht systems.....lol

btw, whats wrong with Sony HTiB ? the sound is clear right ?

Added on July 30, 2010, 2:09 pm

maybe lol.............. its better to have a blu ray home theater system, right ? watching movies in blu ray is much better then dvd"s lol.

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Jul 30 2010, 02:09 PM
azbro
post Jul 30 2010, 02:14 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jul 30 2010, 02:05 PM)
i am not a pro in this ht systems.....lol

btw, whats wrong with Sony HTiB ?  the sound is clear right ?

Added on July 30, 2010, 2:09 pm
maybe lol.............. its better to have a blu ray home theater system, right ? watching movies in blu ray is much better then dvd"s lol.
Its a HTiB...limited inputs and outputs..I used to thing HTiB are basically noise makers instead of Musical.

Most of us buy Bluray from Amazon.com or Amazon UK..
sonerin
post Jul 30 2010, 02:23 PM

8,740 posts

The Sony HTZ470 had quite few HDMI input for Htib. Might worth considering. Still watching blu ray will be much better with proper AVR and speakers.
TSshankar_dass93
post Jul 30 2010, 08:35 PM

2,955 posts

i might consider getting a sony HT system first and then i will go for a avr somewhere next year once i have joined college. Cause my dad said that we might shift house once i join college. So, i will have to wait and see.
rubrubrub
post Jul 30 2010, 08:38 PM

senor
1,793 posts

oh get a razor mako. it's an all rounder.
koinibler
post Jul 30 2010, 09:08 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Jul 30 2010, 08:38 PM)
oh get a razor mako. it's an all rounder.
I google around, seem that razer mako is an expensive 2.1 speaker more suitable for PC, but its good as 5.1 one!!!

QUOTE(Skylinestar)
onkyo 308 or denon 1610 are AVRs. switching, decode, process and amplify.
HD audio is not a problem. can decode Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio.
but since you're only playing mkv/avi, most of them only AAC/mp3/DD/DTS audio.

don't think its much problem getting BD ISO or m2ts file brows.gif

Another noob q wink.gif , usually when we have AVR, we connect astro through it to the TV right?
Skylinestar
post Jul 30 2010, 10:31 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jul 30 2010, 09:08 PM)
Another noob q wink.gif , usually when we have AVR, we connect astro through it to the TV right?
you can connect it to the tv or;
you can connect it to the AVR (through AVR switching to output to the tv)

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 30 2010, 10:32 PM

0.0196sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:34 AM