Bipole or Monopole for Rear Surround on 5.1 setup, No side wall available for side surround
paskal
Jul 30 2010, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 29 2010, 11:13 PM) Paskal is elite grouplah...he is using 9.1 system... bro i'm not elite lah. elite are those people running higher end denons/onkyos/pioneer elite/marantz with XPA5. i'm just peasant with entry level 5.1 setup. QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 29 2010, 11:23 PM) is klipsch WDST considered combo of direct-radioating and bipole? kindda. it disperse sound in 3 different way.
peter32
Jul 30 2010, 09:09 AM
echoesian, you may fix up wall rack (can get this from Ikea DIY, the one with metal T support can sustain 25kg weight !) and use it to place your right surround. I also used to consider putting my surround at the back wall, but changed my mind half way through the renovation. Now they are at my side but slightly infront of the sitting position, not behind as recommended, but no choice, I ran out of wall on the right hand side as well.  The cabling at the back surround remained, and I will use them in future for possible 7.1 set up.
azbro
Jul 30 2010, 09:26 AM
Well, if you insist of putting the surround speakers at the rear and a bit far off to the wall, the sound is going to be detached from the fronts, not only that, the lower frequency is going to be kinda funny sound as the high frequency will be at the back, and the lower frequency at the front. I'm not guru, but I recommend a more full range speakers on stand at the rear....more like tall boys with multiple drivers like this:  But for me, I'll still stick to the side surround using this:  Goes well with the deco too...and make sure the cables can be detached accidentally when you maid does mopping of the floors or when kids come and start rearranging the house. This post has been edited by azbro: Jul 30 2010, 09:26 AM
TSechoesian
Jul 30 2010, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(peter32 @ Jul 30 2010, 09:09 AM) echoesian, you may fix up wall rack (can get this from Ikea DIY, the one with metal T support can sustain 25kg weight !) and use it to place your right surround. I also used to consider putting my surround at the back wall, but changed my mind half way through the renovation. Now they are at my side but slightly infront of the sitting position, not behind as recommended, but no choice, I ran out of wall on the right hand side as well.  The cabling at the back surround remained, and I will use them in future for possible 7.1 set up. Bro, yeah your side surround is actually resides at more front from the sofa, but how's the sound performance like?
peter32
Jul 30 2010, 01:11 PM
Well, I can still hear the surround effect for sure.. but more like getting used to them coming from the front left and right for now. If u look at the edge of my right wall, its at the edge already. So really I have no choice. If you do have a choice, try to stick to the recommended position as told by earlier post, around 0-30 degree behind your ears. I don't think the effect is that much difference lah.. but psst psst I could be eating sour grapes
TSechoesian
Jul 30 2010, 01:28 PM
In the AVR, is there a setting for left/right surround speaker angle degree?
azbro
Jul 30 2010, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 30 2010, 01:28 PM) In the AVR, is there a setting for left/right surround speaker angle degree? No...basic is Large/Small speakers, Volume, Delay, High/Normal Height, treble/bass,and overall blc.