Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

Dookie
post Sep 13 2012, 01:05 PM

1,066 posts

Yep, tested RT-N53 with several units, i can officially says it does not work with Unifi, yet.

So far, after numerous test, all Asus router starting from RT-N12 and above (with an exception of problematic RT-N13U and RT-N53) perform flawlessly with the latest firmware (loving the 220 firmware for the RT-N16, and N66).

Dookie
post Sep 19 2012, 04:29 PM

1,066 posts

Asus RT-N56U normally comes with 1.0.1.7f unifi ready firmware. So, it's not necessary, but it's highly recommended to update the latest firmware for stability.
Dookie
post Oct 1 2012, 11:54 AM

1,066 posts

More like HW problem than anything. Have the same model, currently have 2 NAS attached to it, slingbox for my brother oversea, sonos wireless sound and 6 PCs connected also, not to mention my Apple TV and 2 HTPC for torrent and media server. So far, RT-N56U haven't yet disappoint me.

Dookie
post Nov 1 2012, 10:46 AM

1,066 posts

If u dun need the gigabit port, RT-N12 C1 is possibly the more popular choice. IINM All IT Hypermarket is doing in house promotion for 3 days starting tomorrow for RM 99.
Dookie
post Nov 2 2012, 11:28 AM

1,066 posts

U wan the best router, get RT-N56/66U instead. RT-N12 is just an alternative, provide you with better signal at low price and so far i have yet to see any complain for this model.

I believe it's available at all All IT branch including LYP.
Dookie
post Nov 2 2012, 01:58 PM

1,066 posts

RT-N15 is good, using better Broadcom chipset running faster clock speed and double the RAM. Come with gigabit port. Range wise, tested thoroughly using ixchariot, RT-N15 give slightly better throughput at further distance. But the pros doesn't really overweigh the price difference of almost RM 120.

Dookie
post Nov 7 2012, 08:59 PM

1,066 posts

Seems the broadcom (RT-N12 C1) doesn't play well with Ralink RT-N56U especially in encrypted mode. I don't think firmware updating will rectify the issue here flowerhorn. Ralink is notorious for being very selective with other chipset.
Dookie
post Nov 20 2012, 06:41 PM

1,066 posts

RT-N56U use a Ralink chipset which even until now are not 3rd party firmware friendly, not tomato, dd-wrt or even openwrt. The only alternative i've seen for this model is padawan modified Asuswrt firmware.
Dookie
post Nov 28 2012, 01:58 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Scotland007 @ Nov 26 2012, 10:24 PM)
Asus MY, any response to my email yet?

Added on November 27, 2012, 6:29 amDon't buy the Asus N56, for a high end product, customer support is crap.
You may not realize this, but this is not Asus Router support forum. Asusmy is gracious enough to spend his precious time helping out unlike other networking brand which i don't see a single rep in this forum helping out forumers.

You have a problem with the router, don't snap and quickly condemn the product. Go back to the shop and ask for a replacement or send for warranty. Or go straight to distributor and issue your case. Not happy with Asus firmware, dump it for 3rd party firmware. Adapt and learn.

0.0192sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:55 AM