113 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

jhoonaun
post Jan 14 2015, 03:35 AM

Now Im just a Hobbyist..
690 posts

been tweeking with my asus rt66 and finally found the solution to my problem with the speed and why isit so slow even on google..

been using both 2.4 and 5 and figured out its the range of the wifi that affected the speed.. closed off the 2.4 and use the only 5.. focused my anttena on the only the place i needed the signal to go.. so it was just reflecting all the signal over that position...

reduced the range and did a multicast setting.. now on 90% to 100% speed of my cable using..

stupid maxis technicolor router can sit there eat dust now...
kamion
post Jan 14 2015, 04:17 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 21 2014, 05:41 PM)
Hi jananan,

When you applied YES GO, you will be given user name and password which is required when you log in in your computer or laptop.

All you need is just key in the User Name and the Password inside.

Thank you
Dear ASUSmy,

I have been trying for a couple days to connect the Yes GO 4G USB to the RT-AC68U but have not been successful.

If I connect the Yes GO dongle to my laptop, I can connect fine to the Yes network using the 'username' (without the "@yes.my") and password.

I tried different combinations 'username' only and 'username@yes.my' in the AC68U configuration and the password, but all didn't work.

I updated the firmware to the latest 3.0.0.4.378_3873.

The Network Map screen on the AC68U identifies the Yes GO dongle as "GCT Semiconductor, Inc. M-WiMAX Network Adaptor".

vickyrao
post Jan 15 2015, 03:45 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 2 2015, 06:16 PM)
Dear All Sifu,

I;m planning to change unifi router to Asus N66U, i notice there is few people mention about N66U is not so stable however i saw the advertisement mention N66U is the best Wireless router 2014.

MY requirement is such as
-DDNS ( i notice Asus got FREE DDNS which is good for me, because for Free account DyDns require reconfigure every 30 days) so better got Asus FREE DDNS.
-VPN Feature
-Gigabit Port
-All in One (Modem + Router + Wireless) - (do i still require Unifi Router?)
-Guest Login
-Netflow (i notice the standard firmware like not able to support Netflow )
-SNMP (For monitoring )

Lastly, anyone flash to DD-WRT firmware ? not sure worth it or not
For me it has served me very well. Super stable. can run for months without the need of reboot. only reboot during configurations or update firmware. very well done and works awesome with my unifi. btw, n66 is only router. its not a modem. you still need to use your tm modem.
lucklyghost
post Jan 17 2015, 01:17 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 15 2015, 03:45 PM)
For me it has served me very well. Super stable. can run for months without the need of reboot. only reboot during configurations or update firmware. very well done and works awesome with my unifi. btw, n66 is only router. its not a modem. you still need to use your tm modem.
Great thanks for your comments btw any reason for you to choose N66U instead of others model ?

i m thinking whether do i advise N66U or others slight low end model
lucklyghost
post Jan 17 2015, 01:53 AM

430 posts

Guys, i notice that Asus there is RT-N66U and DSL-N66U

i m try to compare this 2 ,but still can't get munch info

but 1st question i dunno is should i use back unifi router , just buy a RT-N66U connect to old unifi router or change all in 1 DSL-N66U ?

what is the best practice ?
h@ksam
post Jan 17 2015, 10:17 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

friend has a n56u modem that was on Unifi firmware and accidentally updated to the official firmware version.

he wishes to downgrade to the Unifi firmware but was unable to find any sources due to broken links at klseet.com

any chance anyone could upload this firmware again?

original links were found here

https://klseet.com/index.php/asus/asus-rt-n...irmware-a-setup

firmware name was RT-N56U_1.0.1.4o

thanks!

ASUSmy
post Jan 19 2015, 10:03 AM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Jan 17 2015, 10:17 PM)
friend has a n56u modem that was on Unifi firmware and accidentally updated to the official firmware version.

he wishes to downgrade to the Unifi firmware but was unable to find any sources due to broken links at klseet.com

any chance anyone could upload this firmware again?

original links were found here

https://klseet.com/index.php/asus/asus-rt-n...irmware-a-setup

firmware name was RT-N56U_1.0.1.4o

thanks!
Hi h@ksam,

You can still use the official firmware version with UNIFI, please refer to the link below on how to do it. But before that, please help do to a factory reset on the unit due to the chaning of old GUI to new GUI ASUSWRT.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ESAPAJqWxH4

Thank you
sHawTY
post Jan 19 2015, 10:36 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 17 2015, 01:53 AM)

but 1st question i dunno is should i use back unifi router , just buy a RT-N66U connect to old unifi router or change all in 1 DSL-N66U ?

RT-N66U is for UniFi
DSL-N66U is for ADSL connection such as Streamyx.

For UniFi, you can only replace the Residential Gateway (router). You can't remove the Broadband Termination Unit (modem).
You can remove the stock UniFi router & use the RT-N66U instead.
vickyrao
post Jan 19 2015, 10:43 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 17 2015, 01:17 AM)
Great thanks for your comments btw any reason for you to choose N66U instead of others model ?

i m thinking whether do i advise N66U or others slight low end model
Well reason being, its capable of handling high loads and lower models, may have hiccups depending on your needs. But overall, its a good investment for n66u. i would not advice you to get AC models as its not really a standard yet for most devices so its a little useless to spend that much money on AC models unless majority of your devices has AC capabilities.

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 17 2015, 01:53 AM)

DSL model is for Streamyx. You cannot use non TM modem for Unifi. You can only change the router.
h@ksam
post Jan 19 2015, 06:02 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jan 19 2015, 10:03 AM)
Hi h@ksam,

You can still use the official firmware version with UNIFI, please refer to the link below on how to do it. But before that, please help do to a factory reset on the unit due to the chaning of old GUI to new GUI ASUSWRT.

Thank you
thanks, will give it a go
lucklyghost
post Jan 20 2015, 01:47 AM

430 posts

I'm Chuan here from Malaysia, i just bought a Asus RT-N66U and i have upgraded to latest versions Firmware:376.49_5. however i trying to do 2 thing which is

1) SNMP - I did Enable and configure but i trying to use SolarWinds or Spicework to search but unable to communicate with the devices.

System Name - Chuan
System Location - Home
System Contact
SNMP Get Community - GetPrivate
SNMP Set Community - SetPrivate
SNMPv3 Authentication Type - MD5
SNMPv3 Authentication Password -123456789
SNMPv3 Privacy Type - NONE
SNMPv3 Privacy Password

it is correct? i need advise on this part

2) I notice some of the oldest version able to have Quick Blocking Clients when we identify is Un-Authorize Persons access my wireless, but on this new firmware doesn't have a Quick Block on the users that connected on your wireless.

Lastly, do this firmware able to support Netflow ?

enJiNer
post Jan 30 2015, 04:48 PM

126 posts

hi there..

i just bought asus rt-ac68u to run unifi vip20
heard that i have to configure each port manually in order to run hypptv?

is there any guide how to do so??
first time using unifi after 10 years using stimix (relocated to unifi covered area)

thanks in advance

ASUSmy
post Jan 30 2015, 05:38 PM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(enJiNer @ Jan 30 2015, 04:48 PM)
hi there..

i just bought asus rt-ac68u to run unifi vip20
heard that i have to configure each port manually in order to run hypptv?

is there any guide how to do so??
first time using unifi after 10 years using stimix (relocated to unifi covered area)

thanks in advance
Hi enJiNer,

You can follow the video below on how to setup, and as for the Hypptv, plug the LAN cable at LAN port 4 of the RT-AC68U.

Thank you
enJiNer
post Jan 30 2015, 07:58 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jan 30 2015, 05:38 PM)
Hi enJiNer,

You can follow the video below on how to setup, and as for the Hypptv, plug the LAN cable at LAN port 4 of the RT-AC68U.

Thank you
Thanks mr asusmy...very straight forward video...will try it tonight and post the update....

sHawTY
post Feb 1 2015, 07:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

AsusWRT-Merlin 378.50 BETA 2 has been released.

Changelog:
CODE
378.50 Beta 2 (31-Jan-2015)
  - NEW: Added custom config and postconf support for avahi, netatalk
         and mt-daapd (iTunes server).
  - CHANGED: Moved the AC68U CFE update process to the same location
             as in GPL 3626 to see if it works more consistently.
  - FIXED: Non-DPI build of AC56U had incompatible Tuxera modules
  - FIXED: vsftpd wouldn't start if you had IPv6 enabled.
  - FIXED: Asus had disabled the NAT loopback fix on MIPS's iptables
           in GPL 3762.  Re-enabled.
  - FIXED: Wireless clients that hadn't communicated in a while wouldn't
           be properly shown on the Wireless log (patch by pinwing)
  - FIXED: QoS rules weren't applied properly when IPv6 was enabled
           (was changed in recent GPL - reverted it)
  - FIXED: Can't apply a Custom DDNS if you don't have something entered
           in the username/password fields (shown in other DDNS services)
  - FIXED: NFS page wasn't properly loading

mhon.be
post Feb 7 2015, 09:15 PM

Hi everyone.

Can I please get some advise on which Asus Router will work for my Time Fiber Service (8Mbps Time Fibre Unlimited Home Broadband, standalone service not bundled service with Astro)

Currently I am using the Linksys E1200 stock router provided by TIME but would like to change as I am not happy with it.

Please advise on which Asus Router will work.
Asus RT-N12 Wireless Router
Asus RT-N12HP Wireless Router
ASUS WL N300 RT-N14UHP Router

I have gone to lowyat / digital mall but all the shop assistants are unable to tell me if any of the above will work 100% with my internet service.

Any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance sifus!
sHawTY
post Feb 7 2015, 11:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

AsusWRT-Merlin 378.50 STABLE has been released.

Changelog:
CODE
378.50 (7-Feb-2015)
  - IMPORTANT: You must do a factory default reset, and manually
               reconfigure your setting if coming from a version
               older than 378.50.  Failure to do so can
               lead to various issues with wifi, OpenVPN,
               and the new AC68U bootloader.

- IMPORTANT: Please read this changelog, especially the changes
               related to jffs, user scripts/config and OpenVPN in
               the previous 378.50 betas.

- NEW: Merged with Asus GPL 378_4129 code.
  - CHANGED: Reverted back to vsftpd 2.x, as 3.0.2 doesn't work properly
             on MIPS architectures (and possibly other particular
             scenarios as well).
  - CHANGED: Added warning to the DDNS page if you set the type
             to Custom and either JFFS or custom script support isn't
             enabled
  - FIXED: A few unescaped quotes in the French dict breaking VPN pages
  - FIXED: MAC list would get corrupted when removing and re-adding
           entries on the MAC filter list
  - FIXED: AC68U CFE update wasn't written to flash due to permission
           issues
  - FIXED: Static Key field wasn't visible when using HMAC authentication
  - FIXED: syslogd was always enforcing the -S switch
  - FIXED: When setting a static DHCP from the networkmap, the user-entered
           name wouldn't be used.  Now it gets used, and we rely on the rc
           daemon to properly handle it if it's not a valid hostname (it will
           simply not provide it to dnsmasq's static name list).

ASUSmy
post Feb 9 2015, 02:29 PM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(mhon.be @ Feb 7 2015, 09:15 PM)
Hi everyone.

Can I please get some advise on which Asus Router will work for my Time Fiber Service (8Mbps Time Fibre Unlimited Home Broadband, standalone service not bundled service with Astro)

Currently I am using the Linksys E1200 stock router provided by TIME but would like to change as I am not happy with it.

Please advise on which Asus Router will work.
Asus RT-N12 Wireless Router
Asus RT-N12HP Wireless Router
ASUS WL N300 RT-N14UHP Router

I have gone to lowyat / digital mall but all the shop assistants are unable to tell me if any of the above will work 100% with my internet service.

Any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance sifus!
Hi mhon.be,

The models mention above are able to support TIME Fibre.

Thank you
notfair
post Feb 14 2015, 05:11 PM

117 posts

not sure what happen, but after i restart router, the router setting and everything is reset (have to setup again, basically is fresh setup...)

using RT-N16 with 3.0.0.4.376_3754 firmware, with download master enable.

btw, side note, is there a way to QoS only on Guest Network?

This post has been edited by notfair: Feb 14 2015, 05:13 PM
sHawTY
post Feb 14 2015, 08:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(notfair @ Feb 14 2015, 05:11 PM)
not sure what happen, but after i restart router, the router setting and everything is reset (have to setup again, basically is fresh setup...)

using RT-N16 with 3.0.0.4.376_3754 firmware, with download master enable.
Use AsusWRT-Merlin lah bro.
More features & enhancements over the official ASUS firmware.

Been using it for months now, very stable.

Here's a screenshot of AsusWRT-Merlin 378.50 on my RT-N16. (Huge picture, click on the spoiler)

113 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:39 PM