QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 7 2011, 08:07 PM)
yeslife+huddle = yeslife+zoom

any difference in data charges?

btw,

which Huddle lagi berbaloi?

http://www.yes.my/v2/say-yes/promo/hsbc-promotion.do
or
http://www.yes.my/v2/say-yes/huddle-4g-mobile-hotspot.do
Unless you need the extra RM800 credits in advance, I'd say HSBC promo is more worth it as although the other one gives you RM400 rebates, you can't use them for Value Packs. nod.gif

Another method you can maximize your $$$ is to use those CC with cash rebates and extra points like Maybank 2 AMEX. For RM1199, you get RM50 (max per month) cash rebates and x5 points (equivalent to ~RM25). Agree? brows.gif

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 7 2011, 10:06 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 8 2011, 03:19 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 8 2011, 08:42 AM)
abt the YES rm1199 promo, there is the Easy Payment plan of rm50x24 mths too, how to subscribe to tat 24mths easy payment plan? lower outlay rite? biggrin.gif
Easy payment plan depends on which CC you'll be using. RM100x12 months is possible too. Too bad, my Amex card is not included. sad.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 10 2011, 08:20 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2011, 04:43 PM)
So wat are the cards available?

I hav HSBC,CiTiBk,HLBk,MBB,SCB & MBF
I still think the rm1199 is the best as you will be getting rm800 in credits which u can use to purchase the VP,
Id wise, i ady hav one, so no issue here and no nid to purchase another 1.
I also get to own a Huddle ontop of my Go and Zoom ( which i ady hav)
the rm400 rebates can be used to surf as PAYU when/if i finish the VP before the 30days period.
rm800/68 = 11.76 VP, it can last for a year and i can choose to pay at rm50x24mths interest free too

correct me if i am wrong  icon_rolleyes.gif

the HSBC offer of rm460 only give me a Huddle+rm150+rm9 credits as i ady hav an ID

so we can get a rough idea tat the Huddle/Zoom worth abt rm300 in this promo,

basing on this asumption, if we apply to the rm1199 offer, rm899 will get us rm800credits + rm400rebates rite, not to mention the rm50x24mths EPP

correct?
You've got so many cards, I'm pretty sure one of them is included.

Like I said earlier, if you need those extra credits, bundled plan is the way to go. That's the reason I purchased the bundled plan as well but I don't need the Huddle. tongue.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 06:57 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 14 2011, 06:46 PM)
advisable to reload 1 day b4 expiry date...
not using the auto reload?

Anyway, YES is down in my area - Gelugor, Penang. sad.gif
Using the backup Maxis connection now. rolleyes.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 07:09 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ November 14, 2011, 7:03 pm)
auto reload?have ar?i dun think so...this is prepay...
got, it was just introduced recently. You can use the existing credits to reload value packs or use credit card to top up the credits or reload value packs. We don't have to worry about expired subscriptions or out of credits. That's their new way of making sure they get our money. Currently, promotion until Dec 2011 where you get additional RM5 for each successful reload for the next 3 months.

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 14 2011, 07:10 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 07:14 PM

384 posts

i guess we need to complain at their FB page. make it big so that they have to compensate us to settle the bad publicity.

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 14 2011, 07:16 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 07:28 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 14 2011, 07:21 PM)
hm...using existing credits or C/C...tht's not really auto-reload...auto-reload means u dun have to input anything to reload...like auto-debit from C/C la,u just give 1 standing instruction...by using existing credits or C/C,tht we can do from few months ago...just go to their website....

it's automated as long as you've set it up. Can't show you the page now as Yes Portal is down as well. biggrin.gif

I've posted a problem on their FB discussion page with title "Signal is fluctuating and unable to connect" - https://www.facebook.com/Yes4G?v=app_142874499080353&ref=nf

Complain yours there as well if scenario is different. Otherwise, click on "Me Too" at my post.

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 14 2011, 07:45 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 08:00 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 14 2011, 07:49 PM)
oh yeah?i'll check that when the YES is up again...

they will ask u these information for troubleshooting...
RSSI
CINR
NAP & NSP ID
BSID
Just updated my complain with the current state of my Zoom:
State : NETWORK_ENTRY Scan Type : CAPL
BSID : 00:00:40:16:15:69 RSSI : -56
Security : AUTHORIZED CINR : 21
Bandwidth : 10000 TxPwr : -12
Center Frequency : 2335000 Max Tx Power : 27
Connection Time : 0 secs
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 08:14 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 14 2011, 08:11 PM)
YES is back in order now thumbup.gif

Good for you, my area is still out! sad.gif

8.20pm, service in my area is restored. wink.gif

Added on November 14, 2011, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 14 2011, 07:49 PM)
oh yeah?i'll check that when the YES is up again...
Finally, their website is back online. Here's the link for VP auto renewal and link for credits auto topup.

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 14 2011, 08:23 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 14 2011, 11:04 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2011, 09:42 PM)
I am disappointed that auto-reload only entitle for rebate 2 months, should give forever.

Also, it is only applicable to cc, cannot auto-reload using YES credit inside.
it's 3 months to be exact. I totally agree that it should be forever.

As for Value Pack auto renewal, it's possible to use Yes credits that are already in your account. It's just that you need to set up your credit card details first. You should have the option to choose Yes credits in the auto renewal configuration. I've done it. wink.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 15 2011, 09:11 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 15 2011, 03:25 AM)
btw, is the auto renewal entitle to the rm60 Bonus on the seventh mth and the rm100 Bonus on the 13th mth?
I don't believe so. but check out this page for more details - http://www.yes.my/v2/say-yes/promo/blaze.do
From what I understand, buying a Huddle or Zoom Turbo Kits where the promotion is valid from 19 August 2011 to 18 November 2011 will entitle you the bonuses.

Added on November 15, 2011, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 15 2011, 02:33 PM)
The problem is I don't want to auto-reload using credit card, hence I don't want to key in the cc details.

So first step already cannot proceed.
you don't want to auto-reload using credit card or you don't want to key in the CC details? if you can do the latter, your CC won't be charged as long as you still have credits in your account.

if you don't want to do both, then what they're offering doesn't satisfy your needs. However, here's what I think why they required us to include our CC details (at least from my point of view):
I wanted to be always connected and I have credits in my account. I didn't keep track of the balance in my account (it can really happens to someone busy or forgetful). One day, I can't seem to access the internet and only to find out that there's not enough credits for auto renewal to take effect. I have the choice of buying extra credits from shops or via Yes online store. However, this defeat the so-called "Auto", right? I strongly believe this is where the CC pre-registration comes into the picture. thumbup.gif

If there are a much better way to implement the auto-renewal/auto reload, do suggest it to Yes team. I'm sure they'll listen. Hopefully. sweat.gif

Added on November 15, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 15 2011, 05:14 PM)
can use MB2U rite?
i don't see this option when I try to configure the auto renewal

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 15 2011, 09:30 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 16 2011, 07:40 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Algaefarmer @ Nov 16 2011, 01:18 AM)
I am using Zoom for my CCTV which connect to my DVR, after a week or after restart zoom, i cant view my cctv from outstation, anyone can help on this matter ? what setting i need to do ? any setting i need to make in zoom or in dyndns.org ?
there's a bunch of things you need to check:
- It is recommended to have a reserved IP address for your CCTV in Zoom's config and in your CCTV settings, use static instead of DHCP in case IP address can't be provided by Zoom in time during startup.
- then check if Zoom's config already port forwarding the required ports to your CCTV or you can assign the CCTV IP address as the DMZ IP in Zoom.
- if you're using services such as dyndns.org, make sure you've configured correctly in Zoom's config as well.

That should keep you busy and hopefully get you back on track to view your CCTV remotely. icon_rolleyes.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 16 2011, 07:58 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 16 2011, 07:54 AM)
is it safe to input our CC details as i never use CC to purchase online services before and wat if i wan to stop the auto renewal?

nothing is 100% safe. i did a lot of online purchases and it will be the trend in the future, i'm sure. Just need to practice caution and check your CC transactions online from time to time.

I thought you've already signed up with CPP card protection? Use it to your advantage, it covers fraud transactions, right?
maxcheam
post Nov 16 2011, 11:28 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 16 2011, 10:22 AM)
u hav to ask sifu maxcheam thumbup.gif
i don't dare to claim that i'm a sifu. tongue.gif
it's just that i have more chance and time to play with all these stuff.

to try to answer some of the questions asked.
Zoom is like most router in the market, the main function is to route traffic between different networks, just like what a traffic light would do. The big difference is that each of these routers handle its specific WAN connection such as WiMax, 3G, xDSL, etc depending if a modem module is included.

Zoom supports DHCP as well as IP reservations for it's local network.
As for dynamic DNS updates, besides using Zoom, you can use a PC-based updater from the respective dynamic DNS service provider that you've subscribed.
In order to make sure if the dynamic DNS is updating correctly, after configuring the account info and hostname, do a reboot/reconnect of the internet connection. This will get a new public IP address from Yes which should trigger the dynamic DNS update. You can then try to ping your URL or login to dyndns website to see if the new IP has been updated.
Next, I'd recommend you to reboot all devices in your premise again to make sure everything is still working as expected to simulate a restoration after power outage, restarting of Zoom or the CCTV system.

For the CCTV and NAS, Zoom is capable of handling this so you don't need another router.
maxcheam
post Nov 16 2011, 02:38 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(ERN2 @ Nov 16 2011, 01:48 PM)
Thanks Maxcheam notworthy.gif

I have 2 more questions sweat.gif  hope you can help.

(Q1) The Zoom only have 1 RJ45, so to connect both CCTV and NAS to zoom, it need a switch or router?
If none of the CCTV or NAS supports WiFi, you'll need a switch or router.

(Q2) between, zoom's manual stated that it support 3 DDNS provides:
www.dyndns.org
www.dyns.cx
www.zoneedit.com

but i try all have to pay one.
is there any other free DDNS i can use? and is supported by ZOOM.

I'm using www.dyndns.org, it gives me 3 free hostnames. I'm supposed they've changed their policies a bit. I've just tried signing up a new account with them. You'll need to activate the free 30 days trial of DynDNS Pro, then at the end of 30 days, you can only keep 1 hostname. But you need to make sure it's active or they will remove it after 30 days of inactivity. More info here.
added my responses in red.

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 16 2011, 02:41 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 17 2011, 09:42 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(ERN2 @ Nov 17 2011, 05:37 PM)
Dear Maxcheam  notworthy.gif

I am a step closer, got the dyndns account opened.
rebooted my zoom and dyndns updated with new IP accordingly.

Just a question on registration of dyndns,
I found no way to by passs to provide my CC account and security code,
so I have done according to the process, now worryng rclxub.gif  doh.gif

Will they charge the fee to my CC account at  the end of 30days?
notworthy.gif
try to cancel your 30 days trial now. It will reset you to free account. That way, it shouldn't charge you. nod.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 23 2011, 05:31 PM

384 posts

i went for package 1 since i foresee i'll be with Yes 4G for at least a year. Long term wise, i'd recommend you to get the same package too. wink.gif
maxcheam
post Nov 23 2011, 09:45 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 23 2011, 05:54 PM)
yes, i hav tat on my mind too and take advantage of the interest free rm50x24 too

btw, the rm400 rebates can use for data @ rm30/1GB if  my VP expires inside the 30 days period rite?

so i can use back my existing ID too?

yup, the rebates can be used that way. And yes, you can use back your existing ID. Just need to let the staff know when you're signing up the package.

One thing to note about renewing VP when you've used up your quota before the expiry date, make sure you reconnect the Yes 4G connection to get a new IP address after you've renewed the VP. If not, your credits/rebates will be deducted instead of the quota in the new VP. After getting a new IP address, it should be back to normal. Well, at least that was based on my recent experience.

Yes Support wasn't helpful as I only got their response weeks after I've solved the problem myself. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by maxcheam: Nov 23 2011, 09:46 PM
maxcheam
post Nov 24 2011, 06:51 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 24 2011, 12:38 AM)
meaning just log off and on again will kautim?

yup. disconnect and connect back or restart your modem. Zoom has a reconnect feature, i'm not sure about Huddle.

0.0239sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:00 AM