Yes YTL WIMAX - Yes 4G

Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 11 2010, 11:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 6 2010, 10:47 AM)
for those who blame 'net hoggers' for the state of the internet service, i just want to tell you all that stop is the be smart. When TMNut. Celcom.Digi.Umobile.P1 etc sale market a a 4MB download broadband product, 100% customers who pay for the services should get maximum 4MB download for everything, 24x7 p0rn download included. the problem is not the 'net hoggers' when some users dont get 4MB as they pay for, its the service providers and the policy makers that they pay in the parliament to turn a blind eye on this. So dont be stupid by blaming other internet users. Your money do not go to them. you money go to the bank account of the service providers. Get them and again dont be stupid by blaming other users.

I think you are also living in your own dream world. You're not referring to a pipe dream, you're referring to an utopia dream world where resources are infinite. Yes, telco advertisements have a lot of lies. I agree with you on that. But to draw a parallel, they are just restaurants that offer 'all-you-can-eat' at a fixed price, and the customer expects the kitchen to have unlimited stock of every ingredient. Who is the fool in that scenario?

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 5 2010, 10:49 PM)
So you are saying that the issues that TM users are facing are PURELY because of bandwidth hoggers? Nothing to do with the fact that the contention ratio on Streamyx is something like 1:100?

Except what you are asking for isn't the same or equal? If I pay RM100 for a 2Mbps connection and you pay RM100 for a 2Mbps connection... why is it that I can't fully utilize it 24 hours a day just because you choose not to? So in other words, everyone is equal... but some people are more equal than others right?

I read your blog, I read your Twitter, and read your posts in this forum. You're right about over-subscription, and you're right about a lot of technical things, you're right about telco advertisement lies, but I think you got a typical hypocritical Malaysian mentality. "I pay for buffet so I should be able to eat how much I want". I buy land freehold, so I build your house however tall and however ugly I want? I pay good money to buy an expensive speaker set, so I blast it however loud I want? I can pasang lights outside my house, so I fix glaring stadium lights to shine 24-hours? I'm not in any way condoning the unscrupulous tactics of telcos, but your thinking is similar to the guy I quoted above, which is to be honest, isn't very reasonable.

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 6 2010, 01:54 PM)
If we buy both condos and the condo has a limited capacity water tank for everyone to share. We pay the same monthly fee for the water bills only difference is that you open the tap 24/7 and let it flow. Everyday I come back from work hoping to take a relaxing shower only to find that water drips out only from my tap.Don't you think I deserve a good shower session? This is when the building management steps in to place a meter for everyone.

You mirror what I think, and I agree with your idea on traffic management during daylight/night hours. That's the principle of how a 'smart grid' works anyway, Wikipedia the term if you're interested. Hope YTL does this, but since they say they don't control or throttle their pipes, I don't think they'll have this.

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Nov 6 2010, 05:56 PM)
People need to understand 2 things. Scarcity of resources and economies of scale.

Bandwidth is a scarce resource while demand for bandwidth is infinite. Therefore putting bandwidth caps is responsible network management because you cannot sell what you don't have.

Building gateways, etc is not cheap. All ISPs implement contention ratios, where they oversell their bandwidth by a certain ratio so that more people can share the cost. E.g. Selling 10Mbps package to 50 people when your network can only cope with 10Mbps. That would give a contention ratio of 5 : 1. The idea being not everyone needs that bandwidth every time. I could be wrong about this calculation, but the idea is there. sweat.gif

This is how ISPs around the world can sell broadband at a cheaper price. Unfortunately, I think we can all see how the contention ratio principle falls apart when people start downloading 24/7.

I think that buffet example is an apt one. Not perfect, but close.

Streamyx is like an open buffet right now. 1 person walks in and takes the whole buffet spread for himself, leaving nothing for everyone else.

Even then, in a buffet, your stomach is limited and the restaurant can charge you for wastage if you don't finish what you take, so people cannot hog.

Unfortunately, regarding bandwidth, people can keep deleting, download, delete, download, buy new hard drive, download so there is no limit to how much they can download. There's no way to check for wastage as well, as I'm sure many people don't even use everything that they download. So in this Streamyx "buffet", this 1 person can keep hogging the whole buffet spread for himself and leaves nothing for everyone else.

Therefore, bandwidth caps are the way to go. If you want to exceed that bandwidth and are willing to pay for it, I think the idea of purchasing additional bandwidth is a good idea.
You also have the right idea I feel. It's comforting to know not all Malaysians have a gutter mentality. Go work around South East Asia, the people in those countries always say: "Malaysia never fight for anything, no wars. That's why they expect everything to come easily without effort." I feel so hurt when the Vietnamese (French, USA), Indonesians (Dutch), Cambodia (Pol Pot), Myanmar (civil war), Philippines (Dutch, USA) etc say this, because it is true. We Malaysians always so damn greedy with our utopia thinking and complain we don't have enough, when we actually have so much more than others.

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 6 2010, 07:26 PM)
Hey guys, I'm selling a Ferrari here... but you can only drive it 200 km a month, otherwise it turns into a Kancil. You still pay for a Ferrari though!!!

You got the analogy wrong here. You didn't buy a Ferrari (enterprise gigabit fibre channel DWDM), you bought a Honda Kap (consumer broadband). You're expecting a Honda Kap to go at the speed and performance of a Ferrari. The result is obvious.

Oh and by the way, the 'Enterprise SDSL' you mentioned isn't enterprise grade at all, it's a crappy consumer-grade best effort line, that's why it's so cheap. For an equivalent vehicle maybe I'd say SDSL is like a Proton Wira? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Nov 9 2010, 02:19 PM)
Yes is marketing on the fact that they charge you according to use, like electricity. A little throwback into the past, I feel.

I think this YTL fellows have been in the electricity business for long enough. Simple economics dictates that you pay for what you use, and Internet has become a commodity service like water/electricity. Want to use more water, pay for it. Same with electricity, same for Internet. I don't see why anyone has any case to complain, and YTL will make more money of the heavy users so these guys (or girls) pay for the infrastructure they use. I think it's fair when they say they got no cap or throttling, why would they want to do that? You use more, you pay more, they make more, it'd be stupid to throttle your own revenue stream isn't it?

The throttling method doesn't make sense either. Why would I want to degrade a customer's experience? Why not let the customer self-moderate themselves with pay-per-use? I just have to guarantee that the extra you pay me goes into scaling up the experience to what you're paying for (in terms of infrastructure cost). Sounds reasonable to me.
QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 10 2010, 07:33 AM)
No, you cannot use your iPhone to surf without the mifi.

But it doesn't make sense if you are existing iPhone user with data plan.

1. If you subscribe to iPhone, you can subscribe to the data plan as well, why want to subscribe to another data plan with YES?
2. You will need to bring another device in your pocket (mifi), also doesn't make sense.
Check out Verizon's iPad+mifi advertisement. Having a bandwidth intensive device means you would want to have a pipe to a high bandwidth network, right? Just because your iPhone comes with a data plan from Maxis/Digi means you treat Yes as 'another plan'? Why not buy a iPhone+mifi and use YTL's network to make call via wifi? Plus now I can use Facetime, which I can't with Maxis/Digi crappy 3G? Sounds good in theory... tongue.gif

A lot of testosterone-filled posts, boys. wub.gif No intention to start a flame war, but some comments base their principles on childish thinking. I'm more worried about coverage and the per MB price, if those 2 are ok it makes sense to go for their pay-per-use, high-speed mobile internet.

This post has been edited by Forum-Modding Newb: Nov 11 2010, 11:32 PM
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 16 2010, 12:29 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 12 2010, 03:28 PM)
I think you confuse testosterone filled with actual good discussion, which is what the forum is really for (instead of posts containing "HE HE HE YA LE..." and similar). I don't sense any gnashing of teeth here...
Fair play to you sir, a level headed discussion it is. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 13 2010, 11:31 AM)
Slight hiccup with interconnect on certain blocks of numbers.
I received the following email this morning.
This is a good start.
At least they keep you posted of issues and changes rather than let you find out yourselves later.
I don't think it is a good start... I read the owner's interviews and he sounds like he's promising the world. Big picture guys are great, but from my experience some of these big picture guys don't put enough weight into the little details. Like they say, if you can't do the little things well, how can I trust you with the big things?

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 13 2010, 05:34 PM)
For you suggestion of utilizing iPhone to make voice call on MiFi, i will say an iPod is a better choice (cheaper, slimmer and lighter).

Hmm didn't think of that. thumbup.gif If this Yes Life thing is what they say it is, I should be able to use my iPod as a full-fledged phone isn't it? Yes Life = calls via PC ala Skype = Skype has an iOS app = Yes Life also has an iOS app? Wow. iPod + Huddle = 4G phone. Heck, iPad + Huddle = 4G phone!

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 14 2010, 10:53 AM)
As for voice calls, I'm guessing they won't count towards your data usage.
Instead they will bill you by time.
For comparison, check out Unifi where they use separate channels for Data, VOIP and IPTV.
That would be sad. Skype calls, which are VoIP, are 60 min = 25.98MB which by your definition of 2.2sen/MB means a 1 minute VoIP call should = 0.9526 sen/minute!!! If they can pull this off the telcos are dead meat. Ok maybe they have to pay for interconnect fees to the Digis/Maxis/Celcoms of the world, add a few sen to that, you could get a price of less than 3-4 sen/minute theoretically, right?

How about SMS? An SMS is 140 bytes, again by your definition of 2.2 sen/MB the price of one SMS in an all-IP environment is..... 0.0003 sen!!! blink.gif So best case scenario YTL Yes gives us 3-4 sen/minute off-net 1sen/min on-net calls and 3 sen/1000 SMS if they stick to 2.2 sen/MB data....

Nah, it probably won't happen. sweat.gif They'd probably get sued if they offer that kind of ultra-undercut price, but Francis Yeoh did say that "voice-centric business models of the established telcos are not sustainable" (quote from here).

This post has been edited by Forum-Modding Newb: Nov 16 2010, 12:37 AM
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 17 2010, 03:34 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 16 2010, 09:43 PM)

Added on November 16, 2010, 9:50 pm
You misread my post.
I said that VOIP and SMS won't count towards your data usage.
It'll probably be charged the same way as other telcos - by minute and by message.

Of course if you want to use Skype then it will be counted as data just like when you pay monthly Streamyx to use it.
Not totally free is it?
Furthermore, Skype isn't free when calling off-net as you were implying in your post above.
I understood your post, that voice and SMS will have a different rate and not be considered data. My post was just imagining if voice/SMS was treated as data instead of something separate. tongue.gif

So guys, what would be a reasonable data price (per MB) you would pay for? If like skint's previous post that the current going rate is an expensive 2.2 sen/MB, I hope Yes can be in the region of 0.1 sen/MB (cheap like electricity pricing), if I can get 1-3Mbps no throttling no caps. 1Mbps true bandwidth would max out at 329GB per month, and be equivalent to a RM336.90 monthly bill! I'd pay for that for sure!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif 0.1sen/MB = around RM1/GB.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 18 2010, 11:43 PM

48 posts

Based on what I've seen while poking around their domains, I wouldn't trust YTL with any credit card information. Their website is so ridiculously unsecure. Full of holes everywhere, I won't reveal what I found but any decent hacker will crack this site like a telur separuh masak.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 18 2010, 11:53 PM

48 posts

Buying credit online? How do I go online to buy credit when I have zero credit left?
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 19 2010, 12:12 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(HeartMePlz @ Nov 18 2010, 11:56 PM)
whenever u hit below a limit, they will send u a reminder to ask u to top up
So if there are 4 people using the Mifi or Zoom, everyone's PC gets a pop-up? What if I disable pop-ups? If I am connected via Wifi, how does the device know how to push a pop-up to my browser? Or will all browsing stop and everyone's browser go to a reminder page? What if I don't have any browser but using a non-browser program to use the internet (like internet radio via winamp)? Or is it an SMS to a phone number? What if I don't have a mobile phone? Doesn't sound right.

Ugh. I can imagine, top up RM10, watch HD Youtube for half an hour, receive reminder to top up. Put another RM10, watch another 30 min HD Youtube, pop-up another reminder to top-up. shakehead.gif

I wonder how they going to sell their Sezmi IP TV, when a 2 hour 30 min HD movie costs more than RM70-RM90+ in bandwidth cost. And that's not yet including the price you pay for the movie itself. Ouch.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 05:25 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Forum-Modding Newb @ Nov 18 2010, 11:43 PM)
Based on what I've seen while poking around their domains, I wouldn't trust YTL with any credit card information. Their website is so ridiculously unsecure. Full of holes everywhere, I won't reveal what I found but any decent hacker will crack this site like a telur separuh masak.
Quoting what I said on Thursday. Looks like I was right.

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Nov 20 2010, 01:58 PM)
Getting sabo from other telcos?
I doubt it. More like their IT team is weak.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 07:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 20 2010, 07:02 PM)
but this afternoon tried once, cannot ... now .. cannot..  unsure.gif
Ping also dont reach the server. RIP, Yes.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 11:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Nov 20 2010, 10:05 PM)
Yes you still gotta pay
whatever plan , you still gotta pay RM 30 (for uni students) , i ask joshua . Check out his un-official FAQ , can clear up some of your doubts

http://www.joshuatly.com/this-is-the-unoff...-faqs-of-yes4g/
This Joshua fella doesn't know what he's talking about. LTE is 4G? rolleyes.gif
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 11:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Nov 20 2010, 11:36 PM)
LTE is 3.9G anyway !
And WiMAX is not?
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 5 2010, 09:34 PM

48 posts

Well, after some hesitancy, I decided to sign up for Yes. A few things I've realised:

Yes plan is something really different.
After talking to their sales staff, and watching their new videos on Youtube, it really is different from other telco plans. I've had years paying for Streamyx, mobile data, and voice for my phone. What I didn't realise is if I didn't use up to the maximum, I burn a lot of money. Paying RM66+68+50-70 bucks for Streamyx + Digi Discovery + phone calls per month, when I obviously don't use GBs of data.... and I can't transfer money from 1 plan to another (if I don't use Digi Discovery 3GB, I can't use that money for voice/streamyx right?).

The RM30 min usage (not min top-up like some mistaken people are saying) kinds sucks if I go overseas for a week or two (for my work), but I think once I get a Yes phone my total bill per month will go down by a lot. I'll see when the HTC phone comes out and I shift to Yes, if that's true or not, but calculation now is I'll save.

The network is really fast.
YTL really started my interest in mobile wireless, I read up a lot. Like people say LTE in Sweden is 59.1Mbps fast (link here), but I realised they have 40Mhz of spectrum so obviously they can go fast (in Malaysia only 20Mhz is allocated). Wireless speed depends on how much air your company owns to transmit signals, so my initial experience of 5-10Mbps (based on location) is pretty much as close to the best it can be, which is impressive.

At first I followed the other people and thought "ok, lets wait for 6 months then we'll see". But then I read all the technical stuff (like this here) and realised that we've been served with bad 3G and Streamyx for too long that we don't know what's good anymore. P1 has officially said that their average usage is 10GB/month (link here) so I guess WiMAX really can handle that kind of capacity.

They're really trying.
I remember the time when I just stopped complaining. It was after I moved to where I'm staying now and Streamyx became so bad I just stopped using it. When I got 3G, ok fine I can use the internet but it's slow, I didn't even bother complaining. This is one of the few telcos in Malaysia I've seen who looks like they're genuinely worried about how their service is perceived. Sure, their website isn't fully functioning and they're getting a lot of complaints, but I think only P1 and Digi have opened up the channels to let people shoot them.

This Yes Life thing is the killer app.
At first I didn't know what this Yes Life thing is about. After hearing the explanation and listening to the new Youtube about it I finally realised: this is the killer app. No more IDD. Wow. The fact that I can call and receive calls when I am overseas working at local rates is enough reason to subscribe. Right now it's just via PCs, but when their Andriod phone comes out Yes Life will definitely be on it. And their partnership with Apple so far tells me an Apple app isn't that far away either. I'm thinking of getting their HTC phone, since their CEO confirmed that it will have WiMAX + Wifi + SIM, it becomes the best roaming device. As long as I have Wifi, I'm in Malaysia. biggrin.gif

So far, I think YTL got good long term prospects if they keep improving. I can only see their 9 sen plan go downwards, one day maybe to 9 sen/9MB-3 min-9 sms? tongue.gif They have to go down that route when the TV thing comes in next year, as HD TV is a few GB per movie. And then those who are on their plan will say goodbye to other telcos.

I've got a Huddle, it's been good so far. Just wanted to add my 10 cents worth.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 6 2010, 10:43 PM

48 posts

Not saying what YTL's advertising says is true, but I think Malaysians like to jump the gun and make a lot of comments about things without facts to back it up. Was just reading the news, found this: Verizon's price for their 5-12Mbps up 2-5Mbps down LTE network (I'm just waiting for those idiots who called LTE 4G to now say 12Mbps isn't 4G) is US$50 per 5GB. YTL's 5GB is cheaper at RM105, at around the same speeds, plus it has voice in the same plan which Verizon doesn't have.

I remember so many people complaining about RM30 per GB, but it looks like the price isn't that far off? And I'll just wait for the posts saying that Verizon's LTE isn't 4G? laugh.gif

From what I understand from my techie friend, we'll never get 100Mbps over the air in Malaysia for the next 5 years at least. When the government releases LTE spectrum in 2013, it'll take around 2 years to build the LTE network, and for a telco to overhaul its existing 3G backend to go full IP-based 4G (like what YTL did) its like a 4-5 year project. By then it depends whether YTL gets enough ROI from their current network to compete and switch to WiMAX2 (or migrate to LTE) or not. So, plus another few years. Well, that's his guess anyway.

Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 7 2010, 01:00 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Dec 7 2010, 04:26 AM)
you are right, currently really no such device can plug in 4g usb modem, but this is not the important part of security, is your data over air, capture by others, it is very dangerous, they can get your credit card info and other important data, so far i didnt see any security in wireless(3g,wifi,4g,wimax)...
I'm betting both of you don't use 3G on your phone, since there is no 'firewall' on your phone. Can I also assume you never use public Wifi like Starbucks? Sigh, you probably don't realize that your phone is telling the whole world where you are right now, and that SMS is also unencrypted and can be sniffed with a RM50 antenna box.

Malaysia has a lot of idiots.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 7 2010, 01:03 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(tanhks @ Dec 7 2010, 11:17 AM)
omg...you miss-understand what i am talking about.
the data send/receive using https:// are secure even over the air.

What i means are those Malware/Trojan infection comming to your pc/laptop easily if your laptop/pc is not protected by a hardware firewall.
"Trojans have the same right on the system as does the logged in user. In other words, if the user can, the Trojan can. This includes deleting or modifying files, installing other software, uninstalling software, or sending sensitive password and login information to a remote attacker."
copied from: http://antivirus.about.com/od/whatisavirus/a/zombiepc.htm
Wow, you posted again. Do you carry around a hardware firewall to connect to your laptop or smartphone wherever you go? I also assume you never read that phones also can get infected by trojans and be taken over. Google to remove your ignorance, dear.

Yes, I am in a bad mood today. biggrin.gif
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 8 2010, 06:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Dec 7 2010, 05:48 PM)
i can see the picture, maybe it too large, need sometimes to load, anywhere use this link

Picture 01
Picture 02
Picture 03
Picture 04

Added on December 7, 2010, 5:49 pm

holiday also no mood?
Monthly woman problem. blush.gif

QUOTE(tanhks @ Dec 8 2010, 01:33 PM)
copied from  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trojan_horse_%28computing%29
Trojan horses can be installed through the following methods:
    * Software downloads
    * Bundling (e.g. a Trojan horse included as part of a software application downloaded from a file sharing network)
    * Email attachments
    * Websites containing executable content (e.g., a Trojan horse in the form of an ActiveX control)[4]
    * Application exploits (e.g., flaws in a Web browser, media player, instant-messaging client, or other software that can be exploited to allow installation of a Trojan horse)

I don't think antivirus or Internet security suites(software) is 100% effective against all type of malware out there.
"Malware includes computer viruses, worms, trojan horses, spyware, dishonest adware, scareware, crimeware, most rootkits, and other malicious and unwanted software or program"  - copied from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malware
This 'security expert' continue to open his mouth. Let me ask you one thing, Mr tanhks. You said you run Windows. As a Guest or as Administrator? whistling.gif Don't need to cut and paste a lot of things from Wikipedia if you don't know fundamentals of security, and blame a dongle (of all things) for your security issues. Like I said before, go read more. Google helps.

There was a Yes network outage yesterday morning, was a bit frustrated but after lunch it was ok. No announcements of downtime from their Twitter page, not good. shakehead.gif

Something interesting a friend passed to me, info from MCMC. And people complaining about 700Mhz awarded to YTL, when the other telco sitting on so much more spectrum. I wonder why Maxis/Digi/Celcom have so much spectrum but their mobile broadband still so slow. Is it a 3G vs 4G thing?

And link to WiMAX forum presentations (where this info comes from): http://www.beaconevents.com/2010/WiMaxForu...atmm/index.html

Interesting to read P1's presentation. Highest user download per month is 548GB! Pirated VCD seller? tongue.gif
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 10 2010, 07:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Dec 10 2010, 08:57 AM)
It's like prepaid internet. While the speed is awesome, postpaid brings more value than prepaid in long term. Which means, if you suddenly want fast speed for a while, and don't care about the cost, this plan is better for you.
I just read the Streamyx thread where the CEO talked about throttling, capping, FUP, etc. and the associated blog post here. Now I'm feeling pretty good about the utility model, as long as the video pirates stay away from YTL's service I won't have to suffer like all the other 'average users' on unlimited plan services.

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 10 2010, 01:02 PM)
Too much information!!! shocking.gif
Just imagine the latency on this setup.
Only if you have Linux driver and application to do the login part.
Someone asked. sweat.gif
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 17 2010, 01:57 AM

48 posts

I was just mooching around the Yes website. It seems they changed their content, and added some new info. Much better info than before, I think. And I was looking at their IDD rates.... all I can say is WOW.

To Singapore: 9 sen/min for both mobile and fixed

to compare with Digi which I am using now... 18 sen for fixed, 43 sen for mobile.

To UK: 9 sen/min for fixed, 72 sen for mobile

to compare with Digi again, 18 sen fixed, 93 sen mobile.

USA: 9 sen for fixed....
Canada: 9 sen for fixed and mobile
China: 9 sen for both
Hong Kong: 9 sen
Germany: 9 sen

Wow. Seriously. I'm going to try calling a cousin in Singapore tomorrow, this is seriously wow.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 19 2010, 03:23 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 18 2010, 02:31 AM)
Don't compare VOIP with GSM call rate.

This if from pennytel.com/my and they exists years ago. You should call your cousin years ago.

in RM
Singapore  0.02844
Singapore Mobile  0.02844
United States  0.05056
United States Mobile  0.05056
Hong Kong  0.06004
Hong Kong Mobile  0.05056
Wow! I didn't know that! rclxms.gif This Pennytel thing sounds very interesting. Is the RM15 per month a service charge, or minimum usage like Yes?

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Dec 18 2010, 11:48 PM)
With the PAYU model, YES is aiming to be a mobile internet provider not a full broadband service provider like the other isps.
It's intended to be use for light browsing, updates, messaging on the go with some occasional smaller file downloads.

The other jealous isps would fail badly if they intend to follow this pricing model because they're actually a different market where it was meant to be used with desktops and heavy downloads.

You could only compare Yes with other mobile broadband providers but not your home fixed line broadband.
Their pricing structure still remains competitive because at 3GB you're only paying RM67 while DiGi Charges RM58 and Maxis Mobile Internet costs RM88 for the same volume.
The free for all buffet style internet service is unsustainable. Eventually, we'll see all telcos shift to some form of PAYU model in the future, just like how electricty and water are being billed now. Both electric and water are finite resources, so is bandwidth.

If Yes can move all the low/mid users (which probably constitute 70-80% of the current broadband customer base) to their network then I think two things happen.

1. YTL gets to leverage on economy of scale. Low/mid users will watch their rates go down.
2. Bandwidth hoggers get more bandwidth to hog (more speed for the downloaders yay!), but less low/mid users to subsidize their hogging. They'll watch their rates go up.

Guess who benefits from that?

This post has been edited by Forum-Modding Newb: Dec 19 2010, 03:24 AM
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 23 2010, 09:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 21 2010, 10:30 AM)
YTL is targeting different group than P1. Most people interested with P1 will not attracted with YTL. Nobody will want to pay for RM 450+ for 15GB which P1 offer for 130. Unless they want to go for speed (which I believe will not last long).
One fellow I talked with said this to me when we were discussing Yes: You take 1 hour to download a movie on Yes, but take 2 days to download on other telco. So you get it 47 hours earlier. Now lets say if someone ask you to refund back your 47 hours of your life how much would you charge them? I think this way of thinking makes sense.....

The calling on Yeslife sometimes it is hit or miss. I've managed to call via Streamyx, but sometimes it's puzzlingly down. Maybe they are still tweaking the Yes Life backend. Who knows, their support is notoriously silent. I suspect there was a network outage 2 days ago also, couldn't connect, but no news about it so I'll never know for sure. Their twitter feed should tell us these things instead of talk nonsense about cats and have fights with bloggers.
Forum-Modding Newb
post Dec 24 2010, 01:59 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 23 2010, 11:38 PM)
When talking there are multiple way of thinking. A reason, willingness, value and so on.  Sometime 1 + 1 can be 11 rather than 2. RM 100 maybe get you a dinner but for someone else maybe 1 week of dinner.

As for your point, I would said rather than wasting 1 hour of your life, RM 120 (4GB) of your money, RM 50 for a movie (Does anyone know the price to be paid to download a movie legally??) I would said drop at speedy and get the Bluray which is legal + 50GB of content for RM 100.

Also, you paid RM120 for your 1 hour of download on YES but RM88 a month which can download 100GB/month. That's RM 3000 on YES.
You're right. That's why you can't compare a RM88/month landline with a mobile wireless broadband line like Yes. Unifi's VIP5 which is at RM149/month with a 2 year commitment which adds up to RM3,576 + RM200 installation, and had an initial download cap of 60GB/month. So RM3,776 is the entry TCO (total cost of ownership) of the VIP5 line.

Compare that with a much lower entry level of Yes due to no contract, with a different usage pattern because it is mobile (when you come out of the house you're supposed to be doing something, not downloading large files like a madman/woman). Sure, RM3,776 will get you only around 177GB on Yes but you then have to cost in the premium of

1. mobility
2. no contract
3. the ability to login using one account on multiple devices at multiple locations (1 Yes ID can login to 3 Huddles concurrently)

how much of a premium would you pay for the 3 features above? Additional 20%? 30%? It's even more dude, when you consider a fixed line call is approximately 4 sen/min and a mobile line call is around 12 sen, that's a x3 premium right there just for mobility!

Simple example, you compare personal loan with credit card. Personal loan can give you larger loan amount, lower interest, etc. because they know for the next 20 years you're stuck with them. Credit card limit is low, interest is crazy high, but it's a lot easier entry level and you can potong the card anytime. Same thing, Unifi is like personal/housing loan, Yes is like credit card in theory. Different usage totally, you don't hear people say "damn I don't get a credit card because personal loan give me more money with lower interest!", isn't it? biggrin.gif

And by the way, 4GB on Yes is RM82 only not RM120. I think that's one of the weaknesses of YTL's pricing structure, and specifically the cube. People look at it and make a mental calculation: download 10GB = RM300! When it's only RM210, which is a big difference imho. I don't like the concept of the cube at all, I foresee when they want to come up with new packages they will need to design a new cube, because the cube only got 2 sidefaces, which severely limits innovative pricing plans. No point putting their blue cube there but then all the important info like new promotion or additional rebate is a block of text which doesn't appear in the adverts.

The cube doesn't show the rebate portion which is very important.

0.0575sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:50 AM