Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V44!, The Orange Legion
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 03:31 AM
Your friendly neighborhood photographer
taking albnok as an example, his POV being the shot is pastel-like... which i didnt think of it that way before. end of the day, its all point of view my friend  thanks albert Added on August 11, 2010, 3:37 amoh, fyi, i am most particular about white balancing in my shots. plus, it was shot in cRAW, you think the 'auto' function WB doesnt fix it straight away?  like i said, i appreciate your effort though. please, do comment more, its merely a way for improvement. This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 03:42 AM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 11 2010, 08:58 AM) i just not sure how the aperture works.. just same right if we control from the menu? can flash the firmware or something? well, it actually works the same way aperture works, just that this is not automated. you will need to shift the lever to the aperture size you want.
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 11 2010, 09:35 AM) i prefer lwliam's picture. i like the 'glowing' effect of it. viking's one really....normal i guess? it doesn't show the effects of a strobe. thanks, but that pic wasnt strobed.. i was utilizing ambient light from the plasma tv beside her and overhead tungstens on the ceiling as lighting.
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Gouki @ Aug 11 2010, 10:28 AM) william san~ honestly~ i kinda like your pcfair sets~ especially those without flash fired~ nicely blend with the natural lightings u try to show~ even i am a fan of vivid colors~ i kinda feel comfortable viewing your sets~ makes the gals more of a natural beauty~ altho some of them are with heavy makeups~  haha, thanks bro... i prefer not to have models shown in vivid and high in contrast, it doesnt give a flattering image. QUOTE(cjlai @ Aug 11 2010, 10:28 AM) wait for the rumors 16-50 f2.8 la  i think 17-50 or 17-35 or 16-80 would b good to replace ur kit lens.... i think there sh b service charge diff for set with international warranty n those water set warranty.... bro, i think u hv a very big problem.... the only solution for u is get a macro lens.... confirm sharp n sure ngam ur taste.... i only interested to find out wat kind of wimax devices inside there.... WB still prefer the cooler one  hahahahahaha.. thanks CJ...
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(hazril @ Aug 11 2010, 10:31 AM) do i need to repeat myself all over again...???i've already posted a sample of picture using 50mm f1.8...bulan posa sudah bikin panas line...  slamat posa! ^^ This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 10:43 AM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(achew @ Aug 11 2010, 11:05 AM) bro..for the question u ask me on my flickr...u can check my facebook..i posted the original photo yesterday..the one on my flickr was draw/paint using photoshop according to the original one =) p/s: the eyes were like sort of copy n paste..lol..couldnt really paint it >.< wokies.. got that.. awesomeee QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 11 2010, 11:23 AM) i think with sony that bokeh bulat² (lwliam term - lol) not that harsh.. mine? O_o
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 12:28 PM
even with iso800, you can safely print till A3 size..
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 01:03 PM
mastering, what's with f/22 and above? you'll be hitting the diffraction limit, your images will become even softer.
This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 01:04 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 03:13 PM
eddiev6, try pm kul_mo0
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 03:59 PM
cantek lah mo0...
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 11 2010, 04:01 PM) Better don't make any rash decision you might regret later. Camera is not like girlfriend, long time no touch, camera won't get angry one!  +11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 04:08 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:00 PM
digiworld, what lens are you using now? i'm assuming its the most basic one, should be the kit lens 18-55 or 18-70. in this case, get the flash 1st, with an external flash, you will open up new horizons to what you are able to shoot in low light even with a kit lens. something which you have never been able to do before this, even with a pop up flash.
after which, the 50mm prime could come into play, where you will learn how to compose with your legs, now you dont have to use the flash for some of the low light shots, but should you need it, you already have a flash ready (and hopefully by then, you should know how to properly utilize the flash).
now that you have been familiar with the flash and a prime and know what are their limitations, you can now introduce in the 17-50 f/2.8 for more versatility AND low light handling. having a wide aperture doesnt mean you can now go out and shoot into the night and leave your flash at home. flash complements the wide aperture.
hope this helps
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 11 2010, 05:02 PM) wa...my 75-300 can get such image 1?..lol.....got crop ah?..acceptable sharpnes...  a very good example of user not being able to fully utilize their gear and thus convinces that they should get better gear
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(digiworld @ Aug 11 2010, 05:06 PM) thanks for your commend , my kit lens are 17-80 and 55-300mm, by the way , waht is the market price for selling flash f42am and 50mm? what lens are you using? 55-300? you're using a mini Carl Zeiss? awesome. Added on August 11, 2010, 5:11 pmQUOTE(e-jump @ Aug 11 2010, 05:05 PM) with flash, you can do lotsa stuff, regardless of lens » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « F58 w/ snoot, 85F1.4 great snooting... This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 05:12 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:24 PM
e-jump, hmmm... i find it quite different, shooting figurines compared to actual human. then again, i guess its a matter of how you make your light source being small enough to fit for the figurine.
cjlai... please please tell me its STF's better half.. (whatever lens that may be)
This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 05:25 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(cjlai @ Aug 11 2010, 05:29 PM) just dunno whether it is sony stf or minolta stf only  btw both oso not mine.... steal it somewhere in flickr..... dem nice bokeh  aiyaaaaaaaaaaa....... thought u have it... if got, then thought ask u to bring along when COD that time  Added on August 11, 2010, 5:32 pmQUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 11 2010, 05:31 PM) like tat say me meh...  i tried to utilize it already.....still learning.... so nice...why u all so easy find nice bug...me want find lalat pun susah..>.<" coz you keep complaining the lens not giving you the images that you hoping for ma, and say wan upgrade this lens la, that lens la.. i pun shake head.. so, mastering that one is proof enough that you can actually achieve the 'sharpness' that you are looking for. you just need to find/work harder to make it really happen. then when you share the image out here, we can at least either help u improve more if you find difficulties, or your pic could actually inspire other ppl here to shoot better pics with the technique that you used, instead of saying that your own lens is not sharp, when you have yet to really push the limits of the lens. This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 05:40 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:43 PM
the thing i find about STF online is that, the pics posted are majority still shots... flowers, still life, slow moving bugs... but these are not up my alley... probably the closest one also being used for portraits.. thats about it.. its a very specialized lens i have to say... and a very expensive one at that
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 11 2010, 05:47 PM) for STF if moving subject not ok? coz its a MF lens
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 11 2010, 05:55 PM) if AF too slow also.. difficult.. atleast MF can pre focus.. betul jugak...wonder how will the streaks at the back look like if using STF for panning.. sure kao kao one.. This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 11 2010, 06:00 PM
lwliam
Aug 11 2010, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 11 2010, 07:08 PM) my noob macro...  ..C&C ya.... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160) Aperture f/11.0 Focal Length 55 mm ISO Speed 200 Exposure Bias 0 EV Flash On, Fired  Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160) Aperture f/8.0 Focal Length 55 mm ISO Speed 200 Exposure Bias 0 EV Flash Off, Did not fire you could have used your tele lens and that would have gotten you a much closer shot of the bluebottle fly instead of using only a 55mm end which is still considerably wide.