121 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

Ash
post Aug 16 2010, 03:07 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Aug 16 2010, 02:58 PM)
they told me mid september..
Wow I didn't know Selayang Jaya has got the box for so many months already. It's gonna to be a long wait for me in Selayang Baru then.
mamakap
post Aug 16 2010, 03:28 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 16 2010, 01:30 PM)
@klseet

Anyway, that's very good news for Huawei BTU owners. Fiberhome BTUs lock the switch ports to 1 device at a time so this is pretty much impossible for us early adopters sad.gif
rizvanrp,

You mean I just connect my router to Huawei LAN2 for my internet connection? As for IPTV, I still need a switch support VLAN to connect to my set-top-box? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by mamakap: Aug 16 2010, 03:28 PM
rattan
post Aug 16 2010, 03:29 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Our HSBB is made possible with this cable. Thought of sharing with you guys.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AAG_%28cable_system%29

This post has been edited by rattan: Aug 16 2010, 03:30 PM
klseet
post Aug 16 2010, 03:43 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 16 2010, 02:26 PM)
Would be nice to have a guide for custom router to access Internet only, in the event of DIR-615 Fails.
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 16 2010, 02:30 PM)
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=53&Itemid=65
There is a guide for that (dd-wrt), just apply it to a Buffalo DD-WRT flashed router or something biggrin.gif
Yes, with or without the DIR-615, you can get a cheap yet value-for-money router which support dd-wrt (eg, Buffalo WHR-G300N), then just follow Rizvanrp instruction, plug-in to the Huawei BTU LAN2, that's all!
So the DIR-615 only use for IPTV purpose, when it goes down, no IPTV only but internet still on!! thumbup.gif

At this moment, it seem like Broadcom base chipset still having problem on dd-wrt VLAN tagging, I have tested Ralink & Atheros on Rizvanrp's method seem to work ok.
You may also want to check the following information before buying:

Routers which support dd-wrt, just type first few words, eg "Buffalo", then you will see the list:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
List of routers spec [may consider either Ralink or Atheros base]:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

richard912
post Aug 16 2010, 04:07 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

The BTU deployed to me is a ZTE
i_bony
post Aug 16 2010, 04:14 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 16 2010, 01:53 PM)
If you have a spare wifi router lying around, use it as a wifi access point by disabling its DHCP server and wiring a LAN cable from it to the DIR-615. Unifi stock router has very weak wifi signal coverage.
i have just installed unifi yesterday, i also find that the signal is quite weak on 2nd floor. can i use my old belkin G modem + router? or must use only router only in this case? will the connection speed decrease or sumting? another question, i didnt managed to get the router access from the TM technician, can i just access it thru 192.168.0.1 or every unifi modem have their own address in order to disable the remote management? sorry for the nooB questions.
sil3ntHunt3r
post Aug 16 2010, 04:19 PM

S.H.I.E.L.D
877 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Aug 16 2010, 04:14 PM)
i have just installed unifi yesterday, i also find that the signal is quite weak on 2nd floor. can i use my old belkin G modem + router? or must use only router only in this case? will the connection speed decrease or sumting? another question, i didnt managed to get the router access from the TM technician, can i just access it thru 192.168.0.1 or every unifi modem have their own address in order to disable the remote management? sorry for the nooB questions.
The default address for DIR-615 is 192.168.0.1..

Username : operator
Password : telekom

Username : admin
leyley
post Aug 16 2010, 04:31 PM

2,096 posts

Where to change the password? Can change inside the modem settings or need to call UNIFI to change it?
i_bony
post Aug 16 2010, 04:32 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Aug 16 2010, 04:19 PM)
The default address for DIR-615 is 192.168.0.1..

Username : operator

Username : admin
thanks for ur answer on this bro, btw is it either one or must enter both? another thing is, is there any significant different by using LAN cable connection and wireless connection? because the TM person told me wireless is better in Unifi case? is that true? as far as i know LAN cable is better rite?
billytong
post Aug 16 2010, 04:37 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 16 2010, 02:30 PM)
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=53&Itemid=65

There is a guide for that (dd-wrt), just apply it to a Buffalo DD-WRT flashed router or something biggrin.gif

Eh brother, must be strictly dd-wrt router? sweat.gif Flashing router void warranty. not something i want do to for now. biggrin.gif
sil3ntHunt3r
post Aug 16 2010, 04:38 PM

S.H.I.E.L.D
877 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Aug 16 2010, 04:32 PM)
thanks for ur answer on this bro, btw is it either one or must enter both? another thing is, is there any significant different by using LAN cable connection and wireless connection? because the TM person told me wireless is better in Unifi case? is that true? as far as i know LAN cable is better rite?
Operator acc give full access to the router, while admin acc give limited access to the router..
Most of us use operator account to adjust the setting inside the router..

You can change the router password inside the router..Forgot which tab..

As between wired and wireless, DIR-615 is known to give weak wireless signal compared to other router (from what user comment here)..and of course, wired is better than wireless...
mystiquemaya
post Aug 16 2010, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 16 2010, 03:43 PM)
Yes, with or without the DIR-615, you can get a cheap yet value-for-money router which support dd-wrt (eg, Buffalo WHR-G300N), then just follow Rizvanrp instruction, plug-in to the Huawei BTU LAN2, that's all!
So the DIR-615 only use for IPTV purpose, when it goes down, no IPTV only but internet still on!! thumbup.gif

At this moment, it seem like Broadcom base chipset still having problem on dd-wrt VLAN tagging, I have tested Ralink & Atheros on Rizvanrp's method seem to work ok.
You may also want to check the following information before buying:

Routers which support dd-wrt, just type first few words, eg "Buffalo", then you will see the list:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
List of routers spec [may consider either Ralink or Atheros base]:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
Hi klseet,

I am trying to flash my WHR-G300N right now but I'm failing miserably (sorry I'm such a noob). Followed the flashing instruction on http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N and it seems that the TFTP I used installed the firmware (do I use the file labeled firmware or webflash? In my installation I used the file labeled firmware and renamed it to firmware.ram as per instruction) but after that when I tried accessing 192.168.1.1 it could not connect. When I accessed the default Buffalo's admin panel at 192.168.11.1 I still can access it. What did I do wrong?

Thanks for any advice!
billytong
post Aug 16 2010, 04:45 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Well btw guys, I just asked my friend who is using the retail DIR-615 he bought from shop. It seems to be rather decent router. Pretty much a complete opposite of Tmnut unifi DIR-615 that everyone else is experiencing now.

it is either Tmnet get the reject stocks of DIR-615 from D-link or their firmware screw up the router. shakehead.gif
auronthas
post Aug 16 2010, 04:45 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 16 2010, 03:43 PM)
Just wonder if Linksys WAG120N can support dd-wrt?
mystiquemaya
post Aug 16 2010, 04:47 PM

Also another question for everybody, if I use the current firmware for Buffalo WHR-G300N and connect it straight to Huawei's LAN2 port, it will ask for PPPoE ID and pwd. Is this the same as my Unifi ID and pwd?
Evirober
post Aug 16 2010, 04:50 PM

636 posts

maybe be old news so ignore if already posted :

BUFFALO HighPower routers with DD-WRT as factory firmware
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/content/buffalo...actory-firmware
pr0di9y
post Aug 16 2010, 05:05 PM

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
2,404 posts

Guide as requested,

Any other questions kindly drop me a PM.

Also I will not be held responsible for any hardware problems in which would occur if somehow you screw up on the steps. So please at least have some knowledge on how to configure your personal router before hand.

Or just read the manual of the devices before proceed with this guide.

Good luck have fun tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 16 2010, 05:13 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Huawei_BTU_PPPoE_profile_Configuration_Guide_v1.0.0.pdf ( 868k ) Number of downloads: 599
calvin92
post Aug 16 2010, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(Jarod @ Aug 16 2010, 02:36 PM)
so many ppl complain abt the router. should i wait until tm comes up with a new router before i apply?
Depends on what u want to do with your internet. Mean while u could try go for 4MB streamyx at the cost of rm140 and still keep your landline number, no drilling more simple then unifi setup.

U get unlimited download but throttled on downloading certain things. It will be like this and TM will come up with new ways of doing it as they give u unlimited cap.
Upload speed is limited to 512
Simple setup mean u can easily use your own router. TM give their ADSL router as well but didnt hear much problems with it.

Unifi on the other hand
Currently unlimited in future some sorta limitation will be put no1 know what yet.
Ping is very excellent 7MS good for gaming, skype
Upload + Down is same speed so 5 Mb both directions
very poor CS if u get problems with this unifi. U get plenty of headache trying to get them to do something. If all is fine u should be ok

One last thing u can go for 4MB streamyx and switch over to unifi when u feel like as its considered an upgrade so u are not tired to any contract. BUT not the other way round or downgrade back to streamyx.
billytong
post Aug 16 2010, 05:33 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Agree with what Calvin said.

If it wasnt my area didnt support Streamyx 4mbps, I would not even consider Unifi for the hussle of drilling especially my house is a 3 storey ones. But then given the ping advantages the Unifi has, I would still be "ok" with the cap they implement in later stage as long as they keep the ping rate quality @ 1st class category.

atm it would seems to me the streamyx is a more matured service until they sorted out the problems in Unifi user is having now.

This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 16 2010, 05:35 PM
klseet
post Aug 16 2010, 05:48 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 16 2010, 04:37 PM)
Eh brother, must be strictly dd-wrt router? sweat.gif  Flashing router void warranty. not something i want do to for now. biggrin.gif
If you get the WHR-HP-G300N [Atheros], there is way to flash-back even to the original firmware.
Buffalo also has it's own version of dd-wrt for this model [I believe it's from BrainSlayer also], but I would still recommend the BS's latest built.

For WHR-G300N [Ralink], I haven't flash-back to original before, I believe should be no problem as well as mentioned here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=67659&start=45

QUOTE(mystiquemaya @ Aug 16 2010, 04:43 PM)
Hi klseet,

I am trying to flash my WHR-G300N right now but I'm failing miserably (sorry I'm such a noob). Followed the flashing instruction on http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N and it seems that the TFTP I used installed the firmware (do I use the file labeled firmware or webflash? In my installation I used the file labeled firmware and renamed it to firmware.ram as per instruction) but after that when I tried accessing 192.168.1.1 it could not connect. When I accessed the default Buffalo's admin panel at 192.168.11.1 I still can access it. What did I do wrong?

Thanks for any advice!
Hi, I'll try to write down the steps and reply you through PM as I'm not sure whether it's off topic to post here.

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 16 2010, 04:45 PM)
Well btw guys, I just asked my friend who is using the retail DIR-615 he bought from shop. It seems to be rather decent router. Pretty much a complete opposite of Tmnut unifi DIR-615 that everyone else is experiencing now.

it is either Tmnet get the reject stocks of DIR-615 from D-link or their firmware screw up the router.  shakehead.gif
If I'm not mistaken, DIR-615 from TM is G1 model running on it's own firmware for TM's UniFi.
Those retail outside I think it's D1, D2 model.
Not sure whether the same or not, but I think might be different, otherwise TM no "special deal" with D-Link to provide UniFi customer "exclusively" liao .... wink.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 16 2010, 05:49 PM

121 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0580sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:24 PM